DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of restriction of invention I and invention II in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the newly amended claims (i.e. the combination) require the details of a sub-combination as separately claimed, therefore the combination and the sub-combination should not be restricted. This is found to be persuasive.
The claims 9-20 are rejoined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (United States Patent Application Publication 2008/0180640 A1) in view of Wang (CN 208126092 A) and Joseph (US 2012/0138821 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Ito discloses an infrared (IR) light source module (see 42 and 52 in fig.7), for providing an IR light beam (see the operation in fig.7), a first IR light-emitting element (see 42), and the first IR light-emitting element (see 42 in fig.7) are used to provide a first light beam (see the operation of 42); and a second IR light-emitting element (see 52 in fig.7), the second IR light-emitting elements (see 52 in fig.7) are used to provide a second light beam (see the beam provided by 52), and the IR light beam (see the combined beam from 42 and 52) comprises at least one of the first light beam (see beam from 42) and the second light beam (see second beam of 52), wherein a wavelength of the first light beam (IR1 in fig.7) and a wavelength of the second light beam (see IR2) are different (see IR1 and IR2 in fig.7: [0095]: As illustrated in FIG. 7, a projector 51 according to this embodiment has a third light source 52 for emitting second infrared light (IR2 light) having a wavelength range not overlapping with that of first infrared light (IR1 light) emitted from the second light source 42 ).
But Ito does not explicitly disclose a plurality of first and second light emitting elements are disposed on at least one circuit board and wherein the first light beam is less than or equal to 780 and the second light beam is greater than or equal to 780nm and less than or equal to 1000nm.
Wang discloses wherein a plurality of first and second light emitting elements (see 120 in fig.1B of 2 pluralities disclosed on one circuit board: “light emitting wafer of the embodiment 120 and the lens unit 131 are in the number of 20 as an example (e.g., are both 4 * 5 array” and see fig.1A with multiple pluralities on multiple circuit boards; see second para. under Specific implementation methods: “FIG. 1A, illumination system 10 this embodiment comprises a plurality of light emitting element package structure 100 and the light collecting element 200.”) are disposed on at least one circuit board (see circuit board 110, see third para. of Specific Implementation Methods: light emitting wafer 120 arranged on the base plate 110, the base plate 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in of Wang so that a plurality of first and second light emitting elements are disposed on at least one circuit board to enhance control of each of the plurality of light emitting elements to improve security by increasing the number of the IR light sources that impair the photography of sensitive material displayed in a visible image and to facilitate miniaturization and mass production of the light sources by providing light source substrates and circuit boards.
Ito in view of Wang does not disclose the first light beam is less than or equal to 780 and the second light beam is greater than or equal to 780nm and less than or equal to 1000nm.
Joseph discloses wherein a light source comprising first (e.g. para. [0067]: Accordingly, various infrared emitters may be utilized to capture a variety of different wavelengths that may be captured by different camera devices. As an example, an arrangement of 750 nm, 850 nm) and second light emitting element (see para.[0067]: The infrared light source 1104 may be a device that includes a plurality of infrared emitters 1106) wherein the first light beam is less than or equal to 780 (para.[0065]: “the infrared emitters include various emitters of varying wavelengths. For example, some cameras capture infrared wavelengths of 750 nm and other cameras capture infrared wavelengths of 850 nm. If infrared emitters that capture 750 nm are only utilized, then some cameras that capture infrared wavelengths of 850 nm, but not 750 nm, may avoid capturing the infrared overlay image 110. The wavelengths may or may not overlap. Accordingly, dissimilar wavelengths may be utilized in that the wavelengths may be incongruent. Accordingly, various infrared emitters may be utilized to capture a variety of different wavelengths that may be captured by different camera devices. As an example, an arrangement of 750 nm, 850 nm) and the second light beam is greater than or equal to 780nm and less than or equal to 1000nm (see para. [0065]: “As an example, an arrangement of 750 nm, 850 nm, and/or 950 nm infrared emitters may be utilized.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang with the teaching of Joseph so that the first light beam is less than or equal to 780 and the second light beam is greater than or equal to 780nm and less than or equal to 1000nm to enhance the security features of Ito by providing multiple near infrared LEDs with varying wavelength to disrupt a variety of camera devices.
With respect to claim 2, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph discloses the IR light source module of claim 1, Ito discloses having two light sources in two different position in fig.7, but does not disclose wherein a number of the at least one circuit substrate is two, and the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements are disposed in one of the at least one circuit substrate, and the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements are disposed in the other one of the at least one circuit substrate.
Wang discloses a number of the at least one circuit substrate is two (see 120 in fig.1B of 2 pluralities disclosed on one circuit board: “light emitting wafer of the embodiment 120 and the lens unit 131 are in the number of 20 as an example (e.g., are both 4 * 5 array” and see fig.1A with multiple pluralities on multiple circuit boards; see second para. under Specific implementation methods: “FIG. 1A, illumination system 10 this embodiment comprises a plurality of light emitting element package structure 100 and the light collecting element 200.”), and the plurality of first light-emitting elements are disposed in one of the at least one circuit substrate (see fig.1A with multiple pluralities on multiple circuit boards; see second para. under Specific implementation methods: “FIG. 1A, illumination system 10 this embodiment comprises a plurality of light emitting element package structure 100 and the light collecting element 200.”), and the plurality of second light-emitting elements are disposed in the other one of the at least one circuit substrate (see fig.1A with multiple pluralities on multiple circuit boards; see second para. under Specific implementation methods: “FIG. 1A, illumination system 10 this embodiment comprises a plurality of light emitting element package structure 100 and the light collecting element 200.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang and Joseph with the teaching of Wang so that a number of the at least one circuit substrate is two, and the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements are disposed in one of the at least one circuit substrate, and the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements are disposed in the other one of the at least one circuit substrate to enhance the brightness of the IR image by providing a plurality of light source.
With respect to claim 3, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph discloses the IR light source module of claim 1, Ito in combination with Joseph discloses wherein the plurality of first IR light- emitting elements are IR light-emitting diodes or IR laser diodes (see para.[0027] of Joseph: “One such infrared light emitting source may comprise light emitting diodes that illuminate in the infrared spectrum at about 780 nm to about 1200 nm”; also see para.[0065]: “Accordingly, various infrared emitters may be utilized to capture a variety of different wavelengths that may be captured by different camera devices. As an example, an arrangement of 750 nm, 850 nm, and/or 950 nm infrared emitters may be utilized. In one embodiment, the infrared emitters are infrared emitting LEDs.”), and the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements are IR laser diodes or IR light-emitting diodes (see para.[0027]: “One such infrared light emitting source may comprise light emitting diodes that illuminate in the infrared spectrum at about 780 nm to about 1200 nm”; also see para.[0065]: “Accordingly, various infrared emitters may be utilized to capture a variety of different wavelengths that may be captured by different camera devices. As an example, an arrangement of 750 nm, 850 nm, and/or 950 nm infrared emitters may be utilized. In one embodiment, the infrared emitters are infrared emitting LEDs.”).
With respect to claim 4, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph discloses the IR light source module of claim 1, but Ito does not explicitly disclose wherein a wavelength of the first light beam is 730 nm or 740 nm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang and Joseph so as to include a plurality of IR lasers wherein the first light beam is 730 nm or 740 nm since it would predictably cameras sensitive to this wavelength and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to claim 5, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph disclose the IR light source module of claim 1, but Ito does not explicitly disclose wherein a wavelength of the second light beam is 808 nm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang and Joseph so as to include a plurality of IR lasers wherein the first light beam wherein the second light beam is 808 since it would predictably disrupt cameras sensitive to this wavelength and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to claim 7, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph discloses the IR light source module of claim 1, Ito discloses an equal number of first and second IR light-emitting elements (see IR1 and IR2 in fig.7) but does not explicitly disclose a plurality.
Wang discloses wherein a number of the plurality of IR light emitting elements (see 120 in fig.1B of 2 pluralities disclosed on one circuit board: “light emitting wafer of the embodiment 120 and the lens unit 131 are in the number of 20 as an example (e.g., are both 4 * 5 array” and see fig.1A with multiple pluralities on multiple circuit boards; see second para. under Specific implementation methods: “FIG. 1A, illumination system 10 this embodiment comprises a plurality of light emitting element package structure 100 and the light collecting element 200.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang and Joseph so that a number of the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements is greater than or equal to a number of the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements to enhance the brightness of the IR images by increasing the number of IR light sources.
With respect to claim 9, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph discloses a projection device (see fig.7 of Ito), comprising: an illumination system for providing at least one of an illumination light beam (see beam from 2) and the IR light beam (see beam from 52 and 42), the illumination system comprising: a visible light source (see 2 infig.7) module for providing the illumination light beam; and the IR light source module (see 42 and 52) according to claim 1, at least one light valve (see 22) disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light beam (see the light beam of 2) and the IR light beam (see the IR beam of 42 and 52) and used for converting the illumination light beam into a visible image light beam and converting the IR light beam into an IR image light beam (see the operation disclosed by 22 in fig.7); and a projection lens (see the projection lens of 10 in fig.7) disposed on the transmission path of the visible image light beam and the IR image light beam (see the positioning of 10 in fig.7), and used for projecting at least one of the visible image light beam and the IR image light beam out of the projection device (see the operation of fig.7).
With respect to claim 10, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph discloses the projection device of claim 9, Ito discloses wherein the illumination system further comprises a focusing element (see 7 in fig.7) disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam and the second light beam.
With respect to claim 11, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph discloses the projection device of claim 9, Ito discloses wherein the illumination system further comprises a light splitting element (comprised by 53, 55 and 23, i.e. separate structure acting together in fig.7), and the light splitting element (see 53, 55 and 23) is disposed on the transmission path of the illumination light beam and the IR light beam for reflecting at least one of the illumination light beam (see 53, 55 and 23) and the IR light beam and allowing the other one of the illumination light beam and the IR light beam to pass through (see operation of 53, 55 in fig.7 and 23 which both reflects and transmits the visible and infrared light).
With respect to claim 12, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph disclose the projection device of claim 11, Ito discloses wherein the light splitting element (comprised by 53, 55 and 23 which both transmits the visible and infrared light) is used for reflecting one of the first light beam and the second light beam (see the operation of 53 or 55) and allowing the other one of the first light beam and the second light beam to pass through (see the operation of 23 which is a part of the light splitting element).
With respect to claim 13, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph disclose the projection device of claim 9, Ito discloses wherein the illumination system further comprises a light homogenizing element (see 5 in fig.7) disposed on the transmission path of the illumination light beam and the IR light beam (again see fig.7).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (United States Patent Application Publication 2008/0180640 A1) in view of Wang (CN 208126092 A), Joseph (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0138821 A1) and Nagasawa (United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0098349).
With respect to claim 6, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph discloses the IR light source module of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the plurality of first IR light- emitting elements and the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements are alternately arranged on the at least one circuit substrate.
Nagasawa discloses wherein the plurality of first emitting elements and the plurality of second light-emitting elements are alternately arranged on the at least one circuit substrate (see para.[0072]:For example, when the light source unit is made of four chips consisting of 2 chips for one color and 2 chips for another color, if the different LED light sources are alternately arranged in a rectangular geometry, the optical axes of the light sources of the colors are substantially coincident with the optical axis of the capture lens.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang and Joseph with the teaching of Nagasawa so that the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements and the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements are alternately arranged on the at least one circuit substrate to make the light source more compact by providing two pluralities of light source on the same circuit; furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Ito in view of Wang and Joseph with the teaching of Nagasawa so that the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements and the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements are alternately arranged on the at least one circuit substrate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (United States Patent Application Publication 2008/0180640 A1) in view of Wang (CN 208126092 A), Joseph (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0138821 A1), and Li (CN 112038884).
With respect to claim 8, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph discloses the IR light source module of claim 1, but Ito does not disclose further comprising: a plurality of first collimating lenses disposed on a light-emitting side of the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements; and a plurality of second collimating lenses disposed on a light-emitting side of the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements, wherein optical conditions of the plurality of first collimating lenses are different from optical conditions of the plurality of second collimating lenses.
Wang discloses: a plurality of first collimating lenses (131 and first two light emitting elements in fig.1B) disposed on a light-emitting side of the plurality of first light-emitting elements (see first two light emitting elements); and a plurality of second collimating lenses (see 131 and the last two light emitting elements) disposed on a light-emitting side of the plurality of second light-emitting elements (see disposal in fig.1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the projection device of Ito in view of Wang and Joseph with the teaching of Li so that a plurality of first collimating lenses disposed on a light-emitting side of the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements; and a plurality of second collimating lenses disposed on a light-emitting side of the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements, to improve control of the light beam by easing alignment and integration and by enhancing design flexibility since distances can be changed without significantly affecting design characteristics.
Ito in view of Wang and Joseph do not explicitly disclose wherein optical conditions of the plurality of first collimating lenses are different from optical conditions of the plurality of second collimating lenses.
Li teaches changing optical conditions of the first collimating lenses are different from optical conditions of the plurality of second collimating lenses (see 22nd para. specific implementation examples: a plurality of light emitting component 102 in the laser can include a first light emitting component for emitting laser of the first colour, and a second light emitting component for emitting laser of the second colour and 24th para. of specific implementation examples: correspondingly adjusting the reduction amount of the divergence angle of the laser emitted by the collimating lens corresponding to the light emitting component of the laser emitting each color, such as adjusting the size of the curvature radius of the convex arc surface of the collimating lens on the fast axis and the slow axis.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang, Joseph with the teaching of Li so that optical conditions of the plurality of first collimating lenses are different from optical conditions of the plurality of second collimating lenses to improve the collimation of the light by collimating the light according to the specific wavelength conditions of each light source.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (United States Patent Application Publication 2008/0180640 A1) in view of Wang (CN 208126092 A), Joseph (US 2012/0138821 A1) and Chang (US 2012/0044461 A1).
With respect to claim 14, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph disclose the projection device of claim 9, Ito disclose using an LED instead of an arch lamp (see para.[0057]: Alternatively, the light source may be an organic EL element, an inorganic EL element) but does not disclose wherein the visible light source module and the IR light source module are turned on and off in an alternating sequence.
Chang discloses a light control system wherein the visible light source module (red, green and blue in fig.3A) and the IR light source module (see 32 in fig.3A or IR in fig.3B) are turned on and off in an alternating sequence (see fig.3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang and Joseph with the teaching of Chang so that the visible light source module and the IR light source module are turned on and off in an alternating sequence to enhance the control over the light system by controlling each light source directly and reducing the size of elements required thereby making the system more compact.
With respect to claim 15, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph discloses the projection device of claim 9, Ito disclose using an LED instead of an arch lamp (see para.[0057]: Alternatively, the light source may be an organic EL element, an inorganic EL element) but does not explicitly disclose wherein a turn-on time interval of the visible light source module is equal to a turn-on time interval of the IR light source module.
Chang discloses a light control system wherein the visible light source module (red, green and blue in fig.3A) and the IR light source module (see 32 in fig.3A or IR in fig.3B) are turned on and off in an alternating sequence (see fig.3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang and Joseph with the teaching of Chang so that the visible light source module and the IR light source module are turned on and off in an alternating sequence to enhance the control over the light system by controlling each light source directly and reducing the size of elements required thereby making the system more compact.
Ito in view of Wang and Joseph with teaching of Chang does not disclose a turn-on time interval of the visible light source module is equal to a turn-on time interval of the IR light source module.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Ito in view of Wang, Joseph and Chang so that a turn-on time interval of the visible light source module is equal to a turn-on time interval of the IR light source module, since it would predictably increase the effectiveness of piracy prevention by introducing more IR light into the optical chain and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (United States Patent Application Publication 2008/0180640 A1) in view of Wang (CN 208126092 A), Joseph (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0138821 A1), Chang (US 2012/0044461 A1) and Li (CN 104076914 A).
With respect to claim 16, Ito in view of Wang and Joseph discloses the projection device of claim 9, Ito disclose using an LED instead of an arch lamp (see para.[0057]: Alternatively, the light source may be an organic EL element, an inorganic EL element) but does not disclose further comprising: a processing element electrically connected to the visible light source module and the IR light source module, and used for controlling a luminous intensity of the illumination light beam and the IR light beam.
Chang discloses connecting to the visible light source module and the IR light source module (disclosed by red, green and blue in fig.3A operating in sequence), and controlling a luminous intensity of the illumination light beam (see 32 in fig.3A or IR in fig.3B wherein the illumination beam is turned on and off) and the IR light beam (see fig.3B wherein IR is turned on and off).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang, Joseph with the teaching of Chang so that the visible light source module and the IR light source module are connected and a luminous intensity of the illumination light beam and the IR light beam is controlled to facilitate management over the light system by controlling each light source directly and reducing the size of elements required thereby making the system more compact.
Ito in view of Joseph and Chang does not disclose using a processing element to control the visible light source module and the IR light source module.
Li discloses using a processing element to connect to light sources (see para.[0074]: At this time, the LED light source comprises a control unit for controlling each light group illumination intensity of each color luminous unit to realize mixed color treatment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang, Joseph and Chang with the teaching of Li so that a processing element electrically connected to the visible light source module and the IR light source module, and used for controlling a luminous intensity of the illumination light beam and the IR light beam to facilitate management of the light source by using a processor to set sequencing.
With respect to claim 17, Ito in view of Wang, Joseph, Chang and Li discloses the projection device of claim 16, Ito in combination with Wang, Joseph, Chang and Li disclose wherein the projection device has a first night vision mode and a second night vision mode (both modes are disclosed in the operation of sequential control of the light sources as disclosed by the modification of Ito in view of Joseph and Chang with Li, since the mode only require a particular sequential operation of the IR1, IR2, R, G, B light source of Ito), in the first night vision mode (described below), the processing element (processing element as taught above in claim 16 by Ito in view of Wang, Joseph, Chang and Li) turns on the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements and turns off the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements (first mode: see Ito in combination with Wang (et al) which discloses a plurality of first and second light-emitting elements, wherein Ito discloses IR1 and IR2 are turned on and off intermittently with the color wheel sequence: “According to this structure, the second light source 42 and third light source 52 need to provide intermittent lighting in synchronization with emission of the IR1 light and IR2 light from the rotational color filter 54.”; thus a sequence wherein IR2 is turned off and then IR1 turned is the first mode), and in the second night vision mode (described below), the processing element (processing element as taught above in claim 16 by Ito in view of Wang, Joseph, Chang and Li) turns on the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements and the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements (second mode: see Ito in combination with Wang (et al) which discloses a plurality of first and second light-emitting elements, Ito discloses further wherein IR1 and IR2 are turned on and off intermittently with the color wheel sequence: “According to this structure, the second light source 42 and third light source 52 need to provide intermittent lighting in synchronization with emission of the IR1 light and IR2 light from the rotational color filter 54.”), wherein IR1 turned is turned on and then IR2 is turned: examiner interprets the limitation as not requiring both lights to be on or off simultaneous to satisfy the condition of the first and second night vision modes).
With respect to claim 18, It in view of Wang, Joseph, Chang and Li discloses the projection device of claim 16, Ito in combination with Wang, Joseph, Chang and Li disclose wherein the projection device has a first correction mode and a second correction mode (both modes are disclosed in the operation of sequential control of the light sources as disclosed by the modification of Ito in view of Joseph and Chang with Li, since the mode only require a particular sequential operation of the IR1, IR2, R, G, B light source of Ito in view of Joseph and Chang as disclosed in claim 16), and in the first correction mode (described below), the processing element (processing element as taught above in claim 16 by Ito in view of Wang, Joseph, Chang and Li) turns on the visible light source module, the plurality of first IR light- emitting elements, and the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements (the first mode only requires a particular sequential operation of the IR1, IR2, R, G, B light source of Ito in view of Wang, Joseph, Chang and Li as disclosed in claim 16), and in the second correction mode (described below), the processing element (processing element as taught above in claim 16 by Ito in view of Wang, Joseph, Chang and Li) turns on the visible light source module and the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements, and turns off the plurality of first IR light- emitting elements (the second mode only require a particular sequential operation of turning off IR1 (see Ito: “According to this structure, the second light source 42 and third light source 52 need to provide intermittent lighting in synchronization with emission of the IR1 light and IR2 light from the rotational color filter 54.”) and then, in sequence, turning on IR2, R, G, B light source of Ito in view of Joseph and Chang as disclosed in claim 16).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (United States Patent Application Publication 2008/0180640 A1) in view of Wang (CN 208126092 A), Joseph (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0138821 A1), Chang (US 2012/0044461 A1), Li (CN 104076914 A) and Inuzuka (JP 2002274258 A).
With respect to claim 19, Ito in view of Wang, Joseph, Chang and Li discloses the projection device of claim 18, but does not disclose a sensing element electrically connected to the processing element, receiving at least one of the visible image light beam reflected by a projection target and the IR image light beam to obtain a sensing result, and the processing element turns on or off the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements according to the sensing result.
Inuzuka discloses a sensing element (see “16 infrared light receiving element (near infrared proximity)..”) electrically connected to the processing element (10th para: each near-infrared LED is controlled by a control means.), receiving at least one of the visible light beam reflected by a projection target and the IR light beam to obtain a sensing result (12th para.: the near-infrared proximity sensor outputs a detection signal. Then, the control unit turns off the infrared light source based on the detection signal.), and the processing element turns on or off the plurality of IR light- emitting elements according to the sensing result (see 12th para.: the near-infrared proximity sensor outputs a detection signal. Then, the control unit turns off the infrared light source based on the detection signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang, Joseph, Chang and Li with the teaching of Inuzuka so that a sensing element electrically connected to the processing element, receiving at least one of the visible image light beam reflected by a projection target and the IR image light beam to obtain a sensing result, and the processing element turns on or off the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements according to the sensing result to enhance the safety of the projection display device by reducing the IR output when a person is too close.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (United States Patent Application Publication 2008/0180640 A1) in view of Wang (CN 208126092 A), Joseph (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0138821 A1), Chang (US 2012/0044461 A1), Li (CN 104076914 A), Inuzuka (JP 2002274258 A) and Nagasawa (United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0098349).
With respect to claim 20, Ito in view of Wang, Joseph, Chang, Li and Inuzuka discloses the IR light source module of claim 19, Ito in view of Joseph, Wang, Chang, Li and Inuzuka discloses the visible light source module comprises a red laser, a green laser, and a blue laser (see Chang: para.[0026]: Alternatively, the first light source device 31 comprises a red laser light source, a green laser light source and a blue laser light source, which emit the red light R, the green light G and the blue light B respectively by a time sequence control), but does not disclose wherein the plurality of first emitting elements and the plurality of second light-emitting elements are alternately arranged on the at least one circuit substrate or wherein the lasers are laser diodes.
Nagasawa discloses wherein the plurality of first emitting elements and the plurality of second light-emitting elements are alternately arranged on the at least one circuit substrate (see para.[0072]:For example, when the light source unit is made of four chips consisting of 2 chips for one color and 2 chips for another color, if the different LED light sources are alternately arranged in a rectangular geometry, the optical axes of the light sources of the colors are substantially coincident with the optical axis of the capture lens.) and wherein the lasers are laser diodes ([0030]: In addition, the light sources may also be solid-state light-emitting devices other than LEDs such as laser diodes emitting visible light.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Wang, Joseph, Chang, Li and Inuzuka with the teaching of Nagasawa so that the lasers are laser diodes and so that the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements and the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements are alternately arranged on the at least one circuit substrate to make the light source more compact and reduce input power by utilizing laser diodes instead of lasers and to make the light source more compact by providing two pluralities of light source on the same circuit; furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Ito in view of Wang and Joseph with the teaching of Nagasawa so that the plurality of first IR light-emitting elements and the plurality of second IR light-emitting elements are alternately arranged on the at least one circuit substrate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882