DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for application 18/337,407 filed on 07/16/2026.
Please note claims 1-6 and 8-10 remain in the application.
In response to the new drawings filed 06/18/2026, the previous objections to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., That a first sound signal not escape from the device in general, as well as a first sound not leaking from a second sound hole specifically (as recited in claim 1)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). In fact, the claim recites in lines 20-22 wherein “the first diaphragm vibrates…so as to cancel the second sound signal emanating from the first sounding hole.” Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is additionally noted that per Applicant’s arguments reciting ¶3 of Li Y, the first sound signal leaks (reflects) outside of the ear into the far field, not out of a second sound hole of the device. This may additionally be seen in Fig. 2 of Li Y.
Lastly, it is noted that a cancellation effect occurs at all places where sound is met with a sound of same amplitude and opposite phase. As the first diaphragm is positioned between the second diaphragm and the first sounding hole, the first sound signal would need to meet the second anti-sound signal before reaching the first sounding hole, and be cancelled prior to leaking from the first sounding hole (Sound is cancelled at all positions where a leaked sound and cancellation sound interact, including the interior of the device.....¶[0122], lines 5-10);
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 10/21/2033. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (hereinafter Li Y), China Patent Publication CN112118339 (Previously cited) in view of Li et al (hereinafter Li J), US-PG-PUB No. 2021/11014742 (Previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Li Y discloses an electronic device (Shown in Fig. 23, electronic device (100).....¶[0207], line 1), comprising:
a housing (Housing (180).....¶[0207], line 1), and
a receiver (A sound emitting device (receiver) disposed between sound channels (190A) and (190B).....¶[0207], lines 13-14);
wherein the housing is fixedly mounted within the electronic device (The screen (150) and back cover (170) of the electronic device are fixed to the housing (180) on its top and bottom extremity, therefore fixedly mounting the housing within them.....¶[0207], lines 4-5); a first cavity (Sound channels 190A and 190B comprise a sound cavity.....¶[0207], lines 11-14) and a second cavity are defined in the housing (A second cavity is visible in Fig. 23, to the left of first cavity, between the indicators (150) and (170)); the first cavity is communicated with the second cavity (The first and second cavity are shown as connected (communicated) in Fig. 23); a first sounding hole ((109A).....¶[0207], line 15) and a second sounding hole ((109B).....¶[0207], line 15) are respectively defined on two opposite walls of the first cavity (Shown in Fig. 23, sound(ing) holes (109A) and (109B) are positioned on the top and bottom walls of the first cavity); the first sounding hole and the second sounding hole are communicated with outside (In Fig. 23, sound holes (109A) and (109B) are visibly communicating the first sound cavity with outside of the housing);
wherein the receiver is installed in the first cavity (Previously established.....¶[0207], lines 13-14); the receiver comprises a first sounding unit (A first sound emitting unit (sounding unit) is comprised of a first diaphragm group (10), first voice coil (20), and magnetic conductive plates (50, 66).....¶[0207], lines 19-20, ¶[0209], lines 1-3) and a second sounding unit (A second sound emitting unit (sounding unit) is comprised of a second diaphragm group (30), second voice coil (40), and second magnetic conductive plates (55, 62).....¶[0207], lines 20-21, ¶[0209], lines 1-3);
the first sounding unit, and the second sounding unit are sequentially stacked (Shown in Fig. 23, the components of both sounding units as defined above (10, 20, 50, 66, 55, 62, 30, 40) are arranged in a stack of two transducers facing opposite directions) ; the first sounding unit comprising a first diaphragm (First diaphragm group (10)) and a partially shared first magnetic circuit system (First magnetic conductive plates (50, 66), first voice coil (20), and shared inner and outer magnets (60, 64) form the first magnetic circuit system.....¶[0209], lines 1-3); the second sounding unit comprising a second diaphragm (Second diaphragm group (30)) and a partially shared second magnetic circuit system (Second magnetic conductive plates (55, 62), second voice coil (40), and shared inner and outer magnets (60, 64) form the second magnetic circuit system.....¶[0209], lines 1-3); the first diaphragm is disposed opposite to the second diaphragm (Shown in Fig. 23, first diaphragm group (10) is provided to upper sound channel (190A), while second diaphragm group (30) is provided to the opposite-facing lower sound channel (190B)); the first magnetic circuit system is directly fixed to one side of the shared inner and outer magnets (Shown in Fig. 23, the previously listed elements of the first magnetic system are provided to the top side of the shared central magnets (60, 64)), and the second magnetic circuit system is directly fixed to the other side of the shared inner and outer magnets (Shown in Fig. 23, the previously listed elements of the second magnetic system are provided to the bottom side of the shared central magnets (60, 64)); the first diaphragm faces the first sounding hole (Shown in Fig. 23, first diaphragm group (10) faces sounding hole (190A).....¶[0207], lines 24-26), the second diaphragm faces the second sounding hole (Shown in Fig. 23, second diaphragm group (30) faces sounding hole (190B).....¶[0207], lines 26-28);
when the electronic device is configured such that the second sounding hole serves as an earpiece (Shown in Fig. 15, second sounding hole (106) is connected to earpiece (1323).....¶[0181], lines 13), the second diaphragm vibrates to generate a second sound signal (The diaphragm of the second piece (1323) vibrates to generate a cancellation (second) sound signal.....¶[0181], lines 23-24), which is emitted through the second sounding hole (¶[0181], line 26), while, the first diaphragm vibrates (The first diaphragm of first earpiece (1313) vibrates…..¶[0181], lines 19-20) to generate a first sound signal (A call audio signal.....¶[0181], lines 19-20) opposite to a phase of the second sound signal (The phases of the cancellation (first) and call audio (second) sound signals may be opposite.....¶[0128], lines 1-2) so as
to cancel the second sound signal emanating from the first sounding hole (A cancellation effect occurs at all places where sound is met with a sound of the opposite phase, as described in ¶[0125], lines 4-6. As internal resonance of the first and second cavities can result in a second sound signal being directed towards a first sounding hole, the second sound signal arriving at (and potentially emanating from) the first sounding hole with will be superimposed with (and canceled by), the anti-phase portions of said second sound signal contained within the first sound signal.....¶[0122], lines 5-10) for preventing the second sound signal from transmitting to the outside from the first sounding hole (As the first diaphragm is positioned between the second diaphragm and the first sounding hole, the second sound signal would be superimposed with and cancelled by the first sound signal, prior to transmitting from the first sounding hole, preventing transmission of the second sound signal from outside the first sounding hole.....¶[0122], lines 5-10);
when the electronic device is configured such that the first sounding hole serves as the earpiece, the first diaphragm vibrates to generate a second sound signal, which is emitted through the first sounding hole, while, the second diaphragm vibrates to generate the second sound signal opposite to a phase of the first sound signal, so as to cancel the first sound signal emanating from the second sounding hole for preventing the first sound signal from transmitting to the outside from the second sounding hole (As the device of Li Y is symmetrical as shown in Figs. 23 and 15, with earpieces disposed on both sides of the device as previously stated in ¶[0181], lines 13 and 23-24, it follows that the sound cancellation effect described above wherein the second sounding hole serves as the earpiece works in both directions, as in order for a first sound signal generated by a first diaphragm to be opposite in phase to a second sound signal generated by a second diaphragm, the second signal is also opposite in phase to the first signal, and will cancel the first sound signal emanating from the second sound hole).
Li Y fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first and second sounding units are separated by a partition plate, said plate being sequentially stacked between the first and second sounding units, as well as wherein the first and second sounding units are comprised of fully distinct first and second magnetic circuits, instead disclosing wherein the units are separated by a permanent magnet, which serves as shared element of the first and second magnetic circuits.
Li J teaches a speaker module (analogous to the receiver of Li Y) for an electronic device wherein, as shown in Fig. 1, first and second sounding units are provided with separate magnetic circuits (Shown in Fig. 1 are first and second speakers (sounding units) (2) and (3), which are physically separate moving-coil type speakers, each provided with their own magnets, diaphragms, and voice coils.....¶[0035], lines 1-4) and are separated by a partition plate (The two speakers may be provided to opposite ends of a plate-like bracket (1).....¶[0045], lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li Y by Li J to provide the benefit of a better sound cancellation effect with a shorter sound channel structure (Li J, ¶[0032], lines 32-35). Such modification would make obvious the features wherein the receiver comprises a partition plate, stacked sequentially between the first and second sounding units, and wherein each sounding unit is provided with its own magnetic circuit.
Regarding claim 2, the electronic device of claim 1 is taught, as explained above, by the combination of Li Y and Li J.
Li Y additionally teaches wherein along a thickness direction of the receiver, a projection of the first sounding hole completely coincides with a projection of the second sounding hole (Visible in Fig. 23, sounding holes 109 A and B fully overlap in the Y direction of the receiver).
Regarding claim 3, the electronic device of claim 1 is taught, as explained above, by the combination of Li Y and Li J.
Li Y additionally teaches wherein a positioning frame is disposed in the housing (Identified in the annotated Fig. 23, below); a first (upper) end of the positioning frame is connected to an inner wall of the housing (The right side of the frame is connected to housing (180)); a second end of the positioning frame is extended along the housing to divide an interior of the housing into the first cavity and the second cavity (The left end of the frame divides the first cavity and second cavity) communicated with the first cavity; and
a first positioning hole defined in the positioning frame (The four sections of the positioning frame identified each have a notched corner. When combined, all notched sections form a set of holes for positioning the receiver, the upper notches forming a first hole, the lower notches forming a second hole), the first positioning hole is communicated with the outside through the first sounding hole (The first positioning hole is disposed in the center of the first cavity, and is communicated to both sound holes (109A, 109B) via said cavity); a first end of the receiver is embeddable in the first positioning hole (The receiver (including its upper (first) end) is placed (embedded) in the hole using the notched corners to align it); the first diaphragm disposed on the first end of the receiver (Upper (first) diaphragm group (10) is disposed on the upper (first) end of the receiver)).
Li Y, Fig. 23 (Frame Annotation)
Regarding claim 4, the electronic device of claim 3 is taught, as explained above, by the combination of Li Y and Li J.
Li Y additionally teaches wherein a limiting step is disposed on an inner wall of the first positioning hole; in a process of embedding the receiver into the first positioning hole, the receiver abuts against the limiting step (Shown in Fig. 23, the notched corners previously indicated in the rejection of claim 3 also serve as a limiting step which the receiver can be seen abutting against).
Regarding claim 5, the electronic device of claim 3 is taught, as explained above, by the combination of Li Y and Li J.
Li Y additionally teaches, as shown in Fig. 23, wherein the housing comprising a base (180), a first covering piece (170), and a second covering piece (150); the positioning frame is disposed in the base (the frame is central to the housing base (180); the first covering piece covers an opening defined on one end of the base and is connected with the base (first covering piece (170) connects to base (180) to close and define the lower portion of the first cavity); the first covering piece defines a second positioning hole (The lower notches indicated in annotated Fig. 23 form a second positioning hole used to position the receiver); the second diaphragm is disposed on second end of the receiver (Lower (second) diaphragm group (30) is disposed on the lower (second) end of the receiver); the second covering piece covers the first positioning hole (Upper (second) covering piece closes and defines the upper portion of the first cavity, covering the first (upper) positioning hole) and is connected with the first covering piece (The two pieces are connected at the right side of the figure, as well as the left side through housing (180)); the second sounding hole is defined on the second covering piece (First and second sounding holes (109B and 109A) are provided respectively to first and second covering pieces (170) and (150)); the second positioning hole is connected with the outside through the second sounding hole (The second positioning hole is disposed in the first cavity, which is connected with outside the housing through the second sounding hole).
Regarding claim 6, the electronic device of claim 5 is taught, as explained above, by the combination of Li Y and Li J.
Li Y additionally teaches (shown in the annotated Fig. 23 above) wherein the housing further comprises a supporting frame; a first end of the supporting frame is connected to one side, away from the base, of the first covering piece (The supporting frame is extends from (and is connected to) the first (lower) covering piece (170)); a second end of the supporting frame is extended in a direction away from the base (The upper half (second end) of the supporting frame extends between (away from) the central base (180) and second (upper) covering piece (150)); the second covering piece is connected with the second end (The second end extends from the second covering piece, therefore connecting them), away from the first covering piece of the supporting frame (The second covering piece is on the opposite side of (away from) the housing from the first covering piece); a hollow portion of the supporting frame is opposite to the second positioning hole (The sides of the supporting frame assist in defining the first cavity with the hollow portion between them, thus being opposite to both positioning holes on both top and bottom sides of the housing).
Regarding claim 8 the electronic device of claim 1 is taught, as explained above, by the combination of Li Y and Li J.
Li Y additionally teaches wherein the first sounding hole is a circular hole (shown in Fig. 15, first and second sounding holes (104, 106) are circular).
Regarding claim 9 the electronic device of claim 1 is taught, as explained above, by the combination of Li Y and Li J.
Li Y additionally teaches wherein a third cavity communicated with the first cavity is defined in the housing (Shown in Fig. 23, annotated below, a third cavity is shown to the right of the first cavity), and the first cavity is disposed between the second cavity and the third cavity (The second cavity is left of the first cavity, placing the first cavity between the other two).
Li Y, Fig. 23 (Cavity and Wall Annotation)
Regarding claim 10 the electronic device of claim 9 is taught, as explained above, by the combination of Li Y and Li J.
Li Y additionally teaches, as indicated in the annotated Fig. 23 above, wherein the first cavity comprises a first bottom wall; the second cavity comprises a second bottom wall; the third cavity comprises a third bottom wall; the first sounding hole is defined on the first bottom wall; a first end of the first bottom wall is connected with the second bottom wall; a second end of the first bottom wall is bent towards the housing, and is connected with the third bottom wall.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al, US-PG-PUB No. 2024/0406618 teaches a dual receiver structure for an electronic device, comprising a resonance chamber where a first sound signal is met with an anti-phase second sound signal, to prevent leakage of the first sound signal from the second sound port of the device.
/SEAN RINEHART/Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/ALEXANDER KRZYSTAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694