DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on January 1, 2013.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase "and/or" renders the claim unclear and indefinite. Appropriate correction is required. For purpose of examination, the examiner considered the informality as one of the two or more alternatives proposed on each case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (U.S. Pub. 20190028914) in view of Wu (EPO. Pub. EP3397019), hereafter “Wu19”.
Regarding claim 1 Wu discloses, a method for an apparatus in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
receiving, by the apparatus from a network device, a measurement configuration for a first carrier and/or a first bandwidth part (BWP) para. 18, Fig. 3, “Step 302: the first BS transmits a first measurement configuration to a first UE., wherein the first measurement configuration configures a first allowed measurement bandwidth (MEAS_BW)”;
measuring, by the apparatus, the first carrier and/or the first BWP based on the measurement configuration to obtain measurement information for the first carrier and/or the first BWP para. 18, Fig. 3, “wherein the first measurement report comprises at least one first measurement result which is measured by the first UE”; and
transmitting, by the apparatus to the network device, a measurement report for a second carrier and/or a second BWP para. 23, “the first BS receives a second measurement report from the second UE”.
Wu does not specifically discloses, wherein the measurement report for the second carrier and/or the second BWP is based on the measurement information for the first carrier and/or the first BWP. However, Wu19 teach, “the second measurement report are made by the UE according to measurements on the first carrier frequency” see para. 19.
Wu19 further discloses, wherein the first carrier and/or the first BWP and the second carrier and/or the second BWP are in a first measurement group para. 16, “The first BS configures the second BS as a SBS to the UE. Step 308: The second BS transmits a second measurement configuration to the UE via the first BS”.
Wu and Wu19 are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to measurement configuration and a reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu19 in the system of Wu so the terminal could receive in one transmission the configuration for measuring multiple number of carriers. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and improve the user equipment power efficiency.
Regarding claim 2 Wu discloses, the method further comprising:
receiving, by the apparatus from the network device, a measurement report configuration for the second carrier and/or the second BWP of the first measurement group para. 16, “the first BS transmits a second measurement configuration to a second UE, wherein the second measurement configuration configures a second allowed MEAS_BW and a location of the second allowed MEAS_BW on a second carrier”; and
obtaining, by the apparatus, the measurement report for the second carrier and/or the second BWP based on the measurement report configuration para. 23, “the second measurement configuration configures a second ARFCN identifying the second carrier”.
Regarding claim 3 Wu discloses, wherein the measurement report configuration comprises at least one of the following:
a measurement event; a condition for triggering a measurement report a measurement report quantity; a measurement report type; or a time interval for measurement reporting para. 19, “the first UE according to at least one first reference signal (RS) within the first allowed MEAS_BW”. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 4 Wu discloses, wherein the measurement configuration comprises at least one of the following:
a measurement object; a measurement quantity; measurement resources comprising at least one of time resources or frequency resources; a measurement report configuration; or a measurement gap para. 19, “the first UE according to… the first allowed MEAS_BW”. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the third of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 5 Wu discloses, the method further comprising:
transmitting, by the apparatus to the network device, information regarding at least one measurement group including the first measurement group para. 46, “The first UE transmits a third RRC response message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration Complete message) on the SCG SRB to the second BS in response to the third RRC message”.
Regarding claim 6 Wu discloses, wherein the information regarding the at least one measurement group is based on at least one of an artificial intelligence (AI) capability, a sensing capability or a position of the apparatus para. 32, “the first BS receives a first plurality of UE device capabilities (e.g., UE-NR-Capability or UE-EUTRA-Capability) of the first UE from the first UE… he first plurality of UE capabilities indicate (e.g., include) a first maximum reception (RX) bandwidth (RX_BW) for a first frequency band to which the first carrier belongs. The first BS may determine the first allowed MEAS_BW according to the first maximum RX_BW”.
Regarding claim 7 Wu discloses, the method further comprising:
receiving, by the apparatus from the network device, an indication of available carriers and/or available BWPs for the apparatus para. 55, “The first UE knows in which bandwidth the measurement can be performed according to the first measurement configuration received from the BS”,
Wu does not specifically disclose, However, Wu19 teach, wherein the information regarding the at least one measurement group is based on the available carriers and/or the available BWPs para. 6, “a carrier to at least one of a master cell group and a secondary cell group from at least one of at least one measurement object or at least one reporting configuration received from a network; determining measurement parameters for the carrier based on the designation or lack thereof from configurations”.
Wu and Wu19 are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to measurement configuration and a reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu19 in the system of Wu so the terminal could receive in one transmission the configuration for measuring multiple number of carriers. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce signaling overhead and improve the user equipment power efficiency.
Regarding claim 8 Wu discloses, wherein the information regarding the at least one measurement group comprises an indication of at least one preferred reference carrier and/or at least one preferred reference BWP for the first measurement group para. 36, “In one example, the first (or second) plurality of UE capabilities further include (e.g., indicate) at least one of the first (or second) frequency band, a third frequency band, a subcarrier spacing capability, a beam forming capability and a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) capability”.
Regarding claim 9 Wu discloses, the method further comprising:
receiving, by the apparatus from the network device, information regarding at least one measurement group including the first measurement group para. 46, “The first UE transmits a third RRC response message (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration Complete message) on the SCG SRB to the second BS in response to the third RRC message”.
Regarding claim 10 Wu teaches, at least one processor read as: “processing circuit 200”; and a computer readable storage medium read as: “random-access memory (RAM)” see para. 14, Fig. 2; furthermore, claim 10 recites a apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11 the limitations of claim 11 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claims 12-15 the limitations of claims 12-15, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 2-5, respectively.
Regarding claims 16-18 the limitations of claims 16-18, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 7-9, respectively.
Regarding claim 19 the limitations of claim 19 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 6.
Claim 20 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 11 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Moosavi et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210243624) which disclose(s) measurement reporting timer.
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471