Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Planz (US 2007/0035107 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Planz teaches a tractor drawbar adapter comprising:
a first end (2) adapted to slide over a tractor drawbar (4); and
a second end (8) having a different dimension from the first end (Figure 1), wherein the second end is adapted to accept a receiver hitch (14).
Regarding claim 2, Planz teaches a lock pin or drop pin (28) configured to secure the first end in a locked position on the tractor drawbar (Figure 1 and Para [0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Planz teaches that the first end has a dimension of 1 inch (thickness and height can be 1 inch, Para [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Planz teaches that the second end has a dimension of 2 inches (Para [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, Planz teaches that the receiver hitch accepted by the second end comprises a ball mount on the end opposite to the end accepted by the second end (Figure 1 and Para [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Planz teaches that the receiver hitch is of the type commonly used in vehicles (Figure 1 and Para [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Planz teaches a locking mechanism (14) configured to secure the receiver hitch in the second end of the adapter (Figure 1 and Para [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Planz teaches a method of providing a tractor drawbar adapter, comprising:
providing a first end (2) adapted to slide over a tractor drawbar (4); and providing a second end (8) with a different dimension from the first end (Figure 1), wherein the second end is adapted to accept a receiver hitch (12).
Regarding claim 9, Planz teaches securing the first end in a locked position on the tractor drawbar using a lock pin or drop pin (28; Figure 1 and Para [0042]).
Regarding claim 10, Planz teaches that the first end has a dimension of 1 inch (thickness and height can be 1 inch, Para [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Planz teaches that the second end has a dimension of 2 inches (Para [0027]).
Regarding claim 12, Planz teaches that the receiver hitch accepted by the second end comprises a ball mount on the end opposite to the end accepted by the second end (Figure 1 and Para [0002]).
Regarding claim 13, Planz teaches that the receiver hitch is of the type commonly used in vehicles (Figure 1 and Para [0002]).
Regarding claim 14, Planz teaches a locking mechanism (14) configured to secure the receiver hitch in the second end of the adapter (Figure 1 and Para [0032]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO-892 form teach tractor drawbar adapters of interest.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611