DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on August 21, 2026. Claims 1, 8, 9, 14, 17, 18, and 19 are amended. Claims 7 and 12 are canceled. Claims 20, 21 and 22 are New. Claims 1-6, 8-11 and 13-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments/remarks made in an amendment filed August 21, 2026, have been fully considered. In view of the amended claims 1, 8, 9, 14, 17, 18, and 19 and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references as presented in this Office action. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-11 and 13-22 are therefore moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240056932 A1 (Qiao et al.) (hereinafter Qiao) in view of WO 2020102831 A1 (XIANG et al.) (hereinafter XIANG) in view of US 20230403547 A1 (Sedlacek et al.) (hereinafter Sedlacek) in view of US 20240205868 A1 (CHUN) in view of US 20220217805 A1 (Niemi et al.) (hereinafter Niemi) and in further view of US 20230041493 A1 (Tiwari et al.) (hereinafter Tiwari).
In re claims 1 and 18, Qiao discloses a client device (Fig. 3, “UE 100”) for a communication system (Fig. 3, [0005], “FIG. 3 is a system diagram of an example wireless device and a network node in a 5G system as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present disclosure”. [0169], “An example 5G system may be a 3GPP system comprising of 5G access network 105, 5G core network and a UE 100”), and a method for the client device ([0029], “More particularly, the embodiments of the technology disclosed herein may relate to network reselection during disaster (e.g. for 5G or future communication system)”) being configured to be served by a serving Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN (Fig. 13, Fig. 22, [0340], “At 2210, an access and mobility management function (AMF) of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) may receive from a first network function, status information comprising: a network disaster indication indicating a failure of a second PLMN in a coverage area” (first PLMN is serving PLMN). [0185], “In an example, a UE 100 may be configured by the HPLMN with a configured NSSAI per PLMN. Upon successful completion of a UE's registration procedure, the UE 100 may obtain from the AMF 155 an Allowed NSSAI for this PLMN, which may include one or more S-NSSAIs” (serving PLMN)), and the client device including a processor (Fig. 3:318) being configured to execute instructions stored in memory (Fig. 3:328, [0339], “According to various embodiments, a device such as, for example, a wireless device, off-network wireless device, a base station, a session management function, a policy control function, an application function, a access and mobility management function, a unified data management, a charging function and/or the like, may comprise one or more processors and memory. The memory may store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform a series of actions”) to cause the client device to:
obtain, before a disaster condition occurs, a PLMN list to use in response to the disaster condition and a timer associated with the PLMN list, the timer defining a minimum time the client device waits before attempting to register at a visiting PLMN in the PLMN list;
determine the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition; identify a visiting PLMN from the PLMN list to use during the disaster condition; start the timer upon camping at the identified visiting PLMN; and
send, in response to the timer expiring, a registration request message to the identified visiting PLMN to register at the identified visiting PLMN during the disaster condition, the registration request message being usable to indicate to the identified visiting PLMN that registration is associated with the disaster condition.
Qiao does not explicitly disclose obtain, before a disaster condition occurs, a PLMN list to use in response to the disaster condition; determine the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition; identify a visiting PLMN from the PLMN list to use during the disaster condition.
XIANG discloses obtain, before a disaster condition occurs, a PLMN list to use in response to the disaster condition (Fig. 5, Page 11, lines 22-29, “In an embodiment, a service change PLMN selection list is provided. The service change PLMN selection list may be separate from the ordinary PLMN selection list. In an embodiment, the service change PLMN selection list is provisioned by the HPLMN and provided to the UE. As an example, the service change PLMN selection list is provided to the UE when the UE attaches to the HPLMN (this list is provided and provisioned when the UE attaches to the home PLMN and before the disaster happens). In an embodiment, multiple service change PLMN selection lists are provided to the UE, with the multiple service change PLMN selection lists being applicable to different service change events, different UE locations, different subscription levels, service time and period, etc., for example”. Page 8, lines 27-33, “The 3GPP Technical Specification Group on Service and System Aspects: Services (SA1) has created a new item to study how to enhance roaming between operators to provide service in case of a disastrous situation...Allowing impacted users to override restriction, e.g., forbidden PLMN due to prior access before disaster occurs”. Page 10, lines 13-26, “According to an example embodiment, a network selection mechanism for selecting a VPLMN in a service change event is provided. The network selection mechanism enables a UE to obtain services through PLMNs that the HPLMN of the UE may not ordinarily have a service agreement with or the HPLMN of the UE may not ordinarily have a service agreement with at the subscription level of the UE. Hence, without the network selection mechanism, the UE may be unable to obtain services in the occurrence of a service change event. As discussed previously, service change events, which include emergencies, disastrous events, special events, etc., are extraordinary events that usually do not occur daily and would fall outside the scope of an ordinary PLMN selection list. The ordinary PLMN selection list may provide a list of PLMNs with service agreements with the HPLMN of the UE and services that the UE may be able to obtain through the PLMNs in the event that the UE roams outside of the coverage of the HPLMN. The ordinary PLMN25 selection list typically includes no information regarding how to handle the occurrence of a service change event, which may include loss of connectivity from the HPLMN” (discloses a mechanism whereby a UE is allowed to a network selection list of the networks which are typically forbidden per the service agreement but the UE can access during a disaster condition)); determine that the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition (Page 14, lines 11-15, “In an embodiment, a service change occurred indicator indicates the occurrence of a service change event. As an example, the service change occurred indicator comprises a one-bit or longer indicator and an identifier field, that when the indicator is set to a first value indicates that a service change event has occurred in a PLMN with identifier conveyed in the identifier field” (determining through the indicator that a service change event such as a disaster has occurred). Page 14, lines 29-35; Page 15, lines 1-3, “If an emergency or disastrous event has occurred, a failure may be detected at one or more network entities. As an example, an earthquake may have disabled one or more access nodes of PLMN_1 405...Network entity 407 sends a service35 change notification (event 422) (determining that the service PLMN is in disaster condition through notification by the network). The service change notification may be a network level message intended for PLMNs operating in the vicinity of PLMN_l 405 to notify them that a service change event has occurred in PLMN_1 405”. Page 15, lines 13-15, “The service change occurred indicator may also be groupcast or unicast”); identify a visiting PLMN from the PLMN list to use during the disaster condition (Fig. 2B-2C, Page 12, lines 6-13, “An example service change PLMN selection list may include a prioritized list of VPLMN that lists either candidate VPLMNs or disaster consortium identifiers (IDs) for the UEs to access (helps UE identify which PLMN to access during disaster such as using disaster consortium identifiers), along with the time, location, service type, roaming trigger event restrictions, subscription type or level (e.g., gold, silver, bronze, etc., where gold is higher than silver, which is higher than bronze, for example), and other PLMN selection policies, on which the UE uses to select the VPLMN to obtain service. The UE uses the information in the service change PLMN selection list to generate a policy or restrictions on which it bases the selection of the VPLMN to obtain service”. Page 12, lines 14-16, “An example service change PLMN selection list entry may specify that a UE searching for voice service is permitted to access a third VPLMN when the UE located in a third location because the service change event is a fire emergency”. Page 14, lines 3-5, “However, when a service change event occurs, the UE switches to the service change PLMN selection list and uses the service change PLMN selection list to select a PLMN to obtain service”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao and XIANG to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
Qiao and XIANG do not explicitly disclose send, in response to the timer expiring, a registration request message to the identified visiting PLMN to register at the identified visiting PLMN during the disaster condition, the registration request message being usable to indicate to the identified visiting PLMN that registration is associated with the disaster condition.
Sedlacek discloses send a registration request message to the identified visiting PLMN to register at the identified visiting PLMN during the disaster condition ([0004], “In one embodiment, a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) (client device) for responding to a disaster condition in a first PLMN, comprises determining that a first PLMN is not available due to a disaster condition; determining that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming; and attempting to register with the second PLMN...” (sending a registration request to a visiting PLMN available for disaster roaming). [0011], “...transmitting a registration request to the first PLMN and receiving a rejection of the registration request comprising an indication of the disaster condition”. [0055], “the UE camping on a cell of the PLMN Y that broadcasts a “disaster condition identified” message” (determining a disaster condition in serving PLMN by receiving rejection for registration request or a broadcast message indicating disaster identified)), the registration request message being usable to indicate to the identified visiting PLMN that registration is associated with a disaster condition (Fig. 5, [0122], “Step 500: Receiving, in a first PLMN (PLMN X), information about a disaster condition in a second PLMN (PLMN Y) in an area of a UE”. [0099], “When a first PLMN (“PLMN X”) is informed that another PLMN (“PLMN Y”) has a disaster condition and the PLMN X is to provide disaster roaming, the PLMN X configures PLMN X's cells to broadcast a “disaster roaming PLMN list” including the PLMN ID of the PLMN Y (indicating to the visiting PLMN that a disaster has occurred in PLMN). In one embodiment, the configuration is done using Operations and Access Management (O&AM)”. [0025], “In one embodiment, the method further comprises receiving a registration request from a UE that desires to use the second PLMN for the disaster roaming and processing the registration request such that the UE is allowed to use the second PLMN” (implies that a registration request was sent to the second visiting PLMN in the list and visiting PLMN in the list is aware and willing to provide a disaster roaming to the UE)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao and XIANG with Sedlacek to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
Qiao, XIANG and Sedlacek do not explicitly disclose obtain, before a disaster condition occurs, a timer defining a minimum time the client device waits before attempting to register at a visiting PLMN in the PLMN list.
CHUN discloses obtain, before a disaster condition occurs, a timer defining a minimum time the client device waits before attempting to register at a visiting PLMN in the PLMN list (Table 8, “Value min N corresponds to N minutes. t380 Refers to the timer that triggers the periodic RNAU procedure in UE. Value min5 corresponds to 5 minutes, value min10 corresponds to 10 minutes and so on”, Table 12, Table 21, [0335], “However, when the UE attempts to access other surrounding network as above, there may occur a problem in that the surrounding network cannot smoothly provide services due to an additional signal increase in the surrounding network if a large number of UEs attempt to access the surrounding network at once” (addressing signaling and load increase due to helping other subscribers during disaster). [0368], “If competitor's UEs suddenly flock to any PLMN due to a problem occurring in PLMNs of surrounding competitors, additional network errors and communication failures may occur in the PLMN due to an access and registration request of the suddenly increasing UEs...”. [0388], “To this end, if national roaming for a PLMN connected to the base station is allowed to the UE, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a PLMN condition ...” (See Table 12, visiting PLMN condition includes a timer value). [0367], “t380 Refers to the timer that triggers the periodic RNAU procedure in UE...selectotherPLMN Indicates whether the UE should select other PLMN”. [0422], “Access barring check for national roaming 1> if timer T302 or “Tbarring” is running: 2> consider access to the cell as barred” (discloses timer information received as PLMN information from the network before any disaster happens)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao, XIANG with Sedlacek and CHUN to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
Qiao, XIANG, Sedlacek and CHUN do not explicitly disclose a timer defining a minimum time the client device waits before attempting to register at a visiting PLMN.
Niemi discloses a timer defining a minimum time the client device waits before attempting to register at a visiting PLMN ([0040], “In some implementations, the information listing the one or more PLMNs which are allowed to be selected by the UE when the disaster condition is met may be either pre-configured in the UE or received from a network” (obtain list before disaster occurs – is preconfigured in the UE). [0007], “The method may also involve the UE selecting a second PLMN according to information listing one or more PLMNs which are allowed to be selected by the UE when the disaster condition is met”. [0009], “The processor may be configured to perform certain operations, including: (i) determining that a disaster condition is met with respect to a first PLMN; (ii) selecting a second PLMN according to information listing one or more PLMNs which are allowed to be selected by the UE when the disaster condition is met; and (iii) attempting a registration in the second PLMN”. [0024], “In scenario 200, a UE (e.g., UE 110) may determine that a disaster condition is met (or that a disaster condition applies) with respect to a first PLMN (e.g., PLMN D) based on one or more of the following: (i) an NAS signaling indicating the UE is deregistered due to the disaster condition in the first PLMN...Accordingly, cell selection (or re-selection) may be required for the UE to connect to an PLMN allowed to be selected (e.g., PLMN A)”. [0029], “Scenario 600 may be considered an extension or expansion of scenario 400 in that, in scenario 600, after removing the stored disaster indication and performing a PLMN selection, a UE (e.g., UE 110) may start a random timer (e.g., with a value range of 1˜10 seconds) in response to receiving the broadcast information indicating that the disaster condition in the first PLMN (e.g., PLMN D) is no longer applicable. Additionally, the UE may attempt registration to a highest-priority PLMN from the PLMN search upon expiry of the random timer” (here it discloses that after disaster condition is over, UE returns or reregisters to the serving cell after a minimum wait time or expiry of a timer). [0047], “For instance, responsive to a specific period of time being elapsed, processor 712 may attempt a registration in a third PLMN selected from a result of the PLMN search. In some implementations, the specific period of time may be controlled by a random timer and may be initiated responsive to the determining” (registration after specific period of time has elapsed or minimum wait period)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao, XIANG, Sedlacek, CHUN and Niemi to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
Qiao, XIANG, Sedlacek, CHUN and Niemi do not explicitly disclose start the timer upon camping at the identified visiting PLMN, and send, in response to the timer expiring, a registration request message to the identified visiting PLMN to register at the identified visiting PLMN during the disaster condition.
Tiwari discloses start the timer upon camping at the identified visiting PLMN ([0394], “In an example embodiment, when the AMF (300a) receives a first NAS message related to the CAG identifier 1, then the AMF (300a) rejects the NAS procedure and sends a second NAS message containing a back off timer related to the CAG identifier 1 and indicates to the UE (100) not to initiate signaling related to the CAG Identifier 1. The UE (100a), on receiving the second NAS message, runs a back off timer and shall not initiate any AS or NAS procedure related to the CAG identifier 1 until the back off timer expires. In another example embodiment, the UE (100) still CAG cell broadcasting CAG identity 1 to select the CAG cell. In another embodiment, the UE (100) does not consider the CAG identifier 1 for cell selection/reselection procedure until the back off timer expires” (starting timer upon camping on CAG cell broadcasted by the network); and send, in response to the timer expiring, a registration request message to the identified visiting PLMN to register at the identified visiting PLMN during the disaster condition ([0295], “At step 1, the UE's modem sends the registration request message to the network (600). Based on the registration request message, the network (600) sends a registration reject message with cause #11 to the UE's modem. Based on the registration reject message with cause #11, a PLMN specific attempt counter is increased to 1, a NAS timer T3247 is started. After expiry of the T3247 timer, the restart registration procedure is started” (restarting registration or re registration upon expiry of the timer)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao, XIANG, Sedlacek, CHUN and Niemi with Tiwari to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
In re claim 2, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein CHUN discloses the client device further configured to obtain the PLMN list by receiving a first control message from a network node, wherein the first control message indicates the PLMN list (Fig. 12, Table 2, [0010], “The disaster related message includes at least one candidate PLMN list providing the disaster roaming service”. [0342], “Next, the first base station may transmit, to a UE, a list of candidate networks (PLMNs), in S1203. For example, if it is determined that communication services cannot be provided to the UE due to a problem of the core network 1, the first base station may indicate the UE to select other PLMN through a message, and at the same time, transmit the message to the UE by including a list of a plurality of selectable PLMNs in the message”).
In re claim 3, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 2, wherein Qiao discloses wherein the first control message is part of a Non-Access Stratum, NAS, protocol ([0155], “The signaling connection may be employed to enable NAS signaling exchange between the UE 100 and the core network”. [0156], “The UE 100 may perform cell selection, cell reselection, PLMN selection, and/or the like. A UE 100 in CM-CONNECTED 610 state may have a NAS signaling connection with the AMF 155 over N1”. [0159], “In an example, a NAS signaling connection management may include establishing and releasing a NAS signaling connection. A NAS signaling connection establishment function may be provided by the UE 100 and the AMF 155 to establish the NAS signaling connection for the UE 100 in CM-IDLE 600 state. The procedure of releasing the NAS signaling connection may be initiated by the 5G (R)AN 105 node or the AMF 155”. [0189], “In an example, when a UE 100 registers with a PLMN, if for the PLMN the UE 100 has no configured NSSAI or allowed NSSAI, the RAN 105 may route NAS signaling from/to the UE 100 to/from a default AMF 155”).
In re claims 4, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 3, wherein Qiao discloses wherein the first control message is any of: a configuration update command message, a registration accept message, a registration reject message, a service accept message, a service reject message, or a deregistration request message ([0217], “In an example, the new AMF 155 may send to the UE 100 a registration accept (comprising: 5G-GUTI, registration area, mobility restrictions, PDU session status, allowed NSSAI, [mapping of allowed NSSAI], periodic registration update timer, LADN information and accepted MICO mode, IMS voice over PS session supported indication, emergency service support indicator, and/or the like)”).
In re claim 5, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein CHUN discloses the device further configured to obtain the PLMN list by obtaining the PLMN list from a Subscriber Identity Module, SIM, configuration of the client device (Fig. 16:1625, [0397], “Accordingly, the above operations are performed on only a UE, for which national roaming or disaster roaming is allowed, based on information configured in, for example, a SIM or a memory of the UE”. [0437], “Alternatively, in addition, specific PLMNs designated to a SIM card of the UE may be modified so that the operations are performed”).
In re clam 6, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein CHUN discloses the device further configured to obtain the PLMN list by obtaining the PLMN list from a Mobile Equipment, ME, configuration of the client device ([0053], “the UE may refer to terms such as a terminal, a mobile equipment (ME), and a mobile station (MS)”. [0403], “The Mobile Equipment stores a list of “equivalent PLMNs”. This list is replaced or deleted at the end of each location update procedure, routing area update procedure, GPRS attach procedure, tracking area update procedure, EPS attach procedure, and registration procedure”).
In re claim 8, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein CHUN discloses wherein the PLMN list includes the timer, the timer being one of a plurality of timers (T1, T2…, Tn) included in the PLMN list, each timer (Tn) of the plurality of timers being associated with a respective visiting PLMN in the PLMN list (Table 8, “Value min N corresponds to N minutes. t380 Refers to the timer that triggers the periodic RNAU procedure in UE. Value min5 corresponds to 5 minutes, value min10 corresponds to 10 minutes and so on”, Table 12, Table 21, [0335], “However, when the UE attempts to access other surrounding network as above, there may occur a problem in that the surrounding network cannot smoothly provide services due to an additional signal increase in the surrounding network if a large number of UEs attempt to access the surrounding network at once” (addressing signaling and load increase due to helping other subscribers during disaster). [0368], “If competitor's UEs suddenly flock to any PLMN due to a problem occurring in PLMNs of surrounding competitors, additional network errors and communication failures may occur in the PLMN due to an access and registration request of the suddenly increasing UEs...”. [0388], “To this end, if national roaming for a PLMN connected to the base station is allowed to the UE, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a PLMN condition ...” (See Table 12, visiting PLMN condition includes a timer value). [0367], “t380 Refers to the timer that triggers the periodic RNAU procedure in UE...selectotherPLMN Indicates whether the UE should select other PLMN”. [0422], “Access barring check for national roaming 1> if timer T302 or “Tbarring” is running: 2> consider access to the cell as barred” (as discloses the reason for a timer is to avoid signal overload with many UE’s trying to register in the roaming visiting PLMN at the same time due to disaster but to provide continuity in service, using UE characteristic such as subscription of the user, priority and availability of the roaming PLMN, a timer information is provided in the PLMN condition by the network. [335], [368], [0388] of CHUN)).
In re claim 9, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 8, wherein Tiwari discloses the device further configured to start a timer (Tn) associated with a visiting PLMN upon camping at the visiting PLMN ([0394], “In an example embodiment, when the AMF (300a) receives a first NAS message related to the CAG identifier 1, then the AMF (300a) rejects the NAS procedure and sends a second NAS message containing a back off timer related to the CAG identifier 1 and indicates to the UE (100) not to initiate signaling related to the CAG Identifier 1. The UE (100a), on receiving the second NAS message, runs a back off timer and shall not initiate any AS or NAS procedure related to the CAG identifier 1 until the back off timer expires. In another example embodiment, the UE (100) still CAG cell broadcasting CAG identity 1 to select the CAG cell. In another embodiment, the UE (100) does not consider the CAG identifier 1 for cell selection/reselection procedure until the back off timer expires” (starting timer upon camping on CAG cell broadcasted by the network); and register at the visiting PLMN in response to the timer (Tn) associated with the visiting PLMN expiring ([0295], “At step 1, the UE's modem sends the registration request message to the network (600). Based on the registration request message, the network (600) sends a registration reject message with cause #11 to the UE's modem. Based on the registration reject message with cause #11, a PLMN specific attempt counter is increased to 1, a NAS timer T3247 is started. After expiry of the T3247 timer, the restart registration procedure is started” (registration upon expiry of the timer)).
In re claim 10, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein CHUN discloses wherein the one or more visiting PLMNs in the PLMN list are arranged in a registration priority order for the client device (Table 3, [0327], “Steering to a specific VPLMN It shall be possible for the HPLMN at any time to direct a UE, that is in automatic mode, to search for a specific VPLMN and, if it is available, move to that VPLMN as soon as possible. This VPLMN shall then be regarded as the highest priority VPLMN as defined by the operator, though any EHPLMN or PLMN on the User Controlled PLMN list shall have higher priority”. [0403], “The PLMN/access technology combinations are listed in priority order”).
In re claim 11, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein Qiao discloses wherein the device is further configured to determine that the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition by receiving a second control message from a network node, wherein the second control message indicates that the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition ([0283], “For example, the base station of the first PLMN may transmit a SIB and/or a MIB message to one or more wireless devices in the coverage area. The one or more wireless devices may be wireless devices of the first PLMN. The one or more wireless devices may be wireless devices of the second PLMN/disaster PLMN. In an example, the SIB and/or MIB message may comprise at least one of: the network fail/disaster indication, the identifier of the second PLMN, and/or the identifier of the disaster PLMN”).
In re claim 13, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein Qiao discloses the device is further configured to register at the visiting PLMN in the PLMN list by transmitting the registration request message to the visiting PLMN, wherein the registration request message indicates a registration request for the client device for temporary service from the visiting PLMN in response to a previously serving PLMN for the client device being in the disaster condition ([0008], “More specifically, the method comprises performing a registration to a first public land mobile network (PLMN) via a first base station; receiving a disaster related message indicating that a disaster roaming service is provided; checking whether the UE is provided with the disaster roaming service based on the disaster related message; when the UE is provided with the disaster roaming service as a result of the check, selecting a second PLMN providing the disaster roaming service; transmitting a registration request message to the selected second PLMN based on the disaster related message; and receiving, from the second PLMN, a response message to the registration request message”. [0285], “In an example embodiment, the UE 2 may send a message to the (R)AN 1. The AN message may comprise AN parameters and/or a registration request message. The AN parameters may include at least one of: a UE identity (e.g. 5G-S-TMSI/GUAMI/IMSI), a selected PLMN ID (e.g. the identifier of the serving PLMN/PLMN 1), a disaster PLMN indication, the identifier of the disaster PLMN, requested NSSAI, and/or establishment cause. The establishment cause may indicate requesting establishment of an RRC connection to the serving PLMN (e.g. PLMN 1) during the disaster of home PLMN (e.g. PLMN 2)” (here home PLMN is in disaster condition and UE is requesting to register with the serving PLMN in the list temporarily during disaster)).
In re claim 20, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 2, wherein CHUN discloses wherein the first control message further indicates the timer (Table 12, “UE-TimersAndConstants”, [0388], “To this end, if national roaming for a PLMN connected to the base station is allowed to the UE, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a PLMN condition for whether national roaming is allowed for any PLMN (communication network). When the UE itself shall perform national roaming, the UE monitors the PLMN condition in the candidate PLMN list based on the PLMN condition and attempts to access only a PLMN allowed in a home PLMN to which the UE is subscribed” (PLMN condition with the list in the control message includes timer information)).
In re claim 21, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein CHUN discloses wherein a value of the timer is based on a characteristic of at least one of the client device or a user of the client device ([0396], “For services that generate a lot of traffic and are important in daily life, such as services used by general smartphones, a UE shall get services on a new PLMN via national roaming or disaster roaming, but a UE of the purpose such as IoT (e.g., a UE that performs gas/electricity measurement once a month and transmits a result of the measurement) does not need to immediately move to a new PLMN or to perform roaming on a new PLMN” (registering to a new PLMN on disaster based on UE type)).
In re claim 22, the combination discloses the client device according to claim 1, wherein Tiwari discloses wherein the client device is not registered at the identified visiting PLMN while the timer is running ([0295], “At step 1, the UE's modem sends the registration request message to the network (600). Based on the registration request message, the network (600) sends a registration reject message with cause #11 to the UE's modem. Based on the registration reject message with cause #11, a PLMN specific attempt counter is increased to 1, a NAS timer T3247 is started. After expiry of the T3247 timer, the restart registration procedure is started”. [0394], “In another embodiment, the UE (100) does not consider the CAG identifier 1 for cell selection/reselection procedure until the back off timer expires” (registration after expiry of the timer or not register while timer is running)).
In re claims 14 and 19, Qiao discloses a network node for a communication system (Fig. 3, “Base station 105-1”, [0005], “FIG. 3 is a system diagram of an example wireless device and a network node in a 5G system as per an aspect of an embodiment of the present disclosure”), the network node including a processor (Fig. 3:344) configured to execute instructions (Fig. 3:348) stored in memory to cause the network node to ([0339], “The memory may store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform a series of actions”) and a method for a network node ([0029], “More particularly, the embodiments of the technology disclosed herein may relate to network reselection during disaster (e.g. for 5G or future communication system)”), the method comprising:
transmit, before a disaster condition occurs, a first control message to a client device, wherein the first control message indicates a PLMN list including one or more visiting PLMNs for registration by the client device in response to a serving PLMN for the client device being in the disaster condition and further indicates a timer associated with the PLMN list, the timer defining a minimum time the client device waits, after camping at a visiting PLMN in the PLMN list, before attempting to register at the visiting PLMN; and
transmit, after determining the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition, a second control message to the client device, wherein the second control message is usable to indicate to the client device that the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition.
Qiao does not explicitly disclose transmit, before a disaster condition occurs, a first control message to a client device, wherein the first control message indicates a PLMN list including one or more visiting PLMNs for registration by the client device in response to a serving PLMN for the client device being in the disaster condition.
XIANG discloses transmit, before a disaster condition occurs, a first control message to a client device, wherein the first control message indicates a PLMN list including one or more visiting PLMNs for registration by the client device (Fig. 2B-2C, Fig. 5, Page 11, lines 22-29, “In an embodiment, a service change PLMN selection list is provided. In an embodiment, the service change PLMN selection list is provisioned by the HPLMN and provided to the UE. As an example, the service change PLMN selection list is provided to the UE when the UE attaches to the HPLMN (this list is provided and provisioned when the UE attaches to the home PLMN and before the disaster happens). Page 12, lines 6-13, “An example service change PLMN selection list may include a prioritized list of VPLMN that lists either candidate VPLMNs or disaster consortium identifiers (IDs) for the UEs to access (helps UE identify which PLMN to access during disaster such as using disaster consortium identifiers), along with the time, location, service type, roaming trigger event restrictions, subscription type or level (e.g., gold, silver, bronze, etc., where gold is higher than silver, which is higher than bronze, for example), and other PLMN selection policies, on which the UE uses to select the VPLMN to obtain service. Page 12, lines 14-16, “An example service change PLMN selection list entry may specify that a UE searching for voice service is permitted to access a third VPLMN when the UE located in a third location because the service change event is a fire emergency”. Page 8, lines 27-33, “The 3GPP Technical Specification Group on Service and System Aspects: Services (SA1) has created a new item to study how to enhance roaming between operators to provide service in case of a disastrous situation...Allowing impacted users to override restriction, e.g., forbidden PLMN due to prior access before disaster occurs”); in response to a serving PLMN for the client device being in the disaster condition (Page 14, lines 11-15, “In an embodiment, a service change occurred indicator indicates the occurrence of a service change event. As an example, the service change occurred indicator comprises a one-bit or longer indicator and an identifier field, that when the indicator is set to a first value indicates that a service change event has occurred in a PLMN with identifier conveyed in the identifier field” (determining through the indicator that a service change event such as a disaster has occurred). Page 14, lines 29-35; Page 15, lines 1-3, “If an emergency or disastrous event has occurred, a failure may be detected at one or more network entities. As an example, an earthquake may have disabled one or more access nodes of PLMN_1 405...Network entity 407 sends a service35 change notification (event 422) (determining that the service PLMN is in disaster condition through notification by the network). The service change notification may be a network level message intended for PLMNs operating in the vicinity of PLMN_l 405 to notify them that a service change event has occurred in PLMN_1 405”. Page 15, lines 13-15, “The service change occurred indicator may also be groupcast or unicast”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao and XIANG to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
Qiao and XIANG do not explicitly disclose transmit, after determining the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition, a second control message to the client device, wherein the second control message is usable to indicate to the client device that the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition.
Sedlacek discloses transmit, after determining the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition, a second control message to the client device, wherein the second control message is usable to indicate to the client device that the serving PLMN is in the disaster condition (Fig. 5, [0122], “Step 500: Receiving, in a first PLMN (PLMN X), information about a disaster condition in a second PLMN (PLMN Y) in an area of a UE”. [0099], “When a first PLMN (“PLMN X”) is informed that another PLMN (“PLMN Y”) has a disaster condition and the PLMN X is to provide disaster roaming, the PLMN X configures PLMN X's cells to broadcast a “disaster roaming PLMN list” including the PLMN ID of the PLMN Y (indicating to the visiting PLMN that a disaster has occurred in PLMN). In one embodiment, the configuration is done using Operations and Access Management (O&AM)”. [0025], “In one embodiment, the method further comprises receiving a registration request from a UE that desires to use the second PLMN for the disaster roaming and processing the registration request such that the UE is allowed to use the second PLMN” (implies that a registration request was sent to the second visiting PLMN in the list and visiting PLMN in the list is aware and willing to provide a disaster roaming to the UE)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao and XIANG with Sedlacek to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
Qiao, XIANG and Sedlacek do not explicitly disclose a timer associated with the PLMN list, the timer defining a minimum time the client device waits, after camping at a visiting PLMN in the PLMN list, before attempting to register at the visiting PLMN.
CHUN discloses a timer associated with the PLMN list, the timer defining a minimum time the client device waits, after camping at a visiting PLMN in the PLMN list, before attempting to register at the visiting PLMN (Table 8, “Value min N corresponds to N minutes. t380 Refers to the timer that triggers the periodic RNAU procedure in UE. Value min5 corresponds to 5 minutes, value min10 corresponds to 10 minutes and so on”, Table 12, Table 21, [0335], “However, when the UE attempts to access other surrounding network as above, there may occur a problem in that the surrounding network cannot smoothly provide services due to an additional signal increase in the surrounding network if a large number of UEs attempt to access the surrounding network at once” (addressing signaling and load increase due to helping other subscribers during disaster). [0368], “If competitor's UEs suddenly flock to any PLMN due to a problem occurring in PLMNs of surrounding competitors, additional network errors and communication failures may occur in the PLMN due to an access and registration request of the suddenly increasing UEs...”. [0388], To this end, if national roaming for a PLMN connected to the base station is allowed to the UE, the base station may transmit, to the UE, a PLMN condition ... (See Table 12, visiting PLMN condition includes a timer value). [0367], “t380 Refers to the timer that triggers the periodic RNAU procedure in UE...selectotherPLMN Indicates whether the UE should select other PLMN”. [0422], “Access barring check for national roaming 1> if timer T302 or “Tbarring” is running: 2> consider access to the cell as barred” (discloses timer information received as PLMN information from the network before any disaster happens)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao, XIANG with Sedlacek and CHUN to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
Qiao, XIANG, Sedlacek and CHUN do not explicitly disclose a the timer defining a minimum time the client device waits, after camping at a visiting PLMN in the PLMN list, before attempting to register at the visiting PLMN.
Niemi discloses a timer defining a minimum time the client device waits before attempting to register at a visiting PLMN ([0040], “In some implementations, the information listing the one or more PLMNs which are allowed to be selected by the UE when the disaster condition is met may be either pre-configured in the UE or received from a network” (obtain list before disaster occurs – is preconfigured in the UE). [0007], “The method may also involve the UE selecting a second PLMN according to information listing one or more PLMNs which are allowed to be selected by the UE when the disaster condition is met”. [0009], “The processor may be configured to perform certain operations, including: (i) determining that a disaster condition is met with respect to a first PLMN; (ii) selecting a second PLMN according to information listing one or more PLMNs which are allowed to be selected by the UE when the disaster condition is met; and (iii) attempting a registration in the second PLMN”. [0024], “In scenario 200, a UE (e.g., UE 110) may determine that a disaster condition is met (or that a disaster condition applies) with respect to a first PLMN (e.g., PLMN D) based on one or more of the following: (i) an NAS signaling indicating the UE is deregistered due to the disaster condition in the first PLMN...Accordingly, cell selection (or re-selection) may be required for the UE to connect to an PLMN allowed to be selected (e.g., PLMN A)”. [0029], “Scenario 600 may be considered an extension or expansion of scenario 400 in that, in scenario 600, after removing the stored disaster indication and performing a PLMN selection, a UE (e.g., UE 110) may start a random timer (e.g., with a value range of 1˜10 seconds) in response to receiving the broadcast information indicating that the disaster condition in the first PLMN (e.g., PLMN D) is no longer applicable. Additionally, the UE may attempt registration to a highest-priority PLMN from the PLMN search upon expiry of the random timer” (here it discloses that after disaster condition is over, UE returns or reregisters to the serving cell after a minimum wait time or expiry of a timer). [0047], “For instance, responsive to a specific period of time being elapsed, processor 712 may attempt a registration in a third PLMN selected from a result of the PLMN search. In some implementations, the specific period of time may be controlled by a random timer and may be initiated responsive to the determining” (registration after specific period of time has elapsed or minimum wait period)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao, XIANG, Sedlacek, CHUN and Niemi to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
Qiao, XIANG, Sedlacek, CHUN and Niemi do not explicitly disclose start the timer after camping at a visiting PLMN in the PLMN list, before attempting to register at the visiting PLMN.
Tiwari discloses start the timer after camping at a visiting PLMN in the PLMN list ([0394], “In an example embodiment, when the AMF (300a) receives a first NAS message related to the CAG identifier 1, then the AMF (300a) rejects the NAS procedure and sends a second NAS message containing a back off timer related to the CAG identifier 1 and indicates to the UE (100) not to initiate signaling related to the CAG Identifier 1. The UE (100a), on receiving the second NAS message, runs a back off timer and shall not initiate any AS or NAS procedure related to the CAG identifier 1 until the back off timer expires. In another example embodiment, the UE (100) still CAG cell broadcasting CAG identity 1 to select the CAG cell. In another embodiment, the UE (100) does not consider the CAG identifier 1 for cell selection/reselection procedure until the back off timer expires” (starting timer upon camping on CAG cell broadcasted by the network), before attempting to register at the visiting PLMN ([0295], “At step 1, the UE's modem sends the registration request message to the network (600). Based on the registration request message, the network (600) sends a registration reject message with cause #11 to the UE's modem. Based on the registration reject message with cause #11, a PLMN specific attempt counter is increased to 1, a NAS timer T3247 is started. After expiry of the T3247 timer, the restart registration procedure is started” (registration upon expiry of the timer)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qiao, XIANG, Sedlacek, CHUN and Niemi with Tiwari to provide system and method for enabling a user equipment to determine that a second PLMN is available for disaster roaming and register with the second PLMN in response to the disaster condition in the first PLMN. The advantage of doing so is to enable the UE for network reselection during disaster for service continuity.
In re claim 15, the combination discloses the network node according to claim 14, wherein Qiao discloses wherein the network node is an Access and Mobility management Function, AMF, of a core network (Fig. 18, [0149], “In an example, as depicted in example FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B, the registration management, RM may be employed to register or de-register a UE/user 100 with the network, and establish the user context in the network. Connection management may be employed to establish and release the signaling connection between the UE 100 and the AMF 155”. [0185], “In an example, a UE 100 may be configured by the HPLMN with a configured NSSAI per PLMN. Upon successful completion of a UE's registration procedure, the UE 100 may obtain from the AMF 155 an Allowed NSSAI for this PLMN, which may include one or more S-NSSAIs” (network node is a AMF)).
In re claim 16, the combination discloses the network node according to claim 14, wherein Qiao discloses wherein the first control message is part of a Non-Access Stratum, NAS, protocol ([0155], “The signaling connection may be employed to enable NAS signaling exchange between the UE 100 and the core network”. [0156], “The UE 100 may perform cell selection, cell reselection, PLMN selection, and/or the like. A UE 100 in CM-CONNECTED 610 state may have a NAS signaling connection with the AMF 155 over N1”. [0159], “In an example, a NAS signaling connection management may include establishing and releasing a NAS signaling connection. A NAS signaling connection establishment function may be provided by the UE 100 and the AMF 155 to establish the NAS signaling connection for the UE 100 in CM-IDLE 600 state. The procedure of releasing the NAS signaling connection may be initiated by the 5G (R)AN 105 node or the AMF 155”. [0189], “In an example, when a UE 100 registers with a PLMN, if for the PLMN the UE 100 has no configured NSSAI or allowed NSSAI, the RAN 105 may route NAS signaling from/to the UE 100 to/from a default AMF 155”).
In re claim 17, the combination discloses the network node according to claim 16, wherein Qiao discloses wherein the first control message is any of: a configuration update command message, a registration accept message, a registration reject message, a service accept message, a service reject message, or a deregistration request message ([0217], “In an example, the new AMF 155 may send to the UE 100 a registration accept (comprising: 5G-GUTI, registration area, mobility restrictions, PDU session status, allowed NSSAI, [mapping of allowed NSSAI], periodic registration update timer, LADN information and accepted MICO mode, IMS voice over PS session supported indication, emergency service support indicator, and/or the like)”).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649