DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks made in an amendment filed April 14, 2026, have been fully considered. In view of the amended claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 18 and 19 and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references and new prior art as presented in this Office action. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 are therefore moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240056932 A1 (Qiao et al.) (hereinafter Qiao) in view of WO 2020102831 A1 (XIANG et al.) (hereinafter XIANG) and in further view of US 20230403547 A1 (Sedlacek et al.) (hereinafter Sedlacek).
In re claims 1 and 18, Qiao discloses a method ([0029], “More particularly, the embodiments of the technology disclosed herein may relate to network reselection during disaster (e.g. for 5G or future communication system)”) and a client device (Fig. 3, “UE 100”) for a communication system (Fig. 3, [0005], “FIG. 3 is a system diagram of an example wireless device and a network node in a 5G system as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present disclosure”. [0169], “An example 5G system may be a 3GPP system comprising of 5G access network 105, 5G core network and a UE 100”), the client device being configured to be served by a serving Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN (Fig. 13, [0154], “In an example embodiment, two RM states may be employed in AMF 155 for the UE 100 that may reflect the registration status of the UE 100 in the selected PLMN”. [0185], “In an example, a UE 100 may be configured by the HPLMN with a configured NSSAI per PLMN. Upon successful completion of a UE's registration procedure, the UE 100 may obtain from the AMF 155 an Allowed NSSAI for this PLMN, which may include one or more S-NSSAIs” (serving PLMN)), the client device including a processor (Fig. 3:318) being configured to execute instructions (Fig. 3:328) stored in memory (Fig. 3:326) to cause the client device ([0339], “a device such as, for example, a wireless device, off-network wireless device, a base station, a session management function, a policy control function, an application function, a access and mobility management function, a unified data management, a charging function and/or the like, may comprise one or more processors and memory. The memory may store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform a series of actions”) to:
obtain, before a disaster condition occurs, a PLMN list to use in response to the disaster condition;
determine the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition;
identify a visiting PLMN from the PLMN list to use during the disaster condition; and
send a registration request message to the visiting PLMN to register at the visiting PLMN in the PLMN list upon determining that the serving PLMN is in a disaster condition, the registration request message being usable to indicate to the visiting PLMN that registration is associated with a disaster condition.
Qiao does not explicitly disclose obtain, before a disaster condition occurs, a PLMN list to use in response to the disaster condition; determine the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition; identify a visiting PLMN from the PLMN list to use during the disaster condition.
XIANG discloses obtain, before a disaster condition occurs, a PLMN list to use in response to the disaster condition (Fig. 5, Page 11, lines 22-29, “In an embodiment, a service change PLMN selection list is provided. The service change PLMN selection list may be separate from the ordinary PLMN selection list. In an embodiment, the service change PLMN selection list is provisioned by the HPLMN and provided to the UE. As an example, the service change PLMN selection list is provided to the UE when the UE attaches to the HPLMN (this list is provided and provisioned when the UE attaches to the home PLMN and before the disaster happens). In an embodiment, multiple service change PLMN selection lists are provided to the UE, with the multiple service change PLMN selection lists being applicable to different service change events, different UE locations, different subscription levels, service time and period, etc., for example”. Page 8, lines 27-33, “The 3GPP Technical Specification Group on Service and System Aspects: Services (SA1) has created a new item to study how to enhance roaming between operators to provide service in case of a disastrous situation...Allowing impacted users to override restriction, e.g., forbidden PLMN due to prior access before disaster occurs”. Page 10, lines 13-26, “According to an example embodiment, a network selection mechanism for selecting a VPLMN in a service change event is provided. The network selection mechanism enables a UE to obtain services through PLMNs that the HPLMN of the UE may not ordinarily have a service agreement with or the HPLMN of the UE may not ordinarily have a service agreement with at the subscription level of the UE. Hence, without the network selection mechanism, the UE may be unable to obtain services in the occurrence of a service change event. As discussed previously, service change events, which include emergencies, disastrous events, special events, etc., are extraordinary events that usually do not occur daily and would fall outside the scope of an ordinary PLMN selection list. The ordinary PLMN selection list may provide a list of PLMNs with service agreements with the HPLMN of the UE and services that the UE may be able to obtain through the PLMNs in the event that the UE roams outside of the coverage of the HPLMN. The ordinary PLMN25 selection list typically includes no information regarding how to handle the occurrence of a service change event, which may include loss of connectivity from the HPLMN” (discloses a mechanism whereby a UE is allowed to a network selection list of the networks which are typically forbidden per the service agreement but the UE can access during a disaster condition)); determine the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition (Page 14, lines 11-15, “In an embodiment, a service change occurred indicator indicates the occurrence of a service change event. As an example, the service change occurred indicator comprises a one-bit or longer indicator and an identifier field, that when the indicator is set to a first value indicates that a service change event has occurred in a PLMN with identifier conveyed in the identifier field” (determining through the indicator that a service change event such as a disaster has occurred). Page 14, lines 29-35; Page 15, lines 1-3, “If an emergency or disastrous event has occurred, a failure may be detected at one or more network entities. As an example, an earthquake may have disabled one or more access nodes of PLMN_l 405...Network entity 407 sends a service35 change notification (event 422) (determining that the service PLMN is in disaster condition through notification by the network). The service change notification may be a network level message intended for PLMNs operating in the vicinity of PLMN_l 405 to notify them that a service change event has occurred in PLMN_l 405”. Page 15, lines 13-15, “The service change occurred indicator may also be groupcast or unicast”); identify a visiting PLMN from the PLMN list to use during the disaster condition (Fig. 2B-2C, Page 12, lines 6-13, “An example service change PLMN selection list may include a prioritized list of VPLMN that lists either candidate VPLMNs or disaster consortium identifiers (IDs) for the UEs to access (helps UE identify which PLMN to access during disaster such as using disaster consortium identifiers), along with the time, location, service type, roaming trigger event restrictions, subscription type or level (e.g., gold, silver, bronze, etc., where gold is higher than silver, which is higher than bronze, for example), and other PLMN selection policies, on which the UE uses to select the VPLMN to obtain service. The UE uses the information in the service change PLMN selection list to generate a policy or restrictions on which it bases the selection of the VPLMN to obtain service”. Page 12, lines 14-16, “An example service change PLMN selection list entry may specify that a UE searching for voice service is permitted to access a third VPLMN when the UE located in a third location because the service change event is a fire emergency”. Page 14, lines 3-5, “However, when a service change event occurs, the UE switches to the service change PLMN selection list and uses the service change PLMN selection list to select a PLMN to obtain service”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao and XIANG to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
Qiao and XIANG do not explicitly disclose send a registration request message to the visiting PLMN to register at the visiting PLMN in the PLMN list upon determining that the serving PLMN is in a disaster condition, the registration request message being usable to indicate to the visiting PLMN that registration is associated with a disaster condition.
Sedlacek discloses send a registration request message to the visiting PLMN to register at the visiting PLMN in the PLMN list upon determining that the serving PLMN is in a disaster condition ([0004], “In one embodiment, a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) (client device) for responding to a disaster condition in a first PLMN, comprises determining that a first PLMN is not available due to a disaster condition; determining that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming; and attempting to register with the second PLMN...” (sending a registration request to a visiting PLMN available for disaster roaming). [0011], “...transmitting a registration request to the first PLMN and receiving a rejection of the registration request comprising an indication of the disaster condition”. [0055], “the UE camping on a cell of the PLMN Y that broadcasts a “disaster condition identified” message” (determining a disaster condition in serving PLMN by receiving rejection for registration request or a broadcast message indicating disaster identified)), the registration request message being usable to indicate to the visiting PLMN that registration is associated with a disaster condition (Fig. 5, [0122], “Step 500: Receiving, in a first PLMN (PLMN X), information about a disaster condition in a second PLMN (PLMN Y) in an area of a UE”. [0099], “When a first PLMN (“PLMN X”) is informed that another PLMN (“PLMN Y”) has a disaster condition and the PLMN X is to provide disaster roaming, the PLMN X configures PLMN X's cells to broadcast a “disaster roaming PLMN list” including the PLMN ID of the PLMN Y (indicating to the visiting PLMN that a disaster has occurred in PLMN). In one embodiment, the configuration is done using Operations and Access Management (O&AM)”. [0025], “In one embodiment, the method further comprises receiving a registration request from a UE that desires to use the second PLMN for the disaster roaming and processing the registration request such that the UE is allowed to use the second PLMN” (implies that a registration request was sent to the second visiting PLMN in the list and visiting PLMN in the list is aware and willing to provide a disaster roaming to the UE)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao and XIANG with Sedlacek to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
In re claim 2, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein Sedlacek discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the client device to obtain the PLMN list by receiving a first control message from a network node, wherein the first control message indicates the PLMN list ([0023], “In one embodiment, transmitting the disaster roaming PLMN list comprises broadcasting a Public Warning System (PWS) message comprising the disaster roaming PLMN list in a corresponding cell of the second PLMN” (control message indicating the list)).
In re claim 3 the combination discloses the client device according to claim 2, wherein Qiao discloses wherein the first control message is part of a Non-Access Stratum, NAS, protocol ([0156], “The UE 100 may perform cell selection, cell reselection, PLMN selection, and/or the like. A UE 100 in CM-CONNECTED 610 state may have a NAS signaling connection with the AMF 155 over N1”. [0189], “In an example, when a UE 100 registers with a PLMN, if for the PLMN the UE 100 has no configured NSSAI or allowed NSSAI, the RAN 105 may route NAS signaling from/to the UE 100 to/from a default AMF 155”).
In re claim 4, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 3, wherein Sedlacek discloses wherein the first control message and the second control message are any of: a configuration update command message, a registration accept message, a registration reject message, a service accept message, a service reject message, or a deregistration request message ([0015], “In one embodiment, determining that the first PLMN is not available due to a disaster condition comprises transmitting a registration request to the first PLMN and receiving a registration reject from the first PLMN including a message of Fifth Generation System Mobility Management (SGMM) #XXX disaster condition identified”).
In re claim 5, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein XIANG discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the client device to obtain the PLMN list by obtaining the PLMN list from a Subscriber Identity Module, SIM, configuration of the client device (Page 10, lines 33-35, “Examples of the policies include, but are not limited to: time of day, location, service type, subscription type, service change event restrictions, UE subscription level”. Page 22, lines 24-31, “In addition, the electronic device (ED) 1010 includes at least one memory 1008...Each memory 1008 includes any suitable volatile or non-volatile storage and retrieval device(s). Any suitable type of memory may be used, such as random access memory RAM), read only memory (ROM), hard disk, optical disc, subscriber identity module (SIM) card, memory stick, secure digital (SD) memory card, and the like”).
In re claim 6, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein Sedlacek discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the client device to obtain the PLMN list by obtaining the PLMN list from a Mobile Equipment, ME, configuration of the client device ([0045], “a “communication device” is any type of device that has access to an access network. Some examples of a communication device include, but are not limited to: mobile phone, smart phone, sensor device, meter, vehicle...”).
In re claim 7, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein XIANG discloses wherein the PLMN list includes an identity of each visiting PLMN in the PLMN list (Page 12, lines 6-8, “An example service change PLMN selection list may include a prioritized list of VPLMNs that lists either candidate VPLMNs or disaster consortium identifiers (IDs) for the UEs to access”).
In re claim 8, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein Qiao discloses wherein the PLMN list includes one or more timers (T1, T2…, Tn), wherein each timer (Tn) is associated with the visiting PLMN in the PLMN list and defines a start register time instance at the visiting PLMN and/or a re-registration time instance at the serving PLMN ([0173], “In an example, a periodic registration update may be UE 100 re-registration at expiry of a periodic registration timer”. [0198], “a periodic registration update (e.g., the UE 100 is in RM-REGISTERED state and may initiate a registration procedure due to the periodic registration update timer expiry) or an emergency registration (e.g., the UE 100 is in limited-service state)” (timer associated with visiting PLMN registration for emergency)).
In re claim 9, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 8, wherein Qiao discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the client device to start a timer (Tn) associated with a visiting PLMN upon camping at the visiting PLMN ([0217], “In an example, the new AMF 155 may send to the UE 100 a registration accept (comprising: 5G-GUTI, registration area, mobility restrictions, PDU session status, allowed NSSAI, [mapping of allowed NSSAI], periodic registration update timer, LADN information and accepted MICO mode, IMS voice over PS session supported indication, emergency service support indicator, and/or the like)” (UE starts a timer with the new PLMN sent by the AMF for new registration); and register at the visiting PLMN in response to the timer (Tn) associated with the visiting PLMN expiring ([0173], “In an example, a periodic registration update may be UE 100 re-registration at expiry of a periodic registration timer”).
In re claim 10, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein XIANG discloses wherein one or more visiting PLMNs in the PLMN list are arranged in a registration priority order for the client device (Page 13, lines 14-16, “Figure 3B illustrates a second example service change PLMN selection list 350. As shown in Figure 3B, service change PLMN selection list 350 includes entries grouped based on selection priority”. Page 17, lines 9-11, “The UE determines a network selection priority (block 513). The network selection priority may be determined in accordance with the service change PLMN selection list and information included therein”).
In re claim 11, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein Sedlacek discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the client device to determine that the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition by receiving a second control message from a network node, wherein the second control message indicates that the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition ([0105], “a registration procedure or a service request procedure in the PLMN Y being rejected with a message of “5GMM cause #)00X disaster condition identified”. [0073], “the UE camping on a cell of the PLMN Y that broadcasts a message of “disaster condition identified”).
In re claim 12, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein Sedlacek discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the client device to provide an output to a user of the client device, wherein the output indicates that one or more visiting PLMNs in the PLMN list is selected for roaming in response to the serving PLMN being in the disaster condition ([0050], “How are subscribers Notified that a “Disaster Condition” applies?”. [0084], “Also, in case of complete outage of the failing PLMN, its subscribers may deduce the disaster condition as the PLMN ID of UE's failing PLMN (which may be, e.g., the HPLMN of the UE) is included in the “disaster roaming PLMN list” received from the PLMN offering the disaster roaming...”). Qiao also discloses ([0220], “In an example, the offline charging may be a process where charging information for network resource usage may be collected concurrently with that resource usage. At the end of the process, CDR files may be generated by the network, which may be transferred to a network operator's billing domain (BD) for the purpose of subscriber billing and/or inter-operator accounting (or additional functions, e.g. statistics, at the operator's discretion). The BD typically comprises post-processing systems such as the operator's billing system or billing mediation device. In an example conclusion, offline charging may be a mechanism where charging information does not affect, in real-time, the service rendered” (implicitly discloses that a user is notified through billing that subscription was move to a different cell or network due to disaster with the home network)).
In re claim 13, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein Sedlacek discloses wherein the processor is further configured to cause the client device to register at the visiting PLMN in the PLMN list by transmitting the registration request message to the visiting PLMN, wherein the registration request message indicates a registration request for the client device for temporary service from the visiting PLMN in response to a previously serving PLMN for the client device being in the disaster condition ([0004], “In one embodiment, a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) (client device) for responding to a disaster condition in a first PLMN, comprises determining that a first PLMN is not available due to a disaster condition; determining that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming; and attempting to register with the second PLMN...” (sending a registration request to a visiting PLMN available for disaster roaming). [0025], “In one embodiment, the method further comprises receiving a registration request from a UE that desires to use the second PLMN for the disaster roaming and processing the registration request such that the UE is allowed to use the second PLMN”).
In re claims 14 and 19, Qiao discloses a network node (Fig. 4: 410, [0269], “An example embodiment of the present disclosure provides enhanced mechanisms to support a base station of a first PLMN”) and a method for a network node for a communication system ([0269], “An example embodiment of the present disclosure provides enhanced mechanisms to support a base station of a first PLMN to receive status information of a second PLMN and to broadcast a disaster PLMN selection information to the wireless devices in the coverage”), the network node including a processor (Fig. 4:414) configured to execute instructions (Fig. 4:418, [0339], “The memory may store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform a series of actions”) stored in memory (Fig. 4:416) to cause the network node to:
transmit, before a disaster condition occurs, a first control message to a client device ([0334], “In an example, the at least one base station may send to the wireless device, a SIB/MIB message comprising at least one of: a network disaster indication; the allowed service information; the identifier of the second PLMN; or an identifier of the first PLMN...”), wherein the first control message indicates a PLMN list including one or more visiting PLMNs for registration by the client device in response to a serving PLMN for the client device being in the disaster condition; and
transmit, after determining the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition, a second control message to the client device, wherein the second control message is usable to indicate to the client device that the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition.
Qiao does not explicitly disclose transmit, before a disaster condition occurs a PLMN list including one or more visiting PLMNs for registration by the client device in response to a serving PLMN for the client device being in the disaster condition.
XIANG discloses transmit, before a disaster condition occurs a PLMN list including one or more visiting PLMNs for registration by the client device in response to a serving PLMN for the client device being in the disaster condition (Fig. 5, Page 11, lines 22-29, “In an embodiment, a service change PLMN selection list is provided. The service change PLMN selection list may be separate from the ordinary PLMN selection list. In an embodiment, the service change PLMN selection list is provisioned by the HPLMN and provided to the UE. As an example, the service change PLMN selection list is provided to the UE when the UE attaches to the HPLMN (this list is provided and provisioned when the UE attaches to the home PLMN and before the disaster happens). Page 10, lines 13-26, “The network selection mechanism enables a UE to obtain services through PLMNs that the HPLMN of the UE may not ordinarily have a service agreement with or the HPLMN of the UE may not ordinarily have a service agreement with at the subscription level of the UE. As discussed previously, service change events, which include emergencies, disastrous events, special events, etc., are extraordinary events that usually do not occur daily and would fall outside the scope of an ordinary PLMN selection list. The ordinary PLMN selection list may provide a list of PLMNs with service agreements with the HPLMN of the UE and services that the UE may be able to obtain through the PLMNs in the event that the UE roams outside of the coverage of the HPLMN. The ordinary PLMN25 selection list typically includes no information regarding how to handle the occurrence of a service change event, which may include loss of connectivity from the HPLMN” (discloses a mechanism whereby a UE is allowed to a network selection list of the networks which are typically forbidden per the service agreement but the UE can access during a disaster condition)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao and XIANG to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
Qiao and XIANG do not explicitly disclose wherein the first control message indicates a PLMN list; transmit, after determining the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition, a second control message to the client device, wherein the second control message is usable to indicate to the client device that the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition.
Sedlacek discloses wherein the first control message indicates a PLMN list ([0007], “In one embodiment, receiving the disaster roaming PLMN list comprises receiving the disaster roaming PLMN list in a public warning system (PWS) message from a cell in the second PLMN” (control message includes the list of visiting PLMN to be used in disaster with serving cell); determining the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition ([0053], “a UE using a certain PLMN (hereinafter “PLMN Y”), which may be e.g. the UE's Home PLMN (HPLMN), is made aware of the failure of a PLMN Y due to a disaster condition (client device determines disaster in home PLMN)”. [0054], “the UE determining that there is no available cell of the PLMN Y, combined with broadcasting, by an available cell of another PLMN X, the PLMN ID of the PLMN Y in a “disaster roaming PLMN list” (UE determines disaster in home PLMN through broadcast message). [0055], “the UE camping on a cell of the PLMN Y that broadcasts a “disaster condition identified” message” (UE determines disaster through the disaster condition identified message of the home PLMN)...or [0058], “a registration procedure or a service request procedure in the PLMN Y being rejected with a message of “SGMM cause #XXX ‘disaster condition identified”), transmit, after determining, a second control message to the client device, wherein the second control message is usable to indicate to the client device that the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition ([0122], “Step 500: Receiving, in a first PLMN (PLMN X), information about a disaster condition in a second PLMN (PLMN Y) in an area of a UE”. [0123], “Step 502: Determining, in the first PLMN, a willingness to provide a disaster roaming to UEs 112 of the second PLMN in the area”. [0124], “Step 504: Setting up RAN nodes (e.g., base stations 102) in the first PLMN to broadcast a “disaster roaming PLMN list” including a PLMN ID of the second PLMN”. [0125], “When the cell broadcasting entity (CBE) 114 is informed that the PLMN Y has a disaster condition and the CBE 114 decides to provide the disaster roaming for UEs 112 (registered at the PLMN Y) in the PLMN X, the CBE 114 will trigger the cell broadcast center (CBC) 116 to broadcast a PWS message in the PLMN X. The PWS message comprises (a) a message Identifier that is set to a newly reserved disaster-roaming-possible value; and (b) PWS message content, which contains the “disaster roaming PLMN list,” including the PLMN ID of the PLMN Y”. [0126], “The UE 112 determines that its PLMN Y (which may be its HPLMN) has a disaster condition...”. [0127], “the UE 112 determines that there is no available cell of the PLMN Y and an available cell of another PLMN X broadcasts a PWS message, which includes (a) a message Identifier that is set to a newly reserved disaster-roaming-possible value; and (b) PWS message content, which contains the “disaster roaming PLMN list,” including the PLMN ID of the PLMN Y” (indicating to the UE that a disaster has occurred in PLMN). [0025], “In one embodiment, the method further comprises receiving a registration request from a UE that desires to use the second PLMN for the disaster roaming and processing the registration request such that the UE is allowed to use the second PLMN”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao and XIANG with Sedlacek to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
In re claim 15, the combination discloses the network node according to claim 14, wherein Qiao discloses wherein the network node is an Access and Mobility management Function, AMF, of a core network (Fig. 18, [0149], “Connection management may be employed to establish and release the signaling connection between the UE 100 and the AMF 155”. [0185], “In an example, a UE 100 may be configured by the HPLMN with a configured NSSAI per PLMN. Upon successful completion of a UE's registration procedure, the UE 100 may obtain from the AMF 155 an Allowed NSSAI for this PLMN, which may include one or more S-NSSAIs” (network node is a AMF)).
In re claim 16, the combination discloses the network node according to claim 14, wherein Qiao discloses wherein the first control message is part of a Non-Access Stratum, NAS, protocol ([0156], “The UE 100 may perform cell selection, cell reselection, PLMN selection, and/or the like. A UE 100 in CM-CONNECTED 610 state may have a NAS signaling connection with the AMF 155 over N1”. [0189], “In an example, when a UE 100 registers with a PLMN, if for the PLMN the UE 100 has no configured NSSAI or allowed NSSAI, the RAN 105 may route NAS signaling from/to the UE 100 to/from a default AMF 155”).
In re claim 17, the combination discloses the network node according to claim 16, wherein Sedlacek discloses wherein the first control message and the second control message are any of: a configuration update command message, a registration accept message, a registration reject message, a service accept message, a service reject message, or a deregistration request message ([0015], “In one embodiment, determining that the first PLMN is not available due to a disaster condition comprises transmitting a registration request to the first PLMN and receiving a registration reject from the first PLMN including a message of Fifth Generation System Mobility Management (SGMM) #XXX disaster condition identified”).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649