DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to amendment filed on 3/8/2026, in which claims 1, 11, and 16 was amended, and claims 1 – 8 and 10 - 21 was presented for further examination.
3. Claims 1 – 8 and 10 - 21 are now pending in the application.
Response to Argument
4. Applicant's arguments filed on 3/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. (see Remarks below).
Remarks
5. As per amended claim 1, applicant argues in substance in pages 14 – 17 that Hanson et al (US 2021/0334255 A1), Ghoshal et al (US 2016/0234675 A1), and Kennedy et al (US 2007/0239342 A1), alone, or in combination does not disclose send, from the provisioning system and to the segmented database, correction instructions determined based on whether the segment identifier identifies the particular segment or a different segment, the correction instructions causing: restoration or recreation of information within the particular segment when the segment identifier identifies the particular segment, and deletion of information within the particular segment when the segment identifier identifies the different segment.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicants’ argument, Examiner respectfully responds that the combine teaching of Hanson et al (US 2021/0334255 A1), Ghoshal et al (US 2016/0234675 A1), and Kennedy et al (US 2007/0239342 A1) specifically disclose each and every features of amended claim 1 including the features of send, from the provisioning system and to the segmented database, correction instructions determined based on whether the segment identifier identifies the particular segment or a different segment, the correction instructions causing: restoration or recreation of information within the particular segment when the segment identifier identifies the particular segment, and deletion of information within the particular segment when the segment identifier identifies the different segment (para.[0027] – para.[0028] and para.[0036]).
Kennedy discloses the process of resolving a discrepancy in a data segment of a table. The process involves executing a query to remove data from the data table and correcting discrepancy between the table and the index (see para.[0024]). After the removal or modification of data, the corresponding table and index data becomes inconsistent. A background process is initiated to update the data to make it consistent with index. A background process generates a message to perform the required maintenance (see para.[0028]). The inconsistent data segment is identified and the discrepancies are corrected (see para.[0030] – para.[0031]).
Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1 – 8 and 10 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson et al (US 2021/0334255 A1), in view of Ghoshal et al (US 2016/0234675 A1), in view of Kennedy et al (US 2007/0239342 A1).
As per claim 1, Hanson et al (US 2021/0334255 A1) discloses,
A system comprising: a segmented database comprising a plurality of segments (para.[0006]; “columnstore comprising a plurality of segments” and para.[0025]; “columnstore table 100 (sometimes referred to as a “columnstore” or a “column-oriented table”) to which embodiments described herein have particular application. The columnstore 100 comprises a plurality of segments”).
each segment of the plurality of segments comprising: a backend storing profile data (para.[0025]; “columnstore 100 comprises a plurality of segments 110 containing a first segment 111, a second segment 112 and a third segment 113. Each segment 111-113 contains segments of data for each column of a plurality of columns 120, referred to as column segments” and para.[0028]; “FIG. 2 shows the columnstore 100, a plurality of mapping structures 130, and a plurality of index tables”).
a frontend storing an index of keys corresponding to the profile data stored in the backend (para.[0028]; “FIG. 2 shows the columnstore 100, a plurality of mapping structures 130, and a plurality of index tables” and para.[0030]; “plurality of index tables 150 comprises a first index table 151, a second index table 152 and a third index table 153. The plurality of index tables 150 each comprise at least one row. The first index table 151 corresponds to the first segment 111, the second index table 152 corresponds to the second segment 112 and the third index table 153 corresponds to the third segment”).
a lookup database storing mapping data associating individual keys with identifiers of corresponding segments of the plurality of segments (para.[0028]; “FIG. 2 shows the columnstore 100, a plurality of mapping structures 130, and a plurality of index tables …….. each of the mapping structures 131-133 corresponds to a subsection of the overall columnstore 100 and is therefore local to its respective segment and may be referred to as a “local mapping structure””).
and a provisioning system, associated with the plurality of segments (para.[0025]; “Each segment 111-113 contains segments of data for each column of a plurality of columns 120, referred to as column segments”).
send, to the lookup database, a segment query indicating the key associated with the inconsistency, receive, from the lookup database in response to the segment query, a segment identifier that, based on the mapping data, identifies a segment of the plurality of segments that is authoritative for storage of data associated with the key (para.[0006]; “receiving a query comprising a parameter; determining a key corresponding to the parameter; identifying a mapping structure, from a plurality of mapping structures, relating to said key, wherein each mapping structure corresponds to a respective segment of the columnstore; interrogating the identified mapping structure to determine a value corresponding to the key, wherein the value identifies an entry of an index table of a plurality of index tables that corresponds to the respective segment, wherein the entry of the index table identifies a row of the respective segment of the columnstore relating to the parameter”).
Hanson does not disclose wherein the profile data is subscriber data associated with subscribers of a telecommunication network, and the keys including a set of keys associated with a particular instance of the profile data associated with a particular subscriber of the telecommunication network, the set of keys comprising at least one of: a first set of keys associated with at least a first network type that is stored in a first segment of the plurality of segments, and a second set of keys associated with at least a second network type that is stored in a second segment of the plurality of segments.
However, Ghoshal et al (US 2016/0234675 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
wherein the profile data is subscriber data associated with subscribers of a telecommunication network (para.[0089]; “User communication parameters (e.g., user data) may comprise any of a predefined history of communication activity on the mobile device 102 (whose activity may be specific with at least one of the plurality of mobile communication networks), user contact/address profile list”).
and the keys including a set of keys associated with a particular instance of the profile data associated with a particular subscriber of the telecommunication network (para.[0026]; “SIM that has a plurality of carrier applets each stored in a separate memory partition on the dynamic SIM. Each carrier applet has unique identifying information (such as at least a unique serial number) that corresponds with a particular wireless carrier, particular subscription account for a carrier, and/or particular wireless communication” and para.[0037]; “carrier applets that each maintain storage of their own unique identifier corresponding to their carrier, network, and/or subscription”)
the set of keys comprising at least one of: a first set of keys associated with at least a first network type that is stored in a first segment of the plurality of segments (para.[0035]; “memory partitions (143, 145, through an nth partition N 147) comprises a unique carrier applet ( e.g., carrier applet A 144, carrier applet B 146, through an nth carrier applet N 148 respectively) with each carrier applet being associated with a corresponding communication service provider/carrier and their network” and para.[0036]; “Each of the carrier applets 144, 146, 148 may comprise
provisioning attributes, a unique identifier, and/or specific communication network credentials corresponding and assigned to each individual carrier ….. Each unique identifier corresponding to one of the plurality of carrier applets (144, 146, 148) may include any of a mobile subscriber equipment identifier (MSEI), international mobile
state equipment identity (IMEI), cellular data number (CDN), and international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), and mobile state international subscriber directory number
(MSISDN).”).
and a second set of keys associated with at least a second network type that is stored in a second segment of the plurality of segments (para.[0035]; “memory partitions (143, 145, through an nth partition N 147) comprises a unique carrier applet ( e.g., carrier applet A 144, carrier applet B 146, through an nth carrier applet N 148 respectively) with each carrier applet being associated with a corresponding communication service provider/carrier and their network” and para.[0036]; “Each of the carrier applets 144, 146, 148 may comprise provisioning attributes, a unique identifier, and/or specific communication network credentials corresponding and assigned to each individual carrier ….….. Each unique identifier corresponding to one of the plurality of carrier applets (144, 146, 148) may include any of a mobile subscriber equipment identifier (MSEI), international mobile state equipment identity (IMEI), cellular data number (CDN), and international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), and mobile state international subscriber directory number (MSISDN)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate into data organizational structure of Hanson to allow user communication among different underlying network architecture, thereby enhancing user access to different network via single mobile device.
Neither Hanson nor Ghoshal specifically disclose receive an inconsistency notification indicating a key associated with an inconsistency, within a particular segment of the plurality of segments, between: the index stored in the frontend of the particular segment, and the profile data stored in the backend of the particular segment and issuing correction instructions, based at least in part on the segment identifier, that causes a resolution of the inconsistency within the particular segment, correction instructions determined based on whether the segment identifier identifies the particular segment or a different segment, the correction instructions causing: restoration or recreation of information within the particular segment when the segment identifier identifies the particular segment, and deletion of information within the particular segment when the segment identifier identifies the different segment.
However, Kennedy et al (US 2007/0239342 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
configure to receive an inconsistency notification indicating a key associated with an inconsistency, within a particular segment of the plurality of segments, between: the index stored in the frontend of the particular segment, and the profile data stored in the backend of the particular segment (para.[0028]; “a message is provided to the background processing system 118 that indicates that maintenance is to be performed on indexes. The message provides the background processingsystem 118 with an indication that maintenance is to be performed”, where a message includes “indication that maintenance is to be performed” is analogous to “inconsistency notification indicating a key associated with an inconsistency” as claimed and para.[0054]; “messages received from the remove component 602 are stored in the maintenance list 604. The maintenance list 604 indicates that an index is to be maintained and may indicate which segments have been removed and which indexes are to be maintained”).
and send, from the provisioning system and to the segmented database, (para.[0028]; “a message is provided to the background processing system 118 that indicates that maintenance is to be performed on indexes. The message provides the background processing system 118 with an indication that maintenance is to be performed”).
correction instructions determined based on whether the segment identifier identifies the particular segment or a different segment (para.[0027]; “The data removed from the table(s) may be placed in another table or deleted” and para.[0028]; “At the time that the data is removed, a message is provided to the background processing system 118 that indicates that maintenance is to be performed”).
the correction instructions causing: restoration or recreation of information within the particular segment when the segment identifier identifies the particular segment (para.[0028]; “background processing system 118 may retain a list of all such indexes that are mentioned in each message to perform the maintenance at preset intervals or maintenance on each identified index may commence after the message is received and the data removal operation has been committed”).
and deletion of information within the particular segment when the segment identifier identifies the different segment (para.[0036]; “If the entry has no reference to any removed segment, or has already been removed, then a detection of new removals in the table associated with the index is made”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate correction of discrepancy between segment table and index of the system of Kennedy into partitioning of SIM card into different carrier region of the system of Ghoshal to defer maintenance of database indexes, thereby reducing unnecessary work if the index is mostly correct in the system of Hanson.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Kennedy et al (US 2007/0239342 A1) discloses,
wherein the inconsistency is based on the key being: present in the index stored in the frontend of the particular segment, and omitted from the profile data stored in the backend of the particular segment (para.[0035]; “have a reference to any removed segment (as identified in the list of removed segments) then the entry is removed from the index”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate correction of discrepancy between segment table and index of the system of Kennedy into different carrier region of the system of Poulsen to defer maintenance of database indexes, thereby reducing unnecessary work if the index is mostly correct.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Kennedy et al (US 2007/0239342 A1) discloses,
wherein the inconsistency is based on the key being: referenced in the profile data stored in the backend of the particular segment, and omitted from the index stored in the frontend of the particular segment (para.[0058]; “examines each entry in the index to determine if it makes reference to any of the segments in the maintenance list 604. If such a reference is made then the entry is removed from the index”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate correction of discrepancy between segment table and index of the system of Kennedy into partitioning of SIM card into different carrier region of the system of Ghoshal to defer maintenance of database indexes, thereby reducing unnecessary work if the index is mostly correct in the system of Hanson.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Kennedy et al (US 2007/0239342 A1) discloses,
wherein: the segment identifier indicates that the particular segment, based on the mapping data, corresponds with the key associated with the inconsistency, and the correction instructions cause the particular segment to restore or recreate information in one of the index or the profile data to resolve the inconsistency (para.[0026]; “database 110 includes a segment map providing an overview of the contents of the database 110. The segment map lists all tables in the database 110 as well as the segments in each table and their status” and para.[0059]; “examines the maintenance list 604 or the segment map 622 on a periodic basis to determine if there are any new segments indicated therein that are in the table 624 for which the index 626 is being rectified”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate correction of discrepancy between segment table and index of the system of Kennedy into partitioning of SIM card into different carrier region of the system of Ghoshal to defer maintenance of database indexes, thereby reducing unnecessary work if the index is mostly correct in the system of Hanson.
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Kennedy et al (US 2007/0239342 A1) discloses,
wherein: the segment identifier indicates that, based on the mapping data, a different segment other than the particular segment corresponds with the key associated with the inconsistency, and the correction instructions cause the particular segment to delete information in one of the index or the profile data to resolve the inconsistency (para.[0026]; “database 110 includes a segment map providing an overview of the contents of the database 110. The segment map lists all tables in the database 110 as well as the segments in each table and their status” and para.[0058]; “examines each entry in the index to determine if it makes reference to any of the segments in the maintenance list 604. If such a reference is made then the entry is removed from the index”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate correction of discrepancy between segment table and index of the system of Kennedy into partitioning of SIM card into different carrier region of the system of Ghoshal to defer maintenance of database indexes, thereby reducing unnecessary work if the index is mostly correct in the system of Hanson.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, and further Kennedy et al (US 2007/0239342 A1) discloses,
wherein the provisioning system is further configured to: verify, by communicating with the different segment, that the different segment stores data associated with the key (para.[0036]; “after the list of removed segments was established in step 402, or any segment that was removed at such a time so as not to be incorporated into the list. Detection of newly removed segments may be done upon receiving a message”).
and issue the correction instructions, that cause the particular segment to delete the information in one of the index or the profile data, in response to verifying that the different segment stores the data associated with the key (para.[0058]; “examines each entry in the index to determine if it makes reference to any of the segments in the maintenance list 604. If such a reference is made then the entry is removed from the index”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate correction of discrepancy between segment table and index of the system of Kennedy into partitioning of SIM card into different carrier region of the system of Ghoshal to defer maintenance of database indexes, thereby reducing unnecessary work if the index is mostly correct in the system of Hanson.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Kennedy et al (US 2007/0239342 A1) discloses,
further comprising a segment auditor, associated with the particular segment, configured to: perform an audit of the particular segment to identify the inconsistency within the particular segment; and send the inconsistency notification, indicating the key associated with the inconsistency, to the provisioning system (para.[0024]; “request to remove data from the table is received in step 202. The data removal operation (methods 300, 400) illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4 is started in step 204. The data removal operation includes removing the data from the table and also rectifying discrepancies between the table (with the removed data) and any indexes for the table”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate correction of discrepancy between segment table and index of the system of Kennedy into partitioning of SIM card into different carrier region of the system of Ghoshal to defer maintenance of database indexes, thereby reducing unnecessary work if the index is mostly correct in the system of Hanson.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, and further Kennedy et al (US 2007/0239342 A1) discloses,
wherein: the segment auditor is within a plurality of segment auditors, and different segment auditors of the plurality of segment auditors correspond to different segments of the plurality of segments (para.[0043]; “status for all segments in the table is obtained in step 506. The status may be obtained from the list of all segments in the table or from the segment map for the database, which also retains the status of each segment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate correction of discrepancy between segment table and index of the system of Kennedy into partitioning of SIM card into different carrier region of the system of Ghoshal to defer maintenance of database indexes, thereby reducing unnecessary work if the index is mostly correct in the system of Hanson.
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Hanson et al (US 2021/0334255 A1) discloses,
wherein different segments, of the plurality of segments, are configured to store instances of the profile data that correspond with values of the keys within different ranges of values (para.[0077]; “a predefined number of rows of the plurality of rows 210 are unchanged for a predetermined period of time, for example 2 minutes, a new segment of the columnstore 100 is created comprising the data of the rowstore”).
Claims 11 and 12 – 15 are method claim corresponding to system claims 1 and 4 – 7 respectively, and reject under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 1 and 4 – 7 respectively above.
Claims 16 and 17 - 20 are non-transitory computer-readable media claim corresponding to system claims 1 and 4 – 7 respectively, and reject under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 1 and 4 – 7 respectively above.
As per claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and further Ghoshal et al (US 2016/0234675 A1) discloses,
wherein the set of keys comprising at least an Integrated Circuit Card Identification Number (ICCID) associated with the SIM (para.[0036]; “Each unique identifier corresponding to one of the plurality of carrier applets (144, 146, 148) may include any of a mobile subscriber equipment identifier (MSEI), international mobile
state equipment identity (IMEI), cellular data number (CDN), and international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), and mobile state international subscriber directory number
(MSISDN)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate correction of discrepancy between segment table and index of the system of Kennedy into partitioning of SIM card into different carrier region of the system of Ghoshal to defer maintenance of database indexes, thereby reducing unnecessary work if the index is mostly correct in the system of Hanson.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUGUSTINE K. OBISESAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2156
5/26/2026