DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is responsive to Application No. 18/337,604 filed on 06/20/2023.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed on 06/20/2023 is considered.
The drawings filed on 06/20/2023 are noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite the limitations of: “a method for operating a casino gaming system”.
The limitation of operating a casino gaming system, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claims preclude the step from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, claims 1-16 recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite one additional element – using a sensor (s) to detect presence of cryptocurrency in the transfer wallet; withdrawing the cryptocurrency from the transfer wallet to perform both detecting and withdrawing steps. The sensor in both steps recite at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer processing cryptocurrency transaction) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
In the instant case, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of depositing the cryptocurrency into the casino main wallet; computing a current cash value of the cryptocurrency; and depositing credits equivalent to the current cash value into the player’s unified wallet, and are determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. Thus, the additional element fails to ensure the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Accordingly, claims 1-16 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Higgins Kevin M. et al. (US PG PUB 2020/0152005).
As per claim 1, Higgins discloses a system that enables cryptocurrency funds to be transferred between a gaming establishment account associated with a player and an external cryptocurrency account, see., Higgins, abstract, at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040. Please note that the gaming establishment cryptocurrency account is included in the casino wallet), comprising: operating a casino gaming system (see., at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040) one or more servers connected via a network (see., Fig 1), the one or more sensors comprising an API service (or blockchain network 130, Fig 1), a transfer wallet, a bridge service, a player’s unified wallet and a casino main wallet (see., Fig1 , at least paragraphs 0019-0061); detecting the presence of cryptocurrency in the transfer wallet (see., paragraphs 0013 and 0026, specifically, electronically transferring cryptocurrency funds to the casino wallet); withdrawing the cryptocurrency from the transfer wallet (see., at least paragraphs 0032 and 0054, specifically, the player initiates a withdrawal of funds from their gaming establishment fund management account); depositing the cryptocurrency into the casino wallet (see., at least fig 1, item 114, paragraphs 0019, 0027, 0029,and 0040); computing a current cash value of the currency (see., paragraph 0055, Fig 3); depositing credits (see., paragraphs 0100-0111) equivalent to the current cash value in the player’s unified wallet (see., at least paragraphs 0013-0061).
As per claim 2, Higgins discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 1 above, wherein the bridge service employs API of the API service to perform the detecting, withdrawing, computing and depositing steps (see., fig 1, paragraphs 0018, 0032, and 0054, specifically blockchain network 130).
As per claim 3, Higgins discloses a system that enables cryptocurrency funds to be transferred between a gaming establishment account associated with a player and an external cryptocurrency account, see., Higgins, abstract, at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040. Please note that the gaming establishment cryptocurrency account is included in the casino wallet), comprising: operating a casino gaming system (see., at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040) one or more servers connected via a network (see., Fig 1), the one or more sensors comprising an API service (or blockchain network 130, Fig 1), a transfer wallet, a bridge service, a player’s unified wallet and a casino main wallet (see., Fig1 , at least paragraphs 0019-0061); detecting the presence of cryptocurrency in the transfer wallet (see., paragraphs 0013 and 0026, specifically, electronically transferring cryptocurrency funds to the casino wallet); withdrawing the cryptocurrency from the transfer wallet (see., at least paragraphs 0032 and 0054, specifically, the player initiates a withdrawal of funds from their gaming establishment fund management account); depositing the cryptocurrency into the casino wallet (see., at least fig 1, item 114, paragraphs 0019, 0027, 0029,and 0040); computing a current cash value of the currency (see., paragraph 0055, Fig 3); depositing credits (see., paragraphs 0100-0111) equivalent to the current cash value in the player’s unified wallet (see., 0013-0061).
As per claim 4, Higgins discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 3 above, wherein the bridge service employs API of the API service to perform the detecting, withdrawing, computing and depositing steps (see., fig 1, paragraphs 0018, 0032, and 0054, specifically blockchain network 130).
As per claim 5, Higgins discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 3 above, wherein the second cryptocurrency is a stablecoin (see., paragraph 0055, Fig 3, bitcoin).
As per claim 6, Higgins discloses a system that enables cryptocurrency funds to be transferred between a gaming establishment account associated with a player and an external cryptocurrency account, see., Higgins, abstract, at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040. Please note that the gaming establishment cryptocurrency account is included in the casino wallet), comprising: operating a casino gaming system (see., at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040) one or more servers connected via a network (see., Fig 1), the one or more sensors comprising an API service (or blockchain network 130, Fig 1), a transfer wallet, a bridge service, a player’s unified wallet (see., Fig1 , at least paragraphs 0019-0061); detecting the presence of cryptocurrency in the transfer wallet (see., paragraphs 0013 and 0026, specifically, electronically transferring cryptocurrency funds to the casino wallet); withdrawing the cryptocurrency from the transfer wallet (see., at least paragraphs 0032 and 0054, specifically, the player initiates a withdrawal of funds from their gaming establishment fund management account); and depositing the cryptocurrency into the player’s unified (see., at least fig 1, item 114, paragraphs 0019, 0027, 0029,and 0040).
As per claim 7, Higgins discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 6 above, wherein the bridge service employs API of the API service to perform the detecting, withdrawing, computing and depositing steps (see., fig 1, paragraphs 0018, 0032, and 0054, specifically blockchain network 130).
As per claim 8, Higgins discloses a system that enables cryptocurrency funds to be transferred between a gaming establishment account associated with a player and an external cryptocurrency account, see., Higgins, abstract, at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040. Please note that the gaming establishment cryptocurrency account is included in the casino wallet), comprising: operating a casino gaming system (see., at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040) one or more servers connected via a network (see., Fig 1), the one or more sensors comprising an API service (or blockchain network 130, Fig 1), a transfer wallet, a bridge service, a player’s unified wallet and a player’s crypto exchange wallet (see., Fig1 , at least paragraphs 0019-0061); converting the withdrawing credits into cryptocurrency equivalent to the current cash value of the withdrawn credits wallet (see., at least paragraphs 0032 and 0054, specifically, the player initiates a withdrawal of funds from their gaming establishment fund management account, also paragraphs 0055and 0100-0111); depositing the cryptocurrency into the casino main wallet (see., at least fig 1, item 114, paragraphs 0019, 0027, 0029, and 0040); transferring the cryptocurrency to the player’s crypto exchange wallet (see., at least paragraphs 0013 and 0026, specifically, electronically transferring cryptocurrency funds to the casino wallet).
As per claim 9, Higgins discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 8 above, wherein the bridge service employs API of the API service to perform the detecting, withdrawing, computing and depositing steps (see., fig 1, paragraphs 0018, 0032, and 0054, specifically blockchain network 130).
As per claim 10, Higgins discloses a system that enables cryptocurrency funds to be transferred between a gaming establishment account associated with a player and an external cryptocurrency account, see., Higgins, abstract, at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040. Please note that the gaming establishment cryptocurrency account is included in the casino wallet), comprising:
operating a casino gaming system (see., at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040) one or more servers connected via a network (see., Fig 1), the one or more sensors comprising an API service (or blockchain network 130, Fig 1), a transfer wallet, a bridge service, a player’s unified wallet and a player’s crypto exchange wallet (see., Fig1 , at least paragraphs 0019-0061); withdrawing cryptocurrency from the player’s unified wallet; and transferring the cryptocurrency to the player’s crypto exchange wallet (see., at least paragraphs 0032 and 0054, specifically, the player initiates a withdrawal of funds from their gaming establishment fund management account, also paragraphs 0055 and 0100-0111).
As per claim 11, Higgins discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 10 above, wherein the bridge service employs API of the API service to perform the detecting, withdrawing, computing and depositing steps (see., fig 1, paragraphs 0018, 0032, and 0054, specifically blockchain network 130).
As per claims 12 and 14-15, Higgins discloses a system that enables cryptocurrency funds to be transferred between a gaming establishment account associated with a player and an external cryptocurrency account, see., Higgins, abstract, at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040. Please note that the gaming establishment cryptocurrency account is included in the casino wallet), comprising: operating a casino gaming system (see., at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040) one or more servers connected via a network (see., Fig 1), the one or more sensors comprising an API service (or blockchain network 130, Fig 1), a transfer wallet, a bridge service, a player’s unified wallet and the a player’s merchant wallet (see., Fig1 , at least paragraphs 0019-0061) comprising:
withdrawing non-cashable loyalty credits from the player’s unified wallet (see., paragraphs 0053, 0054 and 0100-0111); converting the withdrawn non-cashable credits into cryptocurrency equivalent to the current cash value of the loyalty credits see., at least paragraphs 0032 and 0054, specifically, the player initiates a withdrawal of funds from their gaming establishment fund management account, also paragraphs 0055and 0100-0111) and transferring the cryptocurrency to the player’s merchant wallet (see., at least paragraphs 0032 and 0054, specifically, the player initiates a withdrawal of funds from their gaming establishment fund management account, also paragraphs 0055 and 0100-0111).
As per claim 13, Higgins discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 12 above, wherein the bridge service employs API of the API service to perform the detecting, withdrawing, computing and depositing steps (see., fig 1, paragraphs 0018, 0032, and 0054, specifically blockchain network 130).
As per claim 16, Higgins discloses a system that enables cryptocurrency funds to be transferred between a gaming establishment account associated with a player and an external cryptocurrency account, see., Higgins, abstract, at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040. Please note that the gaming establishment cryptocurrency account is included in the casino wallet), comprising:
operating a casino gaming system (see., at least paragraphs 0025 and 0040) one or more servers connected via a network (see., Fig 1), the one or more sensors comprising an enterprise blockchain service, a first unified wallet and a second unified wallet (blockchain network 130, Fig 1, see., at least paragraphs 0019-0061);
withdrawing a wrapped cryptocurrency from the player’s unified wallet (see., at least paragraphs 0053-0054, also paragraphs 0032 and 0054, specifically, the player initiates a withdrawal of funds from their gaming establishment fund management account, also paragraphs 0055 and 0100-0111); depositing the wrapped cryptocurrency into the second unified wallet (see., paragraphs 0100-0111 and also paragraphs 0013-0061).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Hu Kang can be reached on 571 270 1344. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PIERRE E ELISCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715