DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The Office notes that Applicant filed two sets of claims on 06/20/2023, wherein one set of claims are numbered 1-18 and are drawn to a polymer (claims 1-12), organic semiconductor material comprising the polymer (claim 13), a stretchable polymer thin film comprising the polymer (claims 14-16), and an electronic device comprising the stretchable polymer thin film (claim 17-18), and another set of claims are numbered 1-17 and are drawn to a polymer semiconductor (claims 1-12), a stretchable polymer thin film comprising the polymer semiconductor (claims 13-15), and an electronic device comprising the stretchable polymer thin film (claims 16-17). The Applicant did not indicate that any amendments to the claims had been made. The Office notes that the Claims Worksheet filed on 07/13/2023, indicates that there are claims 1-18. The Office notes that the US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0407009 A1 for the instant application recites claims 1-18.
In a telephone call with the Applicant’s attorney on 02/11/2026, the Applicant confirmed that they want the Office to examine the set of claims numbered 1-18 that are drawn to a polymer (claims 1-12), organic semiconductor material comprising the polymer (claim 13), a stretchable polymer thin film comprising the polymer (claims 14-16), and an electronic device comprising the stretchable polymer thin film (claim 17-18).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a hydrogen of the benzene ring is optionally substituted or unsubstituted with a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C30 alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C30 alkynyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloalkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloheteroalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloheteroalkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C7 to C30 alkylaryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryloxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heterocyclic group, a halogen, or a cyano group” in lines 22-31, which is indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the benzene ring” in the claim because it is unclear which “benzene ring” is being referenced because there are many benzene rings in the moieties represented by Group 2 that are recited in claim 7, and there is a benzene ring in Chemical Formula 2 that is recited in claim 1. Also, it is unclear how this limitation limits the moieties represented by Group 2 because the benzene rings in the moieties represented by Group 2 do not have any substituents except for the
. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 8, l. 15-p. 9, l. 2), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “a hydrogen of one of the benzene rings in Group 2 is optionally substituted or unsubstituted with a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C30 alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C30 alkynyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloalkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloheteroalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloheteroalkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C7 to C30 alkylaryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryloxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heterocyclic group, a halogen, or a cyano group”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein in Group 2, at least one (CH2) group in the benzene ring is replaced by nitrogen (N)” in lines 1-3, which is indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for “at least one (CH2) group in the benzene ring” in the claim because a benzene ring does not comprise at least one (CH2) group and instead comprises CH groups. Also, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the benzene ring” in the claim because it is unclear which “benzene ring” is being referenced because there are many benzene rings in the moieties represented by Group 2 that are recited in claim 7, and there is a benzene ring in Chemical Formula 2 that is recited in claim 1. Also, it is unclear how this limitation limits the moieties represented by Group 2 because the benzene rings in the moieties represented by Group 2 that are recited in claim 7 consist of carbon and hydrogen, which does not allow for one of the CH groups to be replaced by nitrogen. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 9, l. 3-4), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “wherein in Group 2, at least one (CH) group in a benzene ring in Group 2 is replaced by nitrogen (N)”, and it is interpreted that claim 7 includes a limitation “wherein, in Group 2, at least one (CH) group in a benzene ring in Group 2 is optionally replaced by nitrogen (N)”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein in -(CR2aR2b)m- of Group 2, when m is 2 or more and 10 or less, -CR2aR2b- that are not adjacent to each other is replaced by -O-, -S-, -C(=O)-, -OC(=O)-, -C(=O)O-, -OC(=O)O-, -S(=O)-, -S(=O)2-, or any combination thereof” in lines 1-4, which is indefinite because when m is 2, the two -CR2aR2b- are adjacent to each other, and there are no -CR2aR2b- that are not adjacent to each other. Also, it is unclear how this limitation limits the moieties represented by Group 2 because claim 7 recites the limitation “moieties represented by Group 2: [Group 2]
”, which does not allow for -CR2aR2b- that are not adjacent to each other to be replaced by -O-, -S-, -C(=O)-, -OC(=O)-, -C(=O)O-, -OC(=O)O-, -S(=O)-, -S(=O)2-, or any combination thereof. Based on the specification of the instant application (p. 9, l. 5-7), for further examination of the claims, this limitation is interpreted as “wherein in -(CR2aR2b)m- of Group 2, when m is 3 or more and 10 or less, -CR2aR2b- that are not adjacent to each other are replaced by -O-, -S-, -C(=O)-, -OC(=O)-, -C(=O)O-, -OC(=O)O-, -S(=O)-, -S(=O)2-, or any combination thereof”, and it is interpreted that claim 7 includes a limitation “wherein in -(CR2aR2b)m- of Group 2, when m is 3 or more and 10 or less, -CR2aR2b- that are not adjacent to each other are optionally replaced by -O-, -S-, -C(=O)-, -OC(=O)-, -C(=O)O-, -OC(=O)O-, -S(=O)-, -S(=O)2-, or any combination thereof”.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein in Group 2, at least one (CH2) group in the benzene ring is replaced by nitrogen (N)” in lines 1-3, which fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, and fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends because claim 7, from which claim 8 depends, recites the limitation “moieties represented by Group 2: [Group 2]
” in lines 2-8, which does not allow for the presence of nitrogen in the benzene ring.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein in -(CR2aR2b)m- of Group 2, when m is 2 or more and 10 or less, -CR2aR2b- that are not adjacent to each other is replaced by -O-, -S-, -C(=O)-, -OC(=O)-, -C(=O)O-, -OC(=O)O-, -S(=O)-, -S(=O)2-, or any combination thereof” in lines 1-4, which fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, and fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends because claim 7, from which claim 9 depends, recites the limitation “moieties represented by Group 2: [Group 2]
” in lines 2-8, which does not allow for -CR2aR2b- that are not adjacent to each other is replaced by -O-, -S-, -C(=O)-, -OC(=O)-, -C(=O)O-, -OC(=O)O-, -S(=O)-, -S(=O)2-, or any combination thereof.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon et al. (KR 10-2014-0136893 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 11, Moon teaches a polymer that can be represented by the following chemical formula (translation [0075])
(untranslated [0076]), where in the above chemical formula (translation [0078]), Z is O, S, or Se (translation [0080]), R1 is C3-20 cycloalkyl, C3-C20 heterocycloalkyl, C6-C20 aryl, or C3-C20 heteroaryl (translation [0081]), R2 is C1-C20 alkyl, C3-C20 cycloalkyl, -((R3)l-O)m-R4, -(R5)k-NR6R7 (translation [0082]), R3 and R5 are independently C1-C10 alkylene (translation [0083]), R4, and R6 to R7 are each independently hydrogen, C1-C10 alkyl or C1-C10 alkoxy, and l, m, and k are integers from 1 to 5 (translation [0084]), wherein the cycloalkyl, heteroacycloalkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl of the above R1, the alkyl or cycloalkyl of R2, the alkylene of R3 and R5, and the alkyl and alkoxy of R4 and R6 to R7 may be further substituted with one or more selected from halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, C1-C10 alkoxy, amino, hydroxy, or nitro (translation [0085]), n is an integer between 2 and 500 (translation [0086]), A may be the following structure (translation [0090])
(untranslated [0091]), where in the above structural formula (translation [0095]), Z is O, S, or Se (translation [0096]), R’ and R’’ are each independently hydrogen, C1-C20 alkyl, C6-C20 aryl, C3-C20 heteroaryl, or C6-C20 ar C1-C20 alkyl (translation [0097]), R11 to R14 are each independently hydrogen, halogen, C1-C20 alkyl, C1-C20 alkoxy, C6-C20 aralkyl (translation [0098]), the alkyl group, aryl, heteroaryl, and aralkyl of R’ and R’’, and the alkyl group, alkoxy, and aralkyl of R11 to R14 may be further substituted with one or more substituents selected from C1-C20 alkyl, C2-C20 alkenyl, C2-C20 alkynyl, C1-C20 alkoxy, amino group, hydroxy group, halogen group, cyano group, nitro group, trifluoromethyl group, and silyl group (translation [0099]), o, p, and q are integers from 1 to 2 (translation [0100]), which reads on a polymer comprising a first structural unit represented by Chemical Formula 1 and a second structural unit represented by Chemical Formula 2, wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, R11 and R12 are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C20 aryl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C20 heteroaryl group, L1 is each independently a substituted or unsubstituted divalent C4 to C30 heterocyclic group, L2 is each independently a single bond, D1 is a substituted or unsubstituted C4 to C30 heterocyclic group including at least one of O, S, and Se, wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, R11 and R12 are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C10 C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C20 to C30 heteroaryl group, -CORa, -OC(=O)Rb, -C(=O)ORc, -OC(=O)ORd, a halogen, a cyano group, or any combination thereof, wherein Ra to Rd are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C30 heteroaryl group, a halogen, a cyano group, or any combination thereof, L1 and L2 are each independently a single bond, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 arylene group, a substituted or unsubstituted divalent C30 to C30 heterocyclic group, a fused ring thereof, or any combination thereof, c is 0, Y is O, R21 is a substituted or unsubstituted C1-C30 linear or branched alkyl group, a C3 to C30 linear or branched alkyl group in which at least one of non-adjacent methylene groups is replaced by oxygen (O), or a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C20 cycloalkyl group, R22 is a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C20 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C20 heteroaryl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C20 heterocycloalkyl group, R23 and R24 are each independently hydrogen, X2 and X3 are each independently O, S, or Se as claimed, wherein D1 is at least one substituted or unsubstituted pentagonal ring group including at least one selected from O, S, and Se as claimed, wherein in Chemical Formula 1, D1 is one of electron donating moieties listed in Group 1 that is
wherein, in Group 1, X1a is each independently O, S, or Se, X1c and X1d are each independently CRx, Rx is each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkyl, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C7 to C30 alkylaryl group, or a halogen, and * is a linking point as claimed, wherein in Chemical Formula 1, L1 is each independently one or electron donating moieties listed in Group 1 that is
wherein, in Group 1, X1a is each independently O, S, or Se, X1c and X1d are each independently CRx, Rx is each independently hydrogen, a substitute or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkyl, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C7 to C30 alkylaryl group, or a halogen, and * is a linking point, and L2 is each independently a single bond as claimed, wherein in Chemical Formula 1, L1 is each independently at least one substituted or unsubstituted furan, at least one substituted or unsubstituted thiophene, or at least one substituted or unsubstituted selenophene, and L2 is each independently a divalent linking group including a single bond as claimed, wherein the first structural unit and the second structural unit are included in a molar ratio of 1:1 as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed physical properties are not positively taught by Moon, namely that in the polymer, an aspect ratio (Z/X) obtained by dividing a shortest axis length (Z by a longest axis (X) length of a compound including one first structural unit and one second structural unit is less than or equal to about 1.4. However, Moon teaches all of the claimed ingredients, amounts, process steps, and process conditions of the polymer of claim 1 as explained above. Furthermore, the specification of the instant application recites that in the polymer semiconductor, an aspect ratio (Z/X) obtained by dividing the shortest axis length (Z) by the longest axis (X) length of a compound including one first structural unit and one second structural unit may be less than or equal to about 1.4 (p. 9, l. 11-14), and that in the polymer semiconductor including the first structural unit represented by Chemical Formula 1 and the second structural unit represented by Chemical Formula 2, an aspect ratio (Z/X) obtained by dividing the shortest axis length (Z) by the longest axis (X) length of a compound including (e.g., composed of) one first structural unit and one second structural unit may be less than or equal to about 1.4 (p. 23, l. 15-20). Also, Moon teaches that the polymer comprises an organic semiconductor compound as a unit (translation [0074]) and that the polymer can be used as a material for an organic semiconductor device (translation [0087]). Therefore, the claimed physical properties would naturally arise from the polymer of Moon. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties (MPEP 2112.01(II)). If the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (MPEP 2112.01(II)). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not (MPEP 2112.01(I)). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product (MPEP 2112.01(I)).
Regarding claim 13, Moon teaches an organic semiconductor device, wherein the polymer is used as a material for the organic semiconductor device (translation [0087]), that an organic semiconductor device includes the polymer (translation [0088], [0109], that an organic semiconductor device contains the polymer (translation [0129]), and that the polymer comprises an organic semiconductor compound as a unit (translation [0074]), which reads on an organic semiconductor material comprising the polymer of claim 1 as claimed.
Regarding claims 14, 17, and 18, Moon teaches an organic semiconductor device containing the polymer (translation [0129]), wherein the organic semiconductor device is an organic thin-film transistor (translation [0130]), which reads on a stretchable polymer thin film comprising the polymer of claim 1 as claimed, an electronic device comprising the stretchable polymer thin film of claim 14 as claimed, and wherein the electronic device includes an organic thin film transistor as claimed because Moon’s organic thin-film transistor containing the polymer must be stretchable to some extent because it comprises the polymer of claim 1, and the polymer of claim 1 is the only required ingredient of the stretchable polymer thin film.
Regarding claim 16, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed physical properties are not positively taught by Moon, namely wherein when the stretchable polymer thin film is stretched by about 30%, a change in charge mobility is less than or equal to about 10%. However, Moon teaches all of the claimed ingredients, amounts, process steps, and process conditions of the stretchable polymer thin film of claim 14 as explained above. Furthermore, the specification of the instant application recites that an embodiment provides a polymer semiconductor with excellent electrical properties such as charge mobility (p. 1, l. 17-18), that when the stretchable polymer thin film is stretched by about 30%, a change in charge mobility may be less than or equal to about 10% (p. 9, l. 20-21), that the polymer may simultaneously satisfy electrical properties such as charge mobility (p. 10, l. 3-4), that the first structural unit may provide improved electrical properties to the polymer semiconductor, and high charge mobility (p. 14, l. 110-12), that the polymer semiconductor including structural units providing an aspect ratio within the above range may maintain planarity excellently and improve charge mobility (p. 23, l. 21-23), that within the above range, electrical properties such as charge mobility and stretchability may be implemented (p. 24, l. 9-10), that as charge mobility and stretchability may be simultaneously secured by including the different electron donating structures (D1 and D2) (p. 28, l. 10-12), that when the stretchable polymer thin film is stretched by about 30%, the charge mobility change of the stretchable polymer thin film may be less than or equal to about 10% (p. 29, l. 19-21), that the stretchable polymer thin film includes the first structural unit providing stretchability and the second structural unit providing good electrical characteristics, so that it can be stretched and have high charge mobility (p. 30, l. 23-p. 31, l. 3), and that therefore, it can be applied to various electronic devices requiring
stretchability and high charge mobility (p. 31, l. 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (KR 10-2014-0136893 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated) as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Moon teaches the polymer of claim 1 as explained above. Moon teaches that R’ and R’’ are each independently C1-C20 alkyl (translation [0097]), wherein the alkyl group of R’ and R’’ may be further substituted with one or more substituents selected from C1-C20 alkyl, C2-C20 alkenyl, C2-C20 alkynyl, C1-C20 alkoxy, amino group, hydroxy group, halogen group, cyano group, nitro group, trifluoromethyl group, and silyl group (translation [0099]), which reads on wherein in Chemical Formula 1, R11 and R12 are each independently a substituted for unsubstituted C1 to C30 linear alkyl group or a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 branched alkyl group.
Moon does not teach a specific embodiment wherein in Chemical Formula 1, R11 and R12 are each a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 alkyl group or a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 branched alkyl group. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Moon’s R’ and R’’ in Moon’s chemical formula to be a linear or branched C6-C20 alkyl, wherein the alkyl group of R’ and R’’ may be further substituted with one or more substituents selected from C1-C20 alkyl, C2-C20 alkenyl, C2-C20 alkynyl, C1-C20 alkoxy, amino group, hydroxy group, halogen group, cyano group, nitro group, trifluoromethyl group, and silyl group. The proposed modification would read on wherein in Chemical Formula 1, R11 and R12 are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 linear alkyl or a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 branched alkyl group as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Moon teaches that R’ and R’’ are each independently C1-C20 alkyl (translation [0097]), wherein the alkyl group of R’ and R’’ may be further substituted with one or more substituents selected from C1-C20 alkyl, C2-C20 alkenyl, C2-C20 alkynyl, C1-C20 alkoxy, amino group, hydroxy group, halogen group, cyano group, nitro group, trifluoromethyl group, and silyl group (translation [0099]). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Regarding claim 7, Moon teaches the polymer of claim 1 as explained above. Moon teaches that R1 is C6-C20 aryl (translation [0082]), wherein the aryl of the above R1 may be further substituted with one or more selected from halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, or C1-C10 alkoxy (translation [0085]), which optionally reads on wherein in Chemical Formula 2, R22 is one of moieties represented by Group 2 that is
,
, or
wherein, in Group 2, R2a and R2b are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C30 alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C30 alkynyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloalkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloheteroalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloheteroalkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C7 to C30 alkylaryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryloxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heterocyclic group, a halogen, or a cyano group, m is an integer that is 0, a hydrogen atom of the benzene ring is optionally substituted or unsubstituted with a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkoxy group, or a halogen, and * is a linking point as claimed.
Moon does not teach a specific embodiment wherein in Chemical Formula 2, R22 is one of moieties represented by Group 2 as claimed. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select Moon’s R1 in Moon’s chemical formula to be C6 aryl that is a phenyl, C10 aryl that is a naphthyl, or C14 aryl that is an anthracenyl, wherein the aryl of the above R1 may be further substituted with one or more selected from halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, or C1-C10 alkoxy. The proposed modification would read on wherein in Chemical Formula 2, R22 is one of moieties represented by Group 2 that is
,
, or
wherein, in Group 2, R2a and R2b are each independently hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C30 alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C30 alkynyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloalkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloheteroalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 cycloheteroalkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C7 to C30 alkylaryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryloxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heterocyclic group, a halogen, or a cyano group, m is an integer that is 0, a hydrogen atom of the benzene ring is optionally substituted or unsubstituted with a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkoxy group, or a halogen, and * is a linking point as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Moon teaches that R1 is C6-C20 aryl (translation [0082]), wherein the aryl of the above R1 may be further substituted with one or more selected from halogen, C1-C10 alkyl, or C1-C10 alkoxy (translation [0085]), which reads on a phenyl, a naphthyl, or an anthracenyl group because they are a C6, C10, or C14 aryl, respectively. Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (KR 10-2014-0136893 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated) as applied to claim 14, and further in view of Yun et al. (US 2021/0043860 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Moon teaches the stretchable polymer thin film of claim 14 as explained above.
Moon does not teach that the stretchable polymer thin film of claim 14 further comprises an elastomer. However, Yun teaches a first elastomer that is present in an active layer that further includes a semiconductor material, wherein the active layer is present in a thin film transistor [0006], wherein the thin film transistor is effectively applicable to flexible and stretchable electronic devices [0003]. Moon and Yun are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a stretchable polymer thin film. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Yun’s first elastomer to modify Moon’s organic thin-film transistor. The proposed modification would read on the stretchable polymer thin film of claim 14 further comprises an elastomer as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yun teaches that the first elastomer [0006] is beneficial for being an elastic polymer including an elastic moiety and a hydrogen bondable moiety [0014] and for being useful in a thin film transistor that further includes a semiconductor material [0006], and that the resulting thin film transistor is beneficial for being effectively applicable to flexible and stretchable electronic devices [0003], which would have been desirable for Moon’s organic thin-film transistor because Moon teaches that the organic thin-film transistor is an organic semiconductor device (translation [0130]) and contains the polymer (translation [0129]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, Moon et al. (KR 10-2014-0136893 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated) teaches the polymer of claim 1 as explained above. Moon teaches that R2 is C1-C20 alkyl (translation [0082]), which reads on wherein in Chemical Formula 2, R21 independently is a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 linear alkyl group or a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 branched alkyl group.
Moon does not teach a specific embodiment wherein in Chemical Formula 2, R21 independently is a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 linear alkyl group or a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 branched alkyl group, and does not teach that R23 and R24 independently are a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 linear alkyl group or a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 branched alkyl group. Although Man teaches that the polymer can be represented by the following chemical formula (translation [0075])
(untranslated [0076]), where in the above chemical formula (translation [0078]), R2 is C1-C20 alkyl (translation [0082]), which optionally reads on wherein in Chemical Formula 2, R21 independently is a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C20 linear alkyl group or a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C20 branched alkyl group, Moon’s teachings read on R23 and R24 independently are hydrogen, which does not read on a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 linear alkyl group or a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 branched alkyl group. The prior art of record do not teach or suggest the polymer of claim 1, wherein in Chemical Formula 2, R23 and R24 independently are a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 linear alkyl group or a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 branched alkyl group.
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767