DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to claims filed 20 June 2023 for application 18338174 filed 20 June 2023. Currently claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
The specification at [0092] is relied upon for interpretation of the “means”. Examiner is interpreting the means as any hardware or software.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the means in the claim language when interpreted in light of the specification can be solely software and thus the claims are rejected as being directed to software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, 15-23, and 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Carlucci et al. (MultiDIAL: Domain Alignment Layers for (Multisource) Unsupervised Domain Adaptation).
Regarding claims 1, 12, 23 and 30, Carlucci discloses: A processor-implemented method, comprising:
identifying one or more domain-sensitive layers in a machine learning model based on differences between outputs generated by one or more layers in the machine learning model for inputs in a source domain and inputs in a shifted domain (“To summarize, the contribution of this paper is threefold. First, we present an approach for unsupervised domain adaptation, based on the introduction of DA-layers to explicitly address the domain shift problem, which act in synergy with an entropy loss that exploits unsupervised target data during learning. Our solution simultaneously aligns feature representations and learns where and to which extent adaptation should take place.” P4442 ¶4, “However, the networks contain also a number of special layers, the DA-layers, which implement a domain-specific operation. Indeed, the role of such layers is to apply a data transformation that aligns the observed input distribution with a reference distribution. Since in general the input distributions of the domain-specific predictors differ, while the reference distribution stays the same, we have that the predictors undergo different transformations in the corresponding DA-layers.” P4444 §3.1 ¶1);
updating normalizing values for each respective domain-sensitive layer of the one or more domain-sensitive layers based on a mixing factor, fixed normalizing values for data in the source domain, and calculated normalizing values for data in the shifted domain (“This is achieved in two ways: first we introduce an entropy-based prior distribution for the network parameters based on the target observations; second, we endow the architecture with the ability of learning the degree of adaptation by introducing a parametrized, cross-domain bias to the input distribution of each domain-specific DA-layer. The rest of this subsection is devoted to describe the new layer, while we defer to the next subsection the description of the prior distribution.” P4444 §3.1 ¶2, “The rationale behind the introduction of the mixing factor a is that we can move from having an independent alignment of the domains akin to AdaBN, when α = 1, to having a coupled normalization when α = 0. In the former case the DA-layer computes different functions in each domain-specific predictor and is equivalent to considering a full degree of domain alignment. The latter case, instead, yields the same function in each predictor thus transforming the domains equally, which yields no domain alignment” p4444 §3.1 ¶5); and
applying the updated normalizing values to each respective domain-sensitive layer of the one or more domain-sensitive layers in the machine learning model (“This is achieved in two ways: first we introduce an entropy-based prior distribution for the network parameters based on the target observations; second, we endow the architecture with the ability of learning the degree of adaptation by introducing a parametrized, cross-domain bias to the input distribution of each domain-specific DA-layer. The rest of this subsection is devoted to describe the new layer, while we defer to the next subsection the description of the prior distribution.” P4444 §3.1 ¶2).
Regarding claims 4, 15, and 25, Carlucci discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the normalizing values for each respective domain-sensitive layer are updated further based on the mixing factor applied to the normalizing values for data in the source domain and 1 minus the mixing factor applied to the normalizing values for data in the shifted domain (Fig 2 p4447, domain statistics use α and global statistics use 1-α).
Regarding claims 5, 16, and 26, Carlucci discloses: The method of claim 4, wherein the mixing factor comprises a learnable parameter fixed for the machine learning model prior to deployment (“This is achieved in two ways: first we introduce an entropy-based prior distribution for the network parameters based on the target observations; second, we endow the architecture with the ability of learning the degree of adaptation by introducing a parametrized, cross-domain bias to the input distribution of each domain-specific DA-layer. The rest of this subsection is devoted to describe the new layer, while we defer to the next subsection the description of the prior distribution.” P4444 §3.1 ¶2, “Both our variants, a free or fixed, outperform the existing state of the art in this setting.” P4450 ¶6).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Carlucci discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the normalizing values for the data in the shifted domain comprise an average and a variance calculated over the data in the shifted domain (
p4444 §3.1 ¶3).
Regarding claims 7, 18, and 27, Carlucci discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising generating the inputs in the shifted domain by applying one or more transformations to the inputs in the source domain (“However, the networks contain also a number of special layers, the DA-layers, which implement a domain-specific operation. Indeed, the role of such layers is to apply a data transformation that aligns the observed input distribution with a reference distribution. Since in general the input distributions of the domain-specific predictors differ, while the reference distribution stays the same, we have that the predictors undergo different transformations in the corresponding DA-layers” p4444 §3.1 ¶1).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Carlucci discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the inputs in the shifted domain comprise inputs obtained at inference time (“Moreover, we keep track of moving estimates of μa and σ2a’, to be used at inference time. Note that in this work we assume the α parameter to be learned and shared between matching DA-layers of each domain-specific predictor. However, α’s can differ across DA-layers within the same predictor” p4444 §3.1 ¶3).
Regarding claims 9, 20, and 28, Carlucci discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising deploying the machine learning model with the updated normalizing values for each respective domain-sensitive layer of the one or more domain-sensitive layers in the machine learning model (Fig 2 p4446, “Moreover, we keep track of moving estimates of μa and σ2a’, to be used at inference time. Note that in this work we assume the α parameter to be learned and shared between matching DA-layers of each domain-specific predictor. However, α’s can differ across DA-layers within the same predictor” p4444 §3.1 ¶3).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Carlucci discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising defining the normalizing values for the data in the source domain as one or more constants in the machine learning model (Fig 2 p4446, “Moreover, we keep track of moving estimates of μa and σ2a’, to be used at inference time. Note that in this work we assume the α parameter to be learned and shared between matching DA-layers of each domain-specific predictor. However, α’s can differ across DA-layers within the same predictor” p4444 §3.1 ¶3).
Regarding claims 11, 22, and 29, Carlucci discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving input data (Fig 2 p4446);
generating one or more inferences based on the received input data and the machine learning model with the updated normalizing values for each respective domain-sensitive layer of the one or more domain-sensitive layers in the machine learning model (“Moreover, we keep track of moving estimates of μa and σ2a’, to be used at inference time. Note that in this work we assume the α parameter to be learned and shared between matching DA-layers of each domain-specific predictor. However, α’s can differ across DA-layers within the same predictor” p4444 §3.1 ¶3); and
taking one or more actions based on the generated one or more inferences (Fig 5 p4448 data is classified).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 13-14 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlucci in view of Chung et al. (Maximizing Cosine Similarity Between Spatial Features for Unsupervised Domain Adaptation in Semantic Segmentation).
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 24, Carlucci discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the one or more domain-sensitive layers in the machine learning model comprises, for each respective layer of the layers in the machine learning model:
calculating a source domain gradient vector for the respective layer based on forward-propagating and backpropagating the inputs in the source domain through the respective layer (p4446 §4.1.2 ¶1 and p4447 ¶1, note: networks are trained using gradient descent which includes forwards and backwards propagation);
calculating a domain-shifted gradient vector for the respective layer based on forward-propagating and backpropagating the inputs in the shifted domain through the respective layer (p4446 §4.1.2 ¶1 and p4447 ¶1, note: networks are trained using gradient descent which includes forwards and backwards propagation).
Carlucci does not disclose, however, Chung teaches: calculating a similarity score between the source domain gradient vector and the domain-shifted gradient vector, wherein a similarity score above a threshold percentile of scores across similarity scores calculated for the layers in the machine learning model indicates that the respective layer is a domain-sensitive layer (“Overview of our cosine similarity loss at the feature level. By computing the cosine similarity matrix, we can compare which target feature is similar to which source feature and selectively maximize the cosine similarity between them spatial-wise. Here, the threshold is set to 0.5. Broad arrows on top indicate that the images are forwarded through the feature extractor of the segmentation network.” Fig 1 P1).
Carlucci and Chung are in the same field of endeavor of Domain Adaptation and are analogous. Carlucci discloses a method using a mixing factor for domain and shift adaptation. Chung discloses identifying domain adaptation layers for maximization using a cosine similarity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the known DA with a mixing factor of Carlucci with the known maximization and identification of similar layers using cosine similarity as taught by Chung to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Carlucci does not disclose, however, Chung teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein the similarity score comprises a normalized cosine similarity score (“Overview of our cosine similarity loss at the feature level. By computing the cosine similarity matrix, we can compare which target feature is similar to which source feature and selectively maximize the cosine similarity between them spatial-wise. Here, the threshold is set to 0.5. Broad arrows on top indicate that the images are forwarded through the feature extractor of the segmentation network.” Fig 1 P1).
Conclusion
/ERIC NILSSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151