DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 19 recites, “a drive component”, which should be changed to “the drive component”.
Claim 11, line 19 recites, “a drive component”, which should be changed to “the drive component”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, line 2 recites the limitation "the ground". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11, line 2 recites the limitation "the ground". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are further rejected as indefinite, as depending from a rejected parent claim (see above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. US 20250042241 A1 in view of Bassis US 20190176618 A1 and Langer et al. US 20130240273 A1.
Regarding independent claim 1, Dong et al. discloses [a work vehicle 100 comprising:
a chassis 104 supported off the ground by ground-engaging members 128A, 128B;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0022)
[front 120 and rear electric drive axles 124, 126 mounted to the chassis,] (Fig. 2) [each of the front and rear electric drive axles including:
an axle housing 130, 132] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0026) [the axle housing defining an interior cavity disposed between opposite ends defining openings;] (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0029)
[wheel end units 138 secured at least partially within the axle housing,] (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0029) [each wheel end unit defining a hub for engaging one of the ground-engaging members through an associated one of the openings,] (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0029) [each wheel end unit having drive components configured to rotate the hub of each wheel end unit;] (Fig. 8-9; Paragraph 0063)
Dong et al. does not disclose the axle housing defining chassis mounts configured to mount to the chassis, a power controller electrically coupled to the wheel end units and the battery pack and configured to control supply of power from the battery pack to the wheel end units; and a drive component mounted to the chassis external to the axle housings of the front and rear electric drive axles and coupled to the power controller of each of the front and rear electric drive axles to supply to or receive power from the front and rear electric drive axles.
Bassis teaches [the axle housing defining chassis mounts 107A, 107B configured to mount to the chassis,] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0027) [a power controller 214 electrically coupled to the wheel end units and a battery pack 304] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0033 and 0039) and [configured to control supply of power from the battery pack to the wheel end units;] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0033) and
[a drive component 316 mounted to the chassis external to the axle housings of the front and rear electric drive axles] (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0040; As shown in Fig. 2, Bassis illustrates the power source unit 208 being mounted to the chassis and being external from the axle housings of the front 106, 108 and rear 112, 116 axles. Furthermore, Fig. 3 illustrates the power source unit 208 comprising a generator 316, which acts as the driving component of the driven axles. Therefore, naturally having the driving component mounted to the chassis external to the axle housings of the front and rear electric drive axles.) and [coupled to the power controller of each of the front and rear electric drive axles to supply to or receive power from the front and rear electric drive axles.] (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0040)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the chassis mounts, power controller, and eternal drive component of Bassis with the work vehicle of Dong et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for mounting the axle housings to the chassis and centralized control and power exchange between the battery pack and the wheel end units, thus improving integration and operability of the electric drive system.
Dong et al., as modified, does not disclose a battery pack mounted within the axle housing between the wheel end units.
Langer et al. teaches [a battery pack 16 mounted within the axle housing between the wheel end units.] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0020)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the axle-housing-mounted battery pack of Langer et al. with the work vehicle of Dong et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for positioning the battery pack within the axle housing between the wheel end units, thus reducing external wiring and improving packaging and protection of the battery pack.
Dong et al., as modified, does not explicitly disclose the power controller being mounted within the axle housing between the wheel end units. However, according to MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)), the rearrangement of know elements does not confer patentability when such a modification does not alter the function or operation of the system. In this case, mounting the power controller within the axle housing between the wheel end units would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art is it merely reconfigures the known system without yielding an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 3, Dong et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein each of the wheel end units comprises an electric machine coupled to the associated power controller, each power controller configured to control supply of current from the associated battery pack to the associated electric machine in each of the wheel end units.] (Fig. 2-3 of Bassis; Paragraphs 0024 and 0037 of Bassis; Bassis discloses motor gearbox units including electric motors that correspond to gearboxes 220, which may be reasonably interpreted as wheel end units. The electric motors are electrically coupled to the power controller 214 that manages current supplied from the battery source to the electric motors, thereby meeting the claims limitations.)
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Dong et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [where each electric drive axle further includes an inverter mounted within the associated axle housing, each power controller configured to control conversion of direct current (DC) from the associated battery pack to alternating current (AC) supplied to the electric machines of the associated wheel end units.] (Fig. 2-3 of Bassis; Paragraph 0024 and 0033 of Bassis; Bassis discloses that the motor gear box units 130A-C may include an inverter that is configured to convert direct current (DC) electricity provided from a battery, or other DC power source, into alternating current (AC) electricity that may drive the electric motor of the motor gearbox unit 130A-C. As shown in Fig. 2, Bassis illustrates the motor gearbox units 130A-C being attached within the axle housing through the housing mounts 107A-B, and the motor gearbox units 130A-C corresponding to the drive axles 112, 116 via the gear boxes 220. Therefore, naturally having the drive axle include an inverter that is mounted within the associated axle housing. Bassis further discloses that the power controller 214 may be a part of the inverter. Therefore, configuring the power controller to control the conversion of direct current (DC) from the associated battery pack to alternating current (AC) supplied to the electric machines of the associated wheel end units.)
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Dong et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the drive component is one or more of a supplemental battery pack, a brake chopper, a generator, a charging interface, or a traction control unit.] (Fig. 3 of Bassis; Paragraph 0040 of Bassis; As shown in Fig. 3, Bassis illustrates the power source unit 208 comprising a generator 316, which acts as the driving component of the driven axles.)
Regarding claim 6 and 16, Dong et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [steering mechanisms 120 within the axle housings, each of the wheel end units being mounted to the associated axle housings by the associated steering mechanisms.] (Fig. 2 of Dong et al.; Paragraph 0023 of Dong et al.; As shown in Fig. 2; the steering axle is within an axle housing and each of the wheel end units are mounted to the housing by the steering axle.)
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Dong et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [structural chassis mounts 107A-B configured to support and couple the axle housing, the battery pack, the power controller, or the wheel end units of each of the front and rear electric drive axles to the chassis of the work vehicle.] (Fig. 1-2 of Bassis; Paragraph 0027 of Bassis.; As shown in Fig. 1-2, Bassis illustrates structural chassis mounts 107A-B configured to support and couple the axle housing to the chassis of the vehicle.)
Regarding independent claim 11, Dong et al. discloses [a work vehicle 100 comprising:
a chassis 104 supported off the ground by ground-engaging members 128A, 128B;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0022)
[front 120 and rear electric drive axles 124, 126 mounted to the chassis,] (Fig. 2) [each of the front and rear electric drive axles including:
an axle housing 130, 132] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0026) [the axle housing defining an interior cavity disposed between opposite ends defining openings;] (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0029)
[wheel end units 138 secured at least partially within the axle housing,] (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0029) [each wheel end unit defining a hub for engaging one of the ground-engaging members through an associated one of the openings,] (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0029) [each wheel end unit having an electric machine and a reduction gear set configured to rotate the hub of each wheel end unit;] (Fig. 4; Paragraph 0032)
Dong et al. does not disclose the axle housing defining chassis mounts configured to mount to the chassis, a power controller electrically coupled to the wheel end units and the battery pack and configured to control supply of power from the battery pack to the wheel end units; and a drive component mounted to the chassis external to the axle housings of the front and rear electric drive axles and coupled to the power controller of each of the front and rear electric drive axles to supply to or receive power from the front and rear electric drive axles.
Bassis teaches [the axle housing defining chassis mounts 107A, 107B configured to mount to the chassis,] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0027) [a power controller 214 electrically coupled to the wheel end units and a battery pack 304] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0033 and 0039) and [configured to control supply of power from the battery pack to the wheel end units;] (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0033) and
[a drive component 316 mounted to the chassis external to the axle housings of the front and rear electric drive axles] (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0040; As shown in Fig. 2, Bassis illustrates the power source unit 208 being mounted to the chassis and being external from the axle housings of the front 106, 108 and rear 112, 116 axles. Furthermore, Fig. 3 illustrates the power source unit 208 comprising a generator 316, which acts as the driving component of the driven axles. Therefore, naturally having the driving component mounted to the chassis external to the axle housings of the front and rear electric drive axles.) and [coupled to the power controller of each of the front and rear electric drive axles to supply to or receive power from the front and rear electric drive axles.] (Fig. 2-3; Paragraph 0040)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the chassis mounts, power controller, and eternal drive component of Bassis with the work vehicle of Dong et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for mounting the axle housings to the chassis and centralized control and power exchange between the battery pack and the wheel end units, thus improving integration and operability of the electric drive system.
Dong et al., as modified, does not disclose a battery pack mounted within the axle housing between the wheel end units.
Langer et al. teaches [a battery pack 16 mounted within the axle housing between the wheel end units.] (Fig. 1-2; Paragraph 0020)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the axle-housing-mounted battery pack of Langer et al. with the work vehicle of Dong et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for positioning the battery pack within the axle housing between the wheel end units, thus reducing external wiring and improving packaging and protection of the battery pack.
Dong et al., as modified, does not explicitly disclose the power controller being mounted within the axle housing between the wheel end units. However, according to MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)), the rearrangement of know elements does not confer patentability when such a modification does not alter the function or operation of the system. In this case, mounting the power controller within the axle housing between the wheel end units would have been an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art is it merely reconfigures the known system without yielding an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 13, Dong et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein each power controller is configured to control supply of current from the associated battery pack to the electric machine in the associated wheel end units.] (Fig. 2-3 of Bassis; Paragraphs 0024 and 0037 of Bassis; Bassis discloses motor gearbox units including electric motors that correspond to gearboxes 220, which may be reasonably interpreted as wheel end units. The electric motors are electrically coupled to the power controller 214 that manages current supplied from the battery source to the electric motors, thereby meeting the claims limitations.)
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. in view of Bassis and Langer et al. and further in view of Li et al. US 20140084679 A1.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Dong et al., as modified, does not disclose wherein each power controller is coupled to a direct current (DC) bus interface and is configured to charge the associated battery pack using current received over the DC bus interface.
Li et al. teaches [wherein each power controller is coupled to a direct current (DC) bus interface 122 and is configured to charge the associated battery pack using current received over the DC bus interface.] (Fig. 7; Paragraph 0047)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the DC bus interface charging arrangement of Li et al. with the work vehicle of Dong et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for charging of the associated battery pack using current received over a DC bus interface, thus enabling efficient power distribution and charging within the electric drive system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8-10 and 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 8 and 18 contains the limitation plumbing lines configured to convey coolant within the axle housings to and from the battery packs, the wheel end units, or the power controller of the associated front and rear electric drive axle. The closest prior art, Gopalan et al. US 20230226885 A1, discloses a coolant bottle that is fluidly coupled to plumbing lings between a chiller and a battery pump, but does not disclose plumbing lines configured to convey coolant within the axle housings to and from the battery packs, the wheel end units, or the power controller of the associated front and rear electric drive axle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brown US 20190293158 A1 – comprises an electric drive axle system with an integral electric machine. An axle system including a pair of output shafts and a motor with a rotor shaft disposed in line with the output shafts. A gearset is coupled between the rotor shaft and one output shaft. Another gearset is coupled between the rotor shaft and the other output shaft. Each gearset has a sun gear meshing with a set of planet gears supported on a carrier. The rotor shaft is fixed to the sun gears and the output shafts are fixed to the carriers. A clutch may alternately prevent or allow rotation of ring gears of the gearsets.
Gloceri et al. US 20100025131 A1 – comprises a motive power device for a vehicle, which is preferably retrofittable as front or rear axle. In a first embodiment, the device comprises a chassis supporting at least one electric motor and attached to the vehicle suspension fixtures with mounts. Wheel hubs are suspended from the chassis and driven by the at least one motor. Further independent claims are included for a motive power device having a controller providing launch assist and/or stability control, a motive power device having at least two motors and a clutch therebetween, a vehicle provided with these various motive power devices, a method of making a vehicle, a clutch per se and an acceleration controller.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611