DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simonian et al. (US 2013/0307419) in view of Baaijens et al. (US 2015/0061506).
In regards to claim 1, Simonian discloses of a color temperature controller, comprising: control circuitry (for example 120) to: receive data from one or more sensors (for example 170, 170A, 170B) disposed in a space (for example 300, 340, see Figs 1, 3, 5 and Paragraphs 0001, 0037, 0041); determine an activity occurring in the space (300, 340) based on the received data from the one or more sensors (170, 170A, 170B) disposed in the space (300, 340, for example see Paragraphs 0001, 0038, uses measurements from the sensors to adjust the light based on a desired lighting objective, an example including an activity in the environment/are being utilized as a workspace); identify a target color temperature and a target intensity based on the determined activity in the space (for example see Paragraphs 0019, 0022, 0024-0025, 0027-0030, 0033-0034, 0036-0043, 0045-0046, represent the desired lighting and intensity and adjust according to the sensors based on the desired lighting objective); determine an output intensity for each respective one of a plurality of light sources (for example 110-1:110-N) such that, when combined, the color temperature and intensity contributed by each of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) produces a combined luminous output at the received target color temperature and the received target intensity; wherein at least two of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) include light sources having different output spectra (for example see Paragraph 0021, 0025); and cause each of the plurality of operatively coupled light sources (110-1:110-N) to produce the respective determined output intensity (for example see Paragraphs 0022, 0024-0025, 0030, 0034, 0038-0039, 0045-0046).
However, Simonian does not explicitly disclose of the received data is indicative of at least one of a movement or a location of one or more occupants within a space; determine occupant activity using the data; and identify target color temperature and intensity based on the determined occupant activity.
Although one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize the sensing of the light/activity and usage of the space/environment as a workspace would likely require motion and/or activity by an occupant (see Paragraph 0001); Baaijens more explicitly disclose of a controller (122) comprising control circuity to receive data from one or more sensors (124, 126, see Paragraph 0051) indicative of at least one of a movement or a location of one or more occupants (for example see 102, 302B-C) within a space (for example see Figs 4, 8); determine occupant task/activity occurring in the space based on the received data from the one or more sensors (124, 126), and identify desired/target lighting characteristics based on the occupant task/activity in the space (see Paragraphs 0002-0008, 0049-0071), and operatively cause a plurality of light sources (110, 120, 130, 140, 220, 240, 320) in the space to produce the desired/target lighting characteristics (see Figs 1-8 and Paragraphs 0002-0008, 0049-0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the lighting in a space being based on sensed data indicative of at least one of a movement or a location of one or more occupants performing a task/activity as taught by Baaijens for providing desirable lighting parameters for the occupants in the space.
In regards to claim 2, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the controller of claim 1, further comprising: memory circuitry (for example 160) communicatively coupled to the control circuitry (120), the memory circuitry (160) to store data representative of output color temperature as a function of output intensity for each light source included in the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N); wherein to determine the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N), the control circuitry to: retrieve from the memory circuitry (160) the data representative of output color temperature as a function of output intensity for each respective one of the light sources included in the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N); and determine, using the retrieved output color temperature data as a function of output intensity, the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) to produce the combined luminous output at the received target color temperature and the received target intensity (for example see Simonian Paragraphs 0022. 0025, 0027-0029, 0045).
In regards to claim 3, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the controller of claim 2 wherein to cause each of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) to produce the respective determined output intensity, the control circuitry to further: transmit a wireless message (for example see Paragraph 0031, 0039) that includes data representative of the respective determined output intensity to each of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N of Simonian).
In regards to claim 4, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the controller of claim 1 wherein to determine the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N), the control circuitry (120) to further: determine the output intensity of each respective one of: at least one continuous spectrum light source; and at least one discrete spectrum light source (for example see Simonian Paragraphs 0020-0022).
In regards to claim 5, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the controller of claim 1 wherein to determine the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N), the control circuitry (120) to further: determine the output intensity for each respective one of a plurality of light-emitting diode (LED) light sources (for example see Simonian Paragraphs 0020-0024).
In regards to claim 6, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the controller of claim 1 wherein the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) are disposed in a single light fixture (for example 100, see Simonian Fig 1).
In regards to claim 7, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the controller of claim 1 wherein the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) are distributed in two or more light fixtures (for example see Simonian Paragraph 0030).
In regards to claim 8, Simonian discloses of a color temperature control method, comprising: receiving, by the color temperature control circuitry, data from one or more sensors (for example 170, 170A, 170B) disposed in a space (for example 300, 340, see Figs 1, 3, 5 and Paragraphs 0001, 0037, 0041); determining, by the color temperature control circuitry, an activity occurring in the space (300, 340) based on the received data from the one or more sensors (170, 170A, 170B) in the space (300, 340, for example see Paragraphs 0001, 0038, uses measurements from the sensors to adjust the light based on a desired lighting objective, an example including an activity in the environment/are being utilized as a workspace); identifying, by color temperature control circuitry (for example 120), a target color temperature and a target intensity, based on the determined activity occurring in the space (for example see Paragraphs 0019, 0022, 0024-0025, 0027-0030, 0033-0034, 0036-0043, 0045-0046, represent the desired lighting and intensity and adjust according to the sensors based on the desired lighting objective); determining, by the color temperature controller control circuitry (120), an output intensity for each respective one of a plurality of light sources such that, when combined, the color temperature and the intensity contributed by each of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) produces a combined luminous output at the received target color temperature and the received target intensity; wherein at least two of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) include light sources having different output spectra (for example see Paragraph 0021, 0025); and causing, by the color temperature controller control circuitry (120), each of the plurality of operatively coupled light sources to produce the respective determined output intensity (for example see Paragraphs 0022, 0024-0025, 0030, 0034, 0038-0039, 0045-0046).
However, Simonian does not explicitly disclose of the received data is indicative of at least one of a movement or a location of one or more occupants within a space; determine occupant activity using the data; and identify target color temperature and intensity based on the determined occupant activity.
Although one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize the sensing of the light/activity and usage of the space/environment as a workspace would likely require motion and/or activity by an occupant (see Paragraph 0001); Baaijens more explicitly disclose of a controller (122) comprising control circuity to receive data from one or more sensors (124, 126, see Paragraph 0051) indicative of at least one of a movement or a location of one or more occupants (for example see 102, 302B-C) within a space (for example see Figs 4, 8); determine occupant task/activity occurring in the space based on the received data from the one or more sensors (124, 126), and identify desired/target lighting characteristics based on the occupant task/activity in the space (see Paragraphs 0002-0008, 0049-0071), and operatively cause a plurality of light sources (110, 120, 130, 140, 220, 240, 320) in the space to produce the desired/target lighting characteristics (see Figs 1-8 and Paragraphs 0002-0008, 0049-0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the lighting in a space being based on sensed data indicative of at least one of a movement or a location of one or more occupants performing a task/activity as taught by Baaijens for providing desirable lighting parameters for the occupants in the space.
In regards to claim 9, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the method of claim 8 wherein determining the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) further comprises: retrieving, from communicatively coupled memory circuitry (for example 160) data representative of output color temperature as a function of output intensity for each respective one of the light sources included in the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N); and determining, by the color temperature control circuitry (120) using the retrieved output intensity and color temperature data, an output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) to produce the combined luminous output at the received target color temperature and the received target intensity (for example see Simonian Paragraphs 0022, 0025, 0027-0029, 0045).
In regards to claim 10, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the method of claim 9 wherein causing each of the plurality of operatively coupled light sources (110-1:110-N) to produce the respective determined output intensity further comprises: causing, by the color temperature control circuitry (120), a transmission of a wireless message (for example see Paragraph 0031, 0039) that includes data representative of the respective determined output intensity to each of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N of Simonian).
In regards to claim 11, Simonian in view of Baaijens discloses of the method of claim 8 wherein determining the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) further comprises: determining, by the color temperature control circuitry (120), the output intensity for each respective one of: at least one continuous spectrum light source; and at least one discrete spectrum light source (for example see Simonian Paragraphs 0020-0022).
In regards to claim 12, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the method of claim 8 wherein determining the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) further comprises: determining, by the color temperature control circuitry (120), the output intensity for each respective one of a plurality of light-emitting diode (LED) light sources (for example see Simonian Paragraphs 0020-0024).
In regards to claim 13, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the method of claim 8 wherein determining the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) further comprises: determining, by the color temperature control circuitry (120), the output intensity for each respective one of a plurality of light sources disposed in a single light fixture (for example 100, see Simonian Fig 1).
In regards to claim 14, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the method of claim 8 wherein determining the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) further comprises: determining, by the color temperature control circuitry (120), the output intensity for each respective one of a plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) distributed in two or more light fixtures (for example see Simonian Paragraph 0030).
In regards to claim 15, Simonian discloses of a non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device that includes instructions that, when executed by color temperature control circuitry (for example 120), cause the control circuitry to: receive data from one or more sensors (for example 170, 170A, 170B disposed in a space (for example 300, 340, see Figs 1, 3, 5 and Paragraphs 0001, 0037, 0041); determine an activity occurring in the space (300, 340) based on the received data from the one or more sensors (170, 170A, 170B) disposed in the space (300, 340, for example see Paragraphs 0001, 0038, uses measurements from the sensors to adjust the light based on a desired lighting objective, an example including an activity in the environment/are being utilized as a workspace); identify a target color temperature and a target intensity, based on the determined activity occurring in the space (for example see Paragraphs 0019, 0022, 0024-0025, 0027-0030, 0033-0034, 0036-0043, 0045-0046, represent the desired lighting and intensity and adjust according to the sensors based on the desired lighting objective); determine an output intensity for each respective one of a plurality of light sources (for example 110-1:110-N) such that, when combined, the color temperature and intensity contributed by each of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) produces a combined luminous output at the received target color temperature and the received target intensity; wherein at least two of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) include light sources having a different output spectra (for example see Paragraph 0021, 0025); and cause each of the plurality of operatively coupled light sources to produce the respective determined output intensity (for example see Paragraphs 0022, 0024-0025, 0030, 0034, 0038-0039, 0045-0046).
However, Simonian does not explicitly disclose of the received data is indicative of at least one of a movement or a location of one or more occupants within a space; determine occupant activity using the data; and identify target color temperature and intensity based on the determined occupant activity.
Although one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize the sensing of the light/activity and usage of the space/environment as a workspace would likely require motion and/or activity by an occupant (see Paragraph 0001); Baaijens more explicitly disclose of a controller (122) comprising control circuity to receive data from one or more sensors (124, 126, see Paragraph 0051) indicative of at least one of a movement or a location of one or more occupants (for example see 102, 302B-C) within a space (for example see Figs 4, 8); determine occupant task/activity occurring in the space based on the received data from the one or more sensors (124, 126), and identify desired/target lighting characteristics based on the occupant task/activity in the space (see Paragraphs 0002-0008, 0049-0071), and operatively cause a plurality of light sources (110, 120, 130, 140, 220, 240, 320) in the space to produce the desired/target lighting characteristics (see Figs 1-8 and Paragraphs 0002-0008, 0049-0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the lighting in a space being based on sensed data indicative of at least one of a movement or a location of one or more occupants performing a task/activity as taught by Baaijens for providing desirable lighting parameters for the occupants in the space.
In regards to claim 16, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 15 wherein the instructions that cause the color temperature control circuitry to determine the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) further cause the color temperature control circuitry (120) to, for each of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N): retrieve from communicatively coupled memory circuitry (for example 160), data representative of output color temperature as a function of output intensity for each respective one of the light sources included in the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N); and determine, using the retrieved output color temperature data as a function of output intensity, the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) to produce the combined luminous output at the received target color temperature and the received target intensity (for example see Simonian Paragraphs 0022, 0025, 0027-0029, 0045).
In regards to claim 17, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 16 wherein the instructions that cause the color temperature control circuitry (120) to cause each of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) to provide the respective output intensity further causes the color temperature control circuitry to: cause a transmission of a wireless message (for example see Paragraph 0031, 0039) that includes data representative of the respective determined output intensity to each of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N of Simonian).
In regards to claim 18, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 15 wherein the instructions that cause the color temperature control circuitry (120) to determine the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) further causes the color temperature control circuitry (120) to: determine the respective output intensity for each of: at least one continuous spectrum light source; and at least one discrete spectrum light source (for example see Simonian Paragraphs 0020-0022).
In regards to claim 19, Simonian in view of Baaijens disclose of the non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device of claim 15 wherein the instructions that cause the color temperature control circuitry (120) to determine the output intensity for each respective one of the plurality of light sources (110-1:110-N) further causes the color temperature control circuitry (120) to: determine the output intensity for each respective one of a plurality of light-emitting diode (LED) light sources (for example see Simonian Paragraphs 0020-0024).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose of determining an occupant activity in the space using data received from one or more sensors in the space; however, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As found within the explanation above, the prior art of Baaijens discloses of lighting within a space (for example the meeting room as seen in Figs 1-4, 8) that is controlled based on the presence of one or more occupants and determine an activity/task (for example having task lighting off on the table 107 for an occupant working on a backlit laptop computer as seen in Fig 4; or perhaps for reading/reviewing a potential document located on the table 307 as may be seen within Fig 8; additionally, there is also a determination by the sensors of the activity being a presentation on the screen 101, 301 where the lighting may be switched off, see Paragraph 0056) of the occupants based on sensors (for example see 124, 126 and 326A-D) within the space. Once these factors have been determined, the lighting within the space is adjusted to a desired target value based on the presence and the activity/task as is claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M CRAWFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844