DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, claims 1-5 and 7-20 in the reply filed on 01/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tuma (US Patent No. 10,144,366).
Regarding claim 1, Tuma discloses a fastener assembly for a vehicle, the fastener assembly comprising:
a first member coupled to a vehicle trim and comprising a first coupling protrusion on a surface of the first member directed toward a panel (see annotated Fig. 1); and
a second member coupled to the panel and comprising a second coupling protrusion on a surface of the second member directed toward the vehicle trim, the second coupling protrusion being coupled to the first coupling protrusion, wherein the first member and the second member are coupled to each other by coupling of the first coupling protrusion and the second coupling protrusion (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Tuma discloses, where:
the first coupling protrusion comprises:
a first stem protruding from the first member (see annotated Fig. 1); and
a first head disposed at an end of the first stem and having a larger width than the first stem (see annotated Fig. 1); and
the second coupling protrusion comprises:
a second stem protruding from the second member (see annotated Fig. 1); and
a second head disposed at an end of the second stem and having a larger width than the second stem (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Tuma discloses, wherein:
the first coupling protrusion comprises a plurality of first coupling protrusions arranged on the first member at predetermined intervals (see annotated Fig. 1); and
the second coupling protrusion comprises a plurality of second coupling protrusions arranged on the second member at intervals equal to the intervals at which the first coupling protrusions are arranged (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Tuma discloses, wherein a gap between the heads of adjacent first coupling protrusions is smaller than a width of the head of each of the second coupling protrusions.
Regarding claim 7, Tuma discloses a fastener assembly for a vehicle, the fastener assembly comprising:
a first member coupled to a vehicle trim and comprising a first coupling protrusion on a surface of the first member directed toward a panel; and
a second member coupled to the panel, the second member comprising:
a second coupling protrusion on a first surface of the second member directed toward the vehicle trim,
the second coupling protrusion being coupled to the first coupling protrusion,
wherein the first member and the second member are coupled to each other by coupling of the first coupling protrusion to the second coupling protrusion; and
a fastening part on a second surface of the second member opposite the first surface of the second member,
wherein the second member is coupled to an assembling hole in the panel by the fastening part (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Tuma discloses, wherein the fastening part comprises:
a base having a first end connected to the second member (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3); and
a fixing portion disposed at an outer portion of the base and directed toward an exterior of the second member (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 9, Tuma discloses, wherein:
the fastening part comprises:
a pair of bases disposed to be horizontally symmetric, each of the bases having a first end connected to the second member (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3);
a pair of fixing portions disposed to be horizontally symmetric at outer portions of the pair of bases, respectively, wherein the fixing portions are directed toward an exterior of the second member (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3); and
the fastening part is configured to be elastically deformed while passing through the assembling hole, restored after passing through the assembling hole, and caught by a periphery of the assembling hole, such that the second member is fixed to the panel (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Tuma discloses, wherein the fastening part is elastically deformed in a plane parallel to the panel (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Tuma discloses, wherein the fastening part is elastically deformed to pass through the assembling hole or restored after passing through the assembling hole by the base rotating parallel to the panel around a portion connected to the second member (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3, and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Tuma discloses, wherein the pair of the bases and the pair of the fixing portions are configured to pass through the assembling hole by rotating parallel to the panel in a direction of gathering together and are configured to be restored by rotating parallel to the panel after passing through the assembling hole (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3, and Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Tuma discloses, wherein the fastening part is downwardly inclined toward the second member toward two opposite ends of the second member (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Tuma further discloses, comprising a first stopper and a second stopper on the second member, wherein the first stopper and the second stopper are spaced apart from each other, and configured to restrict a movement of the second member after the fastening part is coupled to the assembling hole (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Tuma discloses, wherein the first stopper protrudes from the second member and is connected to an upper end of the fastening part, and wherein a width of the first stopper corresponds to a width of the assembling hole (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Tuma discloses, wherein the second stopper protrudes from the second member at a position spaced apart from the first stopper at an interval (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Tuma further discloses, comprising:
a catching portion on the second stopper and extending from an upper end of the second stopper toward the first stopper (see annotated Fig. 1); and
a planar portion on one of the fixing portions, wherein the planar portion is parallel to the second member and positioned below the catching portion (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Tuma discloses a fastener assembly for a vehicle, the fastener assembly comprising:
a first member coupled to a vehicle trim and comprising a first coupling protrusion on a surface of the first member directed toward a panel (see annotated Fig. 1);
a second member coupled to the panel and comprising a second coupling protrusion on a surface of the second member directed toward the vehicle trim, the second coupling protrusion being coupled to the first coupling protrusion, wherein the first member and the second member are coupled to each other by coupling of the first coupling protrusion to the second coupling protrusion (see annotated Fig. 1); and
a sealing member fitted with a periphery of the first member or the second member and configured to seal a portion between the first member and the vehicle trim or a portion between the second member and the panel (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Tuma discloses, wherein the sealing member comprises:
a through-hole with which the periphery of the first member or the periphery of the second member is fitted (see annotated Fig. 1); and
a sealing portion extending from a portion where the through-hole is provided and configured to adjoin the vehicle trim or the panel (see annotated Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Tuma discloses, wherein the sealing member is fitted with the periphery of the second member and is configured to seal the portion between the second member and the panel (see annotated Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuma (US Patent No. 10,144,366), in view of Morris et al. (US Patent No. 9,429,176).
Regarding claim 5, Tuma discloses the claimed invention except for the first member comprises a plurality of fastening holes, and wherein the fastening holes are penetrated by ribs protruding from the vehicle trim.
However, Morris et al. teaches a member comprises a plurality of fastening holes (204), and wherein the fastening holes (204) are penetrated by ribs (106) protruding from the vehicle trim (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first member from Tuma with a plurality of fastening holes in order to mechanically secure the first member to the vehicle trim with ribs as taught by Morris et al.
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677