Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sotman et al. (4,017,974) in view of Saidman et al. (2005/0092775).
With respect to claim 1, Sotman teaches a dental handpiece configured to detachably hold a cutting tool 30/32, the dental handpiece comprising a holding portion 28 provided with an insertion port into which the cutting tool is insertable, the holding portion being configured to hole the cutting tool inserted into the insertion port (col. 2, ll. 45-49, such that the chuck has a port to allow for the bur to be inserted), and a main body portion 24/26 configured to accommodate the holding portion (see figs), the main body portion being provided with a water introduction hole 72 and a plurality of chip air holes 52 (see fig. 8), the insertion portion and water introduction hole are arranged in a first direction, wherein the plurality of chip air holes provided in the main body portion are disposed to sandwich the water introduction hole, the water introduction hole and the plurality of chip air holes are oriented so that a spray water is ejected toward the cutting tool, the spray water formed by an air ejected from the plurality of chip air holes to hit water introduced from the water introduction hole (col. 3, ll. 50-68, col. 4, ll. 1-6). Sotman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not teach the chip air holes are disposed to sandwich the water introduction hole in a second direction, the second direction intersecting the first direction.
Saidman teaches a device for directing air and liquid comprising a liquid introduction hole 50 and a plurality of air holes 52, the plurality of air holes provided in the main body portion are disposed to sandwich the liquid introduction hole in a second direction, the second direction intersecting a first direction (see annotated figure below, fig. 4A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the air holes used to directed the liquid in the desired direction as taught by Sotman to further include air holes so as to sandwich the water introduction hole in a second direction as claimed in order to be able to have more control and direct the liquid as desired (see pars. 23-24)
With respect to claim 2, Sotman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of chip air holes include a first hole, a second hole, a third hole, and a fourth hole, the first hole and the second hole are arranged along the first direction, the third hole and the fourth hole are arranged along the first direction, the first hole and the third hole are arranged with the water introduction hole being interposed between the first hole and the third hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a first side with respect to a center of the water introduction hole in the first direction, and the second hole and the fourth hole are arranged with the water introduction hole being interposed between the second hole and the fourth hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a second side with respect to the center of the water introduction hole in the first direction, wherein each of the first hole and the third hole is inclined toward the water introduction hole, and each of the second hole and the fourth hole is inclined toward the water introduction hole, wherein the plurality of chip air holes include a first hole and a second hole, and wherein the first hole and the second hole are arranged with the water introduction hole being interposed between the first hole and the second hole in the second direction and, wherein each of the first hole and the second hole are inclined toward the water introduction hole.
Saidman further teaches with respect to claim 2, the plurality of chip air holes include a first hole 52, a second hole 52, a third hole 52, and a fourth hole 52, the first hole and the second hole are arranged along the first direction, the third hole and the fourth hole are arranged along the first direction, the first hole and the third hole are arranged with the liquid introduction hole 50 being interposed between the first hole and the third hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a first side with respect to a center of the water introduction hole in the first direction, and the second hole and the fourth hole are arranged with the liquid introduction hole 50 being interposed between the second hole and the fourth hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a second side with respect to the center of the water introduction hole in the first direction (see annotate figure below). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the air holes used to directed the liquid in the desired direction as taught by Sotman to further include four air holes as claimed in order to be able to direction the liquid as desired (see pars. 23-24)
With respect to claim 3, Sotman/Saidman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Sotman teaches the plurality of holes are included toward the water introduction hole (see fig. 8). Saidman further teaches wherein each of the first hole and the third hole is inclined toward the water introduction hole, and each of the second hole and the fourth hole is inclined toward the water introduction hole (see fig. 2).
With respect to claim 7, Sotman/Saidman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, Saidman further teaches wherein the plurality of chip air holes include a first hole and a second hole, and wherein the first hole and the second hole are arranged with the water introduction hole being interposed between the first hole and the second hole in the second direction (see annotated figure below). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the air holes used to directed the liquid in the desired direction as taught by Sotman to further include four air holes as claimed in order to be able to direction the liquid as desired (see pars. 23-24)
With respect to claim 8, Sotman/Saidman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Sotman teaching wherein each of the first hole and the second hole are inclined toward the water introduction hole (see fig. 8). Saidman further teaches wherein each of the first hole and the second hole are inclined toward the water introduction hole (see fig. 2).
With respect to claim 9, Sotman/Saidman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, Saidman further teaches wherein the first direction is orthogonal to the second direction (see annotated figure above).
With respect to claim 10, Sotman/Saidman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, Sotman further teaches wherein an opening of the water introduction hole faces towards a longitudinal axis of the insertion port (col. 5, ll. 1-36, such that the water is directed towards the bur which extends along the longitudinal axis, therefore, the opening is “towards” the longitudinal axis as claimed, see fig. 8).
With respect to claim 16, Sotman discloses a dental handpiece configured to detachably hold a cutting tool 30/32, the dental handpiece comprising a holding portion 28 provided with an insertion port into which the cutting tool is insertable, the holding portion being configured to hole the cutting tool inserted into the insertion port (col. 2, ll. 45-49, such that the chuck has a port to allow for the bur to be inserted), and a main body portion 24/26 configured to accommodate the holding portion (see figs), the main body portion being provided with a water introduction hole 72 and a plurality of chip air holes 52 (see fig. 8), the water introduction hole being connected to a water supply tube 48 and the plurality of chip air holes being connected to an air supply tube 44/46/68, wherein the insertion port and water introduction hole are arranged in a first direction (see annaoted figure above), wherein the plurality of chip air holes provided in the main body portion are disposed to sandwich the water introduction hole (see fig. 8, annotated figure below), the water introduction hole and the plurality of chip air holes are oriented so that a spray water is ejected toward the cutting tool, the spray water formed by an air ejected from the plurality of chip air holes to hit water introduced from the water introduction hole (col. 3, ll. 50-68, col. 4, ll. 1-6). Sotman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not teach the chip air holes are disposed to sandwich the water introduction hole in a second direction, the second direction intersecting the first direction.
Saidman teaches a device for directing air and liquid comprising a liquid introduction hole 50 and a plurality of air holes 52, the plurality of air holes provided in the main body portion are disposed to sandwich the liquid introduction hole in a second direction, the second direction intersecting a first direction (see annotated figure below, fig. 4A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the air holes used to directed the liquid in the desired direction as taught by Sotman to further include air holes so as to sandwich the water introduction hole in a second direction as claimed in order to be able to have more control and direct the liquid as desired (see pars. 23-24).
With respect to claim 17, Sotman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of chip air holes include a first hole, a second hole, a third hole, and a fourth hole, the first hole and the second hole are arranged along the first direction, the third hole and the fourth hole are arranged along the first direction, the first hole and the third hole are arranged with the water introduction hole being interposed between the first hole and the third hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a first side with respect to a center of the water introduction hole in the first direction, and the second hole and the fourth hole are arranged with the water introduction hole being interposed between the second hole and the fourth hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a second side with respect to the center of the water introduction hole in the first direction, wherein each of the first hole and the third hole is inclined toward the water introduction hole, and each of the second hole and the fourth hole is inclined toward the water introduction hole, wherein the plurality of chip air holes include a first hole and a second hole, and wherein the first hole and the second hole are arranged with the water introduction hole being interposed between the first hole and the second hole in the second direction and, wherein each of the first hole and the second hole are inclined toward the water introduction hole.
Saidman further teaches with respect to claim 2, the plurality of chip air holes include a first hole 52, a second hole 52, a third hole 52, and a fourth hole 52, the first hole and the second hole are arranged along the first direction, the third hole and the fourth hole are arranged along the first direction, the first hole and the third hole are arranged with the liquid introduction hole 50 being interposed between the first hole and the third hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a first side with respect to a center of the water introduction hole in the first direction, and the second hole and the fourth hole are arranged with the liquid introduction hole 50 being interposed between the second hole and the fourth hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a second side with respect to the center of the water introduction hole in the first direction (see annotate figure below). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the air holes used to directed the liquid in the desired direction as taught by Sotman to further include four air holes as claimed in order to be able to direction the liquid as desired (see pars. 23-24)
With respect to claim 18, Sotman/Saidman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Sotman teaches the plurality of holes are included toward the water introduction hole (see fig. 8). Saidman further teaches wherein each of the first hole and the third hole is inclined toward the water introduction hole, and each of the second hole and the fourth hole is inclined toward the water introduction hole (see fig. 2).
With respect to claim 20, Sotman/Saidman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, Sotman further teaches wherein the water supply tube is separate from the air supply tube (see figs.).
Claim(s) 4-6, 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sotman et al. (4,017,974) ) in view of Saidman et al. (2005/0092775) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Hedger, Jr. et al. (4,854,504).
Sotman/Saidman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach wherein a first dimension of an opening of the water introduction hole in the first direction is larger than a second dimension of the opening of the water introduction hole in the second direction, wherein the plurality of chip air holes include a first hole, a second hole, a third hole, a fourth hole, a fifth hole, and a sixth hole, the first hole, the second hole, and the fifth hole are arranged along the first direction, the third hole, the fourth hole, and the sixth hole are arranged along the first direction, the first hole and the second hole are arranged with the fifth hole being interposed between the first hole and the second hole in the first direction, the third hole and the fourth hole are arranged with the sixth hole being interposed between the third hole and the fourth hole in the first direction, the first hole and the third hole are arranged with the water introduction hole being interposed between the first hole and the third hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a first side with respect to a center of the water introduction hole in the first direction, the second hole and the fourth hole are arranged with the water introduction hole being interposed between the second hole and the fourth hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a second side with respect to the center of the water introduction hole in the first direction, and the fifth hole and the sixth hole are arranged with the water introduction hole being interposed between the fifth hole and the sixth hole in the second direction, wherein each of the plurality of chip air holes is inclined toward the water introduction hole, and wherein an opening area of the water introduction hole is larger than an opening area of each of the plurality of chip air holes.
Hedger teaches a device for directing air and liquid comprising a liquid hole 24 and a plurality of air holes 41-46, the plurality of air holes provided in the main body portion are disposed to sandwich the liquid introduction hole in a second direction, the second direction intersecting a first direction (see annotated figure below).
With respect to claim 4, Hedger further teaches a first dimension of an opening of the liquid introduction hole 24 in the first direction is larger than a second dimension of the opening of the water introduction hole in the second direction (see fig. 3, annotated figure above). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the shape of the opening of the outlet as taught by Sotman/Saidman in order to provide the desired fluid shape such as a flattened shape (see claim 1).
With respect to claim 5, Hedger further teaches wherein the plurality of chip air holes include a first hole 45, a second hole 46, a third hole 41, a fourth hole 43, a fifth hole 44, and a sixth hole 42, the first hole, the second hole, and the fifth hole are arranged along the first direction (see annotated figure), the third hole, the fourth hole, and the sixth hole are arranged along the first direction (see annotated figure), the first hole and the second hole are arranged with the fifth hole being interposed between the first hole and the second hole in the first direction (see fig. 5, annotated figure), the third hole and the fourth hole are arranged with the sixth hole being interposed between the third hole and the fourth hole in the first direction (see fig. 5, annotated figure), the first hole and the third hole are arranged with the liquid introduction hole 24 being interposed between the first hole and the third hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a first side with respect to a center of the liquid introduction hole 24 in the first direction (see annotated figure, figure 5), the second hole and the fourth hole are arranged with the liquid introduction hole 24 being interposed between the second hole and the fourth hole in the second direction, and are disposed on a second side with respect to the center of the liquid introduction hole 24 in the first direction (see annotated figure, fig. 5), and the fifth hole and the sixth hole are arranged with the liquid introduction hole 24 being interposed between the fifth hole and the sixth hole in the second direction (see annotated figure, fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the air holes of Sotman/Saidman to include the plurality of air holes taught by Hedger in order to produce control air to fine tune the control of the liquid. It is noted that that Saidman teaches the air outlets can be provided in a variety of arrangements and configurations to produce various desired patterns (see par. 23 of Saidman). Therefore, the modification of the addition of two additional outlets would be an obvious matter of design choice in order to provide an arrangement to control the direction of the water as desired. Such that by providing additional outlets, it would provide more control.
v
With respect to claim 6, Sotman/Saidman/Hedger teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, Sotman further teaches the plurality of wherein each of the plurality of chip air holes is inclined toward the water introduction hole (see fig. 8). Hedger further teaches wherein each of the plurality of chip air holes is inclined toward the water introduction hole (see fig. 1, 5, col. 7, ll. 35-48).
With respect to claims 11 and 19, Hedger teaches wherein an opening area of the liquid introduction hole is larger than an opening area of each of the plurality of air holes (see fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the shape of the opening of the outlet as taught by Sotman/Saidman in order to provide the desired fluid shape such as a flattened shape (see claim 1).
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sotman et al. (4,017,974) in view of Saidman (2005/0092755) in view of Jenkins (2,416,923).
With respect to claim 12, Sotman teaches a dental handpiece configured to detachably hold a cutting tool 30/32, the dental handpiece comprising a holding portion 28 provided with an insertion port into which the cutting tool is insertable, the holding portion being configured to hole the cutting tool inserted into the insertion port (col. 2, ll. 45-49, such that the chuck has a port to allow for the bur to be inserted), and a main body portion 24/26 configured to accommodate the holding portion (see figs), the main body portion being provided with a water introduction hole 72 and a plurality of chip air holes 52 (see fig. 8), the insertion port and water introduction hole are arranged in a direction, wherein the plurality of chip air holes provided in the main body portion are disposed to sandwich the water introduction, the water introduction hole and the plurality of chip air holes are oriented so that a spray water is ejected toward the cutting tool, the spray water formed by an air ejected from the plurality of chip air holes to hit water introduced from the water introduction hole (col. 3, ll. 50-68, col. 4, ll. 1-6).. Sotman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach the air holes are elongated and the chip air holes are disposed to sandwich the water introduction hole in a second direction, the second direction intersecting the first direction.
Saidman teaches a device for directing air and liquid comprising a liquid introduction hole 50 and a plurality of air holes 52, the plurality of air holes provided in the main body portion are disposed to sandwich the liquid introduction hole in a second direction, the second direction intersecting a first direction (see annotated figure below, fig. 4A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the air holes used to directed the liquid in the desired direction as taught by Sotman to further include air holes so as to sandwich the water introduction hole in a second direction as claimed in order to be able to have more control and direct the liquid as desired (see pars. 23-24). Sotman/Saidman teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach the air holes are elongated
Jenkins teaches a device for directing air and liquid comprising a liquid hole 26 and a plurality of air holes 53/58, the plurality of air holes provided in the main body portion are disposed to sandwich the liquid introduction hole in a second direction, the second direction intersecting a first direction (see annotated figure below) and the air holes are elongated (see fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the circular openings of Sotman to be elongated as taught by Jenkins in order to provide the desired output of the liquid, such as providing a uniform wide pattern (see col. 5, ll. 31-51).
With respect to claim 13, Sotman/Saidman/Jenkins teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Sotman teaching the chip air holes include a first hole and a second hole. Saidman further teaches wherein the first and second hole are arranged with the liquid introduction hole being interposed between the first hole and the second hole in the second direction (see annotated figure above). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the holes of Sotman to include holes on either side of the liquid opening as taught by Saidman in order claimed in order to be able to have more control and direct the liquid as desired (see pars. 23-24). It is noted that the combination can include multiple holes on either side of the liquid opening, such that the addition of holes on the opposite side of the liquid opening allows for controlling the direction of the liquid depending on the direction of the drill.
With respect to claim 14, Sotman/Saidman/Jenkins teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Sotman teaching each of the first hole and the second hole are included towards the water introduction hole (see fig. 8). Saidman further teaches wherein each of the first hole and the second hole are inclined toward the water introduction hole (see fig. 2).
With respect to claim 15, Sotman/Saidman/Jenkins teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above including Jenkins teaching a first dimension of an opening of each of the plurality or air hole in the first direction is larger than a second dimension of the opening of the air holes in the second direction (see fig. 2, col. 5, ll. 31-51, annotated figure above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed December 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that with respect to each of the independent claims, that the prior art of Sotman does not teach the new limitation including “the water introduction hole and the plurality of chip air holes are oriented so that a spray water is ejected toward the cutting tool, the spray water is formed by an air ejected from the plurality of chip air holes to hit water introduced form the water introduction hole”. However Sotman teaches the air from the chip air holes is directed towards and hit the water that is ejected from the water introduction hole and the combined air and water stream, which would be the claimed spray water, is directed towards the cutting tool. For example col. 4, ll. 3-4 of Sotman teaches “With the spray means 20 of this invention in such a mode of operation the spray can be directed at relatively long burs as showing in Fig. 7.”. Further see the abstract. Therefore, Sotman teaches the air chip holes and water introduction hole creating a spray water (atomized water spray) being directed towards the cutting tool as claimed and therefore, the applicant’s arguments are moot.
Conclusion
/HEIDI M EIDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 2/3/2026