DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is a responsive to the request for continued examination filed on 1/27/2026.
Claims 2,15, 17-18, 20 have been canceled.
Claims 24-25 are new.
Claims 1,3-14, 16, 19, 21-25 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1,3-14, 16, 19, 21-25 are rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Rejection of Claims under 35 USC 103
Applicant’s Response:
Applicant submits that the cited references fail to teach the newly added limitations.
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are directed to amended subject matter properly addressed with the newly cited references of Hesnor (US 20210312100 A1) and Shi (US 20130167208 A1) and Gallagher (US 20240397169 A1).
The combination Hesnor (US 20210312100 A1) and Shi (US 20130167208 A1) and Gallagher (US 20240397169 A1) teaches the language of the independent claims.
All remaining arguments are now moot in regards to the new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-6,11-14, 16, 19, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesnor (US 20210312100 A1) and further in view of Shi (US 20130167208 A1) and Gallagher (US 20240397169 A1).
As to claim 1, Hesnor teaches A computing environment for permission-based cloud storage and file sharing, the environment comprising: a cloud-based computing network comprising a plurality of interconnected computing devices collectively programmed to interoperate based at least in part on a computing environment coordination protocol, the plurality of interconnected computing devices each include at least one processor and a memory device storing executable code, wherein, upon execution of the executable code (See ¶¶ [0063], [0113], Teaches that a user engages a web application to create a construction project directory on a computer readable storage medium that is associated with a specific construction project. The construction project directory including at least one sub-directory that is accessible at a unique web resource. The at least one sub-directory configured to receive and store a set of construction project files throughout the duration of a given construction project. Authorized users may upload or revise construction project files to the at least one sub-directory as construction project tasks are completed. FIG. 1 depicts a computing system 10 that may comprise any type of computing device and for example includes at least one processor 12, memory 20, an input/output (I/O) 14 (e.g., one or more I/O interfaces and/or devices), and a communications pathway 16.),
at least one of the plurality of interconnected computing devices is configured to: store location-specific files associated with at least one worksite location, wherein the at least one worksite location comprises a construction site (See ¶¶ [0063], [0088], Teaches that a user engages a web application to create a construction project directory on a computer readable storage medium that is associated with a specific construction project. The construction project directory including at least one sub-directory that is accessible at a unique web resource. The at least one sub-directory configured to receive and store a set of construction project files throughout the duration of a given construction project. Authorized users may upload or revise construction project files to the at least one sub-directory as construction project tasks are completed. The scannable code arrangement(s) on the design documents are used to access the project-specific database. The project-specific database is compartmentalized into, e.g., three database categories accessible through the scannable code arrangement(s) during the construction process 800B, the three database categories comprising documentation, communication, and safety. It follows that the scannable code arrangement(s) are analogously compartmentalized, the three scannable code categories comprising documentation codes, communication codes, and safety codes.);
determine that a user is attempting to access, based on the user scanning a digital image posted at the construction site via a user device and providing authentication credentials via the user device, the location-specific files associated with the construction site (See ¶¶ [0077], [0102], Teaches that Mobile device 602 scans a unique barcode, of the arranged plurality of barcodes, to send a web application request 606 to execute a remote data processing system to access a feature or service available through a web application. Web application request 606 may be based on a unique web resource encoded within a respective unique barcode, and determines whether a third party user response is required in step 608. If a third party user response is not required, the method proceeds to retrieves requested data 610 from a database associated with the arranged barcodes. Retrieved request data 610 subsequently returns response data 616 to the mobile device 602. If the service involves an interactive process (e.g., a request is required in step 608), then the web application initiates a request response 612 asking for input from a third party (not shown) that is identified in web application request 606. The web application waits until it receives a response input 614 from a third party. Received response input 614 may be processed and structured as response data 616 prior to transmitting said data to mobile device 602. It is understood that the service associated with each QR code may involve any type of automated, computer based service, e.g., executing a program, launching a web site, running a web app, sending a text, making a call, etc. The second client 904 provides a system by which an end user (e.g., a person on a job site) scans a QR barcode, of the plurality of QR barcodes on the arranged barcode canvas 400A, to initiate construction process 600 outlined, e.g., in FIGS. 6 and 8B.).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of providing authentication credentials via the user device; wherein the digital image posted at the construction site comprises a machine-readable matrix code that includes embedded data modules encoding a selectable link to a webpage for the construction site configured to receive the authentication credentials; ascertain a permitted access level of the user attempting to access the location-specific files associated with the construction site, the ascertaining being based on the authentication credentials provided by the user via the user device and whether the authentication credentials are associated with a user account that is associated with an unpaid subscription or a paid subscription, the authentication credentials defining the permitted access level; and provide, based on the ascertained permitted access level, corresponding access to one or more functionalities associated with the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities include performing edits to the location- specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities are limited if the authentication credentials are associated with the unpaid subscription, relative to the one or more functionalities that are available with the paid subscription.
Shi, from analogous art, teaches providing authentication credentials via the user device; wherein the digital image posted at the construction site comprises a machine-readable matrix code that includes embedded data modules encoding a selectable link to a webpage for the construction site configured to receive the authentication credentials (See ¶¶ [0024], [0030], Teaches that In step 204, user 100 uses a camera on mobile device 102 to capture the QR code. The QR code may encode a URL of the website and other information such as a merchant ID, a randomly generated session ID, a transaction ID, etc. Code reading software may decode the QR code for the application. The application may inform mobile device 102 that login credentials to the website URL are requested. If user 100 has an account, user 100 enters the login credentials into mobile device 102 in step 212. User 100 may enter a user name and a password using a keyboard, keypad, touchscreen, voice command, or through other methods of user input. Mobile device 102 may transmit the login credentials to website server 108 for authentication of user 100. If website server 108 is able to authenticate user 100 with the login credentials, website server 108 may link the device ID to the login credentials so that user 100 may initiate future login requests from mobile device 102 by transmitting the device ID. Website server 108 may generate a login confirmation page to mobile device 102 to grant user 100 access to the website.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Shi into Hesnor in order to provide ways for users to login to websites conveniently, securely, and efficiently (See Shi ¶ [0004]).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of ascertain a permitted access level of the user attempting to access the location-specific files associated with the construction site, the ascertaining being based on the authentication credentials provided by the user via the user device and whether the authentication credentials are associated with a user account that is associated with an unpaid subscription or a paid subscription, the authentication credentials defining the permitted access level; and provide, based on the ascertained permitted access level, corresponding access to one or more functionalities associated with the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities include performing edits to the location- specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities are limited if the authentication credentials are associated with the unpaid subscription, relative to the one or more functionalities that are available with the paid subscription.
Gallagher, from analogous art, teaches ascertain a permitted access level of the user attempting to access the location-specific files associated with the construction site, the ascertaining being based on the authentication credentials provided by the user via the user device and whether the authentication credentials are associated with a user account that is associated with an unpaid subscription or a paid subscription, the authentication credentials defining the permitted access level (See ¶¶ [0092], [0141]-[0142], Teaches that different subscription levels may be available for purchase from the platform. For example, it may be free to create an account under a free subscription, and the free subscription may provide access to some basic features of the platform. Additional levels of paid subscriptions may be available for purchase (e.g., with one-time payments or recurring payments), and each paid subscription level may offer a greater quantity (or greater quality of) features. For example, a free subscription may allow the user to create a video for a specific theme, but may not offer access to automatic video editing, whereas a first paid subscription level may offer access to basic automatic video editing (e.g., shorten silences and pauses and combine uploaded B-roll with recorded video responses), and a second paid subscription level may offer access to advanced video editing (e.g., sentiment analysis and addition of music based on determined sentiment). The user may select a subscription level when first creating the account with the platform and may upgrade or downgrade subscription levels at times after the initial account creation.);
and provide, based on the ascertained permitted access level, corresponding access to one or more functionalities associated with the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities include performing edits to the location- specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities are limited if the authentication credentials are associated with the unpaid subscription, relative to the one or more functionalities that are available with the paid subscription (See ¶¶ [0092], [0141]-[0142], Teaches that different subscription levels may be available for purchase from the platform. For example, it may be free to create an account under a free subscription, and the free subscription may provide access to some basic features of the platform. Additional levels of paid subscriptions may be available for purchase (e.g., with one-time payments or recurring payments), and each paid subscription level may offer a greater quantity (or greater quality of) features. For example, a free subscription may allow the user to create a video for a specific theme, but may not offer access to automatic video editing, whereas a first paid subscription level may offer access to basic automatic video editing (e.g., shorten silences and pauses and combine uploaded B-roll with recorded video responses), and a second paid subscription level may offer access to advanced video editing (e.g., sentiment analysis and addition of music based on determined sentiment). The user may select a subscription level when first creating the account with the platform and may upgrade or downgrade subscription levels at times after the initial account creation.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gallagher into the combination of Hesnor and Shi in order to restrict use of these functions to only users with these subscriptions (See Gallagher ¶ [00054]).
As to claim 3, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the environment according to claim 1 above. Hesnor further teaches wherein the machine-readable matrix code comprises a quick response (QR) code (See ¶¶ [0077], [0102], Teaches that Mobile device 602 scans a unique barcode, of the arranged plurality of barcodes, to send a web application request 606 to execute a remote data processing system to access a feature or service available through a web application. Web application request 606 may be based on a unique web resource encoded within a respective unique barcode, and determines whether a third party user response is required in step 608. If a third party user response is not required, the method proceeds to retrieves requested data 610 from a database associated with the arranged barcodes. Retrieved request data 610 subsequently returns response data 616 to the mobile device 602. If the service involves an interactive process (e.g., a request is required in step 608), then the web application initiates a request response 612 asking for input from a third party (not shown) that is identified in web application request 606. The web application waits until it receives a response input 614 from a third party. Received response input 614 may be processed and structured as response data 616 prior to transmitting said data to mobile device 602. It is understood that the service associated with each QR code may involve any type of automated, computer based service, e.g., executing a program, launching a web site, running a web app, sending a text, making a call, etc. The second client 904 provides a system by which an end user (e.g., a person on a job site) scans a QR barcode, of the plurality of QR barcodes on the arranged barcode canvas 400A, to initiate construction process 600 outlined, e.g., in FIGS. 6 and 8B).
As to claim 4, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the environment according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the determining that the user is attempting to access the location-specific files is further based on the user device: performing pattern recognition on the machine-readable matrix code to decipher the embedded data modules; displaying a selectable link to a webpage configured to receive the authentication credentials; and receiving the authentication credentials from the user.
Shi, from analogous art, teaches wherein the determining that the user is attempting to access the location-specific files is further based on the user device: performing pattern recognition on the machine-readable matrix code to decipher the embedded data modules; displaying a selectable link to a webpage configured to receive the authentication credentials; and receiving the authentication credentials from the user (See ¶¶ [0024], [0030], Teaches that In step 204, user 100 uses a camera on mobile device 102 to capture the QR code. The QR code may encode a URL of the website and other information such as a merchant ID, a randomly generated session ID, a transaction ID, etc. Code reading software may decode the QR code for the application. The application may inform mobile device 102 that login credentials to the website URL are requested. If user 100 has an account, user 100 enters the login credentials into mobile device 102 in step 212. User 100 may enter a user name and a password using a keyboard, keypad, touchscreen, voice command, or through other methods of user input. Mobile device 102 may transmit the login credentials to website server 108 for authentication of user 100. If website server 108 is able to authenticate user 100 with the login credentials, website server 108 may link the device ID to the login credentials so that user 100 may initiate future login requests from mobile device 102 by transmitting the device ID. Website server 108 may generate a login confirmation page to mobile device 102 to grant user 100 access to the website.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Shi into the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher in order to provide ways for users to login to websites conveniently, securely, and efficiently (See Shi ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 5, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the environment according to claim 1 above. Hesnor further teaches wherein the location-specific files comprise worksite documentation selected from the group consisting of worksite permits, site plans, worksite compliance reports, worksite inspection reports, architectural drawings, schedules, work orders, safety reports, certificates of insurance, worksite specifications, project diaries, requests for information, contracts, purchase orders, change orders, worksite drawings, progress reports, work orders, a works diary, works passing records, test results, supply registers, sample records, measurement books, attendance records, concrete pouring requests, non-conformance reports, and bills records (See ¶¶ [0039]-[0045], Teaches that One or more embodiments of the present invention would enable a project owner to scan a respective barcode, of an arranged plurality of barcodes, to trigger a pre-programmed sequence of events that would be utilized to view one or more project documents. The project documents may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: (i) design drawings; (ii) specifications; (iii) addenda; (iv) record drawings; (v) approved equipment submittals; (vi) equipment operations and maintenance manuals; (vii) equipment start-up reports; (viii) equipment demonstration and training reports; (ix) equipment spare parts; (x) equipment preventative maintenance instructions; (xi) balancing reports; (xii) material safety data sheets; (xiii) commissioning checklists; (xiv) associated sustainability-related documentation; and (xv) equipment warrantees. One or more embodiments of the present invention may enable a person (e.g., a remote user) to scan a respective barcode, of an arranged plurality of barcodes, to trigger a pre-programmed sequence of events that may access one or more general requirement submittals. The general requirement submittals may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: (i) permits; (ii) workers compensation certificate schedule, (iii) equal employment opportunity affidavit; (iv) minority business enterprise affidavit; (v) performance bond form; (vi) payment bond form; (vii) certificate of insurance form; (viii) certificate of substantial completion form; (ix) affidavit of release of liens form; (x) record change order requests; (xi) record change orders; (xii) schedule of values; (xiii) progress payment procedures; (xiv) project meetings; (xv) construction progress reporting; (xvi) photographic documentation; (xvii) code-required special inspections and procedures; (xviii) final cleaning; (xix) completion and correction list; and (xx) project record document).
As to claim 6, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the environment according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the authentication credentials comprise personally identifiable information.
Shi, from analogous art, teaches wherein the authentication credentials comprise personally identifiable information (See ¶¶ [0024], [0030], Teaches that If user 100 has an account, user 100 enters the login credentials into mobile device 102 in step 212. User 100 may enter a user name and a password using a keyboard, keypad, touchscreen, voice command, or through other methods of user input. Mobile device 102 may transmit the login credentials to website server 108 for authentication of user 100. If website server 108 is able to authenticate user 100 with the login credentials, website server 108 may link the device ID to the login credentials so that user 100 may initiate future login requests from mobile device 102 by transmitting the device ID. Website server 108 may generate a login confirmation page to mobile device 102 to grant user 100 access to the website. In step 214, mobile device 102 determines if the login confirmation page is received. If it is, user authentication is successful and the application stores the login credentials for the website URL in step 216. User 100 may proceed to access the website. In one embodiment, the application may not store the login credentials. If website server 108 cannot authenticate user 100 because the login credentials are wrong, mobile device 102 does not receive the login confirmation page from website server 108 in step 214. User may be requested to re-enter the login credentials until user 100 is authenticated or until a threshold number of unsuccessful login attempts is reached.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Shi into the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher in order to provide ways for users to login to websites conveniently, securely, and efficiently (See Shi ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 11, Hesnor teaches A computing system for permission-based cloud storage and file sharing, the system comprising: at least one processor; a communication interface communicatively coupled to the at least one processor; and a memory device storing executable code that, when executed (See ¶¶ [0063], [0113], Teaches that a user engages a web application to create a construction project directory on a computer readable storage medium that is associated with a specific construction project. The construction project directory including at least one sub-directory that is accessible at a unique web resource. The at least one sub-directory configured to receive and store a set of construction project files throughout the duration of a given construction project. Authorized users may upload or revise construction project files to the at least one sub-directory as construction project tasks are completed. FIG. 1 depicts a computing system 10 that may comprise any type of computing device and for example includes at least one processor 12, memory 20, an input/output (I/O) 14 (e.g., one or more I/O interfaces and/or devices), and a communications pathway 16.),
causes the at least one processor to: detect, via a user device, a digital image being scanned that comprises machine-readable matrix code that includes embedded data modules, wherein the embedded data modules comprise encoded data to access a selectable link to a webpage for a construction site (See ¶¶ [0077], [0102], Teaches that Mobile device 602 scans a unique barcode, of the arranged plurality of barcodes, to send a web application request 606 to execute a remote data processing system to access a feature or service available through a web application. Web application request 606 may be based on a unique web resource encoded within a respective unique barcode, and determines whether a third party user response is required in step 608. If a third party user response is not required, the method proceeds to retrieves requested data 610 from a database associated with the arranged barcodes. Retrieved request data 610 subsequently returns response data 616 to the mobile device 602. If the service involves an interactive process (e.g., a request is required in step 608), then the web application initiates a request response 612 asking for input from a third party (not shown) that is identified in web application request 606. The web application waits until it receives a response input 614 from a third party. Received response input 614 may be processed and structured as response data 616 prior to transmitting said data to mobile device 602. It is understood that the service associated with each QR code may involve any type of automated, computer based service, e.g., executing a program, launching a web site, running a web app, sending a text, making a call, etc. The second client 904 provides a system by which an end user (e.g., a person on a job site) scans a QR barcode, of the plurality of QR barcodes on the arranged barcode canvas 400A, to initiate construction process 600 outlined, e.g., in FIGS. 6 and 8B.);
receive, via the user device, a user input selecting the selectable link to the webpage (See ¶¶ [0063], [0088], Teaches that a user engages a web application to create a construction project directory on a computer readable storage medium that is associated with a specific construction project. The construction project directory including at least one sub-directory that is accessible at a unique web resource. The at least one sub-directory configured to receive and store a set of construction project files throughout the duration of a given construction project. Authorized users may upload or revise construction project files to the at least one sub-directory as construction project tasks are completed. The scannable code arrangement(s) on the design documents are used to access the project-specific database. The project-specific database is compartmentalized into, e.g., three database categories accessible through the scannable code arrangement(s) during the construction process 800B, the three database categories comprising documentation, communication, and safety. It follows that the scannable code arrangement(s) are analogously compartmentalized, the three scannable code categories comprising documentation codes, communication codes, and safety codes.).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of display, via a user interface of the user device, the selectable link to the webpage configured to receive authentication credentials; display, via the user interface, the webpage configured to receive authentication credentials to access location-specific files associated with the construction site; receive, via the user device, user authentication credentials from a user of the user device, the user authentication credentials defining a permitted access level and being associated with either an unpaid subscription or a paid subscription; and provide, via the user interface and based on the permitted access level, access to one or more functionalities related to the location-specific files associated with the construction site, wherein the one or more functionalities include performing edits to the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities are limited if the authentication credentials are associated with the unpaid subscription, relative to the one or more functionalities being available with the paid subscription.
Shi, from analogous art, teaches display, via a user interface of the user device, the selectable link to the webpage configured to receive authentication credentials; display, via the user interface, the webpage configured to receive authentication credentials to access location-specific files associated with the construction site; receive, via the user device, user authentication credentials from a user of the user device (See ¶¶ [0024], [0030], Teaches that In step 204, user 100 uses a camera on mobile device 102 to capture the QR code. The QR code may encode a URL of the website and other information such as a merchant ID, a randomly generated session ID, a transaction ID, etc. Code reading software may decode the QR code for the application. The application may inform mobile device 102 that login credentials to the website URL are requested. If user 100 has an account, user 100 enters the login credentials into mobile device 102 in step 212. User 100 may enter a user name and a password using a keyboard, keypad, touchscreen, voice command, or through other methods of user input. Mobile device 102 may transmit the login credentials to website server 108 for authentication of user 100. If website server 108 is able to authenticate user 100 with the login credentials, website server 108 may link the device ID to the login credentials so that user 100 may initiate future login requests from mobile device 102 by transmitting the device ID. Website server 108 may generate a login confirmation page to mobile device 102 to grant user 100 access to the website.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Shi into Hesnor in order to provide ways for users to login to websites conveniently, securely, and efficiently (See Shi ¶ [0004]).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of the user authentication credentials defining a permitted access level and being associated with either an unpaid subscription or a paid subscription; and provide, via the user interface and based on the permitted access level, access to one or more functionalities related to the location-specific files associated with the construction site, wherein the one or more functionalities include performing edits to the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities are limited if the authentication credentials are associated with the unpaid subscription, relative to the one or more functionalities being available with the paid subscription.
Gallagher, from analogous art, teaches the user authentication credentials defining a permitted access level and being associated with either an unpaid subscription or a paid subscription (See ¶¶ [0092], [0141]-[0142], Teaches that different subscription levels may be available for purchase from the platform. For example, it may be free to create an account under a free subscription, and the free subscription may provide access to some basic features of the platform. Additional levels of paid subscriptions may be available for purchase (e.g., with one-time payments or recurring payments), and each paid subscription level may offer a greater quantity (or greater quality of) features. For example, a free subscription may allow the user to create a video for a specific theme, but may not offer access to automatic video editing, whereas a first paid subscription level may offer access to basic automatic video editing (e.g., shorten silences and pauses and combine uploaded B-roll with recorded video responses), and a second paid subscription level may offer access to advanced video editing (e.g., sentiment analysis and addition of music based on determined sentiment). The user may select a subscription level when first creating the account with the platform and may upgrade or downgrade subscription levels at times after the initial account creation.);
and provide, via the user interface and based on the permitted access level, access to one or more functionalities related to the location-specific files associated with the construction site, wherein the one or more functionalities include performing edits to the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities are limited if the authentication credentials are associated with the unpaid subscription, relative to the one or more functionalities being available with the paid subscription (See ¶¶ [0092], [0141]-[0142], Teaches that different subscription levels may be available for purchase from the platform. For example, it may be free to create an account under a free subscription, and the free subscription may provide access to some basic features of the platform. Additional levels of paid subscriptions may be available for purchase (e.g., with one-time payments or recurring payments), and each paid subscription level may offer a greater quantity (or greater quality of) features. For example, a free subscription may allow the user to create a video for a specific theme, but may not offer access to automatic video editing, whereas a first paid subscription level may offer access to basic automatic video editing (e.g., shorten silences and pauses and combine uploaded B-roll with recorded video responses), and a second paid subscription level may offer access to advanced video editing (e.g., sentiment analysis and addition of music based on determined sentiment). The user may select a subscription level when first creating the account with the platform and may upgrade or downgrade subscription levels at times after the initial account creation.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gallagher into the combination of Hesnor and Shi in order to restrict use of these functions to only users with these subscriptions (See Gallagher ¶ [00054]).
As to claim 12, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the system according to claim 11 above. Hesnor further teaches wherein the machine-readable matrix code comprises a quick response (QR) code (See ¶¶ [0077], [0102], Teaches that Mobile device 602 scans a unique barcode, of the arranged plurality of barcodes, to send a web application request 606 to execute a remote data processing system to access a feature or service available through a web application. Web application request 606 may be based on a unique web resource encoded within a respective unique barcode, and determines whether a third party user response is required in step 608. If a third party user response is not required, the method proceeds to retrieves requested data 610 from a database associated with the arranged barcodes. Retrieved request data 610 subsequently returns response data 616 to the mobile device 602. If the service involves an interactive process (e.g., a request is required in step 608), then the web application initiates a request response 612 asking for input from a third party (not shown) that is identified in web application request 606. The web application waits until it receives a response input 614 from a third party. Received response input 614 may be processed and structured as response data 616 prior to transmitting said data to mobile device 602. It is understood that the service associated with each QR code may involve any type of automated, computer based service, e.g., executing a program, launching a web site, running a web app, sending a text, making a call, etc. The second client 904 provides a system by which an end user (e.g., a person on a job site) scans a QR barcode, of the plurality of QR barcodes on the arranged barcode canvas 400A, to initiate construction process 600 outlined, e.g., in FIGS. 6 and 8B).
As to claim 13, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the system according to claim 11 above. Hesnor further teaches wherein the scanning comprises performing pattern recognition on the machine-readable matrix code to decipher the embedded data modules (See ¶¶ [0077], [0102], Teaches that Mobile device 602 scans a unique barcode, of the arranged plurality of barcodes, to send a web application request 606 to execute a remote data processing system to access a feature or service available through a web application. Web application request 606 may be based on a unique web resource encoded within a respective unique barcode, and determines whether a third party user response is required in step 608. If a third party user response is not required, the method proceeds to retrieves requested data 610 from a database associated with the arranged barcodes. Retrieved request data 610 subsequently returns response data 616 to the mobile device 602. If the service involves an interactive process (e.g., a request is required in step 608), then the web application initiates a request response 612 asking for input from a third party (not shown) that is identified in web application request 606. The web application waits until it receives a response input 614 from a third party. Received response input 614 may be processed and structured as response data 616 prior to transmitting said data to mobile device 602. It is understood that the service associated with each QR code may involve any type of automated, computer based service, e.g., executing a program, launching a web site, running a web app, sending a text, making a call, etc. The second client 904 provides a system by which an end user (e.g., a person on a job site) scans a QR barcode, of the plurality of QR barcodes on the arranged barcode canvas 400A, to initiate construction process 600 outlined, e.g., in FIGS. 6 and 8B.)
As to claim 14, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the system according to claim 11 above. Hesnor further teaches wherein the location-specific files comprise worksite documentation selected from the group consisting of worksite permits, site plans, worksite compliance reports, worksite inspection reports, architectural drawings, schedules, work orders, safety reports, certificates of insurance, worksite specifications, project diaries, requests for information, contracts, purchase orders, change orders, worksite drawings, progress reports, work orders, a works diary, works passing records, test results, supply registers, sample records, measurement books, attendance records, concrete pouring requests, non-conformance reports, and bills records (See ¶¶ [0039]-[0045], Teaches that One or more embodiments of the present invention would enable a project owner to scan a respective barcode, of an arranged plurality of barcodes, to trigger a pre-programmed sequence of events that would be utilized to view one or more project documents. The project documents may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: (i) design drawings; (ii) specifications; (iii) addenda; (iv) record drawings; (v) approved equipment submittals; (vi) equipment operations and maintenance manuals; (vii) equipment start-up reports; (viii) equipment demonstration and training reports; (ix) equipment spare parts; (x) equipment preventative maintenance instructions; (xi) balancing reports; (xii) material safety data sheets; (xiii) commissioning checklists; (xiv) associated sustainability-related documentation; and (xv) equipment warrantees. One or more embodiments of the present invention may enable a person (e.g., a remote user) to scan a respective barcode, of an arranged plurality of barcodes, to trigger a pre-programmed sequence of events that may access one or more general requirement submittals. The general requirement submittals may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: (i) permits; (ii) workers compensation certificate schedule, (iii) equal employment opportunity affidavit; (iv) minority business enterprise affidavit; (v) performance bond form; (vi) payment bond form; (vii) certificate of insurance form; (viii) certificate of substantial completion form; (ix) affidavit of release of liens form; (x) record change order requests; (xi) record change orders; (xii) schedule of values; (xiii) progress payment procedures; (xiv) project meetings; (xv) construction progress reporting; (xvi) photographic documentation; (xvii) code-required special inspections and procedures; (xviii) final cleaning; (xix) completion and correction list; and (xx) project record document).
As to claim 16, Hesnor teaches A computer-implemented method for permission-based cloud storage and file sharing (See ¶¶ [0063], [0113], Teaches that a user engages a web application to create a construction project directory on a computer readable storage medium that is associated with a specific construction project. The construction project directory including at least one sub-directory that is accessible at a unique web resource. The at least one sub-directory configured to receive and store a set of construction project files throughout the duration of a given construction project. Authorized users may upload or revise construction project files to the at least one sub-directory as construction project tasks are completed. FIG. 1 depicts a computing system 10 that may comprise any type of computing device and for example includes at least one processor 12, memory 20, an input/output (I/O) 14 (e.g., one or more I/O interfaces and/or devices), and a communications pathway 16.),
the method comprising: storing location-specific files associated with at least one worksite location, wherein the at least one worksite location comprises a construction site (See ¶¶ [0063], [0088], Teaches that a user engages a web application to create a construction project directory on a computer readable storage medium that is associated with a specific construction project. The construction project directory including at least one sub-directory that is accessible at a unique web resource. The at least one sub-directory configured to receive and store a set of construction project files throughout the duration of a given construction project. Authorized users may upload or revise construction project files to the at least one sub-directory as construction project tasks are completed. The scannable code arrangement(s) on the design documents are used to access the project-specific database. The project-specific database is compartmentalized into, e.g., three database categories accessible through the scannable code arrangement(s) during the construction process 800B, the three database categories comprising documentation, communication, and safety. It follows that the scannable code arrangement(s) are analogously compartmentalized, the three scannable code categories comprising documentation codes, communication codes, and safety codes.);
determining that a user is attempting to access, based on the user scanning a digital image posted at the construction site via a user device and providing authentication credentials via the user device, the location-specific files associated with the construction site (See ¶¶ [0077], [0102], Teaches that Mobile device 602 scans a unique barcode, of the arranged plurality of barcodes, to send a web application request 606 to execute a remote data processing system to access a feature or service available through a web application. Web application request 606 may be based on a unique web resource encoded within a respective unique barcode, and determines whether a third party user response is required in step 608. If a third party user response is not required, the method proceeds to retrieves requested data 610 from a database associated with the arranged barcodes. Retrieved request data 610 subsequently returns response data 616 to the mobile device 602. If the service involves an interactive process (e.g., a request is required in step 608), then the web application initiates a request response 612 asking for input from a third party (not shown) that is identified in web application request 606. The web application waits until it receives a response input 614 from a third party. Received response input 614 may be processed and structured as response data 616 prior to transmitting said data to mobile device 602. It is understood that the service associated with each QR code may involve any type of automated, computer based service, e.g., executing a program, launching a web site, running a web app, sending a text, making a call, etc. The second client 904 provides a system by which an end user (e.g., a person on a job site) scans a QR barcode, of the plurality of QR barcodes on the arranged barcode canvas 400A, to initiate construction process 600 outlined, e.g., in FIGS. 6 and 8B.).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of providing authentication credentials via the user device; wherein the digital image posted at the construction site comprises a machine-readable matrix code that includes embedded data modules encoding a selectable link to a webpage for the construction site configured to receive the authentication credentials; ascertaining a permitted access level of the user attempting to access the location-specific files associated with the construction site, the ascertaining being based on the authentication credentials provided by the user via the user device and whether the authentication credentials are associated with a user account that is associated with an unpaid subscription or a paid subscription, the authentication credentials defining the permitted access level; and providing, based on the ascertained permitted access level, corresponding access to one or more functionalities associated with the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities include performing edits to the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities are limited if the authentication credentials are associated with the unpaid subscriptions relative to the one or more functionalities being available with the paid subscription.
Shi, from analogous art, teaches of providing authentication credentials via the user device; wherein the digital image posted at the construction site comprises a machine-readable matrix code that includes embedded data modules encoding a selectable link to a webpage for the construction site configured to receive the authentication credentials (See ¶¶ [0024], [0030], Teaches that In step 204, user 100 uses a camera on mobile device 102 to capture the QR code. The QR code may encode a URL of the website and other information such as a merchant ID, a randomly generated session ID, a transaction ID, etc. Code reading software may decode the QR code for the application. The application may inform mobile device 102 that login credentials to the website URL are requested. If user 100 has an account, user 100 enters the login credentials into mobile device 102 in step 212. User 100 may enter a user name and a password using a keyboard, keypad, touchscreen, voice command, or through other methods of user input. Mobile device 102 may transmit the login credentials to website server 108 for authentication of user 100. If website server 108 is able to authenticate user 100 with the login credentials, website server 108 may link the device ID to the login credentials so that user 100 may initiate future login requests from mobile device 102 by transmitting the device ID. Website server 108 may generate a login confirmation page to mobile device 102 to grant user 100 access to the website.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Shi into Hesnor in order to provide ways for users to login to websites conveniently, securely, and efficiently (See Shi ¶ [0004]).
However, it does not expressly teach the details of ascertaining a permitted access level of the user attempting to access the location-specific files associated with the construction site, the ascertaining being based on the authentication credentials provided by the user via the user device and whether the authentication credentials are associated with a user account that is associated with an unpaid subscription or a paid subscription, the authentication credentials defining the permitted access level; and providing, based on the ascertained permitted access level, corresponding access to one or more functionalities associated with the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities include performing edits to the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities are limited if the authentication credentials are associated with the unpaid subscriptions relative to the one or more functionalities being available with the paid subscription.
Gallagher, from analogous art, teaches ascertaining a permitted access level of the user attempting to access the location-specific files associated with the construction site, the ascertaining being based on the authentication credentials provided by the user via the user device and whether the authentication credentials are associated with a user account that is associated with an unpaid subscription or a paid subscription, the authentication credentials defining the permitted access level (See ¶¶ [0092], [0141]-[0142], Teaches that different subscription levels may be available for purchase from the platform. For example, it may be free to create an account under a free subscription, and the free subscription may provide access to some basic features of the platform. Additional levels of paid subscriptions may be available for purchase (e.g., with one-time payments or recurring payments), and each paid subscription level may offer a greater quantity (or greater quality of) features. For example, a free subscription may allow the user to create a video for a specific theme, but may not offer access to automatic video editing, whereas a first paid subscription level may offer access to basic automatic video editing (e.g., shorten silences and pauses and combine uploaded B-roll with recorded video responses), and a second paid subscription level may offer access to advanced video editing (e.g., sentiment analysis and addition of music based on determined sentiment). The user may select a subscription level when first creating the account with the platform and may upgrade or downgrade subscription levels at times after the initial account creation.);
and providing, based on the ascertained permitted access level, corresponding access to one or more functionalities associated with the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities include performing edits to the location-specific files, wherein the one or more functionalities are limited if the authentication credentials are associated with the unpaid subscriptions relative to the one or more functionalities being available with the paid subscription (See ¶¶ [0092], [0141]-[0142], Teaches that different subscription levels may be available for purchase from the platform. For example, it may be free to create an account under a free subscription, and the free subscription may provide access to some basic features of the platform. Additional levels of paid subscriptions may be available for purchase (e.g., with one-time payments or recurring payments), and each paid subscription level may offer a greater quantity (or greater quality of) features. For example, a free subscription may allow the user to create a video for a specific theme, but may not offer access to automatic video editing, whereas a first paid subscription level may offer access to basic automatic video editing (e.g., shorten silences and pauses and combine uploaded B-roll with recorded video responses), and a second paid subscription level may offer access to advanced video editing (e.g., sentiment analysis and addition of music based on determined sentiment). The user may select a subscription level when first creating the account with the platform and may upgrade or downgrade subscription levels at times after the initial account creation.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gallagher into the combination of Hesnor and Shi in order to restrict use of these functions to only users with these subscriptions (See Gallagher ¶ [00054]).
As to claim 19, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the method according to claim 16 above. Hesnor further teaches wherein the location-specific files comprise worksite documentation selected from the group consisting of worksite permits, site plans, worksite compliance reports, worksite inspection reports, architectural drawings, schedules, work orders, safety reports, certificates of insurance, worksite specifications, project diaries, requests for information, contracts, purchase orders, change orders, worksite drawings, progress reports, work orders, a works diary, works passing records, test results, supply registers, sample records, measurement books, attendance records, concrete pouring requests, non-conformance reports, and bills records (See ¶¶ [0039]-[0045], Teaches that One or more embodiments of the present invention would enable a project owner to scan a respective barcode, of an arranged plurality of barcodes, to trigger a pre-programmed sequence of events that would be utilized to view one or more project documents. The project documents may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: (i) design drawings; (ii) specifications; (iii) addenda; (iv) record drawings; (v) approved equipment submittals; (vi) equipment operations and maintenance manuals; (vii) equipment start-up reports; (viii) equipment demonstration and training reports; (ix) equipment spare parts; (x) equipment preventative maintenance instructions; (xi) balancing reports; (xii) material safety data sheets; (xiii) commissioning checklists; (xiv) associated sustainability-related documentation; and (xv) equipment warrantees. One or more embodiments of the present invention may enable a person (e.g., a remote user) to scan a respective barcode, of an arranged plurality of barcodes, to trigger a pre-programmed sequence of events that may access one or more general requirement submittals. The general requirement submittals may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: (i) permits; (ii) workers compensation certificate schedule, (iii) equal employment opportunity affidavit; (iv) minority business enterprise affidavit; (v) performance bond form; (vi) payment bond form; (vii) certificate of insurance form; (viii) certificate of substantial completion form; (ix) affidavit of release of liens form; (x) record change order requests; (xi) record change orders; (xii) schedule of values; (xiii) progress payment procedures; (xiv) project meetings; (xv) construction progress reporting; (xvi) photographic documentation; (xvii) code-required special inspections and procedures; (xviii) final cleaning; (xix) completion and correction list; and (xx) project record document).
As to claim 24, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the method according to claim 16 above. Hesnor further teaches wherein the machine- readable matrix code comprises a quick response (QR) code (See ¶¶ [0077], [0102], Teaches that Mobile device 602 scans a unique barcode, of the arranged plurality of barcodes, to send a web application request 606 to execute a remote data processing system to access a feature or service available through a web application. Web application request 606 may be based on a unique web resource encoded within a respective unique barcode, and determines whether a third party user response is required in step 608. If a third party user response is not required, the method proceeds to retrieves requested data 610 from a database associated with the arranged barcodes. Retrieved request data 610 subsequently returns response data 616 to the mobile device 602. If the service involves an interactive process (e.g., a request is required in step 608), then the web application initiates a request response 612 asking for input from a third party (not shown) that is identified in web application request 606. The web application waits until it receives a response input 614 from a third party. Received response input 614 may be processed and structured as response data 616 prior to transmitting said data to mobile device 602. It is understood that the service associated with each QR code may involve any type of automated, computer based service, e.g., executing a program, launching a web site, running a web app, sending a text, making a call, etc. The second client 904 provides a system by which an end user (e.g., a person on a job site) scans a QR barcode, of the plurality of QR barcodes on the arranged barcode canvas 400A, to initiate construction process 600 outlined, e.g., in FIGS. 6 and 8B).
As to claim 25, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the method according to claim 16 above. Hesnor further teaches wherein the scanning comprises performing pattern recognition on the machine-readable matrix code to decipher the embedded data modules (See ¶¶ [0077], [0102], Teaches that Mobile device 602 scans a unique barcode, of the arranged plurality of barcodes, to send a web application request 606 to execute a remote data processing system to access a feature or service available through a web application. Web application request 606 may be based on a unique web resource encoded within a respective unique barcode, and determines whether a third party user response is required in step 608. If a third party user response is not required, the method proceeds to retrieves requested data 610 from a database associated with the arranged barcodes. Retrieved request data 610 subsequently returns response data 616 to the mobile device 602. If the service involves an interactive process (e.g., a request is required in step 608), then the web application initiates a request response 612 asking for input from a third party (not shown) that is identified in web application request 606. The web application waits until it receives a response input 614 from a third party. Received response input 614 may be processed and structured as response data 616 prior to transmitting said data to mobile device 602. It is understood that the service associated with each QR code may involve any type of automated, computer based service, e.g., executing a program, launching a web site, running a web app, sending a text, making a call, etc. The second client 904 provides a system by which an end user (e.g., a person on a job site) scans a QR barcode, of the plurality of QR barcodes on the arranged barcode canvas 400A, to initiate construction process 600 outlined, e.g., in FIGS. 6 and 8B.)
Claims 7 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesnor (US 20210312100 A1) and Shi (US 20130167208 A1) and Gallagher (US 20240397169 A1) and further in view of Hankins, JR et al. (US 20150347765 A1).
As to claim 7, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the environment according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the ascertaining the permitted access level is based on verifying access control granted to the user account that is associated with the authentication credentials, the permitted access level for both the paid subscription and the unpaid subscription including an initial landing page that includes: (i) a project files input to access the location-specific files, (ii) a contact support input for receiving technical or informational support, (iii) a settings input for modifying user settings of the user account, and (iv) a logout input for signing out of the user account.
Hankins, JR. et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the ascertaining the permitted access level is based on verifying access control granted to the user account that is associated with the authentication credentials, the permitted access level for both the paid subscription and the unpaid subscription including an initial landing page that includes: (i) a project files input to access the location-specific files, (ii) a contact support input for receiving technical or informational support, (iii) a settings input for modifying user settings of the user account, and (iv) a logout input for signing out of the user account (See ¶ [0107], Teaches that FIG. 11 is an example main view screen in accordance with an example embodiment. The FIG. 11 example main view screen may be the first view presented to the user after a successful login operation. As shown in FIG. 11, it may include a representation of a virtual file structure of the backend data store. File names, descriptions, file sizes, created and updated timestamps, etc., are provided for each object (as appropriate). Indications as to whether upload and/or download notifications are activated also are shown on an individual object level. Icons enabling users to transmit, view, edit, and delete individual items also are shown in registration with those entries. Paging controls also are included in the event that there are many objects that do not fit conveniently on display screen. Dedicated options for creating a new folder, uploading a new item, and sending a file request are provided. Each of these operations will be discussed, in turn, below.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Hankins, JR. et al. into the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher order to file transfer systems and/or methods that enable a single provider to offer to different customers customizable file transfer solutions that are secure, scalable to handle enterprise-level amounts of data, and able to meet customer-specific needs even though such needs are not necessarily known in advance (See Hankins, JR. et al. ¶ [0002]).
As to claim 21, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the environment according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein one or more of the plurality of computing devices distribute one or more automatic electronic notifications to one or more subscriber accounts associated with the paid subscription, the one or more automatic electronic notifications being distributed in accordance with a subscription preference for the construction site, the one or more automatic electronic notifications indicating at least one occurrence selected from the group consisting of: (a) upload of one or more files associated with the construction site to the location-specific files, (b) download of at least one of the location-specific files associated with the construction site, (c) an edit to one or more of the location-specific files associated with the construction site, (d) one or more viewing instances of a file of the location-specific files associated with the construction site.
Hankins, JR. et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein one or more of the plurality of computing devices distribute one or more automatic electronic notifications to one or more subscriber accounts associated with the paid subscription, the one or more automatic electronic notifications being distributed in accordance with a subscription preference for the construction site, the one or more automatic electronic notifications indicating at least one occurrence selected from the group consisting of: (a) upload of one or more files associated with the construction site to the location-specific files, (b) download of at least one of the location-specific files associated with the construction site, (c) an edit to one or more of the location-specific files associated with the construction site, (d) one or more viewing instances of a file of the location-specific files associated with the construction site (See ¶¶ [0087]-[0088], [0090] Teaches that For account holders, notifications may be processed through email or the like, but in some instances may require successful login to a portal to retrieve the data. For email notifications to non-account holders, notifications may be processed through email or the like, but may require passwords and/or other controls that are not necessarily processed through a dedicated portal. In other cases, a non-account holder may be prompted to create an account to access a file. A sender optionally may specify to whom the file should be sent, whether and/or how the user should be notified (e.g., via email notification, API interface notification, no dedicated notification at all), whether to password protect files, whether to apply “expiration” timing to a download link and/or the data itself (and, if so, optionally what the expiration date and/or time should be in absolute or relative terms), whether to apply a maximum number of times the file can be downloaded (and, if so, optionally what the maximum should be), whether and which IP blocks and/or addresses the file can be downloaded to, and/or the like. In certain example embodiments, these and/or other options may have minimum or forced settings defined by an admin user. In cases where a minimum is set by an admin user, further security details may be specified at the time of sending. It will be appreciated from the above that notifications may be sent automatically or manually (e.g., based on a specific user action). Parameters may be set, for example, to automatically notify users when files are uploaded, when files are uploaded to a specific folder or sub-folder, at a specific time (e.g., for daily status updates, monthly invoices, quarterly account statements, etc.), and/or the like. It will be appreciated that automatic notifications may be generated in addition to, or in place of, manual notifications.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Hankins, JR. et al. into the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher in order to file transfer systems and/or methods that enable a single provider to offer to different customers customizable file transfer solutions that are secure, scalable to handle enterprise-level amounts of data, and able to meet customer-specific needs even though such needs are not necessarily known in advance (See Hankins, JR. et al. ¶ [0002]).
As to claim 22, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher and Hankins, JR. et al. teaches the environment according to claim 21 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the subscription preference for the construction site is based on the construction site being included within an administrative division identified by the user.
McCally et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the subscription preference for the construction site is based on the construction site being included within an administrative division identified by the user (See ¶¶ [0035], [0036] Teaches that The system 10 comprises an order workflow system 12, an order management system 14, order workflow network services 16, shop/field client devices 1-N, and an Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) system 18. The system 10 is functional to process job numbers, work order numbers, and line item numbers for a construction related work orders. The work order data received from the order management system 14 includes pre-defined, formatted data structures identifying job number and a plurality of control numbers associated with the job number. Each control number comprises a line item number combined with a job number. The control number can identify at least one inventory item, an associated process control, or data metric used in a particular fabrication or distribution process.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of McCally et al. into the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher and Hankins, JR. et al. in order to manage fabrication and distribution of component parts for use in construction or industrial projects (See McCally et al. ¶ [0013]).
As to claim 23, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher and Hankins, JR. et al. teaches the environment according to claim 21 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the subscription preference for the construction site is based on the construction site being included within a plurality of units within a development.
McCally et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the subscription preference for the construction site is based on the construction site being included within a plurality of units within a development (See ¶¶ [0035], [0036] Teaches that The system 10 comprises an order workflow system 12, an order management system 14, order workflow network services 16, shop/field client devices 1-N, and an Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) system 18. The system 10 is functional to process job numbers, work order numbers, and line item numbers for a construction related work orders. The work order data received from the order management system 14 includes pre-defined, formatted data structures identifying job number and a plurality of control numbers associated with the job number. Each control number comprises a line item number combined with a job number. The control number can identify at least one inventory item, an associated process control, or data metric used in a particular fabrication or distribution process.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of McCally et al. into the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher and Hankins, JR. et al. in order to manage fabrication and distribution of component parts for use in construction or industrial projects (See McCally et al. ¶ [0013]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesnor (US 20210312100 A1) and Shi (US 20130167208 A1) and Gallagher (US 20240397169 A1) and further in view of AKELLA et al. (US 20130219176 A1).
As to claim 8, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the environment according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the permitted access level is associated with one of a plurality of access levels that comprise: a first access level associated with the unpaid subscription, wherein the one or more functionalities of the first access level comprise permission to view the location- specific files while restricting ability to upload, edit, or download the location-specific files; and a second access level associated with the paid subscription, wherein the one or more functionalities of the paid subscription comprise permission to view, upload, edit, and download the location-specific files.
AKELLA et al., from analogous art, teaches wherein the permitted access level is associated with one of a plurality of access levels that comprise: a first access level associated with the unpaid subscription, wherein the one or more functionalities of the first access level comprise permission to view the location- specific files while restricting ability to upload, edit, or download the location-specific files; and a second access level associated with the paid subscription, wherein the one or more functionalities of the paid subscription comprise permission to view, upload, edit, and download the location-specific files (See ¶¶ [0091], Teaches that The policy management system of the ACXS SVFM system is coupled to policy management console that allows administrators ability to define policy controls that augment existing policies and permissions defined at the level of enterprise storage systems. The Averail CloudXchange service enables service administrator to define a set of permissions and associate/grant those with groups and users. The Averail CloudXchange service also inherits policies from source ECM storage domains and integrates with those defined within the Averail service. For example, inherited permissions from SharePoint include but are not limited to “Full Control”—users can view, add, update, delete, share, approve and customize; “Contribute”—users can view, add, update, delete and download documents; “Read”—users can view pages, list items and download documents; “Limited Access”—users can view specific lists, document libraries, list items, folders and documents when given permissions; “View Only” users can view pages, list items and documents.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of AKELLA et al. into the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher in order to the control of enterprise content across and among a plurality of communication storage locations including on-premise content management systems, cloud based enterprise content management systems, and cloud based storage service (See AKELLA et al. ¶ [0005]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hesnor (US 20210312100 A1) and Shi (US 20130167208 A1) and Gallagher (US 20240397169 A1) and further in view of Curry (US 20090292470 A1).
As to claim 9, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher teaches the environment according to claim 1 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of the at least one of the plurality of interconnected computing devices is further configured to: calculate latitude and longitude of the construction site; track daily precipitation totals determined to occur at the latitude and longitude of the construction site; and store the daily precipitation totals.
Curry, from analogous art, teaches wherein at least a portion of the plurality of interconnected computing devices is further configured to: calculate latitude and longitude of the construction site (See ¶ [0029], Teaches that each geographic location is associated with coordinates, such as by using longitude and latitude measurements, global positioning systems (GPS), or triangulation techniques);
track daily precipitation totals determined to occur at the latitude and longitude of the construction site; and store the daily precipitation totals (See ¶¶ [0053], [0027], [0082], Teaches that the weather, in this scenario the precipitation, is measured at one or more of the locus at the construction sites. The remote monitoring may be conducted using satellite imagery, locally disposed weather stations, Doppler radar, or other sources of meteorological or weather data. In some embodiments, data source systems may also implement processing or calculation of raw data to provide pre-processing for the monitoring system. If desired, monitoring systems may include their own data source systems or devices, while in other systems, such data may be received in part or in whole from third party sources of data. A monitoring report of precipitation can be generated, for instance, which is published in intervals, such as daily, weekly, monthly or quarterly. The database may also store specific information corresponding to a plurality of different weather events that meet certain criteria (e.g., a threshold). The database may also store information to track the commencement of a weather event and, for example, its accumulation.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Curry into the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher in order to measure precipitation impact on construction and engineering sites to assess working conditions and construction liabilities (See Curry ¶ [0001]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesnor (US 20210312100 A1) and Shi (US 20130167208 A1) and Gallagher (US 20240397169 A1) and Curry (US 20090292470 A1) and further in view of Gati (US 20130226876 A1).
As to claim 10, the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher and Curry teaches the environment according to claim 9 above. However, it does not expressly teach the details of wherein the stored daily precipitation totals are accessible to the user based on the ascertained permitted access level.
Gati, from analogous art, teaches wherein the stored daily precipitation totals are accessible to the user based on the ascertained permitted access level (See ¶¶ [0036], [0026], Teaches that The storage adapter 232 of the server 228 also provides protocols and tools used to perform various operations on files including, but not limited to, version control and setting file or folder permissions (e.g., administrator, read, read/write, share, etc.). In one embodiment, the storage adapter 232 can enact permissions and/or security credentials that are merely those permissions set by the cloud storage system 204 and/or the cloud A 208 and/or the cloud B 216. In another embodiment, the storage adapter 232 employs the least restrictive permissions at the cloud storage system 204, and imposes a separate permissions protocol specific to the user client 256 or 276 or to the server 228. In another embodiment, the system 204 permission rules are selectable by users through the user client 256 or 276. FIG. 2 illustrates an example an architecture of a system 200 for providing file contents from a server to a cloud storage system, synchronizing files between computing devices and the cloud storage system, and permitting users to define local file structures that differ from the file structure at the cloud storage system. The file contents, as well as meta-data including the cloud storage location, file contents version, a hash of the file contents, and other meta-data, can also be provided to a user computing device, e.g., a device structured like the computer system 100. The user defined local file structure can be created upon downloading the file by reference to stored user preferences that use file meta-data to create a file path (e.g., folders and sub-folders) used store files.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gati into the combination of Hesnor and Shi and Gallagher and Curry in order to keep synchronized across all folders and file copies, and these multiple copies are prone to disorganization (See Gati ¶ [0009]).
Conclusion
James Hollister
/J.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2499 3/25/26
/PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499