DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed December 19, 2025 have been entered and considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raring et al. (US 10587090 B1), in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20130329397 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Raring et al. teaches:
A light-emitting device comprising:
a base member [801, Col. 83, Lines 29-35, Fig. 17-19a] including a bottom portion defining a placement surface, and a frame portion [502, Col. 109, Lines 44-49, Fig. 27; 601, Col. 110, Lines 33-41, Fig. 28] surrounding the placement surface in a top view:
a light-emitting element [802, Col. 83, Lines 29-35, Fig. 17-19a] disposed on the placement surface, and configured to emit first light [817, Col. 85, Lines 52-61, Fig. 17-19a] from an emitting end surface;
a wavelength conversion member [807, 808, 809, Col. 83, Lines 50-56, Fig. 17-19a] disposed at a portion of the placement surface to which the light emitted from the first light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17-19a] travels, the wavelength conversion member [807, 808, 809, Fig. 17-19a] having
a wiring region [812, Col. 83, Lines 57-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-17, Fig. 17-19a] being a part of a current path electrically connected to the light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17-19a],
a wavelength conversion portion [808, Fig. 17-19a] having an incident lateral surface on which the first light [817, Fig. 17-19a] emitted from the light- emitting element [802, Fig. 17-19a] is incident, and a surface from which second light [818, Col. 86, Lines 52-61, Fig. 17-19a] is emitted, and
an enclosing portion [Col. 83, Lines 59-60 to Col. 84, Lines 1-12, Fig. 17-19b] surrounding the wavelength conversion portion [808, Fig. 17] in the top view and provided with the wiring region [812, Fig. 17]: and
a lid portion [Col. 110, Lines 33-41, Fig. 28] bonded to the frame portion [601, Col. 109, Lines 64-67 to Col. 110, Lines 1-41, Fig. 28], and forming a sealed space where the light- emitting element [802, Fig. 17-19a] and the wavelength conversion member [807, 808, 809, Fig. 17-19a] are disposed, wherein
the wiring region [812, Fig. 17-19a] is provided inside the sealed space, and
the wavelength conversion member [807, 808, 809, Fig. 17-19a] and the light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17-19a] are disposed inward of the frame portion [601, Fig. 28] in the top view.
Raring et al. does not teach:
a wavelength conversion portion having an incident lateral surface on which the first light emitted from the light- emitting element is incident, and an upper surface from which second light is emitted.
Shimizu et al. teaches:
a wavelength conversion portion [13, paragraph [0033-0042], Fig. 4] having an incident lateral surface [131, paragraph [0034-0035], Fig. 4] on which the first light emitted from the light- emitting element [11, paragraph [0033-0038], Fig. 4] is incident, and an upper surface [133, paragraph [0034-0035], [0055], Fig. 4] from which second light is emitted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Shimizu et al. into the teachings of Raring et al. to include a wavelength conversion portion having an incident lateral surface on which the first light emitted from the light- emitting element is incident, and an upper surface from which second light is emitted, for the purpose of to emit light through an upper surface, increase the use efficiency of the fluorescence from the ceramic phosphor, if the light entering the ceramic phosphor 13 from the laser diode 11 is shifted in a height direction (in a vertical direction of FIG. 4) to a certain degree, only if the light is incident upon the light entrance surface 131 at substantially right angle thereto, the optical path length of the light in the ceramic phosphor 13 (i.e., the optical path length from the light entrance surface 131 through the reflection surface 132 to the light outgoing surface 133) becomes almost constant. As a result, it is possible to suppress variation in the quality of the light going out from the ceramic phosphor 13.
Regarding claim 2, Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. teach the light-emitting device according to claim 1.
Raring et al. further teaches:
the second light [818, Col. 85, Lines 52-61, Fig. 17-19a] includes the first light [817, Fig. 17-19a].
Regarding claim 3, Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. teach the light-emitting device according to claim 1.
Raring et al. further teaches:
the enclosing portion [Col. 83, Lines 59-60 to Col. 84, Lines 1-12, Fig. 17-19b] has an upper surface surrounding the upper surface of the wavelength conversion portion in the top view, and
the wiring region [812, Col. 83, Lines 62-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-9, Fig. 17,19a] is a first conductive film provided at the upper surface of the enclosing portion [Col. 83, Lines 59-60 to Col. 84, Lines 1-12, Fig. 17-19b].
Regarding claim 4, Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. teach the light-emitting device according to claim 1.
Raring et al. further teaches:
the enclosing portion [Col. 83, Lines 59-60 to Col. 84, Lines 1-12, Fig. 17-19b] has a lower surface facing the placement surface of the base member [801, Fig. 17-19b], and
the wiring region [812, Col. 85, Lines 27-46, Fig. 18] is a second conductive film provided at the lower surface of the enclosing portion [Col. 83, Lines 59-60 to Col. 84, Lines 1-12, Fig. 17-19b].
Regarding claim 5, Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. teach the light-emitting device according to claim 1.
Raring et al. further teaches:
the enclosing portion [Col. 83, Lines 59-60 to Col. 84, Lines 1-12, Fig. 17-19b] is formed of a conductive material.
Regarding claim 16, Raring et al. teaches:
A light-emitting device comprising:
a base member [801, Fig. 17] including a bottom portion defining a placement surface, and a frame portion [502, Col. 109, Lines 44-49, Fig. 27; 601, Col. 110, Lines 33-41, Fig. 28] surrounding the placement surface in a top view;
a light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17] disposed on the placement surface, and configured to emit first light [817, Fig. 17] from an emitting end surface;
a light conversion member [807, 808, 809, Fig. 17] disposed at a portion of the placement surface to which the first light [817, Fig. 17] emitted from the light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17] travels, the light conversion member [807, 808, 809, Fig. 17] having
a wiring region [812, Fig. 17] being a part of a current path electrically connected to the light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17],
a light conversion portion [808, Fig. 17] having an incident lateral surface on which the first light [817, Fig. 17] emitted from the light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17] is incident, and a surface from which second light [818, Fig. 17] is emitted, and
an enclosing portion [Col. 83, Lines 59-60 to Col. 84, Lines 1-12, Fig. 17-19b] surrounding the light conversion portion [808, Fig. 17-19b] in the top view and provided with the wiring region [812, Fig. 17-19b]: and
a lid portion [Col. 110, Lines 33-41, Fig. 28] bonded to the frame portion [601, Col. 109, Lines 64-67 to Col. 110, Lines 1-41, Fig. 28], and forming a sealed space where the light- emitting element [802, Fig. 17, 26-30] and the light conversion member [807, 808, 809, Fig. 17, 26-30] are disposed, wherein
the wiring region [812, Fig. 17] is provided inside the sealed space, and
the light conversion member [807, 808, 809, Fig. 17] and the light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17] are disposed inward of the frame portion [601, Fig. 28] in the top view.
Raring et al. does not teach:
a light conversion portion having an incident lateral surface on which the first light emitted from the light-emitting element is incident, and an upper surface from which second light is emitted.
Shimizu et al. teaches:
a light conversion portion [13, paragraph [0033-0042], Fig. 4] having an incident lateral surface [131, paragraph [0034-0035], Fig. 4] on which the first light emitted from the light-emitting element [11, paragraph [0033-0038], Fig. 4] is incident, and an upper surface [133, paragraph [0034-0035], [0055], Fig. 4] from which second light is emitted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Shimizu et al. into the teachings of Raring et al. to include a light conversion portion having an incident lateral surface on which the first light emitted from the light-emitting element is incident, and an upper surface from which second light is emitted, for the purpose of to emit light through an upper surface, increase the use efficiency of the fluorescence from the ceramic phosphor, if the light entering the ceramic phosphor 13 from the laser diode 11 is shifted in a height direction (in a vertical direction of FIG. 4) to a certain degree, only if the light is incident upon the light entrance surface 131 at substantially right angle thereto, the optical path length of the light in the ceramic phosphor 13 (i.e., the optical path length from the light entrance surface 131 through the reflection surface 132 to the light outgoing surface 133) becomes almost constant. As a result, it is possible to suppress variation in the quality of the light going out from the ceramic phosphor 13.
Regarding claim 17, Raring et al. teaches:
A light-emitting device comprising:
a base member [801, Fig. 17] having a placement surface;
a light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17] disposed on the placement surface, and configured to emit first light [817, Fig. 17] from an emitting end surface; and
a wavelength conversion member [807, 808, 809, Fig. 17] disposed at a portion of the placement surface to which the light emitted from the first light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17] travels, the wavelength conversion member [807, 808, 809, Fig. 17] having
a wiring region [812, Fig. 17] being a part of a current path electrically connected to the light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17],
a wavelength conversion portion [808, Fig. 17] having an incident lateral surface on which the first light [817, Fig. 17] emitted from the light- emitting element [802, Fig. 17] is incident, and a surface from which second light [818, Fig. 17] is emitted, the second light [818, Fig. 17] including the first light [817, Fig. 17], and
an enclosing portion [Col. 83, Lines 59-60 to Col. 84, Lines 1-12, Fig. 17-19b] surrounding the wavelength conversion portion [808, Fig. 17-19b] in a top view and provided with the wiring region [812, Fig. 17-19b], wherein
no wiring region [812, Fig. 17] is provided on the upper surface of the wavelength conversion portion [808, Fig. 17].
Raring et al. does not teach:
a wavelength conversion portion having an incident lateral surface on which the first light emitted from the light- emitting element is incident, and an upper surface from which second light is emitted.
Shimizu et al. teaches:
a wavelength conversion portion [13, paragraph [0033-0042], Fig. 4] having an incident lateral surface [131, paragraph [0034-0035], Fig. 4] on which the first light emitted from the light- emitting element [11, paragraph [0033-0038], Fig. 4] is incident, and an upper surface [133, paragraph [0034-0035], [0055], Fig. 4] from which second light is emitted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Shimizu et al. into the teachings of Raring et al. to include a wavelength conversion portion having an incident lateral surface on which the first light emitted from the light- emitting element is incident, and an upper surface from which second light is emitted, for the purpose of to emit light through an upper surface, increase the use efficiency of the fluorescence from the ceramic phosphor, if the light entering the ceramic phosphor 13 from the laser diode 11 is shifted in a height direction (in a vertical direction of FIG. 4) to a certain degree, only if the light is incident upon the light entrance surface 131 at substantially right angle thereto, the optical path length of the light in the ceramic phosphor 13 (i.e., the optical path length from the light entrance surface 131 through the reflection surface 132 to the light outgoing surface 133) becomes almost constant. As a result, it is possible to suppress variation in the quality of the light going out from the ceramic phosphor 13.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raring et al. (US 10587090 B1), in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20130329397 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Murayama et al. (WO 2021085164 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. teach the light-emitting device according to claim 1.
Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. do not teach:
a lateral surface of the wavelength conversion member has a recessed portion, and
the recessed portion is partially defined by the wavelength conversion portion.
Murayama et al. teaches:
a lateral surface of the wavelength conversion member [52, paragraph [0059], Fig. 8] has a recessed portion [42S1, paragraph [0058], Fig. 8], and
the recessed portion [42S1, Fig. 8] is partially defined by the wavelength conversion portion [52, Fig. 8].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Murayama et al. into the teachings of Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. to include a lateral surface of the wavelength conversion member has a recessed portion, and the recessed portion is partially defined by the wavelength conversion portion, for the purpose of refracted upwards due to the difference in refractive index between the outside of the phosphor and the phosphor, making it easier for the light to propagate upwards within the fluorescent member, improve wavelength conversion efficiency and light extraction efficiency. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B) Changes in Shape.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raring et al. (US 10587090 B1), in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20130329397 A1) and Murayama et al. (WO 2021085164 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (CN 209977723 U).
Regarding claim 9, Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Murayama et al. teach the light-emitting device according to claim 8.
Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Murayama et al. do not teach:
the emitting end surface of the light-emitting element overlaps the recessed portion in the top view.
Zhou et al. teaches:
the emitting end surface of the light-emitting element [10, paragraph [0028], [0035], Fig. 2] overlaps the recessed portion [20, paragraph [0027-0029], [0031], [0035], Fig. 2] in the top view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhou et al. into the teachings of Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Murayama et al. to include the emitting end surface of the light-emitting element overlaps the recessed portion in the top view, for the purpose of maximizing light amount to be converted and emitted, preventing light leakage, improving performance.
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raring et al. (US 10587090 B1), in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20130329397 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kiyota (JP 2017201688 A).
Regarding claim 10, Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. teach the light-emitting device according to claim 1.
Raring et al. further teaches:
a third conductive film [811, Col. 83, Lines 57-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-3, Fig. 17]
the third conductive film [811, Col. 83, Lines 57-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-3, Fig. 17] is electrically connected to the wiring region [812, Fig. 17] via a first wiring [Col. 83, Lines 59-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-3, Fig. 17], and
the current path is formed at least through the third conductive film [811, Col. 83, Liens 57-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-3, Fig. 17], the first wiring [Col. 83, Lines 59-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-3], and the wiring region [812, Fig. 17].
Third conductive film [811] and wiring region [812] are electrically connected. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the third conductive film [811] and the wiring region [812].
Using wires to connect features within the device to facilitate the flow of electricity and operate the device. Using wires is simpler to install and remove, wires can provide a safe connection point reducing the risk of damage and ensuring a secure hold. Wires are often less expensive than materials used to attach components, making them cost-effective.
Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. do not teach:
a first stepped portion having an upper surface located above an upper surface of the bottom portion and below an upper surface of the frame portion; and
a third conductive film disposed on the upper surface of the first stepped portion.
Kiyota teaches:
a first stepped portion [13b, paragraph [0016], [0018-0019], Fig. 1A-4] having an upper surface located above an upper surface of the bottom portion [13a, paragraph [0017], Fig. 2] and below an upper surface of the frame portion [16a, paragraph [0015-0017], [0029], Fig. 2]; and
a third conductive film [23, paragraph [0018-0019], [0020], Fig. 2] disposed on the upper surface of the first stepped portion [13b, Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kiyota into the teachings of Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. to include a first stepped portion having an upper surface located above an upper surface of the bottom portion and below an upper surface of the frame portion; and a third conductive film disposed on the upper surface of the first stepped portion, for the purpose of the connection of the wire 81 to the wiring layer 23 becomes easy. This allows the length of the wire 81 electrically connected to the semiconductor laser element 20 to be shortened, thereby reducing electrical resistance, and preventing short circuits.
Regarding claim 11, Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Kiyota teach the light-emitting device according to claim 10.
Raring et al. further teaches:
a fourth conductive film [813, Col. 84, Lines 1-9, Fig. 17]
the wiring region [812, Fig. 17] is electrically connected to the fourth conductive film [813, Fig. 17] via a second wiring [Col. 84, Lines 3-12, Fig. 17], and
the current path is formed at least through the third conductive film [811, Col. 83, Lines 57-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-9, Fig. 17], the first wiring [Col. 83, Lines 59-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-3, Fig. 17], the wiring region [812, Fig. 17], the second wiring [Col. 84, Lines 3-12, Fig. 17], and the fourth conductive film [813, Fig. 17].
Third conductive film [811] and wiring region [812] are electrically connected. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the third conductive film [811] and the wiring region [812].
Fourth conductive film [813] and wiring region [812] are electrically connected. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the fourth conductive film [813] and the wiring region [812]. It can also be seen in Fig. 19a that fourth conductive film [811, Col. 86, Lines 63-67 to Col. 87, Lines 1-8, Fig. 19a] is connected to wiring region [812] via a wiring [813].
Using wires to connect features within the device to facilitate the flow of electricity and operate the device. Using wires is simpler to install and remove, wires can provide a safe connection point reducing the risk of damage and ensuring a secure hold. Wires are often less expensive than materials used to attach components, making them cost-effective.
Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Kiyota disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. do not teach:
a second stepped portion having an upper surface located above the upper surface of the bottom portion and below the upper surface of the frame portion; and
a fourth conductive film disposed on the upper surface of the second stepped portion.
Kiyota teaches:
a second stepped portion [13b, paragraph [0016], [0018-0019], Fig. 1A-4] having an upper surface located above the upper surface of the bottom portion [13a, paragraph [0017], Fig. 2] and below the upper surface of the frame portion [16a, paragraph [0015-0017], [0029], Fig. 2]; and
a fourth conductive film [23, paragraph [0018-0019], [0020], Fig. 2] disposed on the upper surface of the second stepped portion [13b, Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kiyota into the teachings of Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Kiyota to include a second stepped portion having an upper surface located above the upper surface of the bottom portion and below the upper surface of the frame portion; and a fourth conductive film disposed on the upper surface of the second stepped portion, for the purpose of the connection of the wire 81 to the wiring layer 23 becomes easy. This allows the length of the wire 81 electrically connected to the semiconductor laser element 20 to be shortened, thereby reducing electrical resistance, and preventing short circuits.
Regarding claim 12, Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Kiyota teach the light-emitting device according to claim 11.
Raring et al. further teaches:
a third wiring [814, Col. 84, Lines 9-12, Fig. 17] electrically connecting the fourth conductive film [813, Fig. 17] to a first electrode [806, Col. 83, Lines 41-50, Fig. 17] of the light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17], wherein
the current path is formed at least through the third conductive film [811, Col. 83, Lines 57-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-12, Fig. 17], the first wiring [Col. 83, Lines 59-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-3, Fig. 17], the wiring region [812, Fig. 17], the second wiring [Col. 84, Lines 3-12, Fig. 17], the fourth conductive film [813, Fig. 17], the third wiring [814, Fig. 17], and the first electrode [806, Fig. 17].
Third conductive film [811] and wiring region [812] are electrically connected. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the third conductive film [811] and the wiring region [812].
Fourth conductive film [813] and wiring region [812] are electrically connected. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the fourth conductive film [813] and the wiring region [812]. It can also be seen in Fig. 19a that fourth conductive film [811, Col. 86, Lines 63-67 to Col. 87, Lines 1-8, Fig. 19a] is connected to wiring region [812] via a wiring [813].
Using wires to connect features within the device to facilitate the flow of electricity and operate the device. Using wires is simpler to install and remove, wires can provide a safe connection point reducing the risk of damage and ensuring a secure hold. Wires are often less expensive than materials used to attach components, making them cost-effective.
Regarding claim 13, Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Kiyota teach the light-emitting device according to claim 12.
Raring et al. further teaches:
a fifth conductive film [815, Col. 84, Lines 14-16, Fig. 17] while being spaced apart from the third conductive film [811, Fig. 17]; and
a fourth wiring [Col. 84, Lines 9-17, Fig. 17] electrically connecting a second electrode [Col. 83, Lines 41-50; Col. 84, Lines 9-17, Fig. 17] of the light-emitting element [802, Fig. 17] electrically connected to the fifth conductive film [815, Fig. 17], wherein
the current path is formed at least through the third conductive film [811, Col. 83, Lines 57-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-16, Fig. 17], the first wiring [Col. 83, Lines 59-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-3, Fig. 17], the wiring region [812, Fig. 17], the second wiring [Col. 84, Lines 3-12, Fig. 17], the fourth conductive film [813, Fig. 17], the third wiring [814, Fig. 17], the first electrode [806, Fig. 17], the second electrode [Col. 83, Lines 41-50; Col. 84, Lines 9-17, Fig. 17], the fourth wiring [Col. 84, Lines 9-17, Fig. 17], and the fifth conductive film [815, Fig. 17].
Third conductive film [811] and wiring region [812] are electrically connected. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the third conductive film [811] and the wiring region [812].
Fourth conductive film [813] and wiring region [812] are electrically connected. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the fourth conductive film [813] and the wiring region [812]. It can also be seen in Fig. 19a that fourth conductive film [811, Col. 86, Lines 63-67 to Col. 87, Lines 1-8, Fig. 19a] is connected to wiring region [812] via a wiring [813].
Fifth conductive film [815] and the light-emitting element [802] are electrically connected. Although not shown, it is implied a second electrode is underneath the light-emitting element [802] and attached to the fifth conductive film [815]. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, , Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the fifth conductive film [815] and the second electrode.
Using wires to connect features within the device to facilitate the flow of electricity and operate the device. Using wires is simpler to install and remove, wires can provide a safe connection point reducing the risk of damage and ensuring a secure hold. Wires are often less expensive than materials used to attach components, making them cost-effective.
Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Kiyota disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Raring et al. and Shimizu et al. do not teach:
a fifth conductive film disposed on the first stepped portion.
Kiyota teaches:
a fifth conductive film [23, paragraph [0018-0019], [0020], Fig. 2] disposed on the first stepped portion [13b, paragraph [0016], [0018-0019], Fig. 1A-4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kiyota into the teachings of Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Kiyota to include a fifth conductive film disposed on the first stepped portion, for the purpose of the connection of the wire 81 to the wiring layer 23 becomes easy. This allows the length of the wire 81 electrically connected to the semiconductor laser element 20 to be shortened, thereby reducing electrical resistance, and preventing short circuits.
Regarding claim 14, Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Kiyota teach the light-emitting device according to claim 13.
Raring et al. further teaches:
the third conductive film [811, Fig. 17], the first wiring [Col. 83, Lines 59-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-3, Fig. 17], the wiring region [812, Fig. 17], the second wiring [Col. 84, Lines 3-12, Fig. 17], the fourth conductive film [813, Fig. 17], the third wiring [814, Fig. 17], the first electrode [806, Fig. 17], the second electrode [Col. 83, Lines 41-50; Col. 84, Lines 9-17, Fig. 17], the fourth wiring [Col. 84, Lines 9-17, Fig. 17], and the fifth conductive film [815, Fig. 17] are present in the sealed space. [Col. 108, Lines 43-64, Fig. 17, 27-30; Col. 109, Lines 44-67 to Col. 110, Lines 1-67 to Col. 111, Lines 1-12, Fig. 27-28]
Third conductive film [811] and wiring region [812] are electrically connected. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the third conductive film [811] and the wiring region [812].
Fourth conductive film [813] and wiring region [812] are electrically connected. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the fourth conductive film [813] and the wiring region [812]. It can also be seen in Fig. 19a that fourth conductive film [811, Col. 86, Lines 63-67 to Col. 87, Lines 1-8, Fig. 19a] is connected to wiring region [812] via a wiring [813].
Fifth conductive film [815] and the light-emitting element [802] are electrically connected. Although not shown, it is implied a second electrode is underneath the light-emitting element [802] and attached to the fifth conductive film [815]. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, , Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the fifth conductive film [815] and the second electrode.
Using wires to connect features within the device to facilitate the flow of electricity and operate the device. Using wires is simpler to install and remove, wires can provide a safe connection point reducing the risk of damage and ensuring a secure hold. Wires are often less expensive than materials used to attach components, making them cost-effective.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raring et al. (US 10587090 B1), in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20130329397 A1) and Kiyota (JP 2017201688 A) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Utsumi et al. (US 20220140567 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Kiyota teach the light-emitting device according to claim 14.
Raring et al. further teaches:
the third conductive film [811, Col. 83, Lines 57-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-3, Fig. 17] is electrically connected to, via a first via wiring [no numerical designation, positive wires connected to 811, Fig. 17], a first external connection electrode [508, 509, Col. 109, Lines 30-35, Fig. 26-27; 604, Col. 110, Lines 8-10, Fig. 28]** disposed on a lower surface of the base member [501, Col. 109, Lines 14-21 and 44-48, Fig. 26-27].
the fifth conductive film [815, Fig. 17] is electrically connected to, via a second via wiring [816, Col. 84, Lines 14-17, Fig. 17], a second external connection electrode [508, 509, Fig. 26-27] disposed on the lower surface of the base member [501, Fig. 26-27], and
the current path [Col. 83, Lines 57-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-17, Fig. 17] is formed at least through the first external connection electrode [508, 509, Fig. 26-27], the first via wiring [no numerical designation, positive wires connected to 811, Fig. 17], the third conductive film [811, Fig. 17], the first wiring [Col. 83, Lines 59-67 to Col. 84, Lines 1-3, Fig. 17], the wiring region [812, Fig. 17], the second wiring [Col. 84, Lines 3-12, Fig. 17], the fourth conductive film [813, Fig. 17], the third wiring [814, Fig. 17], the first electrode [806, Fig. 17], the second electrode [Col. 83, Lines 41-50; Col. 84, Lines 9-17, Fig. 17], the fourth wiring [Col. 84, Lines 9-17, Fig. 17], the fifth conductive film [815, Fig. 17], the second via wiring [816, Fig. 17], and the second external connection electrode [508, 509, Fig. 26-27].
Third conductive film [811] and wiring region [812] are electrically connected. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the third conductive film [811] and the wiring region [812].
Fourth conductive film [813] and wiring region [812] are electrically connected. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the fourth conductive film [813] and the wiring region [812]. It can also be seen in Fig. 19a that fourth conductive film [811, Col. 86, Lines 63-67 to Col. 87, Lines 1-8, Fig. 19a] is connected to wiring region [812] via a wiring [813].
Fifth conductive film [815] and the light-emitting element [802] are electrically connected. Although not shown, it is implied a second electrode is underneath the light-emitting element [802] and attached to the fifth conductive film [815]. Not by a wiring, but by being attached to each other. However, , Raring et al. teaches a wiring [814], connecting the fourth conductive film [813] to the first electrode [806]. This limitation could be applied to the connection between the fifth conductive film [815] and the second electrode.
Using wires to connect features within the device to facilitate the flow of electricity and operate the device. Using wires is simpler to install and remove, wires can provide a safe connection point reducing the risk of damage and ensuring a secure hold. Wires are often less expensive than materials used to attach components, making them cost-effective.
**[Examiner believes the numerical designations in Fig. 28 do not correlate to the numerical designations in the disclosure. i.e. Fig. 28 shows external pins are labelled as 604, but the disclosure labels the external pins as 605]
Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Kiyota do not teach:
the third conductive film is electrically connected to, via a first via wiring passing through the base layer, a first external connection electrode.
the fifth conductive film is electrically connected to, via a second via wiring passing through the base layer, a second external connection electrode disposed on the lower surface of the base member.
Utsumi et al. teaches:
the third conductive film [461, paragraph [0255-0256], [0258-0259], Fig. 18] is electrically connected to, via a first via wiring [462, paragraph [0255], [0257-0260], Fig. 18] passing through the base layer [431, paragraph [0257-0260], Fig. 18], a first external connection electrode [463, paragraph [0255], [0260-0261], Fig. 18].
the fifth conductive film [451, paragraph [0248-0251], Fig. 18] is electrically connected to, via a second via wiring [452, paragraph [0248], [0250-0252], Fig. 18] passing through the base layer [431, paragraph [0250-0252], Fig. 18], a second external connection electrode [453, paragraph [0248], [0252-0253], Fig. 18] disposed on the lower surface of the base member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Utsumi et al. into the teachings of Raring et al., Shimizu et al. and Kiyota to include the third conductive film is electrically connected to, via a first via wiring passing through the base layer, a first external connection electrode. The fifth conductive film is electrically connected to, via a second via wiring passing through the base layer, a second external connection electrode disposed on the lower surface of the base member, for the purpose of increasing density, electrically connect features within the device to receive power so the device can function, preparing device for subsequent connections.
Raring et al., Shimizu et al., Kiyota and Utsumi et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
Further Kiyota discloses:
the first stepped portion [13b, paragraph [0016], [0018-0019], Fig. 1A-4]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kiyota into the teachings of Raring et al., Shimizu et al., Kiyota and Utsumi et al. to include the first stepped portion, for the purpose of the connection of the wire 81 to the wiring layer 23 becomes easy. This allows the length of the wire 81 electrically connected to the semiconductor laser element 20 to be shortened, thereby reducing electrical resistance, and preventing short circuits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-3, in remarks filed December 19, 2025, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-16 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues on pages 1-2, in remarks filled December 19, 2025 that the combination of primary reference Sorg et al. (US 20200303594 A1), and secondary reference Sato (US 20150333102 A1) is not proper. Examiner agrees with Applicant. The rejections of claims 1-16 have been withdrawn. However, this does not place the application in condition for allowance. After a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the limitations of claims 1-5, and 8-16 can be overcome by primary reference Raring et al. (US 10587090 B1), in view of various combinations of secondary references Shimizu et al. (US 20130329397 A1), Murayama et al. (WO 2021085164 A1), Zhou et al. (CN 209977723 U), Kiyota (JP 2017201688 A), and/or Utsumi et al. (US 20220140567 A1).
Applicant further argues on pages 3-4, in remarks filed December 19, 2025 that independent claims 1 and 16 have been amended and the current prior art of record does not teach the amendments. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the argued amendments can be overcome by newly cited primary reference Raring et al. (US 10587090 B1).
Applicant argues on pages 4-5, in remarks filed December 19, 2025 that dependent claims 2-5 and 8-15 depend on independent claim 1 and are therefore in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant, due to a new line of search and consideration of the prior art. The limitations of independent claims 2-5 and 8-15 can be overcome by primary reference Raring et al. (US 10587090 B1), in view of various combinations of secondary references Shimizu et al. (US 20130329397 A1), Murayama et al. (WO 2021085164 A1), Zhou et al. (CN 209977723 U), Kiyota (JP 2017201688 A), and/or Utsumi et al. (US 20220140567 A1).
Applicant argues on pages 5-6, in remarks filed December 19, 2025 that new claim 17 has been added and Applicant believe new claim 17 should also be in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant. The limitations of new claim 17 can be overcome by newly cited primary reference Raring et al. (US 10587090 B1), in view of secondary reference Shimizu et al. (US 20130329397 A1).
In summary, Examiner agrees with Applicant regarding the combination of previous prior art references Sorg et al. (US 20200303594 A1), and secondary reference Sato (US 20150333102 A1) being improper. The previous rejections of claims 1-16 have been withdrawn. New rejections of claims 1-5 and 8-16 have been provided above. Amendments to independent claims 1 and 16 can be overcome by new cited primary reference Raring et al. (US 10587090 B1). All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claims 1 and 16 are also rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above. The limitations of newly added claim 17 can be overcome by primary reference Raring et al. (US 10587090 B1), in view of secondary reference Shimizu et al. (US 20130329397 A1).
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 03/24/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815