Response to Amendment/Request for Reconsideration
This is a Final Office action in response to communications filed on August
11, 2026. Applicant amended claims 1 and 9-10 and cancelled claims 2-8. Claims 1 and 9-10 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by CA 2653102 A1 (“Paris”).
In regards to claim 1, Paris discloses
A method for positioning hairline contours with different head circumference sizes, comprising the following steps: S1: determining a trichion, wherein the trichion is located at a center of a top of a forehead (page 7, lines 17-18, “Referring to Figs. 1 and 2, the base … has … a front section” Examiner notes that the trichion is the point in the center of the forehead, where the hair begins. See annotated Paris Fig. 1.);
S2: determining a center point of a head, wherein the center point of the head is located on a surface of a skull top and is the center point of a total head length, and the total head length is a connecting line between a highest point on a forehead surface and a highest point on a back surface of the head (page 8, lines 1-5, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline ... Hairline ... is made of a lace ... that is thinner than the lace used for crown” Examiner notes the total head length depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
S3: determining a skull top U-shaped line based on the trichion and the center point of the head (page 5, line 27, “Fig. 22 illustrates a rear view of Fig. 21.” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 22 depicts a skull top U-shaped line.);
S4: determining frontal horn points based on the skull top U-shaped line and temporal bone lines of the head (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the frontal horn point depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
S5: determining front side points (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the front side points depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
S6: determining sidebums points (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the sidebums points depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
S7: determining ear points (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the ear points depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
S8: determining neck side points (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the neck side points depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
S9: determining a skull base line (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the skull base line depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
and S10: connecting, based on a trend of facial muscles, the trichion, the frontal horn points, the front side points, the sidebums points, the ear points, the neck side points and the skull base line in a smooth transition manner in a listed sequence, to obtain a hairline contour (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the hairline contour (straight yellow line) depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
wherein a vertical distance from the trichion in step S1 to the skull top is equal to a difference between a total head height and a face length, the total head height is a vertical distance from the skull top to a mandible bottom, and the face length is a vertical distance from the mandible bottom to the trichion (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes D1 depicts the vertical distance from the trichion to the skull top, D2 depicts the vertical distance from a trichion to a mandible bottom, and D3 depicts the vertical distance from a skull top to a mandible bottom in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
wherein in step S3, the determining a skull top U-shaped line comprises the following steps: S31: determining a centerline of a skull, wherein the centerline of the skull passes through the trichion and the center point of the total head length in a listed sequence, and the centerline of the skull divides the skull into a left half and a right half (Page 7, lines 17-18, “Referring to Figs. 1 and 2, the base … has … a front section” Examiner notes that the centerline of a skull is depicted in in annotated Paris Fig. 1.);
S32: rotating the centerline of the skull by 45 degrees to a left side and a right side to obtain a left auxiliary line and a right auxiliary line (page 7, lines 17-18, “Referring to Figs. 1 and 2, the base … has … a front section” Examiner notes that the rotation of the centerline of the skull by 45° on the left side and right side is depicted in in annotated Paris Fig. 1.), wherein a rotation center is the center point of the head (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a
hairline” Examiner notes the center point of the head (solid red line) depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
rotating the centerline of the skull by 90 degrees to obtain a head width auxiliary line perpendicular to the centerline of the skull, wherein the rotation center is the center point of the head, and the head width auxiliary line divides the skull into a front half and a rear half (page 7, lines 17-18, “Referring to Figs. 1 and 2, the base … has … a
front section” Examiner notes that the head width auxiliary line that divides the skull into a front half and a rear half is depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 1.);
and S33: determining, on a surface of the skull, positioning points located at the centerline of the skull, the left auxiliary line, the right auxiliary line and the head width auxiliary line based on the vertical distance from the trichion to the skull top, wherein a vertical height from each of the positioning points to the skull top is the same as the vertical height from the trichion to the skull top (page 7, lines 17-18, “Referring to Figs. 1 and 2, the base … has … a front section” Examiner notes that the positioning points corresponding to the centerline of a skull, the right and left auxiliary lines, and the head width auxiliary line are depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 1.);
and connecting the positioning points sequentially to obtain the skull top U-shaped line (page 5, line 27, “Fig. 22 illustrates a rear view of Fig. 21.” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 22 depicts a skull top U-shaped line that is obtained by connecting the positioning points.);
wherein the centerline of the skull and the skull top U-shaped line intersect at two intersections, one of the intersections is the trichion (page 7, lines 17-18, “Referring to Figs. 1 and 2, the base … has … a front section” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 1 depicts the trichion intersection.),
another of the intersections is a golden section point, wherein the golden section point is a point at which the surface of the skull intersects with a bisector of an included angle, formed by a horizontal straight line passing through a highest point on the skull top and a vertical straight line passing through the highest point on the back surface of the head (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 3 depicts the golden section point and corresponding intersection.);
wherein the determining frontal horn points based on the skull top U-shaped line and temporal bone lines of the head in step S4 comprises: each of a left side and a right side of the forehead of a face is provided with a frontal horn point, and the two frontal horn points are intersections between the temporal bone lines on two sides and the skull top U-shaped line, respectively (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the frontal horn point and forehead depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
the two frontal horn points are referred to as a left frontal horn point and a right frontal horn point, wherein the left frontal horn point is an intersection between the left auxiliary line and a portion, close to the forehead, of the skull top U-shaped line (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the left frontal horn point depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
and the right frontal horn point is an intersection between the right auxiliary line and the portion, close to the forehead, of the skull top U-shaped line (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes that rotating annotated Paris Fig. 3 180° allows visualization of the right frontal horn point.);
wherein the determining front side points in step S5 comprises: each of a left side and a right side of a face is provided with a front side point, wherein the front side points are located on two sides of the forehead and located at intersections between temporal bone lines and a skull line, respectively (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 3 depicts a left side of a face with front side points and that rotating annotated Paris Fig. 3 180° allows visualization of the right side of a face with corresponding front side points.);
the front side points comprise a first front side point and a second front side point (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a
hairline” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 3 depicts a first and second front side point.);
the first front side point is located above the second front side point, and the first front side point is closer to the forehead surface than the second front side point (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 3 depicts a first front side point closer to the forehead and located above the second front side point.);
the first front side point is an intersection between the left auxiliary line and a left temporal bone line, or, the first front side point is an intersection between the right auxiliary line and a right temporal bone line (page 4, line 4, “Fig. 2 illustrates a rear view of the hair prosthesis” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 2 depicts the left auxiliary line.; page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 3 depicts a left temporal bone line.);
a connecting line between the first front side point and the second front side point on a same side is parallel to a straight line at an angle of 45 degrees obliquely downward from an upper edge of an orbit, and intersects with an extended straight line of a brow bone (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 3 depicts a connecting line between the first front side point and second front side point that intersects with a straight line of a brow bone.);
and the second front side point is an intersection between the straight line at the angle of 45 degrees obliquely downward from the upper edge of the orbit and the extended straight line of the brow bone (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 3 depicts a second front side point that intersects with a straight line of a brow bone.);
wherein the determining sidebums points in step S6 comprises: each of the left side and the right side of the face is provided with a sidebums point, wherein each of the sidebums points is an intersection between an end of a facial zygomatic bone and an auricular bone (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the sidebums points that intersect between a zygomatic bone and auricular bone depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
the front side points, the sidebums points and the ear points are connected to form a sidebums hairline contour, wherein the sidebums hairline contour comprises a first-section sidebums hairline contour and a second-section sidebums hairline contour (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a
hairline” Examiner notes the sidebums hairline contour (straight yellow line) depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
the first-section sidebums hairline contour is formed by the second front side point intersecting vertically downward with a side zygomatic bone (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the first-section sidebums hairline contour formed by the second front side point intersecting with a zygomatic bone depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
the second-section sidebums hairline contour is formed by extending each of the ear points obliquely downward along a corresponding ear to intersect with the end of the side zygomatic bone, and the first-section sidebums hairline contour and the second-section sidebums hairline contour intersect at the sidebums point (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the second-section sidebums hairline contour formed by extending ear points to intersect with a zygomatic bone depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
wherein the determining ear points in step S7 comprises: ears are formed on a left side and a right side of the skull, and the ear points are located above the ears (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a
hairline” Examiner notes the ear points depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3. );
wherein each of the ear points is an intersection between the head width auxiliary line and a skull line above a corresponding ear, and a connecting line between the ear point and the sidebums point follows a trend of the skull line (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes that the ear points are an intersection between the head width auxiliary line and a skull line depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
wherein the determining neck side points in step S8 comprises: the neck side points are located at a back of the head and opposite to a face, a left side and a right side of the back of the head are symmetrically provided with the neck side points, which are referred to as a left neck side point and a right neck side point (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the neck side points (left and right) located at a back of the head depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
the left neck side point is an intersection between a line, which extends downward along the surface of the skull from a starting point, and an extension line of a connecting line between a nasal floor and an ear floor on the surface of the skull, wherein the starting point is an intersection between an end, close to the back of the head, of the right auxiliary line and the skull top U-shaped line (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes that the left neck side point intersects between the skull line and a nasal floor and ear floor connecting line and is depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
the right neck side point is an intersection between a line, which extends downward along the surface of the skull from a starting point, and an extension line of a connecting line between the nasal floor and an ear floor on the surface of the skull, wherein the starting point is an intersection between an end, close to the back of the head, of the left auxiliary line and the skull top U-shaped line (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes that the right neck side point intersects between the skull line and a nasal floor and ear floor connecting line and is depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
wherein the line that extends downward along the surface of the skull from the starting point, which is the intersection between the end, close to the back of the head, of the right auxiliary line and the skull top U-shaped line, is referred to as a left corner line, and the line that extends downward along the surface of the skull from the starting point, which is the intersection between the end, close to the back of the head, of the left auxiliary line and the skull top U-shaped line, is referred to as a right corner line (page 4, line 4, “Fig. 2 illustrates a rear view of the hair prosthesis” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 2 depicts the left corner line and the right corner line.);
a connecting line between the ear point and the left neck side point or a connecting line between the ear point and the right neck side point is referred to as an auricular line, and the auricular line is a curve that extends and transits forward along the skull line at a back of the ear (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes a connecting line between the ear point and left neck side point and a curved line extending along the skull line depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.).
wherein the determining a skull base line in step S9 comprises: the skull base line is located at the back of the head and below the left neck side point and the right neck side point, wherein the skull base line is an extension line of a connecting line between two ends of corners of a mouth along the surface of the skull, the skull base line forms a dividing line between the head and a neck, the left neck side point and the right neck side point each is connected with the skull base line through a transition line, and the transition lines are smooth curves (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the skull base line depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.).
In regards to claim 9, Paris discloses
wherein a hairline contour is drawn on the head model, and the hairline contour is drawn by using the method for positioning hairline contours with different head circumference sizes according to claim 1 (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the hairline contour (straight yellow line) depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
the hairline contour on the head model is divided into a top horseshoe region, a posterior brain region, a left brain region and a right brain region (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the hairline contour and corresponding regions depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.);
wherein the top horseshoe region is surrounded by the skull top U-shaped line at the skull top of the head model (page 4, line 4, “Fig. 2 illustrates a rear view of the hair prosthesis” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 2 depicts a horseshoe region.);
the posterior brain region is surrounded by the left corner line, the right corner line, the skull top U-shaped line and the skull base line (page 4, line 4, “Fig. 2 illustrates a rear view of the hair prosthesis” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 2 depicts a posterior brain region.);
the left brain region is surrounded by the left corner line, the skull top U-shaped line and a left part of the hairline contour (page 4, line 4, “Fig. 2 illustrates a rear view of the hair prosthesis” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 2 depicts a left brain region.);
the right brain region is surrounded by the right corner line, the skull top U-shaped line and a right part of the hairline contour (page 4, line 4, “Fig. 2 illustrates a rear view of the hair prosthesis” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 2 depicts a right brain region.);
and the trichion and the golden section point are indicated on the centerline of the skull of the head model (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the trichion and the golden section point depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3.).
In regards to claim 10, Paris discloses
A wig, comprising a net base, wherein a contour of the net base is adapted to a hairline contour of a human head (page 2, lines 28-29, “present disclosure … provides … a hair prosthesis with a foundation made of lace” Examiner notes that a hair prosthesis is adapted to the unique contour of a human’s head for a natural look.);
and the contour of the net base is drawn by using the method for positioning hairline contours with different head circumference sizes according to claim 1 (page 8, lines 1-2, “Referring to Fig. 3, front section ... of base ... is separated into a hairline” Examiner notes the hairline contour (depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 3) may be used to draw the contour of the net base for various head circumferences.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1 and 9-10 remain pending in this application. With respect to Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102, Applicant submits “The amended claims are not anticipated by Paris because Paris does not disclose the specific positioning and construction operations now recited in claim 1.” (See RESPONSE, Remarks, Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102, page 6, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. However, Examiner notes in the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claim 1, Paris discloses and S33: determining, on a surface of the skull, positioning points located at the centerline of the skull, the left auxiliary line, the right auxiliary line and the head width auxiliary line based on the vertical distance from the trichion to the skull top, wherein a vertical height from each of the positioning points to the skull top is the same as the vertical height from the trichion to the skull top (page 7, lines 17-18, “Referring to Figs. 1 and 2, the base … has … a front section” Examiner notes that the positioning points corresponding to the centerline of a skull, the right and left auxiliary lines, and the head width auxiliary line are depicted in annotated Paris Fig. 1.); and connecting the positioning points sequentially to obtain the skull top U-shaped line (page 5, line 27, “Fig. 22 illustrates a rear view of Fig. 21.” Examiner notes that annotated Paris Fig. 22 depicts a skull top U-shaped line that is obtained by connecting the positioning points.);
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their BRI in light of the specification during examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI of positioning and construction operations of the claimed invention may include Figs. 1, 2, 21, and 22 of Paris. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1, as anticipated by Paris, is maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 9-10 are maintained.
With respect to Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102, Applicant submits “Paris does not disclose those geometries in its text, and they cannot be supplied by measuring or reconstructing an unscaled drawing.” (See RESPONSE, Remarks, Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102, page 7, lines 4-6). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks.
Using the annotated Paris drawings, Examiner identified each and every element of the Applicant’s invention. MPEP § 2113 discusses product-by-process claims. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) Therefore, the rejection of amended claim 1, as anticipated by Paris, is maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 9-10 are maintained.
With respect to Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102, Applicant submits “Claim 1 is not a product-by-process claim. It is a method claim reciting acts of determining, rotating, and connecting.” (See RESPONSE, Remarks, Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102, page 7, paragraph 1). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks.
Examiner properly relies on drawings to supply the method steps (acts of determining, rotating, and connecting) of the claimed invention. MPEP § 2113 allows the reliance on drawings to supply method steps. Furthermore, “[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes.” Amgen Inc. v. F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd., 580 F.3d 1340, 1370 n. 14, 92 USPQ2d 1289, 1312, n. 14 (Fed. Cir. 2009). Therefore, the rejection of amended claim 1, as anticipated by Paris, is maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 9-10 are maintained.
With respect to Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102, Applicant submits “The amended claim further eliminates the premise that the claimed ‘points’ can be satisfied merely because a location can be selected on a drawing.” (See RESPONSE, Remarks, Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102, page 7, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks.
MPEP § 2125 discusses drawings as prior art. Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the drawings of Paris illustrate the claimed structure and its features. Therefore, the rejection of amended claim 1, as anticipated by Paris, is maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 9-10 are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is (571) 272-4252. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 8:30 am - 6:30 pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai can be reached at (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/JAMES B HULL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715