DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 9/8/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 under 35 USC 103a over Yano (US 20130032090 A1) in view of Reid (US 20150093498 A1), and Barrey (US 6197115 B1) and claims 4-5 under 35 USC 103a over Yano (US 20130032090 A1) in view of Reid (US 20150093498 A1), and Barrey (US 6197115 B1) as applied to claims 1-3 and 6-9 above, and further in view of Cho (US 20070009650 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ikushima (US 20190193104 A1) which is now being applied in combination with the previously applied references to address applicants amendments to claims 1 and 3.
Ikushima discloses a dispenser similar to Reid, and additionally discloses wherein the tooling head includes a servo variable pitch device operably coupled to the first and second dispensing nozzles, and wherein the servo variable pitch device is configured to individually adjust a position of each of the first and second dispensing nozzles in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction. See paragraph 0055 of Ikushima, disclosing:
[0055] The XYZ drive devices include first-direction main drive devices (6a, 6b and 6c), a second-direction main drive device 7, third-direction drive devices (8a, 8b and 8c), and second-direction auxiliary drive devices (13a, 13b and 13c). In the following description, the first-direction main drive devices (6a, 6b and 6c), the third-direction drive devices (8a, 8b and 8c), and the second-direction auxiliary drive devices (13a, 13b and 13c) are simply expressed by the “first-direction main drive devices 6”, the “third-direction drive devices 8”, and the “second-direction auxiliary drive devices 13, respectively, in some cases.
…
[0113] The first-direction auxiliary drive devices 12a, 12b and 12c are disposed on a lateral surface of the first-direction main drive device 6 on the side facing the stage, and they can move the discharge devices 2a, 2b and 2c independently in the X direction as denoted by signs 14a, 14b and 14c, respectively. Here, the movements in the X direction, denoted by signs 14a to 14c, can be performed independently of the movement performed by the first-direction main drive device 6 in the X direction (denoted by sign 9).
[0114] The second-direction auxiliary drive devices 13a, 13b and 13c are disposed respectively on lateral surfaces of the first-direction auxiliary drive devices 12a, 12b and 12c on the side facing the stage, and they can move independently the discharge devices 2a, 2b and 2c in the Y direction as denoted by numerals 15a to 15c, respectively.
[0115] Thus, according to this embodiment, the moving speeds of the discharge devices 2a, 2b and 2c can be individually controlled in the X direction (denoted by numerals 9 and 14) and the Y direction (denoted by numerals 10 and 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the tooling head includes a servo variable pitch device operably coupled to the first and second dispensing nozzles, and wherein the servo variable pitch device is configured to adjust a position of each of the first and second dispensing nozzles in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction in order to provide fine adjustment of the second dispensing unit relative to the first dispensing unit me as suggested by Reid and to additionally modify the tooling head wherein the tooling head includes a servo variable pitch device operably coupled to the first and second dispensing nozzles, and wherein the servo variable pitch device is configured to individually adjust a position of each of the first and second dispensing nozzles in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction as suggested by Ikushima in order to enable individual control in the X and Y directions.
Ikushima also discloses and makes obvious the features of claim 3. See the rejections below, which have been adjusted to account for applicant’s amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“gap filler dispensing system” in claim 1. The specification discloses that the structure to perform the recited function can comprise reservoirs, supply lines, and a metering system (which is also interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and includes the structure of pumps, valves and pressure regulators). See claims 6 and 7.
“metering system configured to control the flow” in claim 6. The specification discloses that the structure to perform the recited function includes one or more pumps, one or more valves and one or more pressure regulators. See claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yano (US 20130032090 A1) in view of Reid (US 20150093498 A1), Ikushima (US 20190193104 A1) and Barrey (US 6197115 B1).
As to claim 1, Yano discloses a robotic gap filler application station for an assembly line, comprising:
a robotic arm (paragraph 0025, disclosing “The robot 12 includes a robot arm 12a.”); a tooling head coupled to an end of the robotic arm;
a first dispensing nozzle (nozzle 16c) removably coupled (paragraph 0044, disclosing “the gun 16 is removed from the end of the robot arm 12a, and is placed on the placement table 38”) to the tooling head and configured to dispense a first type of gap filler material (see paragraph 0027, disclosing “the gun 16 includes a holder 16a, a piston 16b, and a nozzle 16c.”);
and a gap filler dispensing system (cartridge 58) configured to supply the first type of gap filler material to the respective first dispensing nozzle (see paragraph 0029, disclosing “the cartridge 58 mounted to the holder 16a, the other end of the air tube 66 connected to the regulator 20 and the electromagnetic valve 22 is disposed. One end of the air tube 66 is connected to the air source 18.”) to a component on the assembly line (rotor 56).
See Figure 1, below:
Yano does not disclose a second dispensing nozzle removably coupled to the tooling head and configured to dispense a second type of gap filler material; and a gap filler dispensing system configured to supply the first and second types of gap filler material to the respective first and second dispensing nozzles to simultaneously apply the first and second types of gap filler to a component on the assembly line. Yano also does not disclose wherein the tooling head includes a servo variable pitch device operably coupled to the first and second dispensing nozzles, and wherein the servo variable pitch device is configured to individually adjust a position of each of the first and second dispensing nozzles in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction
Barrey discloses and makes obvious a gap filler dispensing system (which has been interpreted under 112f) configured to supply the first and second types of gap filler material to the respective first and second dispensing nozzles to simultaneously apply the first and second types of gap filler to a component on the assembly line. Barrey a reservoir (bucket 44), a supply line (supply line 46 and 52), a metering system, which includes a pump (supply pump assembly 48), valve (pressure valves and delivery valve 60) and a pressure regulator (pressure regulator 54). See column 3, line 32, disclosing that:
Returning to FIGS. 1 and 2, the sealant supply components 42 associated with sealant dispensing system 20 include a sealant supply bucket 44 and one or more supply lines 46 through which the sealant is drawn by a supply pump assembly 48. The supply pump assembly 48 also includes a supply pressure transducer 50 which allows the supply pressure within supply line 52 to be closely monitored. As shown, supply line 52 extends between supply pump assembly 48 and a pressure regulator 54 which is disposed along the sealant supply system to ensure a consistent RTV delivery pressure. The delivery side of sealant dispensing system 20 includes a delivery pressure transducer 56 so that the delivery pressure can be monitored in conjunction with the supply pressure. As will be described in greater detail below, the supply pressure and the delivery pressure is monitored by an algorithm implemented within robot controller 18. These real time pressure valves can also be displayed through a personal computer display or a HMI display (not shown). A delivery line 58 extends between the delivery pressure transducer 56 and the delivery valve 60. As shown, the intake port 102 of applicator screw pump 36 is connected to the delivery valve 60 so that the flow of RTV sealant to the applicator screw pump 36 can be precisely controlled. The delivery valve 60 is also controlled by robot controller 18
See also Figure 1, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a gap filler dispensing system configured to supply the first and second types of gap filler material to the respective first and second dispensing nozzles to simultaneously apply the first and second types of gap filler to a component on the assembly line so that the flow can be precisely controlled as suggested by Barrey.
Reid discloses and makes obvious a second dispensing nozzle removably coupled to the tooling head and configured to dispense a second type of gap filler material and dispensing on the assembly line. Reid teaches a first dispensing unit 104 and a second dispensing unit 106. See paragraphs 0039-42, disclosing:
[0039] In the shown embodiment, the first dispensing unit 104 is secured to the linear bearing 112 by a mounting assembly having a mounting block 116, which is secured to the first dispensing unit and to the linear bearing. The mounting assembly associated with the first dispensing unit 104 further includes a Z axis movement mechanism, generally indicated at 118, which enables the Z axis movement of the first dispensing unit. The Z axis movement mechanism 118 is particularly suited for lowering the first dispensing unit during a dispensing operation, e.g., for an auger-type dispensing unit.
[0040] With additional reference to FIG. 4, the automatic movement mechanism 114 includes a mounting block 120, which is secured to the second dispensing unit 106 and configured to ride along the linear bearing 112 to provide movement in the X axis direction. The automatic adjustment mechanism 114 further includes a first motor assembly generally indicated at 122 configured to move the mounting block 120, and the second dispensing unit 106, along the linear bearing 112. In one embodiment, the first motor assembly 122 includes a ball screw driven linear actuator 124, which is driven by a mechanically coupled rotary servo motor 126 or other electro-mechanical linear drive device. Thus, the automatic adjustment mechanism 114 is capable of adjusting the second dispensing unit 106 in the X axis direction while the first dispensing unit 104 remains stationary. In a certain embodiment, the automatic adjustment mechanism 114 is capable of providing a relatively short amount of X axis movement of the second dispensing unit 106 to provide fine adjustment of the second dispensing unit relative to the first dispensing unit 104.
[0041] As mentioned above, the automatic adjustment mechanism 114 is also capable of adjusting the second dispensing unit 106 in the Y axis direction in the manner described below. Specifically, the automatic adjustment mechanism 114 further includes a first bracket 128 secured to the mounting block 120. As shown, the first bracket 128 extends in a direction perpendicular to a direction of the linear bearing 112 in the Y axis direction. The automatic adjustment mechanism 114 further includes a second bracket 130 secured to the second dispensing unit 106 and configured to ride along the first bracket 128 thereby providing a small amount of movement of the second dispensing unit in the Y axis direction. The automatic adjustment mechanism 114 further includes a second motor assembly 132 configured to move the second bracket 130 along the first bracket 128 thereby moving the second dispensing unit 106. In one embodiment, the second motor assembly 132 includes a ball screw driven linear actuator 134, which is driven by a mechanically coupled rotary servo motor 136 or other electro-mechanical linear drive device.
[0042] Similar to the first dispensing unit 104, the second dispensing unit 106 includes a Z axis movement mechanism, generally indicated at 138, which enables the Z axis movement of the second dispensing unit. The Z axis movement mechanism 138 is particularly suited for lowering the first dispensing unit during a dispensing operation, e.g., for an auger-type dispensing unit.
See Figure 3, below:
Paragraph 0045 discloses that “The dispenser 100 would then begin dispensing a "master" substrate pattern, while simultaneously dispensing other substrates while dynamically adjusting the other dispensing units relative to the master.” Paragraph 0047 discloses that “The dispenser 100 of embodiments of the invention is capable of dispensing different patterns simultaneously.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a second dispensing nozzle removably coupled to the tooling head and configured to dispense a second type of gap filler material in order to dispense multiple identical patterns on multiple substrates or different patterns on different substrates at the same time as suggested by Reid.
Additionally, Reid discloses and makes obvious wherein the tooling head includes a servo variable pitch device (such as rotary servo motor 126) operably coupled to the first and second dispensing nozzles, and wherein the servo variable pitch device is configured to adjust a position of each of the first and second dispensing nozzles in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction. See paragraphs 0039-42, disclosing:
[0039] In the shown embodiment, the first dispensing unit 104 is secured to the linear bearing 112 by a mounting assembly having a mounting block 116, which is secured to the first dispensing unit and to the linear bearing. The mounting assembly associated with the first dispensing unit 104 further includes a Z axis movement mechanism, generally indicated at 118, which enables the Z axis movement of the first dispensing unit. The Z axis movement mechanism 118 is particularly suited for lowering the first dispensing unit during a dispensing operation, e.g., for an auger-type dispensing unit.
[0040] With additional reference to FIG. 4, the automatic movement mechanism 114 includes a mounting block 120, which is secured to the second dispensing unit 106 and configured to ride along the linear bearing 112 to provide movement in the X axis direction. The automatic adjustment mechanism 114 further includes a first motor assembly generally indicated at 122 configured to move the mounting block 120, and the second dispensing unit 106, along the linear bearing 112. In one embodiment, the first motor assembly 122 includes a ball screw driven linear actuator 124, which is driven by a mechanically coupled rotary servo motor 126 or other electro-mechanical linear drive device. Thus, the automatic adjustment mechanism 114 is capable of adjusting the second dispensing unit 106 in the X axis direction while the first dispensing unit 104 remains stationary. In a certain embodiment, the automatic adjustment mechanism 114 is capable of providing a relatively short amount of X axis movement of the second dispensing unit 106 to provide fine adjustment of the second dispensing unit relative to the first dispensing unit 104.
[0041] As mentioned above, the automatic adjustment mechanism 114 is also capable of adjusting the second dispensing unit 106 in the Y axis direction in the manner described below. Specifically, the automatic adjustment mechanism 114 further includes a first bracket 128 secured to the mounting block 120. As shown, the first bracket 128 extends in a direction perpendicular to a direction of the linear bearing 112 in the Y axis direction. The automatic adjustment mechanism 114 further includes a second bracket 130 secured to the second dispensing unit 106 and configured to ride along the first bracket 128 thereby providing a small amount of movement of the second dispensing unit in the Y axis direction. The automatic adjustment mechanism 114 further includes a second motor assembly 132 configured to move the second bracket 130 along the first bracket 128 thereby moving the second dispensing unit 106. In one embodiment, the second motor assembly 132 includes a ball screw driven linear actuator 134, which is driven by a mechanically coupled rotary servo motor 136 or other electro-mechanical linear drive device.
[0042] Similar to the first dispensing unit 104, the second dispensing unit 106 includes a Z axis movement mechanism, generally indicated at 138, which enables the Z axis movement of the second dispensing unit. The Z axis movement mechanism 138 is particularly suited for lowering the first dispensing unit during a dispensing operation, e.g., for an auger-type dispensing unit.
Paragraph 0045 discloses that “The dispenser 100 would then begin dispensing a "master" substrate pattern, while simultaneously dispensing other substrates while dynamically adjusting the other dispensing units relative to the master.” Paragraph 0047 discloses that “The dispenser 100 of embodiments of the invention is capable of dispensing different patterns simultaneously.”
Ikushima discloses a dispenser similar to Reid, and additionally discloses wherein the tooling head includes a servo variable pitch device operably coupled to the first and second dispensing nozzles, and wherein the servo variable pitch device is configured to individually adjust a position of each of the first and second dispensing nozzles in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction. See paragraph 0055 of Ikushima, disclosing:
[0055] The XYZ drive devices include first-direction main drive devices (6a, 6b and 6c), a second-direction main drive device 7, third-direction drive devices (8a, 8b and 8c), and second-direction auxiliary drive devices (13a, 13b and 13c). In the following description, the first-direction main drive devices (6a, 6b and 6c), the third-direction drive devices (8a, 8b and 8c), and the second-direction auxiliary drive devices (13a, 13b and 13c) are simply expressed by the “first-direction main drive devices 6”, the “third-direction drive devices 8”, and the “second-direction auxiliary drive devices 13, respectively, in some cases.
…
[0113] The first-direction auxiliary drive devices 12a, 12b and 12c are disposed on a lateral surface of the first-direction main drive device 6 on the side facing the stage, and they can move the discharge devices 2a, 2b and 2c independently in the X direction as denoted by signs 14a, 14b and 14c, respectively. Here, the movements in the X direction, denoted by signs 14a to 14c, can be performed independently of the movement performed by the first-direction main drive device 6 in the X direction (denoted by sign 9).
[0114] The second-direction auxiliary drive devices 13a, 13b and 13c are disposed respectively on lateral surfaces of the first-direction auxiliary drive devices 12a, 12b and 12c on the side facing the stage, and they can move independently the discharge devices 2a, 2b and 2c in the Y direction as denoted by numerals 15a to 15c, respectively.
[0115] Thus, according to this embodiment, the moving speeds of the discharge devices 2a, 2b and 2c can be individually controlled in the X direction (denoted by numerals 9 and 14) and the Y direction (denoted by numerals 10 and 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the tooling head includes a servo variable pitch device operably coupled to the first and second dispensing nozzles, and wherein the servo variable pitch device is configured to adjust a position of each of the first and second dispensing nozzles in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction in order to provide fine adjustment of the second dispensing unit relative to the first dispensing unit me as suggested by Reid and to additionally modify the tooling head wherein the tooling head includes a servo variable pitch device operably coupled to the first and second dispensing nozzles, and wherein the servo variable pitch device is configured to individually adjust a position of each of the first and second dispensing nozzles in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction as suggested by Ikushima in order to enable individual control in the X and Y directions.
As to claim 3, Yano does not disclose wherein each of the first and second dispensing nozzles is slidingly coupled to the tooling head.
However, Ikushima discloses wherein each of the first and second dispensing nozzles is slidingly coupled to the tooling head. See paragraph 0055 of Ikushima, disclosing:
[0055] The XYZ drive devices include first-direction main drive devices (6a, 6b and 6c), a second-direction main drive device 7, third-direction drive devices (8a, 8b and 8c), and second-direction auxiliary drive devices (13a, 13b and 13c). In the following description, the first-direction main drive devices (6a, 6b and 6c), the third-direction drive devices (8a, 8b and 8c), and the second-direction auxiliary drive devices (13a, 13b and 13c) are simply expressed by the “first-direction main drive devices 6”, the “third-direction drive devices 8”, and the “second-direction auxiliary drive devices 13, respectively, in some cases.
…
[0113] The first-direction auxiliary drive devices 12a, 12b and 12c are disposed on a lateral surface of the first-direction main drive device 6 on the side facing the stage, and they can move the discharge devices 2a, 2b and 2c independently in the X direction as denoted by signs 14a, 14b and 14c, respectively. Here, the movements in the X direction, denoted by signs 14a to 14c, can be performed independently of the movement performed by the first-direction main drive device 6 in the X direction (denoted by sign 9).
[0114] The second-direction auxiliary drive devices 13a, 13b and 13c are disposed respectively on lateral surfaces of the first-direction auxiliary drive devices 12a, 12b and 12c on the side facing the stage, and they can move independently the discharge devices 2a, 2b and 2c in the Y direction as denoted by numerals 15a to 15c, respectively.
[0115] Thus, according to this embodiment, the moving speeds of the discharge devices 2a, 2b and 2c can be individually controlled in the X direction (denoted by numerals 9 and 14) and the Y direction (denoted by numerals 10 and 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein each of the first and second dispensing nozzles is slidingly coupled to the tooling head as suggested by Ikushima in order to enable individual control in the X and Y directions.
As to claim 6, Yano does not disclose wherein the gap filler dispensing system comprises: one or more reservoirs configured to store the first and second types of gap filler material; one or more supply lines fluidly coupling the one or more reservoirs to the first and second dispenser nozzles; and a metering system configured to control the flow of gap filler material through the one or more supply lines.
However, Barrey discloses wherein the gap filler dispensing system comprises: one or more reservoirs configured to store the first and second types of gap filler material; one or more supply lines fluidly coupling the one or more reservoirs to the first and second dispenser nozzles; and a metering system configured to control the flow of gap filler material through the one or more supply lines. Barrey discloses and makes obvious a gap filler dispensing system (which has been interpreted under 112f) configured to supply the first and second types of gap filler material to the respective first and second dispensing nozzles to simultaneously apply the first and second types of gap filler to a component on the assembly line. Barrey a reservoir (bucket 44), a supply line (supply line 46 and 52), a metering system, which includes a pump (supply pump assembly 48), valve (pressure valves and delivery valve 60) and a pressure regulator (pressure regulator 54). See column 3, line 32, disclosing that:
Returning to FIGS. 1 and 2, the sealant supply components 42 associated with sealant dispensing system 20 include a sealant supply bucket 44 and one or more supply lines 46 through which the sealant is drawn by a supply pump assembly 48. The supply pump assembly 48 also includes a supply pressure transducer 50 which allows the supply pressure within supply line 52 to be closely monitored. As shown, supply line 52 extends between supply pump assembly 48 and a pressure regulator 54 which is disposed along the sealant supply system to ensure a consistent RTV delivery pressure. The delivery side of sealant dispensing system 20 includes a delivery pressure transducer 56 so that the delivery pressure can be monitored in conjunction with the supply pressure. As will be described in greater detail below, the supply pressure and the delivery pressure is monitored by an algorithm implemented within robot controller 18. These real time pressure valves can also be displayed through a personal computer display or a HMI display (not shown). A delivery line 58 extends between the delivery pressure transducer 56 and the delivery valve 60. As shown, the intake port 102 of applicator screw pump 36 is connected to the delivery valve 60 so that the flow of RTV sealant to the applicator screw pump 36 can be precisely controlled. The delivery valve 60 is also controlled by robot controller 18
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the gap filler dispensing system comprises: one or more reservoirs configured to store the first and second types of gap filler material; one or more supply lines fluidly coupling the one or more reservoirs to the first and second dispenser nozzles; and a metering system configured to control the flow of gap filler material through the one or more supply lines as taught by Barrey so that the flow can be precisely controlled as suggested by Barrey.
As to claim 7, Yano does not disclose wherein the metering system comprises: one or more pumps; one or more valves; and one or more pressure regulators.
However, Barrey discloses wherein the metering system comprises: one or more pumps; one or more valves; and one or more pressure regulators.. Barrey discloses and makes obvious a gap filler dispensing system (which has been interpreted under 112f) configured to supply the first and second types of gap filler material to the respective first and second dispensing nozzles to simultaneously apply the first and second types of gap filler to a component on the assembly line. Barrey a reservoir (bucket 44), a supply line (supply line 46 and 52), a metering system, which includes a pump (supply pump assembly 48), valve (pressure valves and delivery valve 60) and a pressure regulator (pressure regulator 54). See column 3, line 32 that:
Returning to FIGS. 1 and 2, the sealant supply components 42 associated with sealant dispensing system 20 include a sealant supply bucket 44 and one or more supply lines 46 through which the sealant is drawn by a supply pump assembly 48. The supply pump assembly 48 also includes a supply pressure transducer 50 which allows the supply pressure within supply line 52 to be closely monitored. As shown, supply line 52 extends between supply pump assembly 48 and a pressure regulator 54 which is disposed along the sealant supply system to ensure a consistent RTV delivery pressure. The delivery side of sealant dispensing system 20 includes a delivery pressure transducer 56 so that the delivery pressure can be monitored in conjunction with the supply pressure. As will be described in greater detail below, the supply pressure and the delivery pressure is monitored by an algorithm implemented within robot controller 18. These real time pressure valves can also be displayed through a personal computer display or a HMI display (not shown). A delivery line 58 extends between the delivery pressure transducer 56 and the delivery valve 60. As shown, the intake port 102 of applicator screw pump 36 is connected to the delivery valve 60 so that the flow of RTV sealant to the applicator screw pump 36 can be precisely controlled. The delivery valve 60 is also controlled by robot controller 18
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the metering system comprises: one or more pumps; one or more valves; and one or more pressure regulators as taught by Barrey so that the flow can be precisely controlled as suggested by Barrey.
As to claim 8, the apparatus of Yano, Reid, Ikushima, and Barrey is capable of using materials wherein the first and second types of gap filler material are different gap filler materials.
In any event, duplication of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, using different gap filler materials would have required duplicating the gap filler dispensing system of Barrey.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the first and second types of gap filler material are different gap filler materials by utilizing the dispensing system of Barrey so that the flow can be precisely controlled as suggested by Barrey.
As to claim 9, the apparatus of Yano, Reid, Ikushima, and Barrey as combined is capable of using materials the first and second types of gap filler material are the same gap filler material, and would function as so using the dispensing system of Barrey.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yano (US 20130032090 A1) in view of Reid (US 20150093498 A1), Ikushima (US 20190193104 A1), and Barrey (US 6197115 B1) as applied to claims 1, 3 and 6-9 above, and further in view of Cho (US 20070009650 A1).
As to claim 4, Yano does not disclose further comprising a third dispensing nozzle configured to be removably coupled to the tooling head and dispense a third type of gap filler material. Reid suggests using multiple dispensing nozzle, but never explicitly discloses and makes obvious further comprising a third dispensing nozzle configured to be removably coupled to the tooling head and dispense a third type of gap filler material.
However, Cho discloses a third dispensing nozzle configured to be removably coupled to the tooling head and dispense a third type of gap filler material. Paragraph 0049 disclosing “[0049] A plurality of head units 50 is mounted on the column 20. Each of the head units 50 is movable in the X-axis direction. Forming a plurality of paste patterns on the substrate with the plurality of head units 50 may reduce the process time.”
See Figure 4, showing a third dispensing nozzle 50a, 50b, and 50c.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a third dispensing nozzle configured to be removably coupled to the tooling head and dispense a third type of gap filler material as suggested by Cho because Cho teaches that forming a plurality of paste patterns on the substrate with the plurality of head units 50 may reduce the process time
As to claim 5, Yano as combined with Reid, Barrey and Cho above would make obvious wherein the tooling head includes a nozzle switching mechanism to releasably couple the first, second, and third dispensing nozzles to the tooling head, wherein the nozzle switching mechanism is configured to selectively and individually releasably uncouple each of the first, second, and third dispensing nozzles into an associated nozzle nest when the first, second, or third dispensing nozzle is not needed. Yano discloses that “the gun 16 is removed from the end of the robot arm 12a”; Reid and Cho as applied above disclose that multiple nozzles can be used.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK