DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10 are pending. Claims 2 and 9 are canceled. Claims 1 and 3-8 are amended. Claim 10 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-14, filed 6/22/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-9 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 with respect to the objections to the drawings and the rejection under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on pages 10-11 of the remarks with respect to the objections to the drawings, because Figures 4 and 7 merely state “DETERMINE PRIORITY” and do not show the particular features recited in claims 4–6, the objection to the drawings is maintained.
In response to arguments on page 15 of the remarks that primary reference HANAO “fails to disclose that the centralized control unit MC1 executes a first set of actions if an instruction value for the power conditioners PCSB1- PCSBₘ is changed based on a limit value and a second set of instructions is the instruction value is unchanged based on the limit”, it is respectfully submitted that HANAO discloses the instruction value for the power conditioners is limited based on the rated output of each power conditioner (¶ 0059) and also based on the rated output of each battery (¶ 0062, 0125). The centralized control unit MC1 is disclosed as gradually changing the instruction value until a target is reached (¶ 0083, 0107). One of ordinary skill would recognize the centralized control unit MC1 would limit the instruction value based on the limits disclosed in paragraphs 0059, 0062, and 0125. While Applicant’s arguments provide general commentary on the disclosure of HANAO on pages 14-15 of the remarks, Applicant’s arguments do not specifically comment on or argue against the relevant portions/paragraphs relied upon in the rejection, and it is maintained that HANAO discloses the first and second set of actions based on a limit value, within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, and as best understood in light of the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 112(b) as being indefinite.
With respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant is requested to point out support in the original disclosure for each of the new or amended claims, in accordance with MPEP §714.02, MPEP § 2163.04, and § 2163.06.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claims 4-6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitations “set the respective target value for each of the storage battery strings based on the respective predetermined priority; repeatedly execute a process of changing the respective instruction value toward the respective target value by a second amount of change that is less than a difference between the respective target value and the respective current value until the respective instruction value reaches the respective target value” in lines 31-36 are indefinite. In particular, the “respective target value” is a value that is based on a “respective limit value” as recited in lines 13-16. However, the above recitations of lines 31-36 are implemented when the instruction value is not changed based on the “respective limit value”, and therefore, it is not clear if said recitations are or are not based on the “respective limit value”. For examination purposes, the “respective target value” in lines 31-36 is interpreted as a different value than the “respective target value” of lines 13-16.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the instruction value" in line 25. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the system power instruction" in line 28. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-7 and 10 are dependent from claim 1 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the recitations “set the respective target value for each of the storage battery strings based on the respective predetermined priority; repeatedly execute a process of changing the respective instruction value toward the respective target value by a second amount of change that is less than a difference between the respective target value and the respective current value until the respective instruction value reaches the respective target value” in lines 35-40 are indefinite, for reasons similar to claim 1 as described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HANAO (JP2019122150A; cited on IDS with date 9/6/2024; cited in previous office action; English Machine translation was included with previous office action) in view of ABE (US 2012/0217933; cited on IDS with date 9/6/2024; cited in previous office action;).
Regarding claim 1, HANAO discloses a storage battery control device (comprising MC1, 32, 33, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0025: centralized control unit MC1 centrally manages multiple power conditioners PCS<sub>PVi</sub> and PCS<sub>Bk</sub>. The centralized control unit MC1 transmits and receives various types of information with each power conditioner PCS<sub>PVi</sub> and PCS<sub>Bk</sub>; ¶ 0059: target power calculation unit 33 calculates the individual target power P<sub>Bk</sub>… of its own device (power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>) based on the control index pr<sub>B</sub> received by the receiving unit 31) that controls a power storage system (¶ 0007: power system provided by the first aspect of this disclosure comprises a power control device to which power is input from a power generator; a battery power conditioner to which charging and discharging of a battery is controlled; a power line to which the power control device and the battery power conditioner are connected and which is connected to a power grid; and a centralized control device to which the power control device and the battery power conditioner are controlled, wherein the battery power conditioner includes setting means for setting characteristic values to limit the input and output power during charging and discharging of the battery; ¶ 0023: each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> converts the AC power input from power grid A and each power conditioner PCS<sub>PVi</sub> via power line 90 into DC power and supplies it to the storage battery B<sub>k</sub>, thereby charging the storage battery B<sub>k</sub>. Each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> controls the charging and discharging of each battery B<sub>k</sub>. Therefore, each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> functions as a charging circuit for charging battery B<sub>k</sub> and a discharging circuit for discharging battery B<sub>k</sub>) including a plurality of storage battery strings connected in parallel to each other (in Figure 1, a plurality of “storage battery strings connected in parallel” each comprises a battery “B” and a power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> / PCSBk), each of the storage battery strings including a power converter (part of PCS<sub>Bk</sub> / PCSBk which converts between AC and DC current, Figures 1 & 2) configured to convert an input/output power of the storage battery string (¶ 0023: see above), the storage battery control device comprising:
a system controller (MC1, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0017: a centralized control unit MC1); and
a plurality of string controllers (part of PCS<sub>Bk</sub> / PCSBk which communicates with system controller MC1 and controls the power conversion, Figs. 1 & 2), each of the string controllers is in electrical communication with the system controller (¶ 0025: centralized control unit MC1 centrally manages multiple power conditioners… PCS<sub>Bk</sub>) and the power converter of a respective one of the storage battery strings (¶ 0023: see above), wherein
the system controller is configured to:
acquire a respective state of each of the battery strings, the respective state includes a respective limit value (¶ 0059: equation (5b) below is the constraint due to the rated output of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>, equation (5c) below is the C-rate constraint of battery B<sub>k</sub>, equation (5d) below is the remaining charge constraint of each battery B<sub>k</sub>, and equation (5e) below is the output current constraint of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>. Alternatively, instead of the output current constraints of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> shown in equation (5e) below, the rated capacity constraints of power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> shown in equation (5f) below may be used. Furthermore, if the index calculation unit 13 calculates the control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub> using calculation formulas different from those described in equations (1) and (2) above, the constrained optimization problem set in the target power calculation unit 33 can be modified based on these different calculation formulas; ¶ 0061: In equation (5b) above, P<sub>Bk</sub>… represents the rated output (output limit) of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>. Therefore, equation (5b) above limits the calculated individual target power P<sub>Bk</sub><sup>ref</sup> so as not to exceed the rated output P<sub>Bk</sub><sup>lmt</sup>; ¶ 0062: the above equation (5c) limits the calculated individual target power P<sub>Bk</sub><sup>ref</sup> to fall within the range of the charge rated output and discharge rated output defined based on the set C rate (charge rate and discharge rate). In other words, due to the constraints imposed by equation (5c) above, the output current of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> (individual output power P<sub>Bk</sub><sup>out</sup>) is controlled so as not to exceed the set C rate when divided by the rated capacity of the battery B<sub>k</sub>. Therefore, the C rate can be considered a characteristic value for limiting the output current (individual output power P<sub>Bk</sub><sup>out</sup>) in each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>; ¶ 0083: the C-rate specification unit 15 of the centralized control unit MC1 gradually changes the C-rate specification value from the requested value before the change operation to the requested value after the change operation, and sends a message to each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> each time a change is made. Then, each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> sets its C-rate setting to the received C-rate specified value. Even with this configuration, the C-rate setting of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> is changed in stages, which helps to suppress sudden changes in the output power of the solar power generation system PVS1; ¶ 0125: if different constraints are used in the optimization problem shown in equation (5) above, and the constraints include a characteristic value that limits the input/output power of the battery B<sub>k</sub> during charging and discharging, the system may be configured so that the setting value of this characteristic value is changed in stages instead of the setting value of the C rate); and
use the respective limit value to determine whether to change a respective instruction value of power or current of charge or discharge for each of the storage battery strings from a respective current value to a respective target value (¶ 0044: C-rate specification unit 15 transmits the C-rate value to be set for multiple power conditioners PCS<sub>Bk</sub> (hereinafter referred to as the "C-rate specification value") to each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>), the respective target value is lower than the respective limit value (¶ 0125: if different constraints are used in the optimization problem shown in equation (5) above, and the constraints include a characteristic value that limits the input/output power of the battery B<sub>k</sub> during charging and discharging, the system may be configured so that the setting value of this characteristic value is changed in stages instead of the setting value of the C rate);
when the respective instruction value changes from the respective current value to the respective target value (¶ 0125: see above), the system controller is configured to:
repeatedly execute a process of changing the respective instruction value toward the respective target value by a first amount of change that is less than a difference between the respective target value and the respective current value until the respective instruction value reaches the respective target value (¶ 0083: see above; ¶ 0107: the C-rate specification unit 15 of the centralized management device MC1 gradually changes the C-rate specification value from a predetermined value to a requested value, and each time it is changed, it transmits the current C-rate specification value to the power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>, which has transitioned from a disconnected state to a connected state. The power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> sets the C-rate setting to the received C-rate specified value. Even with this configuration, the C-rate setting of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> is changed in stages, which helps to suppress sudden changes in the output power); and
transmit to the respective string controller the respective instruction value after each change of the respective instruction value by the first amount of change (¶ 0083, 0107: see above);
if the instruction value is unchanged based on the respective limit value (it is implied that this occurs when the instruction value is not limited as disclosed in paragraphs 0059, 0062, and 0125), the system controller is configured to:
acquire a system instruction value for the power storage system (¶ 0035: target power setting unit 11 sets a target value for the interconnection point power P(t); ¶ 0040: target power setting unit 11 outputs the set target power P<sup>C</sup> to the index calculation unit 13; ¶ 0042: indicator calculation unit 13 calculates an indicator for bringing the interconnection point power P(t) to the target power P<sup>C</sup>. In this embodiment, the index calculation unit 13 receives the target power P<sup>C</sup> from the target power setting unit 11 and calculates control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub> to set the interconnection point power P(t) to the target power P<sup>C</sup>; ¶ 0043: transmission unit 14 transmits the control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub> calculated by the index calculation unit 13 to the respective power conditioners PCS<sub>PVi</sub> and PCS<sub>Bk</sub>. The transmission unit 14 transmits the calculated control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub> each time the index calculation unit 13 calculates the control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub>. Therefore, in this embodiment, the control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub> are transmitted to each power conditioner PCS<sub>PVi</sub> and PCS<sub>Bk</sub> every 1 [sec]);
determine whether the system power instruction is updated (¶ 0035, 0040, 0042-0043: see above);
set the respective target value for each of the storage battery strings (¶ 0044, 0125: see above);
repeatedly execute a process of changing the respective instruction value toward the respective target value by a second amount of change (it is noted that the “second amount of change” is not defined or described, and therefore could possibly be interpreted as the same as the “first amount of change”, or different than the “first amount of change”) that is less than a difference between the respective target value and the respective current value until the respective instruction value reaches the respective target value (¶ 0083, 0107: see above);
transmit to the respective string controller the respective instruction value after each change of the respective instruction value by the second amount of change (¶ 0083, 0107: see above), and
each of the string controllers is configured to:
receive the respective instruction value from the system controller (¶ 0083, 0107: see above); and
transmit the respective instruction value to a respective one of the power converters to cause the respective one of the power converters to output a power or current that corresponds to the respective instruction value (¶ 0023, 0083, 0107: see above).
HANAO fails to disclose each of the storage battery strings including a plurality of storage batteries connected in series.
ABE discloses each of the storage battery strings including a plurality of storage batteries connected in series (Figure 4 shows battery modules 1053 connected in series and comprising a “cell aggregate” 1059, and Figure 6 shows each “cell aggregate” 1059 includes a plurality of series connected cells 1074; ¶ 0062-0065, 0069-0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include each of the storage battery strings including a plurality of storage batteries connected in series in order to provide a desired voltage for each of the storage battery strings of HANAO.
HANAO fails to disclose the system controller is configured to set a respective predetermined priority for each of the storage battery strings if the system power instruction is updated; and set the respective target value for each of the storage battery strings based on the respective predetermined priority.
ABE further discloses the system controller is configured to set a respective predetermined priority for each of the storage battery strings if the system power instruction is updated (¶ 0082: request for power release/absorption and the requested value P1 for released/absorbed power may be inputted from the operating part 1026 or may be inputted from the outside via a communication circuit; ¶ 0084: obtain overall discharged/charged power TP2 as a sum of discharged/charged power of all the battery units 1005); and set the respective target value for each of the storage battery strings based on the respective predetermined priority (¶ 0090-0092: Although discharge/charge priority order given by the discharge/charge priority order giving part 1110 may be fixed, it may be switched in a regular manner or switched in a random manner. Alternatively, priority order for discharge/charge is given in accordance with an index including a factor that indicates a state of the battery unit 1005. The index may include a plurality of factors. For example, when an SOC is adopted as the factor, the discharge priority order is increased and the charge priority order is decreased with increase in SOC. This leads to preferential discharge of the battery unit 1005 with a larger SOC and preferential charge of the battery unit 1005 with a smaller SOC, and the SOC of the battery unit 1005 is properly held).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the respective predetermined priority for each of the storage battery strings in order to provide balanced usage of the battery strings.
Regarding claim 4, HANAO as modified by ABE teaches the storage battery control device as applied to claim 1, but fails to teach each of the string controllers is configured to: determine the respective state information for the respective one of the storage battery strings, and transmit the respective state information to the system controller the system controller is configured to: acquire the respective state information from each of the string controllers, and set the respective target value to be higher as the respective predetermined priority of the respective one of the storage battery strings becomes higher.
ABE further discloses each of the string controllers is configured to: determine the respective state information for the respective one of the storage battery strings, and transmit the respective state information to the system controller the system controller is configured to: acquire the respective state information from each of the string controllers, and set the respective target value to be higher as the respective predetermined priority of the respective one of the storage battery strings becomes higher (¶ 0077, 0089-0092).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the respective predetermined priority for each of the storage battery strings in order to provide balanced usage of the battery strings.
Regarding claim 6, HANAO as modified by ABE teaches the storage battery control device as applied to claim 4, but fails to teach the respective predetermined priority is set whenever the respective instruction value changes from the respective current value to the respective target value.
ABE further discloses the respective predetermined priority is set whenever the respective instruction value changes from the respective current value to the respective target value (¶ 0077, 0083-0086, 0089-0092).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the respective predetermined priority for each of the storage battery strings in order to provide balanced usage of the battery strings.
Regarding claim 7, HANAO discloses the system controller is configured to: simultaneously change the respective instruction value from the respective current value to the respective target value simultaneously for each of the plurality of storage battery strings, and when the respective instruction value changes from the respective current value to the respective target value, simultaneously executing a process of changing each respective instruction value to the respective target value by a respective first amount of change that is less than a difference between the respective target value and the respective current value is repeatedly executed until the respective instruction value reaches the respective target value (¶ 0058, 0071, 0078-0079).
Regarding claim 8, HANAO discloses a power storage system (¶ 0007: power system provided by the first aspect of this disclosure comprises a power control device to which power is input from a power generator; a battery power conditioner to which charging and discharging of a battery is controlled; a power line to which the power control device and the battery power conditioner are connected and which is connected to a power grid; and a centralized control device to which the power control device and the battery power conditioner are controlled, wherein the battery power conditioner includes setting means for setting characteristic values to limit the input and output power during charging and discharging of the battery; ¶ 0023: each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> converts the AC power input from power grid A and each power conditioner PCS<sub>PVi</sub> via power line 90 into DC power and supplies it to the storage battery B<sub>k</sub>, thereby charging the storage battery B<sub>k</sub>. Each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> controls the charging and discharging of each battery B<sub>k</sub>. Therefore, each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> functions as a charging circuit for charging battery B<sub>k</sub> and a discharging circuit for discharging battery B<sub>k</sub>) comprising:
a plurality of storage battery strings connected in parallel to each other (in Figure 1, a plurality of “storage battery strings connected in parallel” each comprises a battery “B” and a power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> / PCSBk); and
a storage battery control device (comprising MC1 and part of PCS<sub>Bk</sub> / PCSBk which communicates with system controller MC1 and controls the power conversion, Figs. 1 & 2) configured to control the storage battery strings (¶ 0025: centralized control unit MC1 centrally manages multiple power conditioners… PCS<sub>Bk</sub>), wherein
each of the storage battery strings includes:
a power converter (part of PCS<sub>Bk</sub> / PCSBk which converts between AC and DC current, Figures 1 & 2) configured to convert an input/output power of the storage battery string (¶ 0023: each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> converts the AC power input from power grid A and each power conditioner PCS<sub>PVi</sub> via power line 90 into DC power and supplies it to the storage battery B<sub>k</sub>, thereby charging the storage battery B<sub>k</sub>. Each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> controls the charging and discharging of each battery B<sub>k</sub>. Therefore, each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> functions as a charging circuit for charging battery B<sub>k</sub> and a discharging circuit for discharging battery B<sub>k</sub>);
the storage battery control device comprising:
a system controller (MC1, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0017: a centralized control unit MC1); and
a plurality of string controllers (part of PCS<sub>Bk</sub> / PCSBk which communicates with system controller MC1 and controls the power conversion, Figs. 1 & 2), each of the string controllers is in electrical communication with the system controller (¶ 0025: centralized control unit MC1 centrally manages multiple power conditioners… PCS<sub>Bk</sub>) and the power converter of a respective one of the storage battery strings (¶ 0023: see above), wherein
the system controller is configured to:
acquire a respective state of each of the battery strings, the respective state includes a respective limit value (¶ 0059: equation (5b) below is the constraint due to the rated output of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>, equation (5c) below is the C-rate constraint of battery B<sub>k</sub>, equation (5d) below is the remaining charge constraint of each battery B<sub>k</sub>, and equation (5e) below is the output current constraint of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>. Alternatively, instead of the output current constraints of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> shown in equation (5e) below, the rated capacity constraints of power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> shown in equation (5f) below may be used. Furthermore, if the index calculation unit 13 calculates the control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub> using calculation formulas different from those described in equations (1) and (2) above, the constrained optimization problem set in the target power calculation unit 33 can be modified based on these different calculation formulas; ¶ 0061: In equation (5b) above, P<sub>Bk</sub>… represents the rated output (output limit) of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>. Therefore, equation (5b) above limits the calculated individual target power P<sub>Bk</sub><sup>ref</sup> so as not to exceed the rated output P<sub>Bk</sub><sup>lmt</sup>; ¶ 0062: the above equation (5c) limits the calculated individual target power P<sub>Bk</sub><sup>ref</sup> to fall within the range of the charge rated output and discharge rated output defined based on the set C rate (charge rate and discharge rate). In other words, due to the constraints imposed by equation (5c) above, the output current of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> (individual output power P<sub>Bk</sub><sup>out</sup>) is controlled so as not to exceed the set C rate when divided by the rated capacity of the battery B<sub>k</sub>. Therefore, the C rate can be considered a characteristic value for limiting the output current (individual output power P<sub>Bk</sub><sup>out</sup>) in each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>; ¶ 0083: the C-rate specification unit 15 of the centralized control unit MC1 gradually changes the C-rate specification value from the requested value before the change operation to the requested value after the change operation, and sends a message to each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> each time a change is made. Then, each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> sets its C-rate setting to the received C-rate specified value. Even with this configuration, the C-rate setting of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> is changed in stages, which helps to suppress sudden changes in the output power of the solar power generation system PVS1; ¶ 0125: if different constraints are used in the optimization problem shown in equation (5) above, and the constraints include a characteristic value that limits the input/output power of the battery B<sub>k</sub> during charging and discharging, the system may be configured so that the setting value of this characteristic value is changed in stages instead of the setting value of the C rate); and
use the respective limit value to determine whether to change a respective instruction value of power or current of charge or discharge of each of the storage battery strings from a respective current value to a respective target value (¶ 0044: C-rate specification unit 15 transmits the C-rate value to be set for multiple power conditioners PCS<sub>Bk</sub> (hereinafter referred to as the "C-rate specification value") to each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>), the respective target value is lower than the respective limit value (¶ 0125: if different constraints are used in the optimization problem shown in equation (5) above, and the constraints include a characteristic value that limits the input/output power of the battery B<sub>k</sub> during charging and discharging, the system may be configured so that the setting value of this characteristic value is changed in stages instead of the setting value of the C rate);
when the respective instruction value changes from a respective current value to a respective target value (¶ 0125: see above), the system controller is configured to:
repeatedly execute a process of changing the respective instruction value to the respective target value by a first amount of change that is less than a difference between the respective target value and the respective current value until the respective instruction value reaches the respective target value (¶ 0083: see above; ¶ 0107: the C-rate specification unit 15 of the centralized management device MC1 gradually changes the C-rate specification value from a predetermined value to a requested value, and each time it is changed, it transmits the current C-rate specification value to the power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub>, which has transitioned from a disconnected state to a connected state. The power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> sets the C-rate setting to the received C-rate specified value. Even with this configuration, the C-rate setting of each power conditioner PCS<sub>Bk</sub> is changed in stages, which helps to suppress sudden changes in the output power); and
transmit to the respective string controller the respective instruction value after each change of the respective instruction value by the first amount of change (¶ 0083, 0107: see above),
if the instruction value is unchanged based on the respective limit value (it is implied that this occurs when the instruction value is not limited as disclosed in paragraphs 0059, 0062, and 0125), the system controller is configured to:
acquire a system instruction value for the power storage system (¶ 0035: target power setting unit 11 sets a target value for the interconnection point power P(t); ¶ 0040: target power setting unit 11 outputs the set target power P<sup>C</sup> to the index calculation unit 13; ¶ 0042: indicator calculation unit 13 calculates an indicator for bringing the interconnection point power P(t) to the target power P<sup>C</sup>. In this embodiment, the index calculation unit 13 receives the target power P<sup>C</sup> from the target power setting unit 11 and calculates control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub> to set the interconnection point power P(t) to the target power P<sup>C</sup>; ¶ 0043: transmission unit 14 transmits the control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub> calculated by the index calculation unit 13 to the respective power conditioners PCS<sub>PVi</sub> and PCS<sub>Bk</sub>. The transmission unit 14 transmits the calculated control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub> each time the index calculation unit 13 calculates the control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub>. Therefore, in this embodiment, the control indices pr<sub>PV</sub> and pr<sub>B</sub> are transmitted to each power conditioner PCS<sub>PVi</sub> and PCS<sub>Bk</sub> every 1 [sec]);
determine whether the system power instruction is updated (¶ 0035, 0040, 0042-0043: see above);
set the respective target value for each of the storage battery strings (¶ 0044, 0125: see above);
repeatedly execute a process of changing the respective instruction value toward the respective target value by a second amount of change (it is noted that the “second amount of change” is not defined or described, and therefore could possibly be interpreted as the same as the “first amount of change”, or different than the “first amount of change”) that is less than a difference between the respective target value and the respective current value until the respective instruction value reaches the respective target value (¶ 0083, 0107: see above);
transmit to the respective string controller the respective instruction value after each change of the respective instruction value by the second amount of change (¶ 0083, 0107: see above), and
each of the string controllers is configured to:
receive the respective instruction value from the system controller (¶ 0083, 0107: see above); and
transmit the respective instruction value to a respective one of the power converters to cause the respective one of the power converters to output a power or current that corresponds to the respective instruction value (¶ 0023, 0083, 0107: see above).
HANAO fails to disclose each of the storage battery strings includes a plurality of storage batteries connected in series.
ABE discloses each of the storage battery strings includes a plurality of storage batteries connected in series (Figure 4 shows battery modules 1053 connected in series and comprising a “cell aggregate” 1059, and Figure 6 shows each “cell aggregate” 1059 includes a plurality of series connected cells 1074; ¶ 0062-0065, 0069-0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include each of the storage battery strings including a plurality of storage batteries connected in series in order to provide a desired voltage for each of the storage battery strings of HANAO.
HANAO fails to disclose the system controller is configured to set a respective predetermined priority for each of the storage battery strings if the system power instruction is updated; and set the respective target value for each of the storage battery strings based on the respective predetermined priority.
ABE discloses the system controller is configured to set a respective predetermined priority for each of the storage battery strings if the system power instruction is updated (¶ 0082: request for power release/absorption and the requested value P1 for released/absorbed power may be inputted from the operating part 1026 or may be inputted from the outside via a communication circuit; ¶ 0084: obtain overall discharged/charged power TP2 as a sum of discharged/charged power of all the battery units 1005); and set the respective target value for each of the storage battery strings based on the respective predetermined priority (¶ 0090-0092: Although discharge/charge priority order given by the discharge/charge priority order giving part 1110 may be fixed, it may be switched in a regular manner or switched in a random manner. Alternatively, priority order for discharge/charge is given in accordance with an index including a factor that indicates a state of the battery unit 1005. The index may include a plurality of factors. For example, when an SOC is adopted as the factor, the discharge priority order is increased and the charge priority order is decreased with increase in SOC. This leads to preferential discharge of the battery unit 1005 with a larger SOC and preferential charge of the battery unit 1005 with a smaller SOC, and the SOC of the battery unit 1005 is properly held).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the respective predetermined priority for each of the storage battery strings in order to provide balanced usage of the battery strings.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HANAO in view of ABE as applied to claims 1, 4, and 6-8 above, and further in view of JO (Pub. No.: US 2024/0030710; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 3, HANAO as modified by ABE teaches the storage battery control device as applied to claim 1, but HANAO fails to disclose the system controller is configured to determine whether the respective current value is the respective limit value or higher, and when the system controller determines that the respective current value is the respective limit value or higher, the system controller is configured to change the respective instruction value to the respective target by repeatedly changing the respective current value by the first amount of change.
JO discloses the system controller is configured to determine whether the respective current value is the respective limit value or higher, and when the system controller determines that the respective current value is the respective limit value or higher, the system controller is configured to change the respective instruction value to the respective target (¶ 0010, 0097, 0116). Including the system controller configured to change the respective instruction value when the respective current value is the respective limit value or higher, as disclosed in JO, in the storage battery control device of HANAO, would provide the system controller configured to change the respective instruction value by repeatedly changing the respective current value by the first amount of change.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the system controller is configured to change the respective instruction value when the respective current value is the respective limit value or higher in order to prevent damage to the storage battery strings
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HANAO in view of ABE as applied to claims 1, 4, and 6-8 above, and further in view of SLEPCHENKOV (Pub. No.: US 2020/0313445; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 5, HANAO as modified by ABE teaches the storage battery control device as applied to claim 4, but fails to disclose the respective state information includes a cumulative charge/discharge capacity of the respective one of the storage battery strings, the system controller is configured to set the respective predetermined priority to be higher as the cumulative charge/discharge capacity of the respective one of the storage battery strings is lower or set the respective e predetermined priority to be higher as a SOH of the respective one of the storage battery strings is higher.
SLEPCHENKOV discloses the respective state information includes a cumulative charge/discharge capacity of the respective one of the storage battery strings, the system controller is configured to set the respective predetermined priority to be higher as the cumulative charge/discharge capacity of the respective one of the storage battery strings is lower or set the respective e predetermined priority to be higher as a SOH of the respective one of the storage battery strings is higher (¶ 0077).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include setting the respective predetermined priority based on capacity or SOH as recited in order to cause the SOH of the storage battery strings to converge (SLEPCHENKOV, ¶ 0077).
Regarding claim 10, HANAO as modified by ABE teaches the storage battery control device as applied to claim 4, but fails to disclose the plurality of storage battery strings includes a first storage battery string and a second storage battery string; and the respective state information for the first storage battery string includes a first SOH and the respective state information for the second storage battery string includes a second SOH, and the system controller is configured to set the predetermined priority of the first storage battery string to be higher than the predetermined priority of the second storage battery string if the first SOH is higher than the second SOH.
SLEPCHENKOV discloses the plurality of storage [batteries] includes a first storage battery and a second storage battery; and the respective state information for the first storage battery includes a first SOH and the respective state information for the second storage battery includes a second SOH, and the system controller is configured to set the predetermined priority of the first storage battery to be higher than the predetermined priority of the second storage battery if the first SOH is higher than the second SOH (¶ 0077). It would be obvious to apply setting the priority based on SOH as disclosed in SLEPCHENKOV for the plurality of storage battery strings of HANAO.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include setting the respective predetermined priority based on SOH as recited in order to cause the SOH of the storage battery strings to converge (SLEPCHENKOV, ¶ 0077).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 9/14/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859