DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed July 9, 2026.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed July 9, 2026, the rejections of claims 1-12, 14-21, and 23-25 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previously presented in the Office Action sent May 15, 2026 have been withdrawn.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed July 9, 2026, the rejections of claims 1-4, and 14-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent May 15, 2026 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1-25 are currently pending while claims 13 and 22 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rubin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0060895 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Rubin et al. discloses a photovoltaic module comprising:
a photovoltaic cell array comprising a plurality of substrings of serially connected photovoltaic cells (as depicted in Fig. 1, a photovoltaic cell array comprising a plurality of substrings of serially connected photovoltaic cells; see [0019]),
the plurality of substrings disposed in rows and columns (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited plurality of substrings disposed in 2 rows and 8 columns), wherein
a first substring of the plurality of substrings comprises a first sub-substring and a second sub-substring (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1 below, a first substring at the top row in columns 3/4 comprises a first sub-substring at the top row in column 3 and a second sub-substring at the top row in column 4),
Annotated Fig. 1
the first sub-substring coupled between a first negative substring terminal and a first midpoint terminal and disposed in a first column of the photovoltaic module (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1 above, the cited first sub-substring coupled between a first negative substring terminal 34 and a first midpoint terminal at 144 and disposed in a first column of the photovoltaic module, such as column 3), and
the second sub-substring coupled between the first midpoint terminal and a first positive substring terminal and disposed in a second column of the photovoltaic module (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1 above, the cited second sub-substring coupled between the cited first midpoint terminal at 144 and a first positive substring terminal 32 and disposed in a second column of the photovoltaic module, such as column 4), wherein
a second substring of the plurality of substrings comprises a third sub-substring and a fourth sub-substring (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1 above, a second substring at the bottom row in column 3/4 comprises a third sub-substring at the bottom row in column 4 and a fourth sub-substring at the bottom row in column 3),
the third sub-substring coupled between a second negative substring terminal and a second midpoint terminal and disposed in the second column of the photovoltaic module (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1 above, the cited third sub-substring coupled between a second negative substring terminal 34 and a second midpoint terminal at 150 and disposed in the cited second column of the photovoltaic module, cited column 4), and
the fourth sub-substring coupled between the second midpoint terminal and a second positive substring terminal and disposed in the first column of the photovoltaic module (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1 above, the cited fourth sub-substring coupled between the cited second midpoint terminal at 150 and a second positive substring terminal 32 and disposed in the cited first column of the photovoltaic module, cited column 3),wherein
the first midpoint terminal and the second midpoint terminal are electrically connected via a conductor (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1 above, the cited first midpoint terminal at 144 and the cited second midpoint terminal at 150 are electrically connected via a conductor 26).
With regard to claim 2, Rubin et al. discloses wherein
the first midpoint terminal and the second midpoint terminal are electrically shorted to one another (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1 above, the cited first midpoint terminal at 144 and the cited second midpoint terminal at 150 are electrically shorted to one another through conductor 26).
With regard to claim 4, Rubin et al. discloses wherein
the first negative substring terminal is connected to the second negative substring terminal and the first positive substring terminal is connected to the second positive substring terminal (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1 above, the cited first negative substring terminal 34 is connected to the cited second negative substring terminal 34 and the cited first positive substring terminal 32 is connected to the cited second positive substring terminal 32).
With regard to claim 14, Rubin et al. discloses wherein the plurality of substrings further comprise
a third substring and a fourth substring (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1’ below, a third substring at the top row in column 5/6 and a fourth substring at the bottom row in column 5/6), wherein
Annotated Fig. 1’
the third substring comprises a fifth sub-substring and a sixth sub-substring (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited third substring comprises a fifth sub-substring at the top row in column 5 and a sixth sub-substring at the top row in column 6),
the fifth sub-substring coupled between a third negative substring terminal and a third midpoint terminal and disposed in a third column of the photovoltaic module (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited fifth sub-substring coupled between a third negative substring terminal 34 and a third midpoint terminal at 142 and disposed in a third column of the photovoltaic module, such as column 5), and
the sixth sub-substring coupled between the third midpoint terminal and a third positive substring terminal and disposed in a fourth column of the photovoltaic module (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited sixth sub-substring coupled between the cited third midpoint terminal at 142 and a third positive substring terminal 32 and disposed in a fourth column of the photovoltaic module; such as column 6); and wherein
the fourth substring comprises a seventh sub-substring and an eight sub- substring (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited fourth substring comprises a seventh sub-substring at the bottom row in column 6 and an eight sub- substring at the bottom row in column 5),
the seventh sub-substring coupled between a fourth negative substring terminal and a fourth midpoint terminal and disposed in the fourth column of the photovoltaic module (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited seventh sub-substring coupled between a fourth negative substring terminal 34 and a fourth midpoint terminal at 152 and disposed in the cited fourth column of the photovoltaic module, cited column 6), and
the eight sub-substring coupled between a fourth midpoint terminal and a fourth positive substring terminal and disposed in the third column of the photovoltaic module (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited eight sub-substring coupled between a fourth midpoint terminal at 152 and the cited fourth positive substring terminal 32 and disposed in the cited third column of the photovoltaic module, cited column 5).
With regard to claim 15, Rubin et al. discloses wherein
the first, second, third and fourth midpoint terminals are electrically connected and share a substantially common potential (as depicted in Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 1, and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited first, second, third and fourth midpoint terminals at 144, 150, 142, and 152 are electrically connected and are structurally capable of sharing a substantially common potential).
With regard to claim 16, Rubin et al. discloses wherein
the first and second negative substring terminals are interconnected by one or more first negative conductors and share a first substantially common negative potential (as depicted in Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 1, and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited first and second negative substring terminals 34 are interconnected by one or more first negative conductors, 34 of intermittent cells, and are structurally capable of sharing a first substantially common negative potential), and wherein
the third and fourth negative substring terminals are interconnected by one or more second negative conductors and share a second substantially common negative potential (as depicted in Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 1, and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited third and fourth negative substring terminals 34 are interconnected by one or more second negative conductors, 34 of intermittent cells, and are structurally capable of sharing a second substantially common negative potential).
With regard to claim 17, Rubin et al. discloses wherein
the first, second, third, and fourth negative substring terminals are all electrically connected and share a substantially common potential (as depicted in Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 1, and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited first, second, third, and fourth negative substring terminals 34 are all electrically connected and are structurally capable of sharing a substantially common potential).
With regard to claim 18, Rubin et al. discloses
the first and second positive substring terminals are interconnected using one or more first positive conductors and share a first substantially common potential (as depicted in Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 1, and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited first and second positive substring terminals 32 are interconnected using one or more first positive conductors, 32 of intermittent cells, and are structurally capable of sharing a first substantially common potential), and
the third and fourth positive substring terminals are interconnected using one or more second positive conductors and share a substantially common potential (as depicted in Fig. 1, annotated Fig. 1, and annotated Fig. 1’ above, the cited third and fourth positive substring terminals 32 are interconnected using one or more second positive conductors, 32 of intermittent cells, and are structurally capable of sharing a substantially common potential).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0060895 A1) in view of So et al. (KR 20220100391 A).
With regard to claim 3, independent claim 1 is anticipated by Rubin et al. under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as discussed above. Rubin et al. discloses wherein
the first midpoint terminal and the second midpoint terminal are electrically connected via the conductor (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1 above, the cited first midpoint terminal at 144 and the cited second midpoint terminal at 150 are electrically connected via the cited conductor 26 depicted as including bypass diodes 36).
Rubin et al. does not disclose wherein the first midpoint terminal and the second midpoint terminal are electrically connected via a current sensor configured to sense a current flowing through the conductor connecting the first and the second midpoint terminals.
However, So et al. discloses a photovoltaic module (see Title and Abstract) and teaches connecting with a bypass diode a current sensor in order to sense the current of the PV module (see [0024]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the conductor connection in the photovoltaic module of Rubin et al. to include a current sensor, as suggested by So et al., because it would have provided for sensing the current of the photovoltaic module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12, 19-21, and 23-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5, from which claims 6 and 7 depend, requires a photovoltaic module comprising a plurality of substrings disposed in rows and columns, a first substring comprises a first sub-substring in a first column and a second sub-substring in a second column, a second substring comprises a third sub-substring in the second column and a fourth sub-substring in the first column, first and second midpoint terminals electrically connected via a conductor, a first negative substring terminal and a second negative substring terminal connected via a printed circuit board and a first positive substring terminal and a second positive substring terminal connected via the printed circuit board, and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 5.
The prior art, Rubin et al. cited above, teaches a photovoltaic module comprising a plurality of substrings disposed in rows and columns and including first, second, third, and fourth sub-substrings and first and second midpoint terminals connected via a conductor but does not teach a first negative substring terminal and a second negative substring terminal connected via a printed circuit board and a first positive substring terminal and a second positive substring terminal connected via the printed circuit board, and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 5 and it would not have been an obvious modification.
Claim 8, from which claims 9-12 depend, requires a photovoltaic module comprising a plurality of substrings disposed in rows and columns, a first substring comprises a first sub-substring in a first column and a second sub-substring in a second column, a second substring comprises a third sub-substring in the second column and a fourth sub-substring in the first column, first and second midpoint terminals electrically connected via a conductor, a first negative substring terminal and a second negative substring terminal connected via a printed circuit board, wherein the PCB comprises a first power converter and a second power converter, and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 8.
The prior art, Rubin et al. cited above, teaches a photovoltaic module comprising a plurality of substrings disposed in rows and columns and including first, second, third, and fourth sub-substrings and first and second midpoint terminals connected via a conductor but does not teach a first negative substring terminal and a second negative substring terminal connected via a printed circuit board, wherein the PCB comprises a first power converter and a second power converter, and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 8 and it would not have been an obvious modification.
Claim 19, from which claims 20, 21, and 23-25 depend, requires a photovoltaic module comprising a plurality of substrings disposed in rows and columns, a first substring comprises a first sub-substring in a first column and a second sub-substring in a second column, a second substring comprises a third sub-substring in the second column and a fourth sub-substring in the first column, first and second midpoint terminals electrically connected via a conductor, a PCB comprising a first power converter and a second power converter, the first power converter comprising a first input terminal coupled to the first and second negative substring terminals, a second input terminal coupled to the first and second positive substring terminals, the second power converter comprising a third input terminal coupled to the third and fourth negative substring terminals, and a fourth input terminal coupled to the third and fourth positive substring terminals, and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 19.
The prior art, Rubin et al. cited above, teaches a photovoltaic module comprising a plurality of substrings disposed in rows and columns and including first, second, third, and fourth sub-substrings and first and second midpoint terminals connected via a conductor but does not teach a PCB comprising a first power converter and a second power converter, the first power converter comprising a first input terminal coupled to the first and second negative substring terminals, a second input terminal coupled to the first and second positive substring terminals, the second power converter comprising a third input terminal coupled to the third and fourth negative substring terminals, and a fourth input terminal coupled to the third and fourth positive substring terminals, and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 19 and it would not have been an obvious modification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in the response that Rubin does not teach a first midpoint terminal 144 and a second midpoint terminal 150 electrically connected via conductor 26 because the strings of solar cells are connected in series and the connection would short out all the strings which Rubin explicitly prevents such a catastrophic short circuit by breaking up the perimeter conductors 26 with gaps and a bypass diode. However, this argument is not persuasive.
Rubin does not explicitly prevent a short circuit by breaking up the perimeter conductors 26 with gaps and a bypass diode.
In stark contrast, Rubin provides the bypass diode design in order to shunt current from a corresponding string when a solar cell of said corresponding string is shaded (see Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 September 17, 2026