DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 7, and 15 are amended.
No claims are canceled.
No newly added claims.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed in the amendment filed on 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, the seasons are set forth below.
Applicant argues (Remarks 7) that Iturralde fails to teach the “In the Response to Arguments section of the Office Action, the Office has alleged that because Iturralde mentions DASH as one of several ABR technologies, its chunks or segments are "period elements." See Office Action, Response to Arguments. However, merely mentioning DASH does not mean Iturralde discloses Period elements comprising timing information that is reused when generating a new period element as recited by amended claim 1. Iturralde focuses on chunk-level manifest entries and chunk replacement. Each manifest in Iturralde "includes a plurality of manifest entries", and each entry in a manifest "references a respective chunk of media content by specifying a media URI (uniform resource identifier) and associated attributes that apply to it." Iturralde at 18 and 20. Iturralde at paragraph [0039] describes that entries include "attributes that characterize features of the each respective chunk" such as "URI, codec, bitrate, duration, time stamp." While these attributes include duration and timestamp information, they are attributes of individual chunk entries, not timing information within a Period element that is reused when generating a new period element for a manifest update.”
In response, examiner respectfully points out that as responded in previous response, Iturralde in par. 0015, discloses system is configured to employ one or more ABR technologies including Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP (DASH). Based on definition of DASH technologies standards includes Manifest data of streaming protocol has a hierarchical structure. The manifest data is organized in one or more section (e.g. periods) where each section includes information for a certain time interval of the stream. Therefore, Manifest of Iturralde uses the section or periods of stream to establish the sequence of streaming of content. Iturralde in par. 0020 discloses, each entry in the manifest references a respective chunk of media content by specifying a media URI (uniform resource identifier) and associated attributes that apply to it. Attributes can include information describing a duration, encryption method, timestamp, and the like for a presentation of each chunk of media content for the media asset. Therefore, Segment or chunk has time duration or period, in other words, segment or chuck is a “period element.”
Further to that Iturralde in discloses in par. 0012, generating a plurality of manifest files for redundant and interchangeable copies of media content for a given media asset. Par. 0013, Each of the plurality of media production pipelines can be configured to generate a redundant copy of a given media asset, each redundant copy of the given media asset including a plurality of chunks of media content. Each of the plurality of media production pipelines can also be configured to generate a manifest file associated with each respective redundant copy of the given media asset to reference the respective plurality of chunks of media content, par. 0020, each entry in the manifest references a respective chunk of media content by specifying a media URI (uniform resource identifier) and associated attributes that apply to it. Attributes can include information describing a duration, encryption method, timestamp, and the like, i.e. based on par. 0012, 0013 and 0020, it indicates that each manifest files, production and redundant are duplicate of each other that are interchangeable, therefore contains media segment period (i.e. chunks) that includes the attributes such as chunk duration and timestamp. Here “chunk duration” = time period information as chunk duration is measured in units of time. Hence, Iturralde does teach that, “source period element that comprises timing information.”
Applicant argues (Remarks 7-8) that, “the Office Action has also alleged that "applicant's specification discloses a period element = a segment" and that "segments may alternately be referred to as 'chunks."' See Office Action, Response to Arguments. However, this misreads the specification. The specification at paragraph [0029] states that "a manifest file may include a Period element that describes a particular duration of the content item/segment." A Period element describes a duration or segment; it is not itself a segment. Importantly, the specification at paragraph [0040] states that "[t]he copy operation may be used to replace values of attributes within Period A and/or modify element(s) within Period A containing segment, event, and timing information, such as EventStream, SegmentTemplate, and SegmentBase, etc." As-Filed Specification, paragraph [0040]. This hierarchical container structure - where a Period element contains child elements - describes Period elements as containing timing information that can be reused via a copy operation when generating manifest updates - a concept entirely lacking in Iturralde.
Thus, for at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that Iturralde fails to disclose "receiving, by a computing device, a first manifest file for content, wherein the first manifest file comprises a source period element that comprises timing information" and "generating, based on the source period element, a new period element that comprises the timing information of the source period element" as presently claimed. Anticipation under 35 U.S.C. § 102 requires the claimed process and a process of the prior art to be identical. In the present case, the process described by Iturralde lacks the requisite identity with amended claim 1 to be an anticipatory prior art reference.”
In response, the examiner respectfully points out that, Applicant’s specification par. 0029 discloses, provides example of a manifest file in MPEG-DASH environment, which includes a Period element that describes a particular duration of the content item/segment (e.g., a duration of the content item bound by a start time and an end time). Hence, applicant’s specification discloses a period element = a segment. Par. 0032 of applicant’s specification discloses, segments may alternately be referred to as “chunks.” Therefore, applicant’s specification suggesting that a period element is chunk or segment or segment or period of the content, which is similar to Iturralde’s chunks with attributes that describes the duration of the content. Iturralde in par. 0015 discloses DASH delivery format, which includes manifest file that includes specific time slot of segment/chunk of content on the timeline with attributes such as duration or period.
Iturralde in par. 0026 discloses, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. make manifest update (i.e. generating new chunk or period element that was missing ) by copying manifest entry (i.e. source period) from another manifest file in to local manifest. As mentioned above, each manifest file is duplicate with each other, so they contains same attribute for each chunk including duration measured in time unit, when copying entry from another manifest file that is associated with duplicate copy of the same chunk of media content from another file, it will keep and copy all the associated attribute, such as bitrate, duration, time stamp. Since duration of chunks is same in both the manifest file, copied chunk information comprises the timing information (i.e. duration information measured in time unit) of the source chunk information from other manifests).
Applicant argues (Remarks page 8-9), “Iturralde's reconciliation engine identifies damaged entries and replaces them with redundant copies from another manifest file. But this process in Iturralde does not involve determining a "most similar period element" from among a plurality of period elements as recited by amended claim 8. Iturralde's method simply identifies damaged entries and locates corresponding redundant copies, which is fundamentally different from determining similarity among period elements. Furthermore, Iturralde's replacement operation copies an existing redundant entry from another manifest file, which is not the same as "generating, based on the most similar period element, a new period element for a manifest update for the content, wherein the new period element comprises the timing information of the most similar period element" as recited by amended claim 8 (emphasis added).”
In response, the examiner respectfully points out that, Iturralde in par. 0025 discloses, If the metadata indicates that an error might exist in a manifest entry 18, such as by specifying the manifest entry as a placeholder entry, the reconciliation engine 12 can retrieve a redundant copy of the manifest from the storage 14. The reconciliation engine 12 can be programmed to compare corresponding entries (e.g., entries having the same sequence numbers) in the redundant manifests that have been retrieved, i.e. based on second manifest file, determine most similar period element between first manifest file and second manifest file. BRI of term “most similar” is given as based on its definition = matching, identical, comparable. Hence, Iturralde finding the redundant copies is done by matching or comparing to find identical or matching copy from redundant manifest file is as step of finding “most similar” period element or segment. Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. make manifest update (i.e. generating new chunk or period element that was missing ) by copying manifest entry (i.e. source period) from another manifest file in to local manifest.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iturralde et al. (US 20150261600).
Regarding claim 1, Iturralde discloses, a method comprising: receiving, by a computing device, a first manifest file for content, wherein the first manifest file comprises a source period element that comprises timing information (Par. 0012, generating a plurality of manifest files for redundant and interchangeable copies of media content for a given media asset. Par. 0013, Each of the plurality of media production pipelines can be configured to generate a redundant copy of a given media asset, each redundant copy of the given media asset including a plurality of chunks of media content. Each of the plurality of media production pipelines can also be configured to generate a manifest file associated with each respective redundant copy of the given media asset to reference the respective plurality of chunks of media content, par. 0020, each entry in the manifest references a respective chunk of media content by specifying a media URI (uniform resource identifier) and associated attributes that apply to it. Attributes can include information describing a duration, encryption method, timestamp, and the like, i.e. based on par. 0012, 0013 and 0020, it indicates that each manifest files production and redundant are duplicate of each other that are interchangeable, therefore contains media segment period (i.e. chunks) that includes the attributes such as chunk duration and timestamp. Here chunk duration = time period information as chunk duration is measured in units of time. Par. 0017, manifest 16 can be stored as a respective manifest file in the storage 14 Each manifest 16 further can reference chunks of media content, i.e. plurality of chunks = plurality of period elements of media content. Fig. 2, par. 0036, packager including manifest generator storing manifest on storage 56, i.e. storage (i.e. a computing device) receives manifest files from packager. Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 (i.e. entry of chunk or source period from a manifest file can be copied to another manifest file) based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. make manifest update by copying manifest entry from another manifest file);
generating, based on the source period, a new period element that comprises the timing information of the source period element (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. make manifest update (i.e. generating new chunk or period element that was missing ) by copying manifest entry (i.e. source period) from another manifest file in to local manifest. As disclosed in above claim mapping, each manifest file is duplicate with each other, so they contains same attribute for each chunk including duration measured in time unit, when copying entry from another manifest file that is associated with duplicate copy of the same chunk of media content from another file, it will copy all the associated attribute, such as bitrate, duration, time stamp. Since duration of chunks is same in both the manifest files, copied chunk information comprises the timing information (i.e. duration information measured in time unit) of the source chunk information from other manifest); and
generating, based on the new period element and the first manifest file, a manifest update for the content, wherein the manifest update facilitates access to the content (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. generating manifest update by copying entry (i.e. new period element or chunk) from another manifest. Par. 0050, the reconciliation engine 102 can further modify a manifest entry for a chunk of media content (e.g., via a manifest modification function) with a corresponding manifest entry generated by another pipeline, such as to enable a more reliable chunk of media content to be accessed during playout).
Regarding claim 2. The method of claim 1,
Iturralde further discloses, wherein the new period element comprises a duplication of the source period element (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. copying entry from another manifest = duplication of source period element), and wherein generating the new period element comprises at least one of:
appending, to a copy of the first manifest file, the duplication of the source period element as the new period element (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, copying entry from another manifest = appending to local or first manifest file, an entry as new period element which is duplicate of entry from another manifest);
generating, for the duplication of the source period, a placeholder attribute, wherein the new period comprises the placeholder attribute; or
generating, for the duplication of the source period, a unique identifier, wherein the new period comprises the unique identifier.
Regarding claim 6. The method of claim 1,
Iturralde further discloses, wherein the first manifest file comprises a plurality of period elements, and wherein the method further comprises:
determining, based on an additional period element within a second manifest file for the content, a most similar period element of the plurality of period elements (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. based on segments or chunks in source (i.e. here it is first manifest) manifest file, determine most similar period element between first manifest file and second or local manifest file).
Regarding claim 7. The method of claim 6,
Iturralde further discloses, wherein the source period comprises the most similar period element (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. compare to identify most similar entries between two manifest files so that it can be copied to current manifest from source manifest file).
Regarding claim 8, Iturralde discloses, a method comprising: receiving, by a computing device, a first manifest file for content, wherein the first manifest file comprises a plurality of period elements (Par. 0017, manifest 16 can be stored as a respective manifest file in the storage 14 Each manifest 16 further can reference chunks of media content, i.e. plurality of chunks = plurality of period elements of media content. Fig. 2, par. 0036, packager including manifest generator storing manifest on storage 56, i.e. storage (i.e. a computing device) receives manifest files from packager) and wherein each period element of the plurality of period elements comprises timing information (Par. 0012, generating a plurality of manifest files for redundant and interchangeable copies of media content for a given media asset. Par. 0013, Each of the plurality of media production pipelines can be configured to generate a redundant copy of a given media asset, each redundant copy of the given media asset including a plurality of chunks of media content. Each of the plurality of media production pipelines can also be configured to generate a manifest file associated with each respective redundant copy of the given media asset to reference the respective plurality of chunks of media content, par. 0020, each entry in the manifest references a respective chunk of media content by specifying a media URI (uniform resource identifier) and associated attributes that apply to it. Attributes can include information describing duration, encryption method, timestamp, and the like, i.e. based on par. 0012, 0013 and 0020, it indicates that each manifest files production and redundant are duplicate of each other that are interchangeable, therefore contains media segment period (i.e. chunks) that includes the attributes such as chunk duration and timestamp. Here chunk duration = time period information as chunk duration is measured in units of time);
determining, based on the plurality of period elements, a most similar period element of the plurality of period elements (Par. 0025, If the metadata indicates that an error might exist in a manifest entry 18, such as by specifying the manifest entry as a placeholder entry, the reconciliation engine 12 can retrieve a redundant copy of the manifest from the storage 14. The reconciliation engine 12 can be programmed to compare corresponding entries (e.g., entries having the same sequence numbers) in the redundant manifests that have been retrieved, i.e. based on second manifest file, determine most similar period element between first manifest file and second manifest file. BRI of term “most similar” is given as based on its definition = matching, identical, comparable);
generating, based on the most similar period element, a new period element for a manifest update for the content (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy (i.e. most similar) of the same chunk of media content. The reconciliation engine 12 further can evaluate the metadata 20 associated with the entry in such other manifest 16 to select which entry 18 to utilize for reconciling the given chunk of media content. For example, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. generate a new period in local manifest from another manifest which has most similar period element or chunk, which reflects manifest update for the content), wherein the new period element comprises the timing information of the most similar period element (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. make manifest update (i.e. generating new chunk or period element that was missing ) by copying manifest entry (i.e. source period) from another manifest file in to local manifest. As disclosed in above claim mapping, each manifest file is duplicate of each other, so they contains same attribute for each chunk including duration measured in time unit, when copying entry from another manifest file that is associated with duplicate copy of the same chunk of media content from another file, it copies all the associated attribute, such as bitrate, duration, time stamp); and
generating, based on the new period element, the manifest update for the content, wherein the manifest update facilitates access to the content (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy (i.e. most similar) of the same chunk of media content. The reconciliation engine 12 further can evaluate the metadata 20 associated with the entry in such other manifest 16 to select which entry 18 to utilize for reconciling the given chunk of media content. For example, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. generate a new period in local manifest from another manifest which has a similar period or chunk, which reflects manifest update for the content).
Regarding claim 9, the method of claim 8,
Iturralde further discloses, wherein determining the most similar period element of the plurality of period elements comprises determining, based on the plurality of period elements, and based on an additional period within a second manifest file for the content, the most similar period element of the plurality of period elements (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content. The reconciliation engine 12 further can evaluate the metadata 20 associated with the entry in such other manifest 16 to select which entry 18 to utilize for reconciling the given chunk of media content. For example, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. determine similar period element of first manifest file based on comparing period or chunks located within a second manifest file for the content).
Regarding claim 12, the method of claim 8,
Iturralde further discloses, wherein determining the most similar period element of the plurality of period elements comprises:
determining, based on an additional period element within a second manifest file for the content and the plurality of periods, a copy script cost for each period element of the plurality of period elements; and determining, based on the copy script cost for each period element of the plurality of period elements, a lowest copy script cost, wherein the most similar period element is associated with the lowest copy script cost (Par. 0034, The reconciliation engine 12 can perform reconciliation of redundant content via manifest manipulation, without requiring retrieval or parsing of corresponding chunks of media content, without requiring any changes to the chunks of ABR media content. As a result of such manifest manipulation to reference reliable chunks of media content, downstream entities (e.g. recorders, origin playout nodes, cache nodes, and end clients) can seamlessly retrieve the appropriate alternate content based on the reference to such chunk in the modified version of the first manifest. Accordingly, time and processing resources to perform such reconciliation can be less expensive compared to performing content-based analysis, i.e. finding most similar period element in the second manifest file without actually copying any period but rather just copying reference to the period from another manifest from another entities, that is lowest copy script cost).
Regarding 13, The method of claim 12,
Iturralde further discloses, wherein the copy script cost for each period element of the plurality of period elements comprises a quantity of characters (Par. 0039, each entry 64 in the manifest 54 is associated with and references a corresponding chunk 60 in the ABR package 52. By way of example, the manifest 54 can be implemented as a text file, such as can be a well-formed XML document or other text document based on an ABR-format-specified schema (e.g., having a predefined structure and syntax). Each entry 64 can include a plurality of attributes that characterize features of the each respective chunk 60 to which it refers, such as can include tags to specify a URI, codec, bitrate, duration, time stamp and the like for each respective chunk, i.e. each entry in manifest file contains text that reference to content location, such as in form of URI, therefore each copy script cost for copying reference URI from second manifest to first manifest has text characters, each link contains specific quality of characters).
Regarding claim 14. The method of claim 12,
Iturralde does not disclose, wherein the lowest copy script cost comprises a smallest quantity of characters. However, official notice is taken that this was well known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed. For example, it was widely practiced to determine that computer resources will be lowest used when copying smallest amount of characters. Therefore it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify the system of Iturralde to include this functionality, the rationale being to estimate cost of copying that would impact the computer and network resources usage.
Regarding claim 15, Iturralde discloses, a method comprising: receiving, by a computing device, a first manifest file for content, wherein the first manifest file comprises a plurality of period elements (Par. 0017, manifest 16 can be stored as a respective manifest file in the storage 14 Each manifest 16 further can reference chunks of media content, i.e. plurality of chunks = plurality of period elements of media content. Fig. 2, par. 0036, packager including manifest generator storing manifest on storage 56, i.e. storage (i.e. a computing device) receives manifest files from packager), and wherein each period element of the plurality of period elements comprises timing information (Par. 0012, generating a plurality of manifest files for redundant and interchangeable copies of media content for a given media asset. Par. 0013, Each of the plurality of media production pipelines can be configured to generate a redundant copy of a given media asset, each redundant copy of the given media asset including a plurality of chunks of media content. Each of the plurality of media production pipelines can also be configured to generate a manifest file associated with each respective redundant copy of the given media asset to reference the respective plurality of chunks of media content, par. 0020, each entry in the manifest references a respective chunk of media content by specifying a media URI (uniform resource identifier) and associated attributes that apply to it. Attributes can include information describing duration, encryption method, timestamp, and the like, i.e. based on par. 0012, 0013 and 0020, it indicates that each manifest files production and redundant are duplicate of each other that are interchangeable, therefore contains media segment period (i.e. chunks) that includes the attributes such as chunk duration and timestamp. Here chunk duration = time period information as chunk duration is measured in units of time);
determining, based on the plurality of period elements, a most similar period of the plurality of period elements (Par. 0025, If the metadata indicates that an error might exist in a manifest entry 18, such as by specifying the manifest entry as a placeholder entry, the reconciliation engine 12 can retrieve a redundant copy of the manifest from the storage 14. The reconciliation engine 12 further can be programmed to compare corresponding entries (e.g., entries having the same sequence numbers) in the redundant manifests that have been retrieved, i.e. based on second manifest file, determine most similar period element between first manifest file and second manifest file);
determining, based on the most similar period element, a lowest computational cost for generation of a manifest update for the content (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content. The reconciliation engine 12 further can evaluate the metadata 20 associated with the entry in such other manifest 16 to select which entry 18 to utilize for reconciling the given chunk of media content. For example, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. make manifest update by copying manifest entry from another manifest file. Par. 0034, result of such manifest manipulation to reference reliable chunks of media content, can seamlessly retrieve the appropriate alternate content based on the reference to such chunk in the modified version of the first manifest. Accordingly, time and processing resources to perform such reconciliation can be less expensive as compared to performing content-based analysis and repair); and
generating, based on the lowest computational cost and the first manifest file, the manifest update for the content (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content. The reconciliation engine 12 further can evaluate the metadata 20 associated with the entry in such other manifest 16 to select which entry 18 to utilize for reconciling the given chunk of media content. For example, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. make manifest update by copying manifest entry from another manifest file. Par. 0034, result of such manifest manipulation to reference reliable chunks of media content, can seamlessly retrieve the appropriate alternate content based on the reference to such chunk in the modified version of the first manifest. Accordingly, time and processing resources to perform such reconciliation can be less expensive as compared to performing content-based analysis and repair), wherein the manifest update comprises a new period element that includes the timing information of the most similar period element (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. make manifest update (i.e. generating new chunk or period element that was missing ) by copying manifest entry (i.e. source period) from another manifest file in to local manifest. As disclosed in above claim mapping, each manifest file is duplicate of each other, so they contains same attribute for each chunk including duration measured in time unit, when copying entry from another manifest file that is associated with duplicate copy of the same chunk of media content from another file, it copies all the associated attribute, such as bitrate, duration, time stamp).
Regarding claim 16, the method of claim 15,
Iturralde further discloses, wherein determining the most similar period element of the plurality of period elements comprises determining, based on the plurality of period elements, and based on an additional period element within a second manifest file for the content, the most similar period element of the plurality of period elements (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content. The reconciliation engine 12 further can evaluate the metadata 20 associated with the entry in such other manifest 16 to select which entry 18 to utilize for reconciling the given chunk of media content. For example, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. determine similar period of first manifest file based on comparing period element or chunks located within a second manifest file for the content).
Regarding claim 17, the method of claim 15,
Iturralde further discloses, wherein determining the lowest computational cost comprises determining, based on the most similar period element and an additional period element within a second manifest file for the content, the lowest computational cost for generation of the manifest update for the content (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content. The reconciliation engine 12 further can evaluate the metadata 20 associated with the entry in such other manifest 16 to select which entry 18 to utilize for reconciling the given chunk of media content. For example, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. make manifest update by copying manifest entry from another manifest file. Par. 0034, result of such manifest manipulation to reference reliable chunks of media content, can seamlessly retrieve the appropriate alternate content based on the reference to such chunk in the modified version of the first manifest. Accordingly, time and processing resources to perform such reconciliation can be less expensive as compared to performing content-based analysis and repair).
Regarding claim 18, the method of claim 15,
Iturralde further discloses, wherein generating the manifest update for the content comprises generating, based on the lowest computational cost and the first manifest file, and based on a second manifest file for the content, the manifest update for the content (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content. The reconciliation engine 12 further can evaluate the metadata 20 associated with the entry in such other manifest 16 to select which entry 18 to utilize for reconciling the given chunk of media content. For example, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. make manifest update by copying manifest entry from another manifest file. Par. 0034, result of such manifest manipulation to reference reliable chunks of media content, can seamlessly retrieve the appropriate alternate content based on the reference to such chunk in the modified version of the first manifest. Accordingly, time and processing resources to perform such reconciliation can be less expensive compared to performing content-based analysis and repair, i.e. generating manifest update in first manifest file based on using least expensive method and based on chunk entry in another manifest file).
Regarding claim 19, the method of claim 18,
Iturralde further discloses, wherein the second manifest file comprise an additional period element, and wherein the manifest update facilitates access to at least one segment of the content identified by the additional period element (Par. 0026, the reconciliation engine 12 can access the storage 14 to locate an entry 18 in another manifest file 16 that is associated with a redundant copy of the same chunk of media content. The reconciliation engine 12 further can evaluate the metadata 20 associated with the entry in such other manifest 16 to select which entry 18 to utilize for reconciling the given chunk of media content. For example, the reconciliation engine 12 can copy the selected manifest entry 18 based on the evaluation of corresponding metadata, i.e. updating first manifest gives access to chunk of the content identified from the second manifest file).
Regarding claim 20, the method of claim 19,
Iturralde further discloses, wherein the at least one segment comprises a newly encoded portion of the content or an advertisement associated with the content (Par. 0029, In some examples, the manifest modification function 24 can modify one or more manifest entry 18 to reference other content 28 that may be different from the originally intended chunk of media content. For example, the other content 28 can include an ad or other content that can be substituted for the originally intended chunk, such that the entry 18 in the manifest 16 can be modified to reference a selected substitute ad reference).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, and 10 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iturralde et al. (US 20150261600), in view of Johns (US 20180234714).
Regarding claim 3. The method of claim 1,
Iturralde does not disclose, further comprising: determining, based on an additional period within a second manifest file for the content, a replacement value for at least one attribute of the new period, wherein the manifest update comprises the new period element comprising the replacement value for the at least one attribute of the new period element.
Johns discloses, determining, based on an additional period element within a second manifest file for the content, a replacement value for at least one attribute of the new period, wherein the manifest update comprises the new period comprising the replacement value for the at least one attribute of the new period element (Par. 0067, the first manifest file 131 may include a field for an absolute address of a segment. Accordingly, combining the first and second manifest files 131, 139 may include generating an absolute address for a segment from information stored within the second manifest file 139 and inserting the absolute address into a corresponding entry of the first manifest file 131, i.e. based on additional period in second manifest file (i.e. here first manifest file is considered local manifest file or first manifest file) having an attribute of absolute address, segment copied from source manifest or first manifest file gets assigned with or replaced with absolute address for copied or new segment or period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Iturralde, by teaching of determining based on an additional period element within a second manifest file for the content, a replacement value for at least one attribute of the new period element, wherein the manifest update comprises the new period element comprising the replacement value for the at least one attribute of the new period element, as taught by Johns, with the location information of the entry of the second manifest file such that the first discontinuity is resolved using the location information for retrieving the second content segment, as disclosed in Johns par. 0008.
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 3,
Iturralde in view of Johns further discloses, wherein determining the replacement value for the at least one attribute of the new period element comprises:
receiving the second manifest file (Iturralde Fig. 2, par. 0036, packager including manifest generator storing manifest on storage 56, i.e. storage (i.e. a computing device) receives plurality of manifest files from packager), wherein the additional period of the second manifest file comprises at least one additional attribute (Johns Par. 0067, the first manifest file 131 may include a field for an absolute address of a segment, i.e. additional period element of received manifest file comprises an attribute of absolute address of a segment); and
determining, based on a value of the at least one attribute of the additional period, and based on a value of the at least one attribute of the new period element, the replacement value for the at least one attribute of the new period element (Johns Par. 0067, the first manifest file 131 may include a field for an absolute address of a segment. Accordingly, combining the first and second manifest files 131, 139 may include generating an absolute address for a segment from information stored within the second manifest file 139 and inserting the absolute address into a corresponding entry of the first manifest file 131, i.e. based on current value of period from second manifest (i.e. the new period element and value of the absolute address of existing periods of local manifest file determine to replacement or generated new absolute address for period copied from second manifest file).
Regarding claim 5, The method of claim 3,
Iturralde in view of Johns further discloses, wherein the replacement value comprises a difference between a value of at least one attribute of the additional period and the value of the at least one attribute of the new period element (Johns Par. 0067, the first manifest file 131 may include a field for an absolute address of a segment. Accordingly, combining the first and second manifest files 131, 139 may include generating an absolute address for a segment from information stored within the second manifest file 139 and inserting the absolute address into a corresponding entry of the first manifest file 131, i.e. value of generating and inserting absolute address = difference between having absolute address of existing other period element of local manifest value of absolute address of period element from second manifest).
Regarding claim 10, Iturralde in view of Johns limitation as set forth in claim 3,
Claim 11 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iturralde et al. (US 20150261600), in view of Marciano et al. (US 20230328308).
Regarding claim 11. The method of claim 8,
Iturralde does not disclose, wherein determining the most similar period element of the plurality of period elements comprises: determining, based on at least one difference algorithm, an amount of difference between attributes of an additional period within a second manifest file for the content and attributes of each period of the plurality of period elements; and
determining, based on the amount of difference between the attributes of the additional period and attributes of a first period element of the plurality of period elements, the most similar period element, wherein the most similar period element comprises the first period element.
Marciano discloses, wherein determining the most similar period element of the plurality of period elements comprises:
determining, based on at least one difference algorithm, an amount of difference between attributes of an additional period within a second manifest file for the content and attributes of each period of the plurality of period elements (Par. 0292, the algorithm determines that for a set of successive segments, first segment time stamp in manifest 1 and second segment time stamp in manifest 2 , where there is correspondence over a sufficiently (configured) large number of segments there is a match, there is a comparatively high probability that the corresponding segments in the two manifests are for identical points in time of the content, i.e. amount of different between time stamp (i.e. attributes) of two segments from two manifest is exactly matching (i.e. no different between attributes); and
determining, based on the amount of difference between the attributes of the additional period and attributes of a first period element of the plurality of period elements, the most similar period element, wherein the most similar period element comprises the first period element (Par. 0292, the algorithm determines that for a set of successive segments, first segment time stamp in manifest 1 and second segment time stamp in manifest 2 , where there is correspondence over a sufficiently (configured) large number of segments there is a match, there is a comparatively high probability that the corresponding segments in the two manifests are for identical points in time of the content, i.e. amount of different between time stamp (i.e. attributes) of two segments from two manifest is exactly matching (i.e. no different between attributes, segments are identical or of same event such as kicking of the goal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Iturralde, by teaching of determining, based on the amount of difference between the attributes of the additional period element and attributes of a first period element of the plurality of period elements, the most similar period element, wherein the most similar period comprises the first period element, as taught by Marciano, to algorithmically identify similarity between two segments accurately, as disclosed in Marciano par. 0004-0007.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422