DETAILED ACTIONS
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments/arguments submitted by the Applicant(s) on 02/11/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 9, and 16 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C.§103
Applicant arguments in the remarks pages 7-8, filed 02/11/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim1 under 35 U.S.C.§103 has been considered, and are moot because the amendment has necessitated a new ground of rejections. The new rejections are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasushi et al. “PAM-4 Eye Diagram Analysis and Its Monitoring Technique for Adaptive Pre-Emphasis for Multi-Valued Data Transmissions”, 2017 IEEE 47th International Symposium on Multiple-Valued Logic and in view of Alan K. Cummings. (US 2005/0195194 A1, hereinafter Cummings) and in further view of Tian et al. (WO 2022/121386 A1(US 2023/0308789 A1), hereinafter Tian, paragraph no is from US 2023/0308789 A1, preview uploaded).
Regarding Claim 1, Yasushi teaches,
A measurement application device (Yasushi, Figure 7), comprising:
a signal interface that is configured to receive a signal (Yasushi, Figure 7, Oscilloscope, Page 16, left column, “the transmitted signals were measured using the oscilloscope”) that comprises at least two characterizing signal levels (Yasushi, Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”);
a signal analyzer (Yasushi, Figure 7, Workstation using MATLAB, page 16, left column bottom paragraph, “received data was sampled from the measured waveform using MATLAB” NOTE: a workstation is generally a computer with a processor and utilizing MATLAB software to analyze the signals.) that is coupled to the signal interface (Yasushi, Figure 7, Oscilloscope) and that is configured to analyze the received signal to determine individual sub-diagrams for the received signal(Yasushi, Figure 7, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph, an arbitrary waveform generator (Agilent 81180B; 4.6 GS/s) and an oscilloscope (Agilent DSO9404A; 20 GS/s) were used as the transmitter and receiver, respectively. These instruments were controlled using MATLAB software) wherein each one of the sub-diagrams comprises a predetermined diagram type (Yasushi, Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”);
a display; (Yasushi, Figure 7, Page 16, an oscilloscope NOTE: Oscilloscope display)
a diagram processor that is coupled to the signal analyzer and the display, and that is configured to arrange the sub-diagrams in a diagram arrangement, (Yasushi, Figure 7 and Figure 8, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph, “These instruments were controlled using MATLAB software. The data for the PAM-4 transmitter waveforms were generated in MATLAB, and the signals were applied using the arbitrary waveform generator. Then, the transmitted signals were measured using the oscilloscope, and received data was sampled from the measured waveform using MATLAB” NOTE: it is understood by the examiner that a workstation is a computer with a processor using MATLAB to process the waveform to generate PAM-4 transmitter waveform, which is known in the art. It is to note that the instant application specification page 5 discloses in lines 20-22 “signal analyzer and the diagram processor may at least in part also be provided as a computer program product comprising computer readable instructions that may be executed by a processing element “).
wherein each one of the sub-diagrams is assigned a predetermined position in the diagram arrangement (Yasushi, Page 13, Left column, bottom paragraph, PAM-4 maps two consecutive binary non-return-to-zero (NRZ) bits (00,01,10,11) into one symbol (0,1,2,3). Figure 8, NOTE: PAM4 leveled 0,1,2,3 based on different voltage value. see Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels”) and to control the display to display at least one of the sub-diagrams arranged in the diagram arrangement (Yasushi, Figure, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph instruments were controlled using MATLAB software”); and
Even though Yasushi teaches receiving signals by the oscilloscope and displaying, Yasushi is silent on a user interface configured to receive user input with regard to the diagram arrangement, wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the displaying of the diagram arrangement by the display according to the user input.
However, Cummings teaches a user interface configured to receive user input with regard to the diagram arrangement, wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the displaying of the diagram arrangement by the display according to the user input (Cummins, Figure 10-11, [0024], in preferred embodiments, the 3D eye diagram tool may facilitate specification of many aspects of the diagram by the user. In other words, in a preferred embodiment, the method described above may include receiving user input specifying one or more attributes of the 3D eye diagram, and displaying the 3D eye diagram in accordance with the specified attributes”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi system in view of Cummings to include a user input to control the diagram display as taught by Cummings’s user interface tool with the benefit of enhanced display of diagram by manipulating the diagram, by changing the view angle, projecting the diagram onto various planes, adding auxiliary information, and so forth. (Cummings, [0136]- [0137]).
Yasushi teaches eye diagrams corresponding to different voltage or signal levels in the received signal or jitter diagrams corresponding to different types of jitter in the received signal. (Yasushi teaches PAM4 eye diagrams leveled 0,1,2,3 based on different voltage value. see Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels. Page 16, right col, top paragraph “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms. Although the histogram of each symbol is different, we can evaluate the PAM-4 data transmission quality using the modulo folded histogram”).
Yasushi is silent on the wherein the sub-diagrams at least comprise eye diagrams.
However, Tian teaches wherein the sub-diagrams at least comprise eye diagrams (Tian, Figures 3-5, [0083] The signal mentioned in the foregoing embodiment may be a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM)-N signal, and N>2, for example, a PAM-2 signal, a PAM-4 signal, or a PAM-5 signal. An eye pattern of the PAM-N signal may include a plurality of bits (UI), and each UI includes N-1 eye regions. For example, FIG. 3 is an eye pattern of a PAM-4 signal according to an embodiment. Each UI in the eye pattern of the PAM-4 signal includes three eye regions (which are respectively eye regions 1, 2, and 3). The eye pattern of the signal can reflect quality of the signal. NOTE: the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels or sub-levels).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi’s signal processing method to incorporate Tian’s signal processing method of analyzing transmitted signal and displaying the PAM-N eye signals as sub group of PAM-(N-1) eye regions/ levels where each bit UI of the eye pattern includes N-1 eye regions as taught by Tian with the benefit of reducing bit error rate for signal transmission and reducing cost. (Tian, [0008]- [0011]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known transmission and processing of PAM-N signal, in order to yield the predicted results of transmitting signals with reduced distortions and bit error rate, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding Claim 2, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the measurement application device according to claim 1,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the diagram arrangement comprises predetermined diagram positions (Yasushi, Page 13, Left column, bottom paragraph, PAM-4 maps two consecutive binary non-return-to-zero (NRZ) bits (00,01,10,11) into one symbol (0,1,2,3). Figure 8, NOTE: PAM4 leveled 0,1,2,3 based on different voltage value. see Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels”); and
wherein the diagram processor is configured to assign each of the sub-diagrams to one of the predetermined diagram positions (Yasushi, Figure 7 and Figure 8, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph, “These instruments were controlled using MATLAB software. The data for the PAM-4 transmitter waveforms were generated in MATLAB, and the signals were applied using the arbitrary waveform generator. Then, the transmitted signals were measured using the oscilloscope, and received data was sampled from the measured waveform using MATLAB” NOTE: it is understood by the examiner that a workstation is a computer with a processor using MATLAB to process the waveform to generate PAM-4 transmitter waveform, which is known in the art. It is to note that the instant application specification page 5 discloses in lines 20-22 “signal analyzer and the diagram processor may at least in part also be provided as a computer program product comprising computer readable instructions that may be executed by a processing element “).
Regarding Claim 3, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the measurement application device according to claim 1,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the diagram processor is configured to determine the sub-diagrams as at least one of eye diagrams and histograms. levels (Yasushi, Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”);
Regarding Claim 4, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the measurement application device according to claim 1,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the diagram processor is configured to determine at least one of the sub-diagrams for a signal level change that is greater than a single level step in the received signal. (Yasushi, Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels” NOTE: Steps are for example 0-1, 1-2, 2-3 levels);
Regarding Claim 5, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the measurement application device according to claim 3,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the display to display at least one sub-diagram (Yasushi, Figure 7 and Figure 8, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph, “These instruments were controlled using MATLAB software. The data for the PAM-4 transmitter waveforms were generated in MATLAB, and the signals were applied using the arbitrary waveform generator. Then, the transmitted signals were measured using the oscilloscope, and received data was sampled from the measured waveform using MATLAB” NOTE: it is understood by the examiner that a workstation is a computer with a processor using MATLAB to process the waveform to generate PAM-4 transmitter waveform, which is known in the art. It is to note that the instant application specification page 5 discloses in lines 20-22 “signal analyzer and the diagram processor may at least in part also be provided as a computer program product comprising computer readable instructions that may be executed by a processing element “) comprising an eye-diagram and at least one sub-diagram comprising a histogram. (Yasushi, Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”).
Regarding Claim 6, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the measurement application device according to claim 2,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the diagram positions comprise consecutive diagram positions, and wherein the diagram processor is configured to assign consecutive positions to sub-diagrams that refer to adjacent level steps in the received signal (Yasushi, Page 13, Left column, bottom paragraph, PAM-4 maps two consecutive binary non-return-to-zero (NRZ) bits (00,01,10,11) into one symbol (0,1,2,3). Figure 8, NOTE: PAM4 leveled as consecutive levels 0,1,2,3 based on different voltage value. see Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels”); and
Yasushi is silent on wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the display to display a next sub-diagram according to a sequence of positions upon receiving a respective user input.
However, Cummings teaches wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the display to display a next sub-diagram according to a sequence of positions upon receiving a respective user input. (Cummings, [0138], “In other words, in a preferred embodiment, the method of FIG. 9, described above, may include receiving user input specifying one or more attributes of the 3D eye diagram, and displaying the 3D eye diagram in accordance with the specified attributes”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi system in view of Cummings to include a user input to control the diagram display as taught by Cummings’s user interface tool with the benefit of enhanced display of diagram by manipulating the diagram, by changing the view angle, projecting the diagram onto various planes, adding auxiliary information, and so forth. (Cummings, [0136]- [0137]).
Regarding Claim 7, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the measurement application device according to claim 2,
Yasushi is silent on wherein the diagram positions refer to angular positions, and wherein the diagram processor is con- figured to assign an angular position to at least one of the sub-diagrams; and
wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the display to display the sub-diagrams as lines in a circular diagram with a common center point based on the assigned angular position.
However, Cummings teaches wherein the diagram positions refer to angular positions, and wherein the diagram processor is configured to assign an angular position to at least one of the sub-diagrams (Cummings, [0132], FIGS.14-16 illustrate an advantageous use of a 3D eye diagram in the context of a constellation plot. FIG. 14 illustrates a constellation plot of a π/4 differential
quadrature phase shift keyed (π/4 DQPSK) signal, according to the prior art. As is well known to those skilled in the art, in a π/4 DQPSK signal, the I and Q coordinates of the symbols rotate by π/4 radians per symbol. As FIG.14 shows, this constellation plot indicates the symbol locations as white points in a radial configuration, referred to as a constellation”).; and
wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the display to display the sub-diagrams as lines in a circular diagram with a common center point based on the assigned angular position (Cummings, [0134] FIG. 16 illustrates one embodiment of a 3D eye diagram of the π/4 DQPSK signal of FIG. 14. As may be seen in FIG. 16, the rotation of the ideal symbol locations (indicated by white points or spheres) with each symbol is readily apparent due to the three dimensional character of the plot. The symbol location rotations may be especially clear if the user is able to manipulate the 3D plot, e.g., by changing the viewing angle.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi system in view of Cummings to include a user input to control the diagram display as taught by Cummings’s user interface tool with the benefit of enhanced display of diagram by manipulating the diagram, by changing the view angle, projecting the diagram onto various planes, adding auxiliary information, and so forth. (Cummings, [0136]- [0137]).
Regarding Claim 8, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the measurement application device according to claim 2,
Yasushi is silent on wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the display to display at least two sub-diagrams next to each other in two sections, and to overlay multiple sub-diagrams in at least one of the sections.
However, Cummings teaches wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the display to display at least two sub-diagrams next to each other in two sections, and to overlay multiple sub-diagrams in at least one of the sections (Cummings, Figure 9, [0124] Finally, in 906, the formatted signal data may be displayed in a 3D eye diagram, where the 3D eye diagram is usable to analyze the signal. For example, the formatted signal data may be displayed in the 3D eye diagram by plotting the segments in an overlaid manner”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi system in view of Cummings to include a user input to control the diagram display as taught by Cummings’s user interface tool with the benefit of enhanced display of diagram by manipulating the diagram, by changing the view angle, projecting the diagram onto various planes, adding auxiliary information, and so forth. (Cummings, [0136]- [0137]).
Regarding Claim 9, Yasushi teaches
A data processing method (Yasushi, Figure 7-8), comprising:
receiving a signal that comprises at least two characterizing signal levels(Yasushi, Figure 7, Oscilloscope, Page 16, left column, “the transmitted signals were measured using the oscilloscope”. Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”);
determining individual sub-diagrams for the received signal, (Yasushi, Figure 7, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph, an arbitrary waveform generator (Agilent 81180B; 4.6 GS/s) and an oscilloscope (Agilent DSO9404A; 20 GS/s) were used as the transmitter and receiver, respectively. These instruments were controlled using MATLAB software)
wherein each one of the sub-diagrams comprises a predetermined diagram type comprising an eye diagram or a histogram a histogram,
arranging the sub-diagrams in a diagram arrangement, (Yasushi, Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”);
wherein each one of the sub-diagrams is assigned a predetermined position in the diagram arrangement, displaying at least one of the sub-diagrams arranged in the diagram arrangement; (Yasushi, Page 13, Left column, bottom paragraph, PAM-4 maps two consecutive binary non-return-to-zero (NRZ) bits (00,01,10,11) into one symbol (0,1,2,3). Figure 8, NOTE: PAM4 leveled 0,1,2,3 based on different voltage value. see Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels”);
Even though Yasushi teaches receiving signals by the oscilloscope and displaying, Yasushi is silent on receiving user input with regard to the diagram arrangement; and controlling the displaying of the diagram arrangement according to the user input.
However, Cummings teaches receiving user input with regard to the diagram arrangement; and controlling the displaying of the diagram arrangement according to the user input. (Cummins, Figure 10-11, [0024], in preferred embodiments, the 3D eye diagram tool may facilitate specification of many aspects of the diagram by the user. In other words, in a preferred embodiment, the method described above may include receiving user input specifying one or more attributes of the 3D eye diagram, and displaying the 3D eye diagram in accordance with the specified attributes”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi system in view of Cummings to include a user input to control the diagram display as taught by Cummings’s user interface tool with the benefit of enhanced display of diagram by manipulating the diagram, by changing the view angle, projecting the diagram onto various planes, adding auxiliary information, and so forth. (Cummings, [0136]- [0137]).
Yasushi teaches eye diagrams corresponding to different voltage or signal levels in the received signal or jitter diagrams corresponding to different types of jitter in the received signal. (Yasushi teaches PAM4 eye diagrams leveled 0,1,2,3 based on different voltage value. see Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels. Page 16, right col, top paragraph “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms. Although the histogram of each symbol is different, we can evaluate the PAM-4 data transmission quality using the modulo folded histogram”).
Yasushi is silent on the wherein the sub-diagrams at least comprise eye diagrams.
However, Tian teaches wherein the sub-diagrams at least comprise eye diagrams (Tian, Figures 3-5, [0083] The signal mentioned in the foregoing embodiment may be a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM)-N signal, and N>2, for example, a PAM-2 signal, a PAM-4 signal, or a PAM-5 signal. An eye pattern of the PAM-N signal may include a plurality of bits (UI), and each UI includes N-1 eye regions. For example, FIG. 3 is an eye pattern of a PAM-4 signal according to an embodiment. Each UI in the eye pattern of the PAM-4 signal includes three eye regions (which are respectively eye regions 1, 2, and 3). The eye pattern of the signal can reflect quality of the signal. NOTE: the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels or sub-levels).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi’s signal processing method to incorporate Tian’s signal processing method of analyzing transmitted signal and displaying the PAM-N eye signals as sub group of PAM-(N-1) eye regions/ levels where each bit UI of the eye pattern includes N-1 eye regions as taught by Tian with the benefit of reducing bit error rate for signal transmission and reducing cost. (Tian, [0008]- [0011]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known transmission and processing of PAM-N signal, in order to yield the predicted results of transmitting signals with reduced distortions and bit error rate, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding Claim 10, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the method according to claim 9,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the diagram arrangement comprises predetermined diagram positions (Yasushi, Page 13, Left column, bottom paragraph, PAM-4 maps two consecutive binary non-return-to-zero (NRZ) bits (00,01,10,11) into one symbol (0,1,2,3). Figure 8, NOTE: PAM4 leveled 0,1,2,3 based on different voltage value. see Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels”); and wherein each of the sub-diagrams is assigned to one of the predetermined diagram positions (Yasushi, Figure 7 and Figure 8, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph, “These instruments were controlled using MATLAB software. The data for the PAM-4 transmitter waveforms were generated in MATLAB, and the signals were applied using the arbitrary waveform generator. Then, the transmitted signals were measured using the oscilloscope, and received data was sampled from the measured waveform using MATLAB” NOTE: it is understood by the examiner that a workstation is a computer with a processor using MATLAB to process the waveform to generate PAM-4 transmitter waveform, which is known in the art. It is to note that the instant application specification page 5 discloses in lines 20-22 “signal analyzer and the diagram processor may at least in part also be provided as a computer program product comprising computer readable instructions that may be executed by a processing element “).
Regarding Claim 11, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the method according to claim 9,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the signal comprises at least three characterizing signal levels (Yasushi, Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”);
and wherein at least one of the sub-diagrams is determined for a signal level change that is greater than a single level step in the received signal. (Yasushi, Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels” NOTE: Steps are for example 0-1, 1-2, 2-3 levels);
Regarding Claim 12, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the method according to claim 9,
Yasushi further teaches wherein displaying comprises displaying at least one sub-diagram comprising an eye-diagram and at least one sub-diagram comprising a histogram. (Yasushi, Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”).
Regarding Claim 13, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the method according to claim 10,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the diagram positions comprise consecutive diagram positions, and wherein consecutive positions are assigned to sub-diagrams that refer to adjacent level steps in the received signal (Yasushi, Page 13, Left column, bottom paragraph, PAM-4 maps two consecutive binary non-return-to-zero (NRZ) bits (00,01,10,11) into one symbol (0,1,2,3). Figure 8, NOTE: PAM4 leveled as consecutive levels 0,1,2,3 based on different voltage value. see Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels”);
Yasushi is silent on wherein displaying comprises displaying a next sub-diagram according to a sequence of positions upon receiving a respective user input.
However, Cummings teaches wherein displaying comprises displaying a next sub-diagram according to a sequence of positions upon receiving a respective user input (Cummings, [0138], “In other words, in a preferred embodiment, the method of FIG. 9, described above, may include receiving user input specifying one or more attributes of the 3D eye diagram, and displaying the 3D eye diagram in accordance with the specified attributes”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi system in view of Cummings to include a user input to control the diagram display as taught by Cummings’s user interface tool with the benefit of enhanced display of diagram by manipulating the diagram, by changing the view angle, projecting the diagram onto various planes, adding auxiliary information, and so forth. (Cummings, [0136]- [0137]).
Regarding Claim 14, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the method according to claim 10,
Yasushi is silent on wherein the diagram positions refer to angular positions, and an angular position is assigned to at least one of the sub-diagrams ; and wherein displaying comprises displaying the sub-diagrams as lines in a circular diagram with a common center point based on the assigned angular position.
However, Cummings teaches wherein the diagram positions refer to angular positions, and an angular position is assigned to at least one of the sub-diagrams Cummings, [0132], FIGS.14-16 illustrate an advantageous use of a 3D eye diagram in the context of a constellation plot. FIG. 14 illustrates a constellation plot of a π/4 differential quadrature phase shift keyed (π/4 DQPSK) signal, according to the prior art. As is well known to those skilled in the art, in a π/4 DQPSK signal, the I and Q coordinates of the symbols rotate by π/4 radians per symbol. As FIG.14 shows, this constellation plot indicates the symbol locations as white points in a radial configuration, referred to as a constellation”);
wherein displaying comprises displaying the sub-diagrams as lines in a circular diagram with a common center point based on the assigned angular position (Cummings, [0134] FIG. 16 illustrates one embodiment of a 3D eye diagram of the π/4 DQPSK signal of FIG. 14. As may be seen in FIG. 16, the rotation of the ideal symbol locations (indicated by white points or spheres) with each symbol is readily apparent due to the three-dimensional character of the plot. The symbol location rotations may be especially clear if the user is able to manipulate the 3D plot, e.g., by changing the viewing angle.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi system in view of Cummings to include a user input to control the diagram display as taught by Cummings’s user interface tool with the benefit of enhanced display of diagram by manipulating the diagram, by changing the view angle, projecting the diagram onto various planes, adding auxiliary information, and so forth. (Cummings, [0136]- [0137]).
Regarding Claim 15, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the method according to claim 10,
Yasushi is silent on wherein displaying may comprise displaying at least two sub-diagrams next to each other in two sections and to overlaying multiple sub-diagrams in at least one of the sections.
However, Cummings teaches wherein displaying may comprise displaying at least two sub-diagrams next to each other in two sections and to overlaying multiple sub-diagrams in at least one of the sections (Cummings, Figure 9, [0124] Finally, in 906, the formatted signal data may be displayed in a 3D eye diagram, where the 3D eye diagram is usable to analyze the signal. For example, the formatted signal data may be displayed in the 3D eye diagram by plotting the segments in an overlaid manner”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi system in view of Cummings to include a user input to control the diagram display as taught by Cummings’s user interface tool with the benefit of enhanced display of diagram by manipulating the diagram, by changing the view angle, projecting the diagram onto various planes, adding auxiliary information, and so forth. (Cummings, [0136]- [0137]).
Regarding Claim 16, Yasushi teaches
A measurement application system, (Yasushi, Figure 7), comprising:
a signal interface that is configured to receive a signal (Yasushi, Figure 7, Oscilloscope, Page 16, left column, “the transmitted signals were measured using the oscilloscope”) that comprises at least two characterizing signal levels (Yasushi, Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”);
a signal analyzer that is coupled to the signal interface and is configured to analyze the received signal to determine individual sub-diagrams for the received signal, (Yasushi, Figure 7, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph, “an arbitrary waveform generator (Agilent 81180B; 4.6 GS/s) and an oscilloscope (Agilent DSO9404A; 20 GS/s) were used as the transmitter and receiver, respectively. These instruments were controlled using MATLAB software” NOTE: a workstation is generally a computer with a processor and utilizing MATLAB software to analyze the signals.)
wherein each one of the sub-diagrams comprises a predetermined diagram type (Yasushi, Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”);
a diagram processor that is coupled to the signal analyzer and to a display, and that is configured to arrange the sub-diagrams in a diagram arrangement (Yasushi, Figure 7 and Figure 8, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph, “These instruments were controlled using MATLAB software. The data for the PAM-4 transmitter waveforms were generated in MATLAB, and the signals were applied using the arbitrary waveform generator. Then, the transmitted signals were measured using the oscilloscope, and received data was sampled from the measured waveform using MATLAB” NOTE: it is understood by the examiner that a workstation is a computer with a processor using MATLAB to process the waveform to generate PAM-4 transmitter waveform, which is known in the art. It is to note that the instant application specification page 5 discloses in lines 20-22 “signal analyzer and the diagram processor may at least in part also be provided as a computer program product comprising computer readable instructions that may be executed by a processing element “).
wherein each one of the sub-diagrams is assigned a predetermined position in the diagram arrangement, (Yasushi, Page 13, Left column, bottom paragraph, PAM-4 maps two consecutive binary non-return-to-zero (NRZ) bits (00,01,10,11) into one symbol (0,1,2,3). Figure 8, NOTE: PAM4 leveled 0,1,2,3 based on different voltage value. see Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels”) and to control the display to display at least one of the sub-diagrams arranged in the diagram arrangement (Yasushi, Figure, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph instruments were controlled using MATLAB software”); and
Even though Yasushi teaches receiving signals by the oscilloscope and displaying, Yasushi is silent on a user interface configured to receive user input with regard to the diagram arrangement, wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the displaying of the diagram arrangement by the display according to the user input.
However, Cummings teaches a user interface configured to receive user input with regard to the diagram arrangement, wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the displaying of the diagram arrangement by the display according to the user input (Cummins, Figure 10-11, [0024], in preferred embodiments, the 3D eye diagram tool may facilitate specification of many aspects of the diagram by the user. In other words, in a preferred embodiment, the method described above may include receiving user input specifying one or more attributes of the 3D eye diagram, and displaying the 3D eye diagram in accordance with the specified attributes”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi system in view of Cummings to include a user input to control the diagram display as taught by Cummings’s user interface tool with the benefit of enhanced display of diagram by manipulating the diagram, by changing the view angle, projecting the diagram onto various planes, adding auxiliary information, and so forth. (Cummings, [0136]- [0137]).
Yasushi teaches eye diagrams corresponding to different voltage or signal levels in the received signal or jitter diagrams corresponding to different types of jitter in the received signal. (Yasushi teaches PAM4 eye diagrams leveled 0,1,2,3 based on different voltage value. see Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels. Page 16, right col, top paragraph “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms. Although the histogram of each symbol is different, we can evaluate the PAM-4 data transmission quality using the modulo folded histogram”).
Yasushi is silent on the wherein the sub-diagrams at least comprise eye diagrams.
However, Tian teaches wherein the sub-diagrams at least comprise eye diagrams (Tian, Figures 3-5, [0083] The signal mentioned in the foregoing embodiment may be a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM)-N signal, and N>2, for example, a PAM-2 signal, a PAM-4 signal, or a PAM-5 signal. An eye pattern of the PAM-N signal may include a plurality of bits (UI), and each UI includes N-1 eye regions. For example, FIG. 3 is an eye pattern of a PAM-4 signal according to an embodiment. Each UI in the eye pattern of the PAM-4 signal includes three eye regions (which are respectively eye regions 1, 2, and 3). The eye pattern of the signal can reflect quality of the signal. NOTE: the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels or sub-levels).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yasushi’s signal processing method to incorporate Tian’s signal processing method of analyzing transmitted signal and displaying the PAM-N eye signals as sub group of PAM-(N-1) eye regions/ levels where each bit UI of the eye pattern includes N-1 eye regions as taught by Tian with the benefit of reducing bit error rate for signal transmission and reducing cost. (Tian, [0008]- [0011]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known transmission and processing of PAM-N signal, in order to yield the predicted results of transmitting signals with reduced distortions and bit error rate, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding Claim 17, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the measurement application system according to claim 16,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the diagram arrangement comprises predetermined diagram positions (Yasushi, Page 13, Left column, bottom paragraph, PAM-4 maps two consecutive binary non-return-to-zero (NRZ) bits (00,01,10,11) into one symbol (0,1,2,3). Figure 8, NOTE: PAM4 leveled 0,1,2,3 based on different voltage value. see Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels”); and
wherein the diagram processor is configured to assign each of the sub-diagrams to one of the predetermined diagram positions (Yasushi, Figure 7 and Figure 8, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph, “These instruments were controlled using MATLAB software. The data for the PAM-4 transmitter waveforms were generated in MATLAB, and the signals were applied using the arbitrary waveform generator. Then, the transmitted signals were measured using the oscilloscope, and received data was sampled from the measured waveform using MATLAB” NOTE: it is understood by the examiner that a workstation is a computer with a processor using MATLAB to process the waveform to generate PAM-4 transmitter waveform, which is known in the art. It is to note that the instant application specification page 5 discloses in lines 20-22 “signal analyzer and the diagram processor may at least in part also be provided as a computer program product comprising computer readable instructions that may be executed by a processing element “).
Regarding Claim 18, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the measurement application system according to claim 16,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the diagram processor is configured to determine the sub-diagrams as at least one of eye diagrams and histograms. (Yasushi, Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”).
Regarding Claim 19, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the measurement application system according to claim 16,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the diagram processor is configured to determine at least one of the sub-diagrams for a signal level change that is greater than a single level step in the received signal. (Yasushi, Page 14, right column, middle paragraph, “we pre-assign the amplitude level to the logic value to compensate for the nonlinearity. This is accomplished by pre-distortion of the voltage assignment versus each logic value. In this case, 0=0 V, 1=0.65 V, 2 = 1.65 V and 3 = 3 V. As a result, it is possible to ensure that the vertical eye opening has equally spaced levels” NOTE: Steps are for example 0-1, 1-2, 2-3 levels).
Regarding Claim 20, combination of Yasushi and Cummings teaches the measurement application system according to claim 19,
Yasushi further teaches wherein the diagram processor is configured to control the display to display at least one sub-diagram. (Yasushi, Figure 7 and Figure 8, Page 16, left column, bottom paragraph, “These instruments were controlled using MATLAB software. The data for the PAM-4 transmitter waveforms were generated in MATLAB, and the signals were applied using the arbitrary waveform generator. Then, the transmitted signals were measured using the oscilloscope, and received data was sampled from the measured waveform using MATLAB” NOTE: it is understood by the examiner that a workstation is a computer with a processor using MATLAB to process the waveform to generate PAM-4 transmitter waveform, which is known in the art. It is to note that the instant application specification page 5 discloses in lines 20-22 “signal analyzer and the diagram processor may at least in part also be provided as a computer program product comprising computer readable instructions that may be executed by a processing element “) comprising an eye-diagram and at least one sub-diagram comprising a histogram. (Yasushi, Figure 8, Page 16, right column, “Figure 8 shows the PAM-4 eye diagram of the receiver signals along with its histograms”).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reza Navid (US 2021/0144031 A1) recites “A driver circuit of a PAM-N transmitting device transmits a PAM-N signal via a communication channel, wherein N is greater than 2, and the PAM-N signal has N signal levels corresponding to N symbols. A PAM-N receiving device receives the PAM-N signal. The PAM-N receiving device generates distortion information indicative of a level of distortion corresponding to inequalities in voltage differences between the N signal levels. The PAM-N receiving
device transmits to the PAM-N transmitting device the distortion information indicative of the level of the distortion. The PAM-N transmitting device receives the distortion information. The PAM-N transmitting device adjusts one or more drive strength parameters of the driver circuit of the PAM-N transmitting device based on the distortion information” (Abstract).
Feng Lin (US 2021/0273831 A1) discloses “A memory interface may include a transmitter that generates multi-level signals. The transmitter may employ channel equalization to improve the quality and robustness of the multi-level signals. The channel equalization may be controlled independently from the drive strength of the multi-level signals. For example, a first control signal may control the de-emphasis or pre-emphasis applied to a multi-level signal and a second control signal may control the drive strength of the multi-level signal. The first control signal may control a channel equalization driver circuit and the second control signal may control a driver circuit” (abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
supervisor, EMAN ALKAFAWI can be reached on (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DILARA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 04/30/2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 5/6/2026