DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a FINAL OFFICE ACTION in response to applicant’s amendments to and response for Application #18/337,006, filed on 05/08/2026.
Claims 1-23 are pending and have been examined.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination
may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means”
that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
An intelligent agent…trained to determine, generate, determine…… in claim 1
A transportation module configured to execute… in claim 1
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. However, there is no corresponding structure in the filed specification that performs the said enabling. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph interpreted under35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph(e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function);or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under35 U.S.C.112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.(FP7.30.06)
Claim Rejections–35 USC §112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under35 U.S.C. 112(b)or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.(FP7.34.01)
Claim 1 recites the limitation “An AI-based platform for enabling…” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C.112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which mechanical structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claims 2-20 inherit the deficiency by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. (FP 7.34.23) .
exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. (FP 7.31.01). Claims 2-20 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1 by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The rationale for this finding is explained below.
Per Step 1 of the analysis, the claims are analyzed to determine if they are directed to statutory subject matter. Claim 1 claims an artificial intelligence based system. But, the system is comprised of only an intelligent agent and a transportation module. Therefore the claim is interpreted as software per se. Software per se is not a statutory category for patentability. Claim 21 claims a method, or process. A process is a statutory category for patentability.
Per Step 2A, Prong 1 of the analysis, the examiner must now determine if the claims recite an abstract idea or eligible subject matter. In the instant case, the independent claims are directed towards an abstract idea. Specifically, independent claim 1 recites “determine a status of a resource, based on the status of the resource, generate an instruction to optimize a set of energy objectives and a set of secondary objectives, based on the instruction, determine an update to a routing operation, wherein the update optimizes the set of energy objectives and the set of secondary objectives, and execute the routing operation by diverting an energy consumption resource.” Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea, namely “certain methods of organizing human activity.” Specifically, the claims recite “commercial interactions, business relations.” The claims describe a professional evaluation and generation of instructions for management of energy objective optimization and secondary objective optimization such as in a business setting. Upon generation of the instructions, the instructions are implemented and an energy consumption resource is diverted. The claims simply automate these steps using a computer and a machine learning model. Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea, namely “commercial interactions, business relations.” The claims secondarily recite a mental process. A professional could mentally evaluate the available data and other information, generate optimization instructions to fulfill the objectives by diverting an energy consumption resource, and then communicate or ensure that the diverting is executed. The examiner notes that the final step, namely the diverting of the energy consumption resource, is written as a descriptive action that could take place many different ways, and “diverting” can be implemented as simply communication the instructions, checking to see that something takes place, sending instructions for diversion, and other means that could be interpreted as “diverting,” which is very broad. The addition of “automatically” is still very broad with many options, and could simply be sending instructions electronically. The “automatic” aspect of claim 1 is addressed in the following analyses in Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.” Therefore, the claims secondarily recite a mental process.
Per Step 2A, Prong 2 of the analysis, the examiner must now determine if the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements of the independent claims include “an AI-based system,” “a transportation module,” “an energy provisioning system,” and the diverting occurring “automatically.” However, these additional elements are considered generic recitations of a technical element and are recited at a high level of generality. These additional elements are being used as “tools to automate the abstract idea” (see MPEP 2106.05 (f)) and are not recitations of a special purpose computer or transformation (see MPEP 2106.05 (b) and (c)). Therefore, these additional elements are not considered to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims also recite “an intelligent agent trained on a data set of expert interactions with an energy provisioning system.” However, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and are considered a generic recitation of a technical element and the equivalent of “apply it,” or using a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. The “intelligent agent trained…” has no detail whatsoever as how any AI model or other agent is trained or any steps on how it is used. Therefore, the use of the trained AI agent is not considered to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Per Step 2B of the analysis, the examiner must now determine if the claims include limitations that are “significantly more” than the abstract idea by demonstrating an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements of the independent claims include “an AI-based system,” “a transportation module,” “an energy provisioning system,” and the diverting occurring “automatically.” However, these additional elements are considered generic recitations of a technical element and are recited at a high level of generality. These additional elements are being used as “tools to automate the abstract idea” (see MPEP 2106.05 (f)) and are not recitations of a special purpose computer or transformation (see MPEP 2106.05 (b) and (c)). Therefore, these additional elements are not considered significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims also recite “an intelligent agent trained on a data set of expert interactions with an energy provisioning system.” However, these additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and are considered a generic recitation of a technical element and the equivalent of “apply it,” or using a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. The “intelligent agent trained…” has no detail whatsoever as how any AI model or other agent is trained or any steps on how it is used. Therefore, the use of the trained AI agent is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
When considered as an ordered combination, the claim is still considered to be directed to an abstract idea as the claim steps in the ordered combination simply recite the logical steps for generating at least one recommendation or instruction with respect to optimization of energy objectives and other objectives. Therefore, the ordered combination does not lead to a determination of significantly more.
When considering the dependent claims, claims is considered part of the abstract idea. Claim 2 is considered part of the abstract idea, as an operational objective does not change the analysis. Claims 3-7, 11, 14, 17, and 19 are recited at a high level of generality and are considered a generic recitation of a technical element and the equivalent of “apply it,” or using a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. The type of data the intelligent agent operates on or what data the agent is trained on, absent further detail, does not change the analysis. Claims 8-10 and 15 are considered part of the abstract idea, as “further comprising an adaptive energy digital twin,” absent further detail, is considered a recitation of data associated with the platform. The generating and providing of a visual is considered “receiving and/or transmittal of data over a network,” cited in the MPEP 2106.05 (d) (II) (i-ii) as an example of conventional computer functioning- see Symantec, TLI Communications, and buySAFE v Google. Claims 12 and 13 are considered part of the abstract idea, as what the data set comprises does not change the analysis. Claim 16 is recited at a high level of generality and are considered a generic recitation of a technical element and the equivalent of “apply it,” or using a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. The use of a blockchain to record data, absent further detail, does not change the analysis. Further, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well known in the computer arts to use a blockchain to record data. Claim 18 is considered part of the abstract idea, as a description of where an AI agent is located, especially since an AI agent is not a physical component as recited, does not change the analysis. Claim 20 is recited at a high level of generality and is considered a generic recitation of a technical element and the equivalent of “apply it,” or using a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. Reciting that an AI agent “governs” gives no technical detail whatsoever as to how this occurs. The other dependent claims, 22-23, mirror those already discussed above.
Therefore, claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. Vs. CLS Bank International et al., 2014 (please reference link to updated publicly available Alice memo at http://www.uspto.gov/patents/announce/alice_pec_25jun2014.pdf as well as the USPTO January 2019 Updated Patent Eligibility Guidance.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-15, and 18-23 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Goparaju, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0301548 A1 in view of Thirumurthy, et al., Patent No. 11,399,065 B1.
Regarding Claims 1 and 21, Goparaju teaches:
An AI-based system (method)… comprising:
an intelligent agent trained on a data set of expert interactions with an energy provisioning system (see [0029], [0108], and [0114]-[0116] in which the AI cognitive decision maker is trained on a data set of historical interactions with the energy system)
wherein the intelligent agent is trained to (see [0029], [0035], [0108], and [0114]-[0116] in which the AI agent is trained based on the interaction and other data of the energy system):
determine a status of a resource (see Figure 13, [0034], [0108], and [0127]-[0135])
based on the status of the resource, generate an instruction to optimize a set of energy objectives and a set of secondary objectives (see [0029]-[0031], [0035]-[0037], and [0127]-[0135] in which the AI agent outputs instructions to optimize energy and secondary objectives based on the status of the resource)
Goparaju, however, does not appear to specify:
based on the instruction, determine an update to a routing operation, wherein the update optimizes the set of energy objectives and the set of secondary objectives
a transportation module configured to execute the routing operation by automatically diverting an energy consumption resource
Thirumurthy teaches:
based on the instruction, determine an update to a routing operation, wherein the update optimizes the set of energy objectives and the set of secondary objectives and a transportation module configured to execute the routing operation by automatically diverting an energy consumption resource (see Figure 18, Column 13, lines 8-25 and 49-65, Column 16, lines 35-67, and Column 31, line 40-Column 32, line 9 in which, based on energy and other objectives such as energy needs, cost, customer satisfaction, and others electric energy from batteries, storage facilities, and other sources in an energy system providing electricity needs is routed and diverted, such as from a storage device into active use or from one use to another use, based on optimization to current conditions based on the objectives, and this is done using AI/MLM)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to combine Thirumurthy with Goparaju because Goparaju already teaches applying the same use of an intelligent agent in communication with edge devices in an energy management system for energy consumption, and applying the teachings to routing operations for an energy resources including automatically diverting an energy consumption resource would allow for re-allocation and diverting when needed to meet objectives and optimization goals, which would potentially lead to quicker responses when optimization is needed in shorter time periods since actually routing and diverting the resource would lead to quicker results than other optimization techniques.
Regarding Claims 2 and 22, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based platform of claim 1…
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the set of secondary objectives includes an operational objective of an enterprise (see Abstract, [0089], [0100], [0117], and [0129]-[0130] in which the AI agent makes recommendations and outputs instructions on operational objectives of an enterprise like environmental management, work flows, user management conservation options, and maintenance of the plant and machinery)
Regarding Claims 3 and 23, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1…
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the intelligent agent operates on status data from a set of edge devices via which a set of energy consumption resources are controlled (see Figures 6-8 and [0124]-[0126] in which multiple energy equipment entities include multiple equipment controllers on the equipment side which gather and send information to the cognitive device system and receive data and instructions; the controllers are on the equipment side and therefore act as a network of edge devices that communicate with the AI agent see also Abstract, [0028]-[0035], [0088], [0096], [0127], and [0129]-[0130] which teach a set of energy consumption resources)
Thirumurthy further teaches:
a set of energy generation resources are controlled (see Column 9, lines 1-5, Column 11, lines27-33, and Column 16, lines 26-34
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to combine Thirumurthy with Goparaju because Goparaju already teaches applying the same use of an intelligent agent in communication with edge devices in an energy management system for energy consumption, and applying the teachings to energy generation would allow for optimization and efficiency in energy generation as well using the advantages of an AI agent.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the intelligent agent operates on status data from a set of edge devices via which a set of energy consumption resources are controlled (see Figures 6-8 and [0124]-[0126] in which multiple energy equipment entities include multiple equipment controllers on the equipment side which gather and send information to the cognitive device system and receive data and instructions; the controllers are on the equipment side and therefore act as a network of edge devices that communicate with the AI agent; see also Abstract, [0028]-[0035], [0088], [0096], [0127], and [0129]-[0130] which teach a set of energy consumption resources)
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the intelligent agent operates on status data from a set of edge devices via which a set of energy consumption resources are controlled (see Figures 6-8 and [0124]-[0126] in which multiple energy equipment entities include multiple equipment controllers on the equipment side which gather and send information to the cognitive device system and receive data and instructions; the controllers are on the equipment side and therefore act as a network of edge devices that communicate with the AI agent; see also Abstract, [0028]-[0035], [0088], [0096], [0127], and [0129]-[0130] which teach a set of energy consumption resources)
Thirumurthy further teaches:
a set of energy storage resources are controlled (see Abstract, Column 9, lines 1-5, and Column 11, lines 27-33 and 65-67)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to combine Thirumurthy with Goparaju because Goparaju already teaches applying the same use of an intelligent agent in communication with edge devices in an energy management system for energy consumption, and applying the teachings to energy storage would allow for optimization and efficiency in energy storage as well using the advantages of an AI agent.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the intelligent agent operates on status data from a set of edge devices via which a set of energy consumption resources are controlled (see Figures 6-8 and [0124]-[0126] in which multiple energy equipment entities include multiple equipment controllers on the equipment side which gather and send information to the cognitive device system and receive data and instructions; the controllers are on the equipment side and therefore act as a network of edge devices that communicate with the AI agent; see also Abstract, [0028]-[0035], [0088], [0096], [0127], and [0129]-[0130] which teach a set of energy consumption resources)
Thirumurthy further teaches:
a set of energy delivery resources are controlled (see Abstract, Column 10, line 45-Column 11 line 33, and Column 16, lines 26-34
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to combine Thirumurthy with Goparaju because Goparaju already teaches applying the same use of an intelligent agent in communication with edge devices in an energy management system for energy consumption, and applying the teachings to energy delivery/distribution would allow for optimization and efficiency in energy delivery as well using the advantages of an AI agent.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the intelligent agent is further configured to perform at least one of transforming, converting, normalizing, and/or cleansing energy-related data, detecting patterns, content, and/or objects in energy-related data, compressing energy-related data, filtering energy-related data, loading and/or storing energy-related data (see at least [0072], [0108]-[0111], [0132] which teach the intelligent agent at least normalizing, detecting patterns, and storing the energy-related data)
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the data set is based on at least one public data resource
the at least one public data resource includes at least one of a weather data resource (see [0012], [0021], and [0109])
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based platform of claim 1
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the data set is based on at least one enterprise data resource
the at least one enterprise data resource includes at least one of resource planning data, financial planning data, demand planning data, procurement data, pricing data, product data, or operating data (see Abstract, [0026]-[0028], [0091]-[0092], [0100]-[0103], [0110], and [0129]-[0130] in which cost, demand, resource planning, procurement, product, and operating data for the enterprise are all used)
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the intelligent agent is trained based on a training data set, and the training data set is based on at least one of at least one outcome, at least one AI-generated training data sample, a supervised learning training process, a semi-supervised learning training process, or a deep learning training process (see [0113]-[0116])
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Thirumurthy further teaches:
wherein the intelligent agent is further configured to orchestrate delivery of energy to at least one point of consumption and the delivery of the energy includes delivery of stored energy (see Abstract, Column 10, line 45-Column 11 line 33, and Column 16, lines 26-34
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to combine Thirumurthy with Goparaju because Goparaju already teaches applying the same use of an intelligent agent in communication with edge devices in an energy management system for energy consumption, and applying the teachings to energy delivery/distribution would allow for optimization and efficiency in energy delivery as well using the advantages of an AI agent.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the intelligent agent is located in proximity to at least one entity that generates, stores, delivers, and/or uses energy (see [0090] in which the energy management cognitive platform can be placed physically near the facility or plant that stores and uses energy)
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the intelligent agent provides information about an energy state and/or energy flow of at least one entity that generates, stores, delivers, and/or uses energy (see [0030]-[0034], [0089]-[0099], and [0127]-[0130])
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju further teaches:
wherein the intelligent agent governs at least one sensor of a set of sensors, the set of sensors is associated with a set of infrastructure assets that are configured to generate, store, deliver, and/or use energy (see at least [0040], [0045], and [0119]; while the citations do not recite a set of sensors, it is inherent based on Figures 6-8 that if there are many pieces of equipment and many cognitive energy devices there would be a “set of sensors” and not just one)
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goparaju, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0301548 A1 in view of Thirumurthy, et al., Patent No. 11,399,065 B1 and in further view of Official Notice.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju and Thirumurthy, however, does not appear to specify:
wherein the intelligent agent is further configured to adapt a transport of data over a network and/or communication system, wherein the adapting is based on at least one of a congestion condition, a delay and/or latency condition, a packet loss condition, an error rate condition, a cost of transport condition, a quality-of-service (QoS) condition, a usage condition, a market factor condition, or a user configuration condition
The examiner, however, takes Official Notice that it is old and well known in the computer arts at the time of the effective filing date of the application to adapt transport of data over a network when there are delays and challenges due to congestion, latency, error rate conditions, and other conditions. Companies such as IBM, Verizon, Motorola, and others have done so for at least a decade prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to combine wherein the intelligent agent is further configured to adapt a transport of data over a network and/or communication system, wherein the adapting is based on at least one of a congestion condition, a delay and/or latency condition, a packet loss condition, an error rate condition, a cost of transport condition, a quality-of-service (QoS) condition, a usage condition, a market factor condition, or a user configuration condition with Goparaju and Thirumurthy because Goparaju already teaches communication over a network and the AI agent using the data received to optimize the energy system, and allowing for adaptation when data communication is compromised would allow for a quick solution and for the data to be received and the energy objectives to be optimized in a timely fashion.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju and Thirumurthy, however, does not appear to specify:
wherein the intelligent agent is deployed in an off-grid environment, and the off-grid environment includes at least one of an off-grid energy generation system, an off-grid energy storage system, or an off-grid energy mobilization system
The examiner, however, takes Official Notice that it is old and well known in the computer arts at the time of the effective filing date of the application to deploy an intelligent agent in an off-grid environment. Companies such as Rockwell, Exxon Mobil, Peco, and many utility and energy companies have done so for at least a year prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to combine wherein the intelligent agent is deployed in an off-grid environment, and the off-grid environment includes at least one of an off-grid energy generation system, an off-grid energy storage system, or an off-grid energy mobilization system with Goparaju because Goparaju and Thirumurthy already teaches communication over a network and the AI agent using the data received to optimize the energy system, and allowing for deployment in an off-grid environment would allow for deployment to all types of energy systems including off-grid, making the system more universally applicable.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goparaju, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0301548 A1 in view of Thirumurthy, et al., Patent No. 11,399,065 B1 and in further view of Brooks, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0083027 A1.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju and Thirumurthy, however, does not appear to specify:
further comprising an adaptive energy digital twin that represents at least one of an energy stakeholder entity, an energy distribution resource, a stakeholder information technology, a networking infrastructure entity, an energy-dependent stakeholder production facility, a stakeholder transportation system, a market condition, or an energy usage priority condition
Brooks teaches:
further comprising an adaptive energy digital twin that represents at least one of an energy stakeholder entity, an energy distribution resource, a stakeholder information technology, a networking infrastructure entity, an energy-dependent stakeholder production facility, a stakeholder transportation system, a market condition, or an energy usage priority condition (see Abstract, Figures 2 and 13-14, [0035]-[0041], [0044], [0055]-[0056], [0070], and [0089]-[0096] in which a digital twin of the industrial or other facility is taught, the facility in such as [0079] used for various production, distribution, and industrial purposes and measured for such as fluid distribution and energy consumption and is therefore an energy-dependent production facility; the examiner notes that Goparaju already teaches such as an energy stakeholder entity, and energy distribution resource, a production facility, etc so Brooks is being relied upon to teach the other aspects of the invention)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to combine Brooks with Goparaju and Thirumurthy because Goparaju already teaches applying an intelligent agent and large-scale analysis of energy and industrial management systems, and using a digital twin allows for online/digital modeling rather than only brick and mortar applications, allowing for more flexibility and digital application and exploring of options without needing to conduct the analysis using only the physical building.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju and Thirumurthy, however, does not appear to specify:
an adaptive energy digital twin that is configured to perform at least one of providing a visual and/or analytic indicator of energy consumption by at least one energy consumer, filtering energy data, highlighting energy data, or adjusting energy data
Brooks teaches:
an adaptive energy digital twin that is configured to perform at least one of providing a visual and/or analytic indicator of energy consumption by at least one energy consumer, filtering energy data, highlighting energy data, or adjusting energy data (see Abstract, Figures 2 and 13-14, [0035]-[0041], [0044], [0055]-[0056], [0070], and [0089]-[0096] in which a digital twin of the industrial or other facility is taught, the facility in such as [0079] used for various production, distribution, and industrial purposes and measured for such as fluid distribution and energy consumption and is therefore an energy-dependent production facility; the examiner notes that Goparaju already teaches such as an energy stakeholder entity, and energy distribution resource, a production facility, etc so Brooks is being relied upon to teach the other aspects of the invention)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to combine Brooks with Goparaju and Thirumurthy because Goparaju already teaches applying an intelligent agent and large-scale analysis of energy and industrial management systems, and using a digital twin allows for online/digital modeling rather than only brick and mortar applications, allowing for more flexibility and digital application and exploring of options without needing to conduct the analysis using only the physical building.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju and Thirumurthy, however, does not appear to specify:
an adaptive energy digital twin that is configured to generate a visual and/or analytic indicator of energy consumption by at least one of at least one machine or at least one factory
Brooks teaches:
an adaptive energy digital twin that is configured to generate a visual and/or analytic indicator of energy consumption by at least one of at least one machine or at least one factory (see Abstract, Figures 2 and 13-14, [0035]-[0041], [0044], [0055]-[0056], [0070], and [0089]-[0096] in which a digital twin of the industrial or other facility is taught, the facility in such as [0079] used for various production, distribution, and industrial purposes and measured for such as fluid distribution and energy consumption and is therefore an energy-dependent production facility; see also [0047]-[0052], [0062]-[0066], and [0076]-[0079] which teach a visual display interface for the digital twin and accompanying data points)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to combine Brooks with Goparaju and Thirumurthy because Goparaju already teaches applying an intelligent agent and large-scale analysis of energy and industrial management systems, and using a digital twin allows for online/digital modeling rather than only brick and mortar applications, allowing for more flexibility and digital application and exploring of options without needing to conduct the analysis using only the physical building.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goparaju, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0301548 A1 in view of Thirumurthy, et al., Patent No. 11,399,065 B1 in view of Cella, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0188715 A1.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Goparaju and Thirumurthy teaches:
the AI-based system of claim 1
Goparaju and Thirumurthy, however, does not appear to specify:
wherein the intelligent agent is further configured to record, in a distributed ledger and/or blockchain, at least one energy-related event
the at least one energy-related event including at least one of an energy purchase and/or sale event, a service charge associated with an energy purchase and/or sale event, an energy consumption event, an energy generation event, an energy distribution event, an energy storage event, a carbon emission production event, a carbon emission abatement event, a renewable energy credit event, a pollution production event, or a pollution abatement event
Cella teaches:
wherein the intelligent agent is further configured to record, in a distributed ledger and/or blockchain, at least one energy-related event and the at least one energy-related event including at least one of an energy purchase and/or sale event, a service charge associated with an energy purchase and/or sale event, an energy consumption event, an energy generation event, an energy distribution event, an energy storage event, a carbon emission production event, a carbon emission abatement event, a renewable energy credit event, a pollution production event, or a pollution abatement event (see at least [0209] in which the energy related events are recorded on a distributed ledger)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the application to combine Cella with Goparaju and Thirumurthy because Goparaju already teaches applying an intelligent agent for large-scale analysis of energy and industrial management systems and storage of data and analysis, and storing energy-related events to a distributed ledger would allow for secure and immutable records, leading to better trust and further learning based on the recorded data.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections based on 35 USC 112a and 112b based on the Claim Interpretation of claim 1:
The arguments have been considered in light of the amendments to the claims, but are not persuasive. There is no specific corresponding structural component that is described in the specification that match the claimed components of the system, namely “an intelligent agent…trained to determine, generate,” and “a transportation module configured to….” The citations the applicant cites in their arguments, namely [0022], [0099], [0140]-[0246], especially [0221], [0354], and [0365]-[0391], especially [0370], have portions that generally describe a component such as hardware or a processor, but not in terms of the specific components of the system of claim 1. Citations that describe the intelligent agent or the transportation module as part of a “system” are not sufficient, as simply using the word system does not guarantee structural components, which is why the 112f analysis is done in the first place. As stated in the 112f statute: The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which mechanical structures perform(s) the claimed function.
Regarding the rejections based on 35 USC 101:
Regarding the applicant’s argument on pages 12-13 of the response that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea because the claims automatically divert the transportation of an energy consumption resource”:
The examiner disagrees. First of all, the limitation is very broad. “Diverting” could be communication of the instructions that cause diverting, making sure the diverting is initiated, or many other interpretations of diverting. Secondly, the module is configured to “execute” the diverting.” This again could mean sending instructions. There is no actually physical movement or description of manipulation of physical components or machinery, such as the re-configuring of a pipeline to a different angle and direction in order to divert the flow and amount and destination of a liquid resource like oil, etc.
Further, the primary analysis was that the claims recite a “commercial interaction or business activity,” so even if one could successfully argue that the limitation brought in by amendment could not be “preformed by the human mind,” the analysis that the claims recite a mental process was only a secondary consideration.
Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is sustained.
Regarding the rejections based on 35 USC 102
The amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections based on 35 USC 103
The arguments have been considered in light of the amendments to the claims, but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendments.
Conclusion
The following prior art reference was not relied upon in this office action but is considered pertinent to the applicant’s invention:
Kumar, et al., Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0276447 A1- teaches optimization of electrical energy consumption resources using AI/MLM in which the energy resource is routed/diverted according to optimization needs for energy and other objectives.
Applicant amendment(s) necessitated the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office Action. Therefore, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Luis A. Brown whose telephone number is 571.270.1394. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8:30am-5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, JESSICA LEMIEUX can be reached at 571.270.3445.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
Washington, D.C. 20231
or faxed to 571-273-8300.
Hand delivered responses should be brought to the United States Patent and Trademark Office Customer Service Window:
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/LUIS A BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626