DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Abstract Objections
The abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The invention provides” (ln. 1), “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In re claim 1: the claim is worded awkwardly, has improper capitalization of terms, and at least one antecedence issue; the examiner suggests replacing the claim with the following claim 1:
–A squeezing device comprising:
a squeezing structure provided with a holding cavity, a squeezing cavity and a diversion, the diversion cavity has a connection port I and a connection port II; the diversion cavity is arranged between the holding cavity and the squeezing cavity such that the connection port I is connected to the holding cavity and the connection port II is connected to the squeezing cavity; wherein a cross-sectional area of the connection port I is greater than a cross-sectional area of the connection port II; and
a squeezing head at least partially positioned within the squeezing cavity, wherein the squeezing head is configured rotate relative to the squeezing structure.–
In re claim 2: the claim would be in better form if “has the feature that, the diversion cavity is at least partially of conical diversion cavity or helical diversion cavity” read –wherein the diversion cavity is at least partially conical or helical–.
In re claim 3: the claim would be in better form if “has the feature that, the included angle between the bus bar of the diversion cavity and the horizontal plane is D” read –wherein an included angle between a bus bar of the diversion cavity and a horizontal plane is D–.
In re claim 4: the claim would be in better form if “has the feature that, the cross section” read –wherein a cross-section–.
In re claim 5: the claim would be in better form if “has the feature that, the cross section” read –wherein a cross-section–.
In re claim 6: the claim would be in better form if “has the feature that, the ratio of the cross section diameter of the connection port I to that of the connection port II is not greater than 10” read –wherein a ratio of a cross-section diameter of the connection port I to a cross-section diameter of the connection port II is not greater than 10–.
In re claim 7: the claim would be in better form if “has the feature that,” read –wherein–.
In re claim 8: the claim would be in better form if “has the feature that,” read –wherein–; and “chamber” should be –cavity–; and “the cross section” should be –a cross-section–.
In re claim 9: the claim would be in better form if “has the feature that,” read –wherein–; and “the inner wall” should be –an inner wall–; and “the diversion cavity” should be –the squeezing cavity– (compare fig. 2, 3 of the drawings, discharging part 150 is below connection port II 1132 and, thus, in the squeezing cavity).
In re claim 10: the claim would be in better form if it read:
–A juicer comprising:
a main body; and
a squeezing device according to claim 1, wherein the squeezing device is detachable and attachable to the main body, and the main body is used to drive the squeezing head of the squeezing device for rotation.–
In re claim 11: the claim would be in better form if “has the feature that,” read –wherein–; and “the position signal” should be –a position signal–.
In re claim 12: the claim would be in better form if “has the feature that,” read –wherein–; “the squeezing structure” should be –the squeezing device–; and “and contact with” should be –an makes contact with–.
Appropriate correction for the above list of issues is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to entirely perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“induction part is used to obtain the position signal of the squeezing device” (clm. 11);
“contact part … [makes] contact with the induction part” (clm. 12).
The term “part” is a nonce term, is coupled to the functional language “is used to …” and “makes contact with …” and is not preceded by a structural modifier. Element 140 in fig. 2 of the drawings is the contact part, and element 300 is the induction part. Also see ¶ 58 of the specification.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as entirely performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-3, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (CN 204 698 309 U).
In re claim 1: Gao discloses a squeezing device comprising:
a squeezing structure internally provided with a holding cavity, a squeezing cavity and a diversion cavity (see annotated fig. 1 of Gao below), the diversion cavity has a connection port I and a connection port II arranged between the holding cavity and the squeezing cavity such that the connection port I is connected to the holding cavity and the connection port II is connected to the squeezing cavity (fig. 1 below); wherein a cross-sectional area of the connection port I is greater than a cross-sectional area of the connection port II (fig. 1 below); and
a squeezing head at least partially positioned within the squeezing cavity, wherein the squeezing head is configured for rotation relative to the squeezing structure (fig. 1 below).
1st Annotated Fig. 1 of Gao
In re claim 2, which depends on claim 1: Gao discloses the diversion cavity is at least partially conical (see fig. 1 above).
In re claim 3, which depends on claim 2: Gao discloses an included angle between a bus bar of the diversion cavity and a horizontal plane is D, and D is greater than or equal to 10° and less than or equal to 80° (see annotated fig. 1 of Gao below).
2nd Annotated Fig. 1 of Gao
In re claim 7, which depends on claim 1: Gao discloses the diversion cavity and the holding cavity are eccentrically arranged (see the 1st fig. 1 above).
In re claim 9, which depends on claim 1 and is being examined as best understood: Gao discloses a discharging part arranged on an inner wall of the squeezing cavity (see the 1st fig. 1 above).
In re claim 10: Gao discloses a juicer comprising:
a main body (fig. 1, the base on which the squeezing device of 1st fig. 1 above rests on); and
a squeezing device according to claim 1 (see clm. 1 above), wherein the squeezing device is detachable and attachable to the main body, and the main body is used to drive the squeezing head of the squeezing device for rotation (see fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao.
In re claim 4, which depends on claim 1: Gao is silent regarding a diameter of a cross-section of the holding cavity being greater than or equal to 100mm and less than or equal to 500mm.
However, because the general conditions of the claim are met by Gao (i.e., Gao discloses all the required structure), it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in the claimed manner, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP § 2144.04, subsection IV.A).
In re claim 5, which depends on claim 1: Gao is silent regarding a diameter of a cross-section of the diversion cavity being greater than or equal to 60mm and less than or equal to 200mm.
However, because the general conditions of the claim are met by Gao (i.e., Gao discloses all the required structure), it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in the claimed manner, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP § 2144.04, subsection IV.A).
In re claim 6, which depends on claim 4: Gao discloses a ratio of a diameter of a cross-section of the connection part I to a diameter of a cross-section of the connection part II is not greater than 10 (see the 1st fig. 1 above, the diameter of the connection part I about two times the diameter of the connection part II and, thus, the ratio is about 2).
In re claim 8, which depends on claim 1: Gao discloses the squeezing device includes a cover body provided with a feeding port connected with the holding cavity (second material port 42, fig. 1-2).
Gao is silent regarding a diameter of a cross-section of the feeding being not greater than 45mm.
However, because the general conditions of the claim are met by Gao (i.e., Gao discloses all the required structure), it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in the claimed manner, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP § 2144.04, subsection IV.A).
Claim 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao, in view of Guo (CN 106 691 149 A).
In re claims 11 and 12, which depend on claims 10 and 11: Gao is silent regarding an induction part arranged in the main body and used to obtain a position signal of the squeezing device when it is connected to the main body and, from claim 12, the squeezing device also includes a contact part, the contact part is at least partially protruding from the squeezing structure, the main body is provided with a connecting groove, and the induction part is at least partially arranged in the connecting groove; when the squeezing device is connected with the main body, the contact part is inserted into the connecting groove and contact with the induction part.
However, Guo teaches a juicer comprising a main body (30, fig. 5) having an induction part (43, 60) such that when a squeezing device (20) is connected with the main body the induction part obtains a position signal of the squeezing device (§ [0038], ¶ 3-5; § [0048]). And the squeezing device (20) includes a contact part (41), the contact part is at least partially protruding from the squeezing structure (see the figures, it protrudes from the handle), the main body is provided with a connecting groove (fig. 3-4, the groove in which 43 moves up and down), and the induction part is at least partially arranged in the connecting groove (fig. 3-4); when the squeezing device is connected with the main body, the contact part is inserted into the connecting groove and makes contact with the induction part (fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao in the claimed manner, as taught by Guo, thereby providing Gao with a safety feature by only allowing the juicer to operate when the squeezing device is in the proper position for operation.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Han (CN 110 710 856 A); at least the figures are pertinent to at least various features of the independent claims
Jiang et al. (CN 104 323 693 A); at least the figures are pertinent to at least various features of the independent claims and claim 3
Liu (CN 107 343 736 A); at least the figures are pertinent to at least various features of the independent claims and claim 3
Mei et al. (CN 110 464 224 A); at least the figures are pertinent to at least various features of the independent claims
Park et al. (KR 2015-0094102 A); at least the figures are pertinent to at least various features of the independent claims
Sun et al. (CN 209 074 123 U); at least the figures are pertinent to at least various features of the independent claims
Wang et al. (CN 114 847 744 A); at least the figures are pertinent to at least various features of the independent claims
You et al. (CN 111 109 993 A); at least the figures are pertinent to at least various features of the independent claims
Zou (CN 204 580 854 U); at least the figures are pertinent to at least various features of the independent claims
Conclusion
/JARED O BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725