Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 2/4/25 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims filed 2/4/25 have been considered as follows.
Double Patenting Rejections of the claims:
The rejections are maintained since no terminal disclaimer is filed.
35 USC 102/103 Rejections of the claims:
Applicant argues the rejections should be withdrawn because Berman (US 20130057937) does not teach “using a three-dimensional building model representative of the building to calculate solar irradiance through the at least one tintable window into a space of the building based, at least in part, on the sensor data and a predicted clear sky irradiance”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out, Applicant appears to argue Berman does not teach the solar irradiance is directly from the sun to the window (i.e., the sun irradiance is reflected into the window in Berman’s teaching according to Applicant), which is not persuasive since the limitation(s) “directly” or “non-reflecting irradiance” or the like is not part of the claim language. Applicant further argues Berman does not teaches the relation between listed different information, however it is not clear which information related to the claimed invention Applicant refers to. Nevertheless, e.g., at least the shadow is related to the 3-D models in the listing in Berman’s abstract.
To the extent it may apply, Applicant appears to argue Berman’s teaching in in the abstract only therefore is excluded as prior art. Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out an abstract is part of the disclosure and is considered as prior art when applicable. Further Berman does not only disclose in the abstract the claimed invention related to the three-dimensional building model, but also has further description on [83] of the specification, “[0083] In various embodiments, ASC 100 may utilize one or more data tables, for example a window table, an elevation table, a floor table, a building table, a shadow table, a reflective surface table, and the like. A window table may comprise information associated with one or more windows of a building (e.g., location information, index information, and the like). An elevation table may comprise information associated with one or more elevations of a building (e.g., location information, index information, and the like). A floor table may comprise information associated with floor of a building (e.g., floor number, height from ground, and the like). A building table may comprise information about a building, for example, orientation (e.g., compass direction), 3-D coordinate information, and the like. A shadow table may comprise information associated with one or more objects which may at least partially block sunlight from striking a building, for example, the height of a mountain, the dimensions of an adjacent building, and the like. A reflective surfaces table may comprise information associated with one or more reflective surfaces, for example, 3-D coordinate information, and the like. In this manner, ASC 100 may calculate desired information, for example, when sunlight may be reflected from one or more reflective surfaces onto one or more locations on a building, when a portion of a building may be in a shadow cast by an adjacent building, and the like.”
Therefore Examiner maintains the rejections.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 36,41-42,45,48-49,52,55 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 38 of U.S. Patent No. 11719990. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the conflicting claim(s) of the instant application is disclosed in the conflicting claim(s) of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 36-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (2) as being anticipated by Berman (US 20130057937, of record).
Regarding claim 36, Berman teaches (Title, “AUTOMATED SHADE CONTROL IN CONNECTION WITH ELECTROCHROMIC GLASS”, Abstract, “...controllers that use algorithms to control...”) A method for controlling at least one tintable window, the method comprising:
receiving sensor data from a plurality of sensors outside a building (e.g., Abstract, “real-time sky conditions, solar radiation on a building”, [54], “...external sensor mounts...”, [106], “...sensors...exterior...”) in which the at least one tintable window is disposed, the sensor data related to irradiance outside the building;
using a three-dimensional building model representative of the building to calculate solar irradiance through the at least one tintable window into a space of the building based, at least in part, on the sensor data and a predicted clear sky irradiance; and
controlling tint of the at least one tintable window based, at least in part, on the calculated solar irradiance through the at least one tintable window (Abstract).
Regarding claim 37, Berman further teaches The method of claim 36, wherein the calculated solar irradiance is based, at least in part, on input from a user (Abstract, “occupant preference information”).
Regarding claim 38, Berman further teaches The method of claim 37, wherein the input from the user includes a lighting condition for a room (“lighting”).
Regarding claim 39, Berman further teaches The method of claim 38, wherein controlling tint generates the lighting condition for the room (“glass having variable characteristics”).
Regarding claim 40, Berman further teaches The method of claim 38, wherein the input from the user is set in an application (“algorithms”, “occupant preference information”).
Regarding claim 41, Berman further teaches The method of claim 36, wherein the calculated solar irradiance is based, at least in part, on geometry of the building (Abstract, “3-D”).
Regarding claim 42, Berman further teaches The method of claim 36, wherein the determining is based, at least in part, on surroundings external to the building (Abstract, “surrounding structures”).
Regarding claim 43, Berman further teaches The method of claim 36, wherein the plurality of sensors comprises photosensors ([106], “ohoto sensors”).
Regarding claim 44, Berman further teaches The method of claim 36, wherein the determining is based, at least in part, on override information (Abstract, “manual overrides”).
Regarding claims 45-55, mutatis mutandis, Berman teaches all the limitations as stated in claims 36-44 rejections above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234