Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed 06/20/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Benefit is given to the priority document JP2022-122865 and the effective filing date of 08/01/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/20/2023 and 07/27/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Niclass et al. (US20170176579A1; hereinafter, Niclass et al.).
Regarding claim 1,
An optical apparatus (Detector array 28 comprises sensing elements; Fig. 2; [0049] (Niclass et al.)) comprising: an optical apparatus (Detector array 28 comprises sensing elements; Fig. 2; [0049] (Niclass et al.)) a light source unit; (single pulsed laser source 160; ; [0074] (Niclass et al.)) a deflector configured to deflect illumination light from the light source unit to scan an object; (directed to and scanned over target scene 22 by a single-axis beam-steering device 166, forming two staggered columns of illumination spots 168 on target scene; [0074] (Niclass et al.)) and a light receiving unit configured to receive reflected light from the object, (The illumination spots, reflected from target scene 22, are imaged through beam steering device 166, polarizing beamsplitter 176, and collection optics 27 onto detector array 28; [0076] (Niclass et al.)) wherein the light source unit includes at least one light emitting unit (single pulsed laser source 160; [0074] (Niclass et al.)) and an optical element array including a plurality of optical elements, (split by a diffractive optical element (DOE) 162 into two staggered columns of multiple beams; [0074] (Niclass et al.)) and wherein the optical element array separates light emitted from one light emitting unit among the at least one light emitting unit into two or more illumination lights (The beam from a single pulsed laser source 160 is split by a diffractive optical element (DOE) 162 into two staggered columns of multiple beams. These beams are directed to and scanned over target scene; [0074] (Niclass et al.)) that enter the deflector at angles different from each other. (The beam or beams from a laser light source 20, comprising one or more pulsed lasers, are directed to a target scene 22 by a dual-axis beam-steering device 24, forming and scanning illumination spots 26 over the target scene; [0045] (Niclass et al.)),
Regarding claim 2,
The optical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the optical element array collimates the illumination light and directs it towards the deflector, the optical apparatus according to claim 1 (Detector array 28 comprises sensing elements; Fig. 2; [0049] (Niclass et al.)) wherein the optical element array collimates the illumination light (split by a diffractive optical element (DOE) 162 into two staggered columns of multiple beams; [0074] (Niclass et al.)), (Utilizing the known timing of pulses from laser light source 20 and the known state of dual-axis beam-steering device 24, which determines the position of illumination spots 26 on target scene; [0047] (Niclass et al.)).
Regarding claim 3,
The optical apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the optical element array includes a diffraction grating, the optical apparatus according to claim 2 (Detector array 28 comprises sensing elements; Fig. 2; [0049] (Niclass et al.)) wherein the optical element array includes a diffraction grating (split by a diffractive optical element (DOE) 162 into two staggered columns of multiple beams; [0074] (Niclass et al.)).
Regarding claim 10,
The optical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the optical element includes a diffractive element, the optical apparatus according to claim 1 (These beams are directed to and scanned over target scene 22 by a single-axis beam-steering device 166, forming two staggered columns of illumination spots 168 on target scene 22. The illumination spots are imaged by collection optics 27 onto detector array; [0074] (Niclass et al.), The beam from a single pulsed laser source 160 is split by a diffractive optical element (DOE) 162 into two staggered columns of multiple beams; [0074] (Niclass et al.)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niclass et al. (US20170176579A1; hereinafter, Niclass et al.) in view of Joseph et al. (EP3000157B1; hereinafter, Joseph et al.).
Regarding claim 4,
The optical apparatus according to claim 3, wherein two adjacent optical elements among the two or more optical elements are eccentric in opposite directions with respect to the one light emitting unit, the optical apparatus according to claim 3 (Utilizing further the above knowledge of laser light source 20 and beam steering device 24, as well as the signals read from detector array [0047] (Niclass et al.)); the microlenses are offset from the output axis of a corresponding VCSEL within the VCSEL; [0002] (Joseph et al.) ; each lens can be offset by a desired amount to cause what would otherwise be a spread of parallel beams of light emitted by the VCSEL; [0060] (Joseph et al.) ; By shifting the lenses off-center with the lasers, as illustrated in Figure 11, the beam of each laser can be deflected at an angle and focused or defocused, as illustrated in Figure 10, depending on the microlens design and spacing from the emitter. This allows the designer to converge the beams with a pattern of microlenses with different offsets; [0063] (Joseph et al.)),
however, fails to explicitly disclose that two adjacent optical elements among the two or more optical elements are eccentric in opposite directions with respect to the one light emitting unit, as Joseph et al. discloses offset optical elements and different offsets, but does not explicitly disclose two adjacent optical elements arranged with eccentricity in opposite directions relative to the one light emitting unit. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange two adjacent optical elements among the two or more optical elements such that they are eccentric in opposite directions with respect to the one light emitting unit in order to provide opposing beam deflection for improved beam direction control and convergence of the beams toward a selected region, as suggested by the disclosure of offset lenses used to direct beams toward a central point and by the use of a pattern of microlenses with different offsets.
Regarding claim 5,
The optical apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the one light emitting unit is disposed at a position corresponding to a boundary between the two or more optical elements, the optical apparatus according to claim 4 (Utilizing further the above knowledge of laser light source 20 and beam steering device 24, as well as the signals read from detector array [0047] (Niclass et al.)) ; the microlenses are offset from the output axis of a corresponding VCSEL within the VCSEL array; [0002] (Joseph et al.) ; each lens can be offset by a desired amount to cause what would otherwise be a spread of parallel beams of light emitted by the VCSEL array to be focused into a selected pattern, such as on a tightly focused spot (as previously noted, the distance from the lenses to the beam convergence point of Figure 10 is not drawn to scale). Figures 10 and 11 further illustrate how the lens 1100 (represented by a solid circle) for the centered VCSEL device 1102 (represented by a dashed circle) is centered over that VCSEL device 1102; [0060] (Joseph et al.); if these lenses are laterally offset from the axis, the beam will be directed at an angle to the axis; [0062] (Joseph et al.)),
however, fails to explicitly disclose that the one light emitting unit is disposed at a position corresponding to a boundary between the two or more optical elements, as Joseph et al. discloses optical elements positioned over corresponding VCSEL devices and offset relative to the device axis, but does not explicitly disclose the one light emitting unit being disposed at a position corresponding to a boundary between the two or more optical elements. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the one light emitting unit at a position corresponding to a boundary between the two or more optical elements in order to distribute light into multiple adjacent optical elements and thereby control beam shaping and beam direction using the offset optical element arrangement taught by Joseph et al.
Regarding claim 6,
The optical apparatus according to claim 3, wherein light from a light emitting unit other than the one light emitting unit enters a plurality of optical elements including at least one of the two or more optical elements, the optical apparatus according to claim 3 (Utilizing further the above knowledge of laser light source 20 and beam steering device 24, as well as the signals read from detector array [0047] (Niclass et al.)); the microlenses are offset from the output axis of a corresponding VCSEL within the VCSEL array; [0002] (Joseph et al.) ; each lens can be offset by a desired amount to cause what would otherwise be a If these lenses are laterally offset from the axis, the beam will be directed at an angle to the axis spread of parallel beams of light emitted by the VCSEL array to be focused into a selected pattern, such as on a tightly focused spot (as previously noted, the distance from the lenses to the beam convergence point of Figure 10 is not drawn to scale). Figures 10 and 11 further illustrate how the lens 1100 (represented by a solid circle) for the centered VCSEL device 1102 (represented by a dashed circle) is centered over that VCSEL device 1102; [0060] (Joseph et al.)),
however fails to explicitly disclose that light from a light emitting unit other than the one light emitting unit enters a plurality of optical elements including at least one of the two or more optical elements, as Joseph et al. discloses each microlens being located over a corresponding VCSEL device and offset relative to the axis of the corresponding VCSEL device, but does not explicitly disclose light from a different light emitting unit entering a plurality of optical elements including at least one of the two or more optical elements. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optical arrangement such that light from a light emitting unit other than the one light emitting unit enters a plurality of optical elements including at least one of the two or more optical elements in order to permit overlapping beam shaping and controlled distribution of light among adjacent optical elements in a dense optical element arrangement using the offset optical element teachings of Joseph et al.
Regarding claim 7,
The optical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the light source unit includes two or more light emitting units, and wherein a distance between the two or more light emitting units and a distance between the plurality of optical elements are equal to each other, the optical apparatus according to claim 1 (Utilizing further the above knowledge of laser light source 20 and beam steering device 24, as well as the signals read from detector array [0047] (Niclass et al.)); a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting laser, VCSEL, (1102,1106) devices arranged in a pattern on a substrate of the laser array; a plurality of microlenses (1100, 1104, 1406) formed within the substrate or formed within a second substrate bonded to the substrate, each microlens among the plurality of microlenses being located over a corresponding VCSEL device; Claim 1 (Joseph et al.)), and the light source unit includes two or more light emitting units (a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting laser, VCSEL, (1102,1106) devices arranged in a pattern on a substrate of the laser array; Claim 1 (Joseph et al.)),
however, fails to explicitly disclose that a distance between the two or more light emitting units and a distance between the plurality of optical elements are equal to each other, as Joseph et al. discloses a plurality of VCSEL devices and a plurality of microlenses corresponding to the VCSEL devices, but does not explicitly disclose equality between a distance between the two or more light emitting units and a distance between the plurality of optical elements. (Claim 1 (Joseph et al.); [0060]) It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the optical elements such that a distance between the two or more light emitting units and a distance between the plurality of optical elements are equal to each other in order to align corresponding light emitting units and optical elements and improve optical coupling and beam shaping.
Regarding claim 8,
The optical apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: P≥f×tan(θ/2) where P is the distance, f is a focal length of the optical element, and θ is a divergent angle of the light from the light emitting unit, the optical apparatus according to claim 7 (Utilizing further the above knowledge of laser light source 20 and beam steering device 24, as well as the signals read from detector array [0047] (Niclass et al.)); a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting laser, VCSEL, (1102,1106) devices arranged in a pattern on a substrate of the laser array; Claim 1 (Joseph et al.)),
however fails to explicitly disclose that the following inequality is satisfied: P≥f×tan(θ/2) where P is the distance, f is a focal length of the optical element, and θ is a divergent angle of the light from the light emitting unit, as Joseph et al. discloses that the size of the spot and the distance of beam convergence from the lens surface may be determined by factors including lens curvature, degree of offset of the lens from the laser emitter axis, index of refraction of the lens material, and modal characteristics of the lasers, and further discloses that beams may be focused, collimated, or more divergent depending on the radius of curvature of the lens and the distance to the source, but does not explicitly disclose the claimed inequality. ([0061]- [0062] (Joseph et al.)) It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the distance, focal length, and divergent angle such that the following inequality is satisfied: P≥f×tan(θ/2) where P is the distance, f is a focal length of the optical element, and θ is a divergent angle of the light from the light emitting unit in order to provide beam separation and beam shaping consistent with the disclosed relationship between lens characteristics, source position, and beam divergence.
Regarding claim 9,
The optical apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the at least one light emitting unit includes a first light emitting unit and a second light emitting unit, wherein the optical element array includes a first optical element group corresponding to the first light emitting unit and a second optical element group corresponding to the second light emitting unit, each of the first optical element group and the second optical element group including two or more optical elements, and wherein an eccentric amount of the optical element included in the first optical element group relative to the first light emitting unit is different from an eccentric amount of the optical element included in the second optical element group relative to the second light emitting unit, the optical apparatus according to claim 3 (Utilizing further the above knowledge of laser light source 20 and beam steering device 24, as well as the signals read from detector array [0047] (Niclass et al.)); a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting laser, VCSEL, (1102,1106) devices arranged in a pattern on a substrate of the laser array; a plurality of microlenses (1100, 1104, 1406) formed within the substrate or formed within a second substrate bonded to the substrate, each microlens among the plurality of microlenses being located over a corresponding VCSEL device; Claim 1 (Joseph et al.)), and the at least one light emitting unit includes a first light emitting unit and a second light emitting unit (a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting laser, VCSEL, (1102,1106) devices arranged in a pattern on a substrate of the laser array; Claim 1 (Joseph et al.)), and the optical element array includes a first optical element group corresponding to the first light emitting unit and a second optical element group corresponding to the second light emitting unit (a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting laser, VCSEL, (1102,1106) devices arranged in a pattern on a substrate of the laser array; a plurality of microlenses (1100, 1104, 1406) formed within the substrate or formed within a second substrate bonded to the substrate, each microlens among the plurality of microlenses being located over a corresponding VCSEL device; Claim 1 (Joseph et al.)), and each of the first optical element group and the second optical element group including two or more optical elements (a plurality of microlenses (1100, 1104, 1406) formed within the substrate or formed within a second substrate bonded to the substrate; Claim 1 (Joseph et al.)),
however fails to explicitly disclose that an eccentric amount of the optical element included in the first optical element group relative to the first light emitting unit is different from an eccentric amount of the optical element included in the second optical element group relative to the second light emitting unit, as Joseph et al. discloses that each lens can be offset by a desired amount and that a pattern of microlenses with different offsets may be used, but does not explicitly disclose different eccentric amounts for a first optical element group relative to a first light emitting unit and for a second optical element group relative to a second light emitting unit. ([0060] (Joseph et al.); [0063] (Joseph et al.)). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optical element array such that an eccentric amount of the optical element included in the first optical element group relative to the first light emitting unit is different from an eccentric amount of the optical element included in the second optical element group relative to the second light emitting unit in order to provide different beam directions or convergence characteristics for different light emitting units using the disclosed different offsets of the optical elements.
Regarding claim 11,
The optical apparatus of claim 10, wherein the at least one light emitting unit includes a first light emitting unit and a second light emitting unit, and wherein a diffraction direction of the diffractive element which light from the first light emitting unit enters and a diffraction direction of another diffractive element which light from the second light emitting element enters are different from each other, the optical apparatus of claim 10 (These beams are directed to and scanned over target scene 22 by a single-axis beam-steering device 166, forming two staggered columns of illumination spots 168 on target scene 22. The illumination spots are imaged by collection optics 27 onto detector array; [0074] (Niclass et al.)), and the at least one light emitting unit includes a first light emitting unit and a second light emitting unit (a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting laser, VCSEL, (1102,1106) devices arranged in a pattern on a substrate of the laser array; Claim 1 (Joseph et al.)),
however, fails to explicitly disclose that the at least one light emitting unit includes a first light emitting unit and a second light emitting unit in Niclass et al, as Niclass et al discloses a single pulsed laser source 160. ([0074] (Niclass et al.)) And wherein a diffraction direction of the diffractive element which light from the first light emitting unit enters and a diffraction direction of another diffractive element which light from the second light emitting element enters are different from each other (The beam from a single pulsed laser source 160 is split by a diffractive optical element (DOE) 162 into two staggered columns of multiple beams; [0074] (Niclass et al.) ; diffractive optics that split the beam generated by a laser device into sub-beams, each potentially pointed in a slightly different direction; [0059] (Joseph et al.)), It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optical arrangement such that a diffraction direction of the diffractive element which light from the first light emitting unit enters and a diffraction direction of another diffractive element which light from the second light emitting element enters are different from each other in order to provide different beam directions for different light emitting units and thereby improve spatial separation and beam control.
Regarding claim 12,
The optical apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the optical element array includes: a lens portion configured to collimate the light from the light emitting unit and disposed on one of a light incident side and a light exit side; and the diffractive element disposed on another of the light incident side and the light exit side, the optical apparatus according to claim 10 (These beams are directed to and scanned over target scene 22 by a single-axis beam-steering device 166, forming two staggered columns of illumination spots 168 on target scene 22. The illumination spots are imaged by collection optics 27 onto detector array; [0074] (Niclass et al.)), and the optical element array includes: a lens portion configured to collimate the light from the light emitting unit, however fails to explicitly disclose that the lens portion configured to collimate the light from the light emitting unit is part of the optical element array and is disposed on one of a light incident side and a light exit side of the optical element array. And the diffractive element disposed on another of the light incident side and the light exit side (The beam from a single pulsed laser source 160 is split by DOE 162 into two staggered columns of multiple beams; [0074] (Niclass et al.)), It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optical element array such that it includes a lens portion configured to collimate the light from the light emitting unit and disposed on one of a light incident side and a light exit side; and the diffractive element disposed on another of the light incident side and the light exit side in order to combine collimation and beam splitting functions in a compact optical arrangement for directing illumination light.
Regarding claim 13,
The optical apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the following inequality is satisfied: P≥2×f×tan(θ/2) where P is a distance between the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit, f is a focal length of the diffractive element, and θ is a divergent angle of the light from the light emitting unit, the optical apparatus according to claim 11 (These beams are directed to and scanned over target scene 22 by a single-axis beam-steering device 166, forming two staggered columns of illumination spots 168 on target scene 22. The illumination spots are imaged by collection optics 27 onto detector array; [0074] (Niclass et al.); a plurality of vertical cavity surface emitting laser, VCSEL, (1102,1106) devices arranged in a pattern on a substrate of the laser array; Claim 1 (Joseph et al.)),
however fails to explicitly disclose that the following inequality is satisfied: P≥2×f×tan(θ/2) where P is a distance between the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit, f is a focal length of the diffractive element, and θ is a divergent angle of the light from the light emitting unit, as Joseph et al. discloses that the size of the spot and the distance of beam convergence from the lens surface may be determined by factors including lens curvature, degree of offset of the lens from the laser emitter axis, index of refraction of the lens material, and modal characteristics of the lasers, and further discloses that beams may be focused, collimated, or more divergent depending on the radius of curvature of the lens and the distance to the source. ([0061]- [0062] (Joseph et al.)) It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the distance between the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit, the focal length of the diffractive element, and the divergent angle of the light from the light emitting unit such that the following inequality is satisfied: P≥2×f×tan(θ/2) where P is a distance between the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit, f is a focal length of the diffractive element, and θ is a divergent angle of the light from the light emitting unit in order to provide beam separation and beam shaping consistent with the disclosed relationship between optical element characteristics, source spacing, and beam divergence.
Regarding claim 14,
The optical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the optical element has optical power only in a separating direction into the two or more illumination lights, the optical apparatus according to claim 1 (These beams are directed to and scanned over target scene 22 by a single-axis beam-steering device 166, forming two staggered columns of illumination spots 168 on target scene 22. The illumination spots are imaged by collection optics 27 onto detector array; [0074] (Niclass et al.)), and the optical element has optical power only in a separating direction into the two or more illumination lights (The beam from a single pulsed laser source 160 is split by DOE 162 into two staggered columns of multiple beams; [0074] (Niclass et al.) ; diffractive optics that split the beam generated by a laser device into sub-beams, each potentially pointed in a slightly different direction; [0059] (Joseph et al.)), however fails to explicitly disclose that the optical element has optical power only in a separating direction into the two or more illumination lights, as the references disclose beam splitting and directing, but do not explicitly disclose optical power being limited only to a separating direction. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optical element such that the optical element has optical power only in a separating direction into the two or more illumination lights in order to separate the illumination lights while reducing optical effect in other directions and thereby improve beam control.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niclass et al. (US20170176579A1; hereinafter, Niclass et al.) in view of Engberg, Jr. et al. (US10324170B1; hereinafter, Engberg, Jr. et al.).
Regarding claim 15,
The optical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the deflector includes a mirror swingable around a swing axis, and wherein a separating direction into the two illumination lights is a direction orthogonal to the swing axis.
Niclass et al does not disclose the deflector includes a mirror swingable around a swing axis, and wherein a separating direction into the two illumination lights is a direction orthogonal to the swing axis. Engberg, Jr. et al. discloses (receive the first beam of light from the light source and reflect the first beam of light toward a polygon mirror, and pivot along a first scan-mirror pivot axis to scan the first beam of light along a first direction; a second scan mirror configured to: receive the second beam of light from the light source and reflect the second beam of light toward the polygon mirror; and pivot along a second scan-mirror pivot axis to scan the second beam of light along the first direction; Claim 1 (Engberg, Jr. et al.)), It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optical arrangement such that the separating direction into the two illumination lights is a direction orthogonal to the swing axis in order to separate the illumination lights in a direction coordinated with the scanning motion of the swingable mirror and thereby improve scan coverage and beam control.
Regarding claim 16,
A system comprising the optical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the system determines a likelihood of collision between a moving apparatus and the object based on distance information to the object acquired by the optical apparatus, a system comprising the optical apparatus according to claim 1 (These beams are directed to and scanned over target scene 22 by a single-axis beam-steering device 166, forming two staggered columns of illumination spots 168 on target scene 22. The illumination spots are imaged by collection optics 27 onto detector array; [0074] (Niclass et al.)), and wherein the system determines a likelihood of collision between a moving apparatus and the object based on distance information to the object acquired by the optical apparatus
however, Niclass et al. fails to explicitly disclose that the system determines a likelihood of collision between a moving apparatus and the object based on distance information to the object acquired by the optical apparatus, as Engberg, Jr. et al. discloses use of a lidar system in a vehicle environment and a vehicle controller that includes a warning function (vehicle including lidar system 550 and vehicle controller 572; Fig. 31 (Engberg, Jr. et al.)), It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system such that the system determines a likelihood of collision between a moving apparatus and the object based on distance information to the object acquired by the optical apparatus in order to use the acquired distance information for vehicle safety and object avoidance.
Regarding claim 17,
The system according to claim 16, further comprising a control apparatus configured to output a control signal for generating a braking force to the moving apparatus in a case where the control apparatus determines that there is the likelihood of collision between the moving apparatus and the object, the system according to claim 16.
Niclass et al. however fails to explicitly disclose that the control apparatus is configured to output a control signal for generating a braking force to the moving apparatus in a case where the control apparatus determines that there is the likelihood of collision between the moving apparatus and the object. Engberg, Jr. et al. discloses (system comprising a lidar-based optical apparatus in a vehicle environment; Fig. 31 (Engberg, Jr. et al.) ; system determining a likelihood of collision based on distance information to the object acquired by the optical apparatus; (automated braking, automated parking, collision avoidance, alerts the driver to hazards or other vehicles; [0169] (Engberg, Jr. et al)), and further comprising a control apparatus configured to output a control signal for generating a braking force to the moving apparatus (vehicle controller 572; Fig. 31 (Engberg, Jr. et al.)), It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the control apparatus such that it outputs a control signal for generating a braking force to the moving apparatus in a case where the control apparatus determines that there is the likelihood of collision between the moving apparatus and the object in order to use the detected object distance information for vehicle braking and collision avoidance.
Regarding claim 18,
The system according to claim 16, further comprising a warning apparatus configured to warn a user of the moving apparatus in a case where it is determined that there is the likelihood of collision between the moving apparatus and the object, the system according to claim 16.
Niclass et al. however fails to explicitly disclose that the warning apparatus is configured to warn a user of the moving apparatus in a case where it is determined that there is the likelihood of collision between the moving apparatus and the object. Engberg, Jr. et al. discloses (illustrates an example vehicle in which one implementation of the lidar system of this disclosure can operate; Fig. 31 (Engberg, Jr. et al.); system determining a likelihood of collision based on distance information to the object acquired by the optical apparatus; (an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) to assist a driver of the vehicle in the driving process. For example, a lidar sensor unit 500A-D may be part of an ADAS that provides information or feedback to a driver (e.g., to alert the driver to potential problems or hazards) or that automatically takes control of part of a vehicle (e.g., a braking system or a steering system) to avoid collisions or accidents. The lidar sensor units 500A-D may be part of a vehicle ADAS that provides adaptive cruise control, automated braking, automated parking, collision avoidance, alerts the driver to hazards or other vehicles, maintains the vehicle in the correct lane, or provides a warning if an object or another vehicle is in a blind spot; [0169] (Engberg, Jr. et al)), and further comprising a warning apparatus configured to warn a user of the moving apparatus ((Engberg, Jr. et al.)), It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system such that it further comprises a warning apparatus configured to warn a user of the moving apparatus in a case where it is determined that there is the likelihood of collision between the moving apparatus and the object in order to alert the user to a potential collision based on object distance information acquired by the optical apparatus.
Regarding claim 19,
The system according to claim 16, further comprising a notification apparatus configured to notify outside of information about collision between the moving apparatus and the object, the system according to claim 16.
Niclass et al. however fails to explicitly disclose that **the notification apparatus** is configured to notify outside of information about collision between the moving apparatus and the objects. Engberg, Jr. et al. discloses (illustrates an example vehicle in which one implementation of the lidar system of this disclosure can operate; Fig. 31 (Engberg, Jr. et al.); system determining a likelihood of collision based on distance information to the object acquired by the optical apparatus; (an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) to assist a driver of the vehicle in the driving process. For example, a lidar sensor unit 500A-D may be part of an ADAS that provides information or feedback to a driver (e.g., to alert the driver to potential problems or hazards) or that automatically takes control of part of a vehicle (e.g., a braking system or a steering system) to avoid collisions or accidents. The lidar sensor units 500A-D may be part of a vehicle ADAS that provides adaptive cruise control, automated braking, automated parking, collision avoidance, alerts the driver to hazards or other vehicles, maintains the vehicle in the correct lane, or provides a warning if an object or another vehicle is in a blind spot; [0169] (Engberg, Jr. et al)), and further comprising a notification apparatus configured to notify outside of information about collision between the moving apparatus and the object (vehicle including lidar system 550 and vehicle controller 572; Fig. 31 (Engberg , Jr . et al.)), It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system such that it further comprises a notification apparatus configured to notify outside of information about collision between the moving apparatus and the object in order to communicate collision information to an external system or party based on object distance information acquired by the optical apparatus.
Regarding claim 20,
A moving apparatus comprising the optical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the moving apparatus is configured to hold and movable with the optical apparatus, However Niclass et al. does not disclose the moving apparatus is configured to hold and movable with the optical apparatus. Engberg, Jr. et al. disclose (vehicle including lidar system 550; Fig. 31 (Engberg, Jr. et al.)), and wherein the moving apparatus is configured to hold and movable with the optical apparatus (vehicle carrying lidar system 550 in the vehicle environment; Fig. 31 (Engberg, Jr. et al.)). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system such that it further comprises of the moving apparatus is configured to hold and movable with the optical apparatus.
Conclusion
/DOMINICK CABRERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648