DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments on pages 4-9 regarding the claim 11 rejection are agreed to, as the prior art of Nohr (US5455074A) does not effectively teach the amended claim elements of the DBD applicator being used to resistively heat the composite layup. Nohr teaches the DBD excimer lamp instead provides UV radiation to heat the target layup.
Regarding the claim 12 rejection, The Examiner agrees the DBD substitution may not be obvious between the prior arts of Nohr and Sweeney because Nohr teaches the UV surface heating while Sweeney teaches the resistive heating of a plurality of surface/internal conductive layers. The previous rationale for the combination of arts is withdrawn.
However, after prior art review, Sweeney was found to be the closest to the instant case, and a more appropriate rationale for the rejection of amended claim 11 was found using Sweeney, in view of Guan, involving a substitution of layup types instead of the previous substitution of DBD applicators.
All other arguments are either moot because the previously used prior art was not used in the new ground of rejection for a particular claim element, or the arguments are drawn to amended claim matter and will be discussed further in the 35 U.S.C. 103 claim rejections section.
The cancellation of claim 12 and amendments to claims 11, 13-15 & 17 are acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: improper claim language.
It is understood by the Examiner (by the context from the claim 11 amendment) that the composite material types in the first layer and the second layers should be the same material.
For clarity, it is suggested to add to line 4 “…a second layer of the same composite material”.
Alternatively, amendment of line 6 “…first layer and said second layer, wherein both composites are capable of being resistively heated;” and line 14 to “heat from the first and second layers of composite material in the layup” would provide clarity without requiring the same composite type.
Of course, other alternatives are available.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13-14 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeney et al. (“Dielectric Barrier Discharge Applicator for Heating Carbon Nanotube-Loaded Interfaces and Enhancing 3D-Printed Bond Strength”), in view of Guan (CN109571990A). Claim elements are presented in italics.
11. A layup manufacturing process of a composite part, consisting of: applying an epoxy to a first layer of composite material; laying a second layer of composite material onto the first layer to shape the second layer of composite material as a layup, said epoxy disposed between said first layer and said second layer; repeating the applying step and the laying step at least once until the layup is shaped as the composite part; positioning a dielectric barrier discharge applicator comprising a pair of electrodes with a dielectric layer and air gap positioned therebetween proximal to the layup; and generating a plasma via an electric current applied across the pair of electrodes in the dielectric barrier discharge applicator to resistively heat the composite material in the layup such that heat from the composite material in the layup is transferred to the epoxy to cure the layup in the shape of the composite part.
With respect to claim 11, the prior art of Sweeney teaches a layup manufacturing process of a composite part consisting of alternating layers of extruded polymer layers and deposited carbon nanotube interface layers, repeated until a desired final 3D-printed part is produced [P. 2310].
Sweeney teaches positioning a dielectric barrier discharge applicator proximal to the layup (Fig. 3A-B), said dielectric barrier discharge applicator comprising a pair of electrodes with a dielectric layer and air gap positioned therebetween [P. 2310, left column]; heating resistively the composite material in the layup with a plasma produced when an electric current is applied across the pair of electrodes in the dielectric barrier discharge (DBD) applicator [P. 2311, Left col., last ¶ - Right column]; and transferring heat to the composite material comprising nanotubes loaded at interfaces between deposited polymeric layers to cure the layup in the shape of the composite part [P. 2310].
Sweeney teaches the printing process comprising a dielectric barrier discharge applicator would result in parts produced having isotropic strength equivalent to their injection-molded counterparts [P. 2314, Left column]. Sweeney also teaches the use of DBD plasma produces an electric field creating a heating zone both ahead and behind the deposited layer during printing of a large block of material, eliminating cumbersome post-processing treatments and creating ready-to-use products [P. 2311, ¶ 2].
Sweeney teaches “resistive heating is concentrated in the first few printed layers below the surface” [P. 2311, ¶ 3].
Sweeney is silent on a layup consisting of: applying an epoxy to a first layer of composite material; Sweeney instead teaches test examples using a polyamide PA-66 [P. 2312, ¶ 5 - P. 2313] for the carbon nanotube and DBD-cured composite curing process, but does not teach away from the use of other common thermally cured polymers for producing carbon composites.
Sweeney teaches laying a second layer of composite material onto the first layer to shape the second layer of composite material as a layup, a resin disposed between said first layer and said second layer; and repeating the applying step and the laying step at least once until the layup is shaped into the composite part.
However, the prior art of Guan teaches a process for laying a carbon composite layup comprising an epoxy adhesive applied between each of a plurality of carbon composite layers, wherein the carbon composite layers comprise an epoxy-saturated carbon fiber cloth or felt to shape a layup for a composite part [P. 4, sections 5a-5c; P. 6, Claims 1-2].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the composite layup comprising carbon fiber cloth and felt in epoxy resin, taught by Guan, in place of the composite layers formed in the additive manufacturing process taught by Sweeney. This substitution would predictably result in layup process having its carbon composite resistively heated to cure the surrounding epoxy resin via a DBD applicator.
Carbon is known to be electrically conductive and capable of being resistively heated, supported by Sweeney teaching that carbon nanotubes are the resistively heated component. The carbon fiber cloth and carbon fiber felt taught by Guan would be expected to provide resistive heating similarly via a DBD applicator with a reasonable expectation of success.
Although Guan is silent on the curing process for the layup within a mould, carbon fiber and epoxy materials (e.g., prepregs) are very commonly known in the art to be compatible thermally-cured composites.
The advantages taught by Sweeney of concentrating resistive heating in the first few layers below the surface, resulting in product isotropic strength equivalent to their injection-molded counterparts, and eliminating cumbersome post-processing treatments & creating ready-to-use products would also be predictable advantages for the modified process of Sweeney, in view of Guan.
To account for differences in material and layering between the two methods, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to optimize the DBD applicator settings by experimentation, as Sweeney teaches optimizing the heating rate by a linearly varying power density (varying heating time & power) exposure from the DBD applicator [P. 2312, ¶ 4]. Optimization of the DBD application settings would further increase the expectation of success for the modified process of Sweeney, in view of Guan.
13. The layup manufacturing process of claim 11, wherein the dielectric barrier discharge applicator is stationary.
With respect to claim 13, Sweeney teaches an example wherein the dielectric barrier discharge applicator is stationary to generate heat within a layup, and allowed for power density testing [2312, ¶ 4]. This would prima facie obviously be an effective means for curing the layup if the entire layup volume received enough resistive heat generated from the stationary DBD to properly cure the entire product.
14. The layup manufacturing process of claim 11, wherein the dielectric barrier discharge applicator is movable relative to the layup.
With respect to claim 14, Sweeney teaches the dielectric barrier discharge applicator is movable relative to the layup, as the DBD plasma electrode in concentrically mounted around a printing nozzle and can be activated at any desired time during the printing process for in situ welding of composite parts [P. 2310, Abstract, ¶ 3].
17. The layup manufacturing process of claim 11, wherein the composite material is a carbon fiber reinforced composite material or a composite material filled with carbon nanotubes, carbon black or chopped fibers.
With respect to claim 17, as set forth in the rejection of claim 11, Guan teaches the composite material in the modified process of Sweeney, in view of Guan, is a carbon fiber reinforced epoxy material.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeney et al. (“Dielectric Barrier Discharge Applicator for Heating Carbon Nanotube-Loaded Interfaces and Enhancing 3D-Printed Bond Strength”), in view of Guan (CN109571990A), as set forth above in the rejection of claim 11, and further in view of Schmidt-Bleker (EP3346808A1).
15. The layup manufacturing process of claim 11, wherein the dielectric barrier discharge applicator is a hand-held dielectric barrier discharge applicator.
With respect to claim 15, as set forth in the rejection of claim 11, Sweeney, in view of Guan, teaches a DBD applicator mounted within a bonding assembly.
Sweeney, in view of Guan, is silent on the dielectric barrier discharge applicator being a hand-held dielectric barrier discharge applicator.
However, the prior art of Schmidt-Bleker teaches that a dielectric barrier discharge plasma applicator [0028] can be manually held, as shown by a hand-held dielectric barrier discharge applicator (Fig. 17; [0210, 0292]).
It would be known to a person of ordinary skill in the art that if the applicator were not mounted to the assembly, the DBD applicator could be held by an operator at its desired place during operation; as “an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art.” See MPEP 2144.04(III).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to use the known technique of a handheld dielectric barrier discharge applicator, taught by Schmidt-Bleker, to improve the similar process of Sweeney, in view of Guan, in the same way to improve versatility by adding a manual operation, if needed based on the configuration of the assembly, the size/shape of the layup to be cured, or if the applicator mount was broken.
Conclusion
GREGORY C. GROSSO
Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/GREGORY C. GROSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748