DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority Documents
The Korean foreign priority document(s) 10-2022-0134535, submitted under 35
U.S.C. § 119 (a)-(d), was/were been received on August 11, 2023 and placed of record in the file. \
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on May 27, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-7 are pending. Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected fuel cell cooling control method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 27, 2026.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 would be allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art is silent to the controller is configured to estimate the reaction surface temperature by determining a y-axis intercept value of a graph at a fixed gas inlet pressure which corresponds to the detected coolant inlet temperature, by using a first set data preset from the detected coolant inlet temperature, determining a slope value of the graph at a variable gas inlet pressure which corresponds to the detected gas inlet pressure, by using a second set data preset from the detected gas inlet pressure, and by estimating the reaction surface temperature from the determined y-axis intercept value, the determined slope value, the detected coolant inlet temperature, and the detected coolant outlet temperature.
The prior art, such as JIAO et al. CN-114914475-A, teaches a fuel cell cooling control system (electric stack thermal management method; See the Abstract), the system comprising: an inlet temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant inlet temperature comprising a temperature of a coolant supplied to a coolant inlet of a fuel cell stack (3-a second temperature pressure sensor; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); an outlet temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant outlet temperature comprising the temperature of the coolant discharged from a coolant outlet of the fuel cell stack (6-first temperature pressure sensor; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); and a controller (7-a controller; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); configured to: estimate a reaction surface temperature in a cell of the fuel cell stack based on the coolant inlet temperature, the coolant outlet temperature, and the gas inlet pressure detected by the inlet temperature sensor, the outlet temperature sensor, respectively (the galvanic pile thermal management system works, controlling the heater and making the pressure of the liquid gas phase change working medium in the galvanic pile thermal management system reach 0.4 MPa- 0.405MPa, and then passing through the heater, the mechanical pump and the electromagnetic flow valve make the temperature value of the first temperature pressure sensor and the second temperature pressure sensor kept at 70 degrees centigrade to 71 degrees centigrade, and the flow value of the flow meter is kept at 20 % ~ 30 % of the output flow value of the mechanical pump. the temperature of the liquid gas phase change working medium in the electric pile phase change cold plate is the same, the surface temperature of all the cold plate is the same, the working temperature of the exchange film in the proton exchange film fuel cell is kept at 70 ~ 90 degrees centigrade; See the Abstract); and control a flow rate of the coolant supplied to the fuel cell stack according to the estimated reaction surface temperature (the flow value of the flow meter is kept at 20 % ~ 30 % of the output flow value of the mechanical pump; See the Abstract).
However, JIAO does not teach or suggest: controller is configured to estimate the reaction surface temperature by determining a y-axis intercept value of a graph at a fixed gas inlet pressure which corresponds to the detected coolant inlet temperature, by using a first set data preset from the detected coolant inlet temperature, determining a slope value of the graph at a variable gas inlet pressure which corresponds to the detected gas inlet pressure, by using a second set data preset from the detected gas inlet pressure, and by estimating the reaction surface temperature from the determined y-axis intercept value, the determined slope value, the detected coolant inlet temperature, and the detected coolant outlet temperature. Therefore, the instant claims are patentably distinct from the prior art of record.
Claims 3-7 would be allowed based on dependency to claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIAO et al. CN-114914475-A.
With respect to claim 1, JIAO teaches a fuel cell cooling control system (electric stack thermal management method; See the Abstract), the system comprising: an inlet temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant inlet temperature comprising a temperature of a coolant supplied to a coolant inlet of a fuel cell stack (3-a second temperature pressure sensor; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); an outlet temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant outlet temperature comprising the temperature of the coolant discharged from a coolant outlet of the fuel cell stack (6-first temperature pressure sensor; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); and a controller (7-a controller; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); configured to: estimate a reaction surface temperature in a cell of the fuel cell stack based on the coolant inlet temperature, the coolant outlet temperature, and the gas inlet pressure detected by the inlet temperature sensor, the outlet temperature sensor, respectively (the galvanic pile thermal management system works, controlling the heater and making the pressure of the liquid gas phase change working medium in the galvanic pile thermal management system reach 0.4 MPa- 0.405MPa, and then passing through the heater, the mechanical pump and the electromagnetic flow valve make the temperature value of the first temperature pressure sensor and the second temperature pressure sensor kept at 70 degrees centigrade to 71 degrees centigrade, and the flow value of the flow meter is kept at 20 % ~ 30 % of the output flow value of the mechanical pump. the temperature of the liquid gas phase change working medium in the electric pile phase change cold plate is the same, the surface temperature of all the cold plate is the same, the working temperature of the exchange film in the proton exchange film fuel cell is kept at 70 ~ 90 degrees centigrade; See the Abstract); and control a flow rate of the coolant supplied to the fuel cell stack according to the estimated reaction surface temperature (the flow value of the flow meter is kept at 20 % ~ 30 % of the output flow value of the mechanical pump; See the Abstract) .
JIAO does not expressly teach: a pressure detector configured to detect a gas inlet pressure comprising a pressure of air supplied to a cathode-side inlet of the fuel cell stack (claim 1); estimating the reaction surface temperature with the pressure detector (claim 1).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the temperature pressure sensor as a pressure detector configured to detect a gas inlet pressure of JIAO, as data for the controller of the fuel cell cooling control system to estimated reaction surface temperature, because the skilled artisan recognizes that pressure data directly effects temperature, as evidenced by the ideal gas law PV= NRT. Furthermore, the JIAO teaches several temperature/pressure sensors that may be employed in multiple places across the system to improve temperature control. Duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Also, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The Courts have held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990); See also MPEP §§2114 and 2173.05(g). Furthermore, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Therefore, because the structure of the JIAO teaches all the structural limitations of the claim, one of ordinary skills in the art can use the temperature pressure sensor and pressure regulating valve of JIAO to operate it in the manner disclosed by the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIAO et al. CN-114914475-A in view YU et al. CN 115020759A.
With respect to claim 1, JIAO teaches a fuel cell cooling control system (electric stack thermal management method; See the Abstract), the system comprising: an inlet temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant inlet temperature comprising a temperature of a coolant supplied to a coolant inlet of a fuel cell stack (3-a second temperature pressure sensor; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); an outlet temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant outlet temperature comprising the temperature of the coolant discharged from a coolant outlet of the fuel cell stack (6-first temperature pressure sensor; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); and a controller (7-a controller; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); configured to: estimate a reaction surface temperature in a cell of the fuel cell stack based on the coolant inlet temperature, the coolant outlet temperature, and the gas inlet pressure detected by the inlet temperature sensor, the outlet temperature sensor, respectively (the galvanic pile thermal management system works, controlling the heater and making the pressure of the liquid gas phase change working medium in the galvanic pile thermal management system reach 0.4 MPa- 0.405MPa, and then passing through the heater, the mechanical pump and the electromagnetic flow valve make the temperature value of the first temperature pressure sensor and the second temperature pressure sensor kept at 70 degrees centigrade to 71 degrees centigrade, and the flow value of the flow meter is kept at 20 % ~ 30 % of the output flow value of the mechanical pump. the temperature of the liquid gas phase change working medium in the electric pile phase change cold plate is the same, the surface temperature of all the cold plate is the same, the working temperature of the exchange film in the proton exchange film fuel cell is kept at 70 ~ 90 degrees centigrade; See the Abstract); and control a flow rate of the coolant supplied to the fuel cell stack according to the estimated reaction surface temperature (the flow value of the flow meter is kept at 20 % ~ 30 % of the output flow value of the mechanical pump; See the Abstract) .
JIAO does not expressly teach: a pressure detector configured to detect a gas inlet pressure comprising a pressure of air supplied to a cathode-side inlet of the fuel cell stack (claim 1); estimating the reaction surface temperature with the pressure detector (claim 1).
YU teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a pressure detector configured to detect a gas inlet pressure comprising a pressure of air supplied to a cathode-side inlet of the fuel cell stack (pressure regulating valve along with temperature sensors are used to control reaction temperature; Teaching claims 2-4; claim 1); estimating the reaction surface temperature with the pressure detector (pressure regulating valve along with temperature sensors are used to control reaction temperature; Teaching claims 2-4;claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a pressure detector configured to detect a gas inlet pressure of YU, as data for the controller of the fuel cell cooling control system JIAO, to estimated reaction surface temperature, because the skilled artisan recognizes that pressure data directly effects temperature, as evidenced by the ideal gas law PV= NRT. Furthermore, the JIAO teaches several temperature/pressure sensors that may be employed in multiple places across the system to improve temperature control. Duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Also, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The Courts have held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990); See also MPEP §§2114 and 2173.05(g). Furthermore, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Therefore, because the structure of the JIAO in view YU teach all the structural limitations of the claim, one of ordinary skills in the art can use the temperature pressure sensor and pressure regulating valve of JIAO in view YU to operate it in the manner disclosed by the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIAO et al. CN-114914475-A in view NANBA et al. JP 2021068604A.
With respect to claim 1, JIAO teaches a fuel cell cooling control system (electric stack thermal management method; See the Abstract), the system comprising: an inlet temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant inlet temperature comprising a temperature of a coolant supplied to a coolant inlet of a fuel cell stack (3-a second temperature pressure sensor; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); an outlet temperature sensor configured to detect a coolant outlet temperature comprising the temperature of the coolant discharged from a coolant outlet of the fuel cell stack (6-first temperature pressure sensor; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); and a controller (7-a controller; Fig. 1; Description of pictures section); configured to: estimate a reaction surface temperature in a cell of the fuel cell stack based on the coolant inlet temperature, the coolant outlet temperature, and the gas inlet pressure detected by the inlet temperature sensor, the outlet temperature sensor, respectively (the galvanic pile thermal management system works, controlling the heater and making the pressure of the liquid gas phase change working medium in the galvanic pile thermal management system reach 0.4 MPa- 0.405MPa, and then passing through the heater, the mechanical pump and the electromagnetic flow valve make the temperature value of the first temperature pressure sensor and the second temperature pressure sensor kept at 70 degrees centigrade to 71 degrees centigrade, and the flow value of the flow meter is kept at 20 % ~ 30 % of the output flow value of the mechanical pump. the temperature of the liquid gas phase change working medium in the electric pile phase change cold plate is the same, the surface temperature of all the cold plate is the same, the working temperature of the exchange film in the proton exchange film fuel cell is kept at 70 ~ 90 degrees centigrade; See the Abstract); and control a flow rate of the coolant supplied to the fuel cell stack according to the estimated reaction surface temperature (the flow value of the flow meter is kept at 20 % ~ 30 % of the output flow value of the mechanical pump; See the Abstract) .
JIAO does not expressly teach: a pressure detector configured to detect a gas inlet pressure comprising a pressure of air supplied to a cathode-side inlet of the fuel cell stack (claim 1); estimating the reaction surface temperature with the pressure detector (claim 1).
NANBA teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: a pressure detector configured to detect a gas inlet pressure comprising a pressure of air supplied to a cathode-side inlet of the fuel cell stack (The pressure sensor 29 is arranged in the oxide gas supply pipe 21 on the fuel cell 10 side, and detects the pressure of the air supplied to the fuel cell 10.; DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 2; claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a pressure detector (sensor) configured to detect a gas inlet pressure of NANBA, as data for the controller of the fuel cell cooling control system JIAO, to estimated reaction surface temperature, because the skilled artisan recognizes that pressure data directly effects temperature, as evidenced by the ideal gas law PV= NRT. Furthermore, JIAO teaches several temperature/pressure sensors that may be employed in multiple places across the system to improve temperature control. Duplication of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Also, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The Courts have held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990); See also MPEP §§2114 and 2173.05(g). Furthermore, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Therefore, because the structure of the JIAO in view NANBA teach all the structural limitations of the claim, one of ordinary skills in the art can use the temperature pressure sensor and pressure sensor of JIAO in view NANBA to operate it in the manner disclosed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723