DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species 1 in the reply filed on 1/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of Sub-Species 2 in the reply filed on 1/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not be a serious burden for the examiner to examine Sub-Species 1 and 3-6, and that applicants are entitled to examination of a reasonable number of Species. This is not found persuasive because the examination of Species 1, Sub-Species 1 still entails the examination of claims 1-2, 7-8, 17, 24 and 26-28 as the “generic claims”, as well claims 3, 10-12 and 23 corresponding to Species 1 and claim 9 corresponding to Sub-Species 2.
While claims 1, 2, 7-8, 17, 24 and 26-28 were identified as generic in the Restriction Requirement mailed on 10/21/2025, they still comprise multiple unique limitations described in Applicant’s own specification as separate embodiments. In identifying the generic claims, the examiner allowed for a reasonable number of unique embodiments within the generic claims.
In establishing Sub-Species 1-6, examiner identified embodiments believed to be non-obvious variants of one another and requiring a separate and distinct search strategies even for the examination of the generic claims. Furthermore, Applicant’s own specification describes each Sub-Species as separate embodiments.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Control unit configured for performing the functions recited in claims 1-3, 7-12, 17, 23-24 and 26-28.
Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 7-12, 17, 23-24 and 26-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Specifically claims 1-3, 7-12, 17, 23-24 and 26-28 recite a control unit configured to transmit a first signal relating to a configuration of the first communication system or a different second communication system; and/or to receive a second signal relating to the configuration of the first communication system or the second communication system. As drafted, the claim covers any and all ways of transmitting or receiving a signal relating to a configuration of a communication system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-12, 17, 23-24 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2018/0152966 (Goldhamer).
As to claim 1, Goldhamer teaches a control unit (101, fig 1) configured for controlling communication of members of a first communication system;
wherein the control unit is to transmit a first signal relating to a configuration of the first communication system or a different second communication system; and/or to receive a second signal relating to the configuration of the first communication system or the second communication system (see paragraphs 10 and 21, Central Coordinator transmits signals relating to various protocol and configurations to one or more of elements 102-104 each corresponding to a different wireless access network).
As to claim 2, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 1, adapted to control the first communication system as one of a: -a wireless communication system; - an optical communication system; - a wired communication system; - a combination thereof (see paragraph 10, Central Coordinator controls elements 102-104 as well as elements under the control of those elements via wireless and/or wired connections).
As to claim 3, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 1, wherein the control unit is a first control unit and is to establish a control channel with a second control unit controlling communication of members of the second communication system for transmitting the first signal and/or receiving the second signal (see figure 1 and paragraphs 46-49, any one of elements 102-104 can read on a second control unit).
As to claim 7, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 1, wherein the first communication system and the second communication system overlap at least partly in space and at least one of a time, a spectrum and polarisation (see paragraphs 46-49, Central Coordinator control one or more of elements 102-104 which share a spectrum [~overlap in space, time and spectrum]).
As to claim 8, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 1, wherein the configuration of a communication system relates to at least one of.- a past configuration; - a present configuration; and - a planned future configuration (see paragraphs 10, 17 and 22).
As to claim 9, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 1, wherein the control unit is to transmit the first signal and/or to receive the second signal via a first control channel; wherein the control unit is to maintain at least a second control channel to transmit or receive a signal simultaneously (see paragraphs 46-49, Central Coordinator control one or more of elements 102-104 which share a spectrum [~simultaneously controlling 2 or more of said elements]).
As to claim 10, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 1, wherein the control unit is a first control unit and is to transmit the first signal to a second control unit controlling the second communication system (see paragraph 46-49, any one of elements 102-104 can read on a second control unit. Note that only one of the transmission of the first signal and the reception of the second signal require patentable weight in view of claim 1).
As to claim 11, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 1, wherein the control unit is a first control unit and is to receive the second signal from a second control unit controlling the second communication system (see paragraphs 10 and 46-49, reports received from elements 102-104 which can each read on a second control unit. Note that only one of the transmission of the first signal and the reception of the second signal require patentable weight in view of claim 1).
As to claim 12, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 10, wherein the first control unit is to transmit and/or receive the signal via a control channel to transmit and/or receive control information to adapt an operating parameter of the first communication system and/or of the second communication system (see paragraphs 10, 17 and 22, operating parameters adapted in response to reports received from elements 102-104. Note that only one of the transmission of the first signal and the reception of the second signal require patentable weight in view of claim 1).
As to claim 17, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 1, wherein the control unit is to: transmit information relating to a configuration of the first communication system with the first signal; transmit information relating to a configuration of the second communication system with the first signal; receive information relating to a configuration of the second communication system with the second signal; and/or receive information relating to a configuration of the first communication system with the second signal (see paragraphs 10, 17 and 22, operating parameters adapted in response to reports received from elements 102-104. Note that only one of the transmission of the first signal and the reception of the second signal require patentable weight in view of claim 1).
As to claim 23, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 1, wherein the control unit is to transmit the first signal to a second control unit of the second communication system to request a change of a control implemented by the second control unit (see paragraph 17, requesting the first or second wireless node to change at least one parameter from the frequency channel and medium access parameters in the frequency channel. Note that only one of the transmission of the first signal and the reception of the second signal require patentable weight in view of claim 1).
As to claim 24, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 1, wherein a member of a communication system relates to any network element such as at least one of.- a user equipment, UE;-a base station, gNB, - an integrated access backhaul, IAB, node; - a relay; - a control unit, CU; - a functional element which is part of the decision and control loop to configure or reconfigure a communication system (see figure 1)
As to claim 26, Goldhamer further teaches the control unit of claim 1, wherein the control unit is to transmit the first signal and/or receiving the second signal using a control channel comprising at least one of:- a logical channel; - a physical channel; and - an interface or radio interface (see paragraphs 46 and 54. Note that only one of the transmission of the first signal and the reception of the second signal require patentable weight in view of claim 1)
As to claim 27, Goldhamer further teaches a base station for a communication system comprising a control unit according to claim 1 (see figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldhamer in view of Well Known Prior Art (Official Notice).
As to claim 28, what is explicitly lacking from Goldhamer is a peer for a peer-to-peer communication system comprising a control unit according to claim 1.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the arts for base stations and user devices such as those disclosed in figure 1 of Goldhamer to form peer to peer connections with one another.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the arts to apply this teaching to Goldhamer so as to reduce the resource burden of the various controlling nodes (Central Coordinator, base stations).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0076424 (Mukherjee) teaches an apparatus and methods for multicarrier unlicensed heterogenous channel access.
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641