POSITIVE ELECTRODE FOR ALKALINE SECONDARY BATTERY AND ALKALINE SECONDARY BATTERY HAVING THE SAME
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/337,343 Art Unit: 1727 June 22, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on April 13, 2026 has been received. Claims 1-7 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 6-7 have been amended.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites an intended use for a positive electrode. The courts have held that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.” Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation"). See MPEP 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tani on claims 1-7 are withdrawn because Applicant has amended the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani et al. (JP 2004-273138 A; as found in IDS dated 01/18/2024 and using machine translation for citation purposes) in view of Tokuda et al. (JP 2000-067910 A; using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claims 1-2 and 6-7, Tani discloses an alkaline secondary battery comprising: an outer can housing an electrode assembly; a positive electrode comprising 100 parts by mass of a nickel hydroxide 102 having an alpha-phase single phase and 2 wt% yttrium oxide as an additive; and a negative electrode comprising a hydrogen storage alloy configured to perform the claimed functions (Abstract, Fig. 1, 5-6, and paragraphs [0006, 0023, 0050] and Embodiment 1). Tani teaches wherein a metal such as aluminum, manganese or iron is dissolved in the nickel hydroxide (paragraph [0011]). Tani does not teach wherein aluminum and at least one of manganese, cobalt or yttrium is dissolved in the nickel hydroxide.
However, Tokuda teaches of an alkaline battery having a positive electrode comprising: nickel hydroxide having at least one of aluminum, cobalt, manganese and yttrium dissolved therein (pg. 6 of the machine translation). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the positive electrode of Tani to comprise nickel hydroxide having at least one of aluminum, cobalt, manganese and yttrium dissolved therein because Tokuda teaches that an alpha-nickel hydroxide can be produced without a decrease in oxygen overpotential (pg. 6).
As to Claim 3, Tani discloses wherein the additive can further comprise ytterbium (paragraph [0017]).
As to Claims 4-5, Tani discloses a cobalt compound as a conductive additive that forms a conductive net on the surface of the nickel hydroxide powder (paragraph [0023]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 6-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM A ARCIERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727