Claim Objections
Claims 4-5, 11, 17, 21, and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, lines 2-3: replace “at least one of the electrically insulating layer structures” with -- at least one of the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures --.
Claim 5, line 1; claim 11, line 4; claim 21, line 2; and claim 24, line 4: replace “the stack” with -- the laminated stack --.
Claim 17,
line 16: replace “at least one of the electrically conductive layer structures” with -- at least one of the plurality of electrically conductive layer structures --,
line 21: replace “the electrically insulating layer structures” with -- the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8: The term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite as to whether the claimed narrower ranges “preferably located a distance of at least 20 µm from the optical waveguide” is limitation. Specifically, it is not clear whether the claim covers the broad range of “insulating layer structures comprise a filling material,” which is reasonably interpreted as the filling material can be located at any distance from the optical waveguide or the specific range of “insulating layer structures comprise a filling material located a distance of at least 20 µm from the optical waveguide.” See MPEP 2173.05(d). For examining purpose, the claim will be interpreted as “insulating layer structures comprise a filling material” located at any distance from optical waveguide.
Claim 9: The term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because the additional term “preferably” making the limitation optional. In this case, it is not clear as to whether the claim requires the “pores being filled by a fluid” or “gas filled pores.” See MPEP 2173.05(d). For examining purpose, the claim will be interpreted as pores being filled by either fluid or gas.
Claim 10: The term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite as to whether the claimed narrower ranges “preferably up to 64 optical waveguides” is limitation. Specifically, the claim is not clear whether the claim covers the broad range of “plurality of the optical waveguides,” which can be ranging from 2 to more than 64 optical waveguides or the specific range of “up to 64 optical waveguides.” See MPEP 2173.05(d). For examining purpose, the claim will be interpreted as “plurality of the optical waveguides.”
Claim 21: The term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear whether the “preferred” limitation is claimed or not. In this case, it is not clear as to whether the claim requires “at least one of the optical waveguide, the cap structure and at least one of the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures made of an optical organic polymer material or a glass material.” See MPEP 2173.05(d). For examining purpose, the claim will be interpreted as “at least one of the optical waveguide, the cap structure and at least one of the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures is made of an optical organic polymer material or a glass material” is optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mayer (US 5526454 A).
Re claim 1: Mayer discloses a component carrier (Figs. 6 and 8), comprising: a laminated stack comprising a plurality of electrically conductive layer structures (44-47) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (40, 41); and an electrically insulating cap structure (40, 41) selectively covering an optical waveguide (25) at an exterior surface of the laminated stack (col. 7, line 47 through col. 8, line 43).
Re claim 2: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the optical waveguide (25) is a waveguide core cladded by the electrically insulating cap structure (40, 41). See Figs. 6 and 8.
Re claim 3: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the electrically insulating cap structure (40) and at least one of the electrically insulating layer structures (41) are made of the same material (col. 8, lines 17-20, where both layers 40 and 41 are made of polymer).
Re claim 4: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the electrically insulating cap structure (40), the optical waveguide, and at least one of the electrically insulating layer structures (41) is made of an optical polymeric material and/or glass material (col. 8, lines 17-20, where both layers 40 and 41 are made of polymer).
Re claim 5: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the stack is a printed circuit board (Fig. 8; col. 7, lines 55-58), wherein the optical waveguide is fully embedded in the electrically insulating cap structure (Fig. 8, where the optical waveguide is fully embedded in the electrically insulating cap structure via opening 15).
Re claim 7: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the optical waveguide comprises a cross-section having an edged shape or a round shape (Fig. 6).
Re claim 8: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the electrically insulating cap structure (40) and at least one of the electrically insulating layer structures (41) comprise a filling material (Figs. 6-8; col. 10, lines 25-28, where the trenches in the insulating cap structure and the insulating layer are filled with nonlinear optical polymer).
Re claim 10: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the optical waveguides (Fig. 6).
Re claim 11: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, further comprising: an optical chip connected to the optical waveguide (25), wherein the electrically insulating cap structure (40, 41) and the optical waveguide are vertically shifted in a thickness direction of the stack from the optical chip (Figs. 6 and 7; col. 5, lines 18-20 and col. 6, lines 62-68).
Re claim 13: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the optical waveguide (25) and the electrically insulating cap structure (40, 41) are formed on both opposing main surfaces of the laminated stack (42). See figs. 7-8.
Re claim 14: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein in a cross-sectional view, the electrically insulating cap structure (40) is substantially U-shaped (Fig. 8).
Re claim 15: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the optical waveguide is a component (col. 2, lines 53-54).
Re claim 19: Mayer discloses a method of manufacturing a component carrier, the method comprising: providing a laminated stack having a plurality of electrically conductive layer structures (44-47) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (40, 41); and forming a cap structure (40) selectively covering an optical waveguide at an exterior surface of the laminated stack (col. 7, line 47 through col. 8, line 43).
Claims 1-2, 12, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masuyama et al (US 9696496 B2).
Re claim 1: Masuyama et al discloses a component carrier (Fig. 5), comprising: a laminated stack comprising a plurality of electrically conductive layer structures (13, 19) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (31, 35, 67); and an electrically insulating cap structure (35) selectively covering an optical waveguide (65) at an exterior surface of the laminated stack (col. 11, lines 9-52).
Re claim 2: Masuyama et al discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the optical waveguide (65) is a waveguide core (33) cladded by the electrically insulating cap structure (35) (Fig. 5; col. 11, lines 9-30).
Re claim 12: Masuyama et al discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the electrically insulating cap structure (35) is a solder resist (Fig. 5; col. 11, lines 14-31).
Re claim 16: Masuyama et al discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein on top of the electrically insulating cap structure (35), at least one of a surface finish (67a) and a further solder resist is formed (layer 67b - Fig. 5; col. 11, lines 35-40).
Re claim 18: Masuyama et al the component carrier according to claim 1, further comprising: insulating layer (67) serves as a shielding structure on the electrically insulating cap structure for shielding the optical waveguide (65), wherein the shielding structure is configured to protect a signal integrity of a signal being transported within the optical waveguide (Fig. 5; col. 11, lines 32-40).
Claims 1-2 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brusberg (US 20180217326 A1).
Re claim 1: Brusberg discloses a component carrier (Figs. 6A-B), comprising: a laminated stack comprising a plurality of electrically conductive layer structures (202) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (210); and an electrically insulating cap structure (150/170) selectively covering an optical waveguide (61) at an exterior surface of the laminated stack (paragraphs [0080-0081]).
Re claim 2: Brusberg discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the optical waveguide (61) is a waveguide core cladded by the electrically insulating cap structure (150) (paragraph [0102]).
Re claim 19: Brusberg discloses a method of manufacturing a component carrier (Figs. 6A-B), the method comprising: providing a laminated stack having a plurality of electrically conductive layer structures (202) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (210); and forming a cap structure (depth dC and 150; Figs. 2A, 3A) selectively covering an optical waveguide at an exterior surface of the laminated stack (paragraphs [0080-0081] and [0100]).
Re claim 20: Brusberg discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the cap structure (150) is formed by spray coating (paragraphs [0080] and [0102]).
Re claim 21: Brusberg discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein at least one of the optical waveguide, the stack, and the cap structure (150) is formed by 3D-printing (paragraph [0108]), wherein at least one of the optical waveguide (61), the cap structure (depth dC and 150) and at least one of the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (210) is made of a glass material (paragraphs [0096-0104]).
Re claim 22: Brusberg discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the cap structure (150) is manufactured at least by one of plating and sputtering (paragraph [0108]).
Re claim 23: Brusberg discloses the method according to claim 19, further comprising: forming a shielding structure (150) on the cap structure (depth dC) for shielding the optical waveguide (61) (Fig. 3A).
Re claim 24: Brusberg discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the step of forming a cap structure (depth dC and 150; Figs. 2A, 3A) selectively covering an optical waveguide (61) at an exterior surface of the laminated stack comprises the following sub-steps: providing a solid glass body (11) on or above the stack; and laser-processing the glass body (11) to form the optical waveguide (61) from the cap structure (depth dC and 150; Figs. 2A, 3A) so that the optical waveguide (61) and the cap structure (depth dC and 150; Figs. 2A, 3A) are formed in the glass body (11) (paragraphs [0096-0104]). Though Brusberg does not explicitly disclose the laser-processing the glass body (11) to form a reflection layer inside the glass body (11), the reflection layer delimiting the optical waveguide (61) from the cap structure (150), such reflection layer is necessary in order for the structure to properly operate, i.e., optical signals are confined within the waveguide, since the optical waveguide (61) and the cap structure (depth dC and 150; Figs. 2A, 3A) are formed in the glass body (11), which is the same structure and method (laser processing) of the claimed limitations of claim 24.
Claims 1, 9, 17, 19, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weis (US 11398334 B2).
Re claim 1: Weis discloses a component carrier (100; Fig. 6), comprising: a laminated stack (102) comprising a plurality of electrically conductive layer structures (116, 104; col. 14, lines 21-24) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (118, 106; col. 14, lines 21-24); and an electrically insulating cap structure (118 above 132 of Fig. 6) selectively covering an optical waveguide (132; col. 6, lines 61-67) at an exterior surface of the laminated stack (102) (col. 16, lines 23-37).
Re claim 9: Weis discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the electrically insulating cap structure comprises a porous material having open and/or closed pores being filled by a fluid or gas (col. 4, line 65 through col. 5, line 10 where the gap is filled with air, which can be both a gas and a fluid).
Re claim 17: Weis discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, further comprising at least one of the following features: the component carrier (100) comprises at least one component (132) being surface mounted on and/or embedded in the component carrier (100), wherein the at least one component (132) is in particular selected from a group consisting of a light guiding element, an active electronic component, a passive electronic component (col. 6, lines 61-67 and col. 16, lines 23-37); wherein at least one of the electrically conductive layer structures (116) of the component carrier (100) comprises at least one of the group consisting of copper, aluminum, nickel, silver, gold, palladium, and tungsten, any of the mentioned materials being optionally coated with supra-conductive material such as graphene (col. 8, lines 56-62); wherein the electrically insulating layer structures (118) and the electrically insulating cap structure (118) comprise at least one of the group consisting of resin, in particular reinforced or non-reinforced resin, for instance epoxy resin or bismaleimide-triazine resin, ABF, FR-4, FR-5, cyanate ester, polyphenylene derivate, glass, prepreg material, polyimide, polyamide, liquid crystal polymer, epoxy-based build-up film, polytetrafluoroethylene, a ceramic, and a metal oxide (col. 8, lines 37-47); wherein the component carrier is shaped as a plate (col. 7, lines 19-21); wherein the component carrier (100) is configured as one of the group consisting of a printed circuit board, a substrate, and an interposer (col. 7, lines 35-43); wherein the component carrier (100) is configured as a laminate-type component carrier (col. 8, lines 63-64).
Re claim 19: Weis discloses a method of manufacturing a component carrier (100; Fig. 6), the method comprising: providing a laminated stack (102) having a plurality of electrically conductive layer structures (116, 104; col. 14, lines 21-24) and a plurality of electrically insulating layer structures (118, 106; col. 14, lines 21-24); and forming a cap structure (118 above 132 of Fig. 6) selectively covering an optical waveguide (132; col. 6, lines 61-67) at an exterior surface of the laminated stack (102) (col. 16, lines 23-37).
Re claim 21: Weis discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein at least one of the optical waveguide, the stack, and the cap structure is formed by 3D-printing (col. 7, lines 49-56), wherein at least one of the optical waveguide, the cap structure and at least one of the plurality of electrically insulating layer structures is made of an optical organic polymer material or a glass material (col. 7, lines 62-64 where the insulating layer structures comprise glass fibers).
Re claim 23: Weis discloses the method according to claim 19, further comprising: forming a shielding structure on the cap structure (118) for shielding the optical waveguide (132) (Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer (US 5526454 A).
Re claim 6: Mayer discloses the component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the electrically insulating cap structure (40) comprises a layer thickness being larger than a layer thickness of the optical waveguide (Figs. 6 and 8), but is silent with respect to the layer thickness being specifically at least 3 times larger than a layer thickness of the optical waveguide. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to have the layer thickness the electrically insulating cap structure being at least 3 times larger than a layer thickness of the optical waveguide to enhance signal transmission by reducing signal loss.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Usami (US 10002883 B2): Figs. 5-6 disclose multiple insulating layers, conductive layers, and a waveguide.
Tuominen (US 10651215 B2): Fig. 5 discloses the cap, in a cross-sectional view, is substantially U-shaped.
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874