DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 03/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 5 contain phrases within a parenthesis and it is not clear if those phrases are limitations to the claims.
Claim 3 contains the trademark/trade name VITA A1-D4® Classical shades. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a particular shade or color and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolz (US Patent Pub. 2017/0189143) in view of Holand et al. (EP2377506 B1).
Wolz et al. disclose a process for the production of dental ceramic (ABSTRACT). Wolz et al. disclose yttrium stabilized zirconium oxide, wherein the stabilized zirconium oxide interspersed with about a 3% mole fraction of yttrium oxide ([0002]). Wolz et al. disclose stabilizer solutions at a concentration of 0.001% to 30% by weight, including Fe(No3)3.9H2O, Ni(NO3)2.6H2O, Zn(no3)2.6H2O and Al(No3).9H2O ([0044], [0049],[0116], [0118] and [0119]). Wolz et al. disclose a processing a porous body with a coloring pigment solution and/or the coloring pigment stabilizer solutions and /or the chemical stabilizers so as to achieve desired colorings and/or hardness degrees and/or fissure resistance in the oxide ceramic and finally a sintering step ([0137]-[0144]). Wolz et al. disclose at wavelengths of 600nm, with a sample thickness of 30mm to 1 mm with a transmissions of 35% to 95% ([0104]).
Wolz et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose the agent AlCl3.6H2O.
Holand et al. disclose sintered ceramic material comprising AlCl3.6H2O mixed with antifoaming agents including alkyl polyalkylene glycol ethers, which meets the limitation of wetting agent of instant claim 1 ([0053]).
It is obvious to replace one component for another equivalent component if it is recognized in the art that two components are equivalent and is not based on the Applicant disclosure. It is also prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. See MPEP 2144.06. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used AlCl3.6H2O in the compositions of the primary reference based on the prior art's recognition that such species are equivalent in function, as supported by cited precedent.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612