DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Amendment filed 16JAN2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every 112(b), 103 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 17OCT2025. Applicant's arguments filed 16JAN2026 have been fully considered and they are persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7,25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, the specification as originally filed describes the sedimentation period is e.g. from about 1 min to about 30 minutes (par. [0055]). The specification as originally filed does not support an unbounded lower range including a sedimentation period of less than 30 min.
Regarding claim 25, the specification as originally filed describes an agitation period of from about 0.1 second to about 120 minutes (min; par. [0053]). The specification as originally filed does not support an unbounded lower range including an agitation period of less than 30 min.
Regarding claim 30, the claim requires the combination of activated sludge and possibly also a waste stabilization pond process, or an algae-based process; however, the specification as originally filed describes activated sludge, a waste stabilization pond process, and an algae-based process as alternatives for a secondary treatment process (par. [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 30, the claim requires the combination of activated sludge and possibly also a waste stabilization pond process, or an algae-based process; however, the specification as originally filed describes activated sludge, a waste stabilization pond process, and an algae-based process as alternatives for a secondary treatment process. Presumably, the claim scope is intended as alternatives and thus the claim scope is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,5-9,11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FISCHER et. al. 1940 “Improved Sewage Clarification by Pre-Flocculation without Chemicals”.
Regarding claim 1, FISCHER teaches improved sewage clarification by pre-flocculation without chemicals (title) including a method for treatment of wastewater (water treatment or sewage; P280/third paragraph), comprising the steps of:
receiving a wastewater containing solid particles in suspension (P280/first paragraph), wherein no aggregation-enhancing compound is added to the wastewater (mechanical flocculation; P281/first paragraph under “mechanics of solids removal”;
agitating the wastewater for a specified agitation period under specified agitation conditions (using e.g. paddles; P283/first paragraph under “laboratory experiments”) sufficient to enable auto-flocculation (P281/first paragraph under “mechanics of solids removal”) of at least a portion the solid particles into flocs without adding chemical coagulant, chemical flocculant, or any other aggregation-enhancing compound, to provide an agitated wastewater;
allowing the agitated wastewater to settle for a specified sedimentation period to allow at least a portion of the flocs to settle (P283/first paragraph under “laboratory experiments”); and
separating at least a portion of the settled flocs from the agitated wastewater to provide a clarified wastewater effluent (see e.g. TABLE II).
Regarding claims 2,5, FISCHER teaches the specified agitation conditions comprise e.g. a specified mixing speed at 14 RPM (P283/first paragraph under “laboratory experiments”), which anticipates the claimed range of 5-100 RPM.
Regarding claim 6, FISCHER teaches the specified agitation period is e.g. 30 minutes (TABLE II), which anticipates the claimed range of from about 0.1 second to about 120 minutes.
Regarding claim 7, FISCHER teaches the specified sedimentation period is e.g. 20 minutes (TABLE II), which anticipates the claimed range of less than 30 minutes.
Regarding claim 8, FISCHER teaches the wastewater comprises a raw wastewater (TABLE II).
Regarding claim 9, FISCHER teaches the wastewater has a total suspended solids content of e.g. 896 ppm (or ~896 mg/L; Ortonville, Minn. TABLE II), which anticipates the claimed range of from about 200 mg/L to about 1500 mg/L.
Regarding claims 11-12, FISCHER teaches further comprising treating the clarified wastewater effluent in a secondary treatment process;
wherein the secondary treatment process comprises an activated sludge process (P298/last paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4,25,27-28,30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over FISCHER et. al. 1940 “Improved Sewage Clarification by Pre-Flocculation without Chemicals”.
Regarding claim 3-4, FISCHER does not specify a shear force or shear rate. However, FISCHER does teach that the flocs were delicate and that high speed vertical stirrers (i.e. high shear) are unsuitable. FISCHER teaches shear force or shear rate are results-effective variables that affects the floc structure and settling properties. Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed shear force or shear rate range because FISCHER teaches shear force or shear rate is a results-effective variable. See MPEP 2144.05 II, A & B.
Regarding claim 25, FISCHER teaches improved sewage clarification by pre-flocculation without chemicals (title) including a method for treatment of wastewater (water treatment or sewage; P280/third paragraph), comprising the steps of:
receiving a wastewater containing solid particles in suspension (P280/first paragraph), wherein no aggregation-enhancing compound is added to the wastewater (mechanical flocculation; P281/first paragraph under “mechanics of solids removal”;
agitating the wastewater for a specified agitation period under specified agitation conditions (using e.g. paddles; P283/first paragraph under “laboratory experiments”) of e.g. 30 minutes (TABLE II), which anticipates the claimed range of 30 minutes or less sufficient to enable auto-flocculation (P281/first paragraph under “mechanics of solids removal”) of at least a portion the solid particles into flocs without adding chemical coagulant, chemical flocculant, or any other aggregation-enhancing compound, to provide an agitated wastewater;
allowing the agitated wastewater to settle for a specified sedimentation period to allow at least a portion of the flocs to settle (P283/first paragraph under “laboratory experiments”); and
separating at least a portion of the settled flocs from the agitated wastewater to provide a clarified wastewater effluent (see e.g. TABLE II).
FISCHER does not specify a shear force or shear rate. However, FISCHER does teach that the flocs were delicate and that high speed vertical stirrers (i.e. high shear) are unsuitable. FISCHER teaches shear force or shear rate are results-effective variables that affects the floc structure and settling properties. Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed shear force or shear rate range because FISCHER teaches shear force or shear rate is a results-effective variable. See MPEP 2144.05 II, A & B.
Regarding claim 27, FISCHER teaches the wastewater has a total suspended solids content of e.g. 896 ppm (or ~896 mg/L; Ortonville, Minn. TABLE II), which anticipates the claimed range of from about 200 mg/L to about 1500 mg/L.
Regarding claims 28,30, FISCHER teaches further comprising treating the clarified wastewater effluent in a secondary treatment process comprising activated sludge (P298/last paragraph).
Claim(s) 10,29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FISCHER et. al. 1940 “Improved Sewage Clarification by Pre-Flocculation without Chemicals” in view of HORVATH (4049545).
Regarding claims 10,29, FISCHER is silent as to the wastewater comprises an effluent from a clarifier in a wastewater treatment process or blending activated sludge with raw wastewater. However, HORVATH teaches a chemical waste water treatment method (title, Fig.) comprising:
receiving the wastewater containing solid particles in suspension (C4/L20-26; Fig. 2 #2);
agitating the wastewater for a specified agitation period under specified agitation conditions sufficient to enable auto-flocculation of at least a portion of the solid particles into flocs to provide an agitated wastewater (C4/L32-33; C5/L23-29; note that only the agitation conditions is required);
allowing the agitated wastewater to settle for a specified sedimentation period to allow at least a portion of the flocs to settle (Fig. 2 #10; C6/L26-30); and
separating at least a portion of the settled flocs (Fig. 2 #11 are removed at the bottom) from the agitated wastewater to provide a clarified wastewater effluent (liquid from Fig. 2 #10 is removed from the top; C8/L59-66; C9/L53-58); and,
the wastewater comprises an effluent from a clarifier (e.g. Fig. 2 #12; note the recycle line #31) in a wastewater treatment process.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of FISCHER to include an effluent from a clarifier or activated sludge in order to efficiently separate wastewater by recycle flows as is known in the art. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Claim(s) 13-14,26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FISCHER et. al. 1940 “Improved Sewage Clarification by Pre-Flocculation without Chemicals” in view of HODAIFA (ES 2673673).
Regarding claim 13, FISCHER does not teach illuminating the wastewater simultaneously with the agitating of the wastewater. However, HODAIFA teaches a method for the treatment of wastewater based on photoxidation by ultraviolet light (title, Figs. see translation) including a stirred-tank reactor (Fig. 2 #C) with an ultraviolet lamp (Fig. 2 #5).
HODAIFA teaches photo-oxidation degrades organic matter (L311).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of FISCHER with illuminating while simultaneously agitating the wastewater of HODAIFA in order to remove the organic pollutants. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of water treatment. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claims 14,26, FISCHER’s modified device does not specify the amount of illuminance. However, FISCHER teaches a sufficient number of lamps that emit ultraviolet light and that allow the complete illumination of the reactor (L313-314). Clearly the amount of illuminance is a results-effective variable that affects the amount of photo-oxidation. Therefore, at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed illuminance range because HODAIFA teaches illuminance is a results-effective variable. See MPEP 2144.05 II, A & B.
Telephonic Inquiries
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Liam Royce/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777