DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 13, 15, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zorgui et al. (US 2022/0099796 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zorgui, in view of Lund et al. (US 2021/0056852 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lund.
Regarding claim 1, Zorgui teaches: A network configured to support one or more sensing operations ( see ¶[0002], The following relates to wireless communications, including waveform reporting for cooperative sensing; ¶[0191], FIG. 16 shows a diagram of a system 1600 including a device 1605 that supports waveform reporting for cooperative sensing in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1605 may be an example of or include the components of device 1305, device 1405, or a base station 105), the network including:
at least one processor(FIG. 16, Processor (1640) ); and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor (FIG. 16, Memory (1630) ), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: initiate transmission of a configuration associated with a sensing operation ( see ¶[0005], the described techniques provide for a user equipment (UE) receiving a configuration for radar waveform reporting from a network node. In some cases, the radar waveform reporting may provide object detection for one or more objects within a detectable range of the UE; ¶[0025]; ¶[0192], transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform); and
receive, from a network entity, a report based on the sensing operation performed by the network entity and that indicates an electromagnetic profile associated with an environment ( see ¶[0005], the UE may transmit a radar reporting message to the network node according to the received configuration. In some cases, the radar reporting message may include an indication of the received radar waveform; ¶[0083]; ¶[0093], UE 115-c may emit sensing signal 275. As shown, sensing signal 275 may collide with object 215. In some cases, at least a portion of sensing signal 275 may reflect off of object 215. As shown, at least a portion of sensing signal 275 may reflect back towards UE 115-c. In some cases, a portion of sensing signal 275 reflected off of object 215 may include reflected signal 280. In some cases, reflected signal 280 may be received by UE 115-c; ¶[0094],UE 115-c may emit sensing signal 285. As shown, sensing signal 285 may collide with object 220. In some cases, at least a portion of sensing signal 285 may reflect off of object 220. As shown, at least a portion of sensing signal 285 may reflect back towards UE 115-c. In some cases, a portion of sensing signal 285 reflected off of object 220 may include reflected signal 290. In some cases, reflected signal 290 may be received by UE 115-c; ¶[0095], UE 115-c may analyze one or more aspects of reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both. In some cases, UE 115-c may generate a radar reporting message based on the analysis of reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both. In some cases, the radar reporting message may include one or more indications of reflected signal 280 based on the analysis of reflected signal 280…UE 115-c may transmit, via communication 295, the radar reporting message associated with reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both, to UE 115-b. In some cases, UE 115-b may transmit, via communication 260, the radar reporting message associated with reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both, to base station 105-a; ), wherein the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment, a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof.
Although Zorgui teaches in (¶[0192] The communications manager 1610 may transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform and in ¶[0011] the one or more parameter values include Doppler information, incident angle information, angular velocity information, or range information, or a combination thereof, for at least one of the one or more objects), Zorgui, however, fails to explicitly teach the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment, a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof.
However, Lund, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: wherein the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment ( see Lund ¶[0048], The RF characteristics may comprise signal strength, round trip time, time difference of arrival, doppler shift or any combination thereof; Note: This shows that signal strength, round trip time, time difference of arrival, doppler shift are a RF transmission characteristic/profile ), a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof. (Note: The limitations of claim 1 are written in the alternative “or”. Therefore, it is sufficient to show that the applied reference teaches one of the alternative limitations )
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zorgui's teachings with Lund's above teaching in order to measure object’s distance, location, and speed with different levels of accuracy.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches: The network of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify a target in the environment based on the report (see Zorgui ¶[0125] the network device may analyze the combined data received from all of the receiving nodes. In some cases, the network device may perform additional functionalities (e.g., tracking of one or more objects, identifying a particular object and tracking the identified object, etc.) based on the analysis of the combined data), and wherein: the target includes a stationary object positioned within the environment ( see Zorgui, Figure 2; ¶[0055] The UEs 115 may be dispersed throughout a coverage area 110 of the wireless communications system 100, and each UE 115 may be stationary, or mobile, or both; ¶[0085], environment 200 includes base station 105-a, UE 115-a, UE 115-b, UE 115-c, object 205, object 210, object 215, and object 220. In some examples, the environment 200 may provide monostatic radar, bi-static radar, and multi-static radar; ¶[0125], In some cases, the network device may analyze the combined data received from all of the receiving nodes. In some cases, the network device may perform additional functionalities (e.g., tracking of one or more objects, identifying a particular object and tracking the identified object, etc.) based on the analysis of the combined data ), the target includes a mobile object within the environment (¶[0055] The UEs 115 may be dispersed throughout a coverage area 110 of the wireless communications system 100, and each UE 115 may be stationary, or mobile, or both; ¶[0125], In some cases, the network device may analyze the combined data received from all of the receiving nodes. In some cases, the network device may perform additional functionalities (e.g., tracking of one or more objects, identifying a particular object and tracking the identified object, etc.) based on the analysis of the combined data), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 8, Zorgui teaches: A method, performed by a network, to support one or more sensing operations ( see ¶[0002], The following relates to wireless communications, including waveform reporting for cooperative sensing; ¶[0191], FIG. 16 shows a diagram of a system 1600 including a device 1605 that supports waveform reporting for cooperative sensing in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1605 may be an example of or include the components of device 1305, device 1405, or a base station 105), the method comprising:
initiating transmission of a configuration associated with a sensing operation ( see ¶[0005], the described techniques provide for a user equipment (UE) receiving a configuration for radar waveform reporting from a network node. In some cases, the radar waveform reporting may provide object detection for one or more objects within a detectable range of the UE; ¶[0025]; ¶[0192], transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform); and
receiving, from a network entity, a report based on the sensing operation performed by the network entity and that indicates an electromagnetic profile associated with an environment see ¶[0005], the UE may transmit a radar reporting message to the network node according to the received configuration. In some cases, the radar reporting message may include an indication of the received radar waveform; ¶[0083]; ¶[0093], UE 115-c may emit sensing signal 275. As shown, sensing signal 275 may collide with object 215. In some cases, at least a portion of sensing signal 275 may reflect off of object 215. As shown, at least a portion of sensing signal 275 may reflect back towards UE 115-c. In some cases, a portion of sensing signal 275 reflected off of object 215 may include reflected signal 280. In some cases, reflected signal 280 may be received by UE 115-c; ¶[0094],UE 115-c may emit sensing signal 285. As shown, sensing signal 285 may collide with object 220. In some cases, at least a portion of sensing signal 285 may reflect off of object 220. As shown, at least a portion of sensing signal 285 may reflect back towards UE 115-c. In some cases, a portion of sensing signal 285 reflected off of object 220 may include reflected signal 290. In some cases, reflected signal 290 may be received by UE 115-c; ¶[0095], UE 115-c may analyze one or more aspects of reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both. In some cases, UE 115-c may generate a radar reporting message based on the analysis of reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both. In some cases, the radar reporting message may include one or more indications of reflected signal 280 based on the analysis of reflected signal 280…UE 115-c may transmit, via communication 295, the radar reporting message associated with reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both, to UE 115-b. In some cases, UE 115-b may transmit, via communication 260, the radar reporting message associated with reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both, to base station 105-a) wherein the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment, a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof.
Although Zorgui teaches in (¶[0192] The communications manager 1610 may transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform and in ¶[0011] the one or more parameter values include Doppler information, incident angle information, angular velocity information, or range information, or a combination thereof, for at least one of the one or more objects), Zorgui, however, fails to explicitly teach the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment, a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof.
However, Lund, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: wherein the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment ( see Lund ¶[0048], The RF characteristics may comprise signal strength, round trip time, time difference of arrival, doppler shift or any combination thereof; Note: This shows that signal strength, round trip time, time difference of arrival, doppler shift are a RF transmission characteristic/profile ), a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof. (Note: The limitations of claim 8 are written in the alternative “or”. Therefore, it is sufficient to show that the applied reference teaches one of the alternative limitations )
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zorgui's teachings with Lund's above teaching in order to measure object’s distance, location, and speed with different levels of accuracy.
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches: The method of claim 8, wherein the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment ( see Lund ¶[0048], The RF characteristics may comprise signal strength, round trip time, time difference of arrival, doppler shift or any combination thereof; Note: This shows that signal strength, round trip time, time difference of arrival, doppler shift are a RF transmission characteristic/profile ), a physical layout of the environment, or a combination thereof, and wherein the method further comprises: identifying a target in the environment based on the report (see Zorgui ¶[0125] the network device may analyze the combined data received from all of the receiving nodes. In some cases, the network device may perform additional functionalities (e.g., tracking of one or more objects, identifying a particular object and tracking the identified object, etc.) based on the analysis of the combined data), and wherein: the target includes a stationary object positioned within the environment ( see Zorgui, Figure 2; ¶[0055] The UEs 115 may be dispersed throughout a coverage area 110 of the wireless communications system 100, and each UE 115 may be stationary, or mobile, or both; ¶[0085], environment 200 includes base station 105-a, UE 115-a, UE 115-b, UE 115-c, object 205, object 210, object 215, and object 220. In some examples, the environment 200 may provide monostatic radar, bi-static radar, and multi-static radar; ¶[0125], In some cases, the network device may analyze the combined data received from all of the receiving nodes. In some cases, the network device may perform additional functionalities (e.g., tracking of one or more objects, identifying a particular object and tracking the identified object, etc.) based on the analysis of the combined data ), the target includes a mobile object within the environment (¶[0055] The UEs 115 may be dispersed throughout a coverage area 110 of the wireless communications system 100, and each UE 115 may be stationary, or mobile, or both; ¶[0125], In some cases, the network device may analyze the combined data received from all of the receiving nodes. In some cases, the network device may perform additional functionalities (e.g., tracking of one or more objects, identifying a particular object and tracking the identified object, etc.) based on the analysis of the combined data), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 15, Zorgui teaches: A network entity configured to perform one or more sensing operations ( see ¶[0002], The following relates to wireless communications, including waveform reporting for cooperative sensing; ¶[0166], FIG. 12 shows a diagram of a system 1200 including a device 1205 that supports waveform reporting for cooperative sensing in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1205 may be an example of or include the components of device 905, device 1005, or a UE 115 as described herein), the network entity including:
at least one processor (see FIG. 12, Processor (1240)); and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor (see FIG. 12, Memory (1230)), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a configuration associated with a sensing operation ( see ¶[0005], the described techniques provide for a user equipment (UE) receiving a configuration for radar waveform reporting from a network node. In some cases, the radar waveform reporting may provide object detection for one or more objects within a detectable range of the UE; ¶[0025]; ¶[0192], transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform); and
initiate transmission of a report based on the sensing operation performed by the network entity and that indicates an electromagnetic profile associated with an environment ( see ¶[0005], the UE may transmit a radar reporting message to the network node according to the received configuration. In some cases, the radar reporting message may include an indication of the received radar waveform; ¶[0083]; ¶[0093], UE 115-c may emit sensing signal 275. As shown, sensing signal 275 may collide with object 215. In some cases, at least a portion of sensing signal 275 may reflect off of object 215. As shown, at least a portion of sensing signal 275 may reflect back towards UE 115-c. In some cases, a portion of sensing signal 275 reflected off of object 215 may include reflected signal 280. In some cases, reflected signal 280 may be received by UE 115-c; ¶[0094],UE 115-c may emit sensing signal 285. As shown, sensing signal 285 may collide with object 220. In some cases, at least a portion of sensing signal 285 may reflect off of object 220. As shown, at least a portion of sensing signal 285 may reflect back towards UE 115-c. In some cases, a portion of sensing signal 285 reflected off of object 220 may include reflected signal 290. In some cases, reflected signal 290 may be received by UE 115-c; ¶[0095], UE 115-c may analyze one or more aspects of reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both. In some cases, UE 115-c may generate a radar reporting message based on the analysis of reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both. In some cases, the radar reporting message may include one or more indications of reflected signal 280 based on the analysis of reflected signal 280…UE 115-c may transmit, via communication 295, the radar reporting message associated with reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both, to UE 115-b. In some cases, UE 115-b may transmit, via communication 260, the radar reporting message associated with reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both, to base station 105-a), wherein the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment, a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof.
Although Zorgui teaches in (¶[0192] The communications manager 1610 may transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform and in ¶[0011] the one or more parameter values include Doppler information, incident angle information, angular velocity information, or range information, or a combination thereof, for at least one of the one or more objects), Zorgui, however, fails to explicitly teach the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment, a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof.
However, Lund, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: wherein the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment ( see Lund ¶[0048], The RF characteristics may comprise signal strength, round trip time, time difference of arrival, doppler shift or any combination thereof; Note: This shows that signal strength, round trip time, time difference of arrival, doppler shift are a RF transmission characteristic/profile ), a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof. (Note: The limitations of claim 15 are written in the alternative “or”. Therefore, it is sufficient to show that the applied reference teaches one of the alternative limitations )
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zorgui's teachings with Lund's above teaching in order to measure object’s distance, location, and speed with different levels of accuracy.
Regarding claim 23, Zorgui teaches: A method, performed by a network entity, to support one or more sensing operations, the method comprising: receiving a configuration associated with a sensing operation ( see ¶[0005], the described techniques provide for a user equipment (UE) receiving a configuration for radar waveform reporting from a network node. In some cases, the radar waveform reporting may provide object detection for one or more objects within a detectable range of the UE; ¶[0025]; ¶[0192], transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform);
and initiating transmission of a report based on the sensing operation performed by the network entity and that indicates an electromagnetic profile associated with an environment ( see ¶[0005], the UE may transmit a radar reporting message to the network node according to the received configuration. In some cases, the radar reporting message may include an indication of the received radar waveform; ¶[0083]; ¶[0093], UE 115-c may emit sensing signal 275. As shown, sensing signal 275 may collide with object 215. In some cases, at least a portion of sensing signal 275 may reflect off of object 215. As shown, at least a portion of sensing signal 275 may reflect back towards UE 115-c. In some cases, a portion of sensing signal 275 reflected off of object 215 may include reflected signal 280. In some cases, reflected signal 280 may be received by UE 115-c; ¶[0094],UE 115-c may emit sensing signal 285. As shown, sensing signal 285 may collide with object 220. In some cases, at least a portion of sensing signal 285 may reflect off of object 220. As shown, at least a portion of sensing signal 285 may reflect back towards UE 115-c. In some cases, a portion of sensing signal 285 reflected off of object 220 may include reflected signal 290. In some cases, reflected signal 290 may be received by UE 115-c; ¶[0095], UE 115-c may analyze one or more aspects of reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both. In some cases, UE 115-c may generate a radar reporting message based on the analysis of reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both. In some cases, the radar reporting message may include one or more indications of reflected signal 280 based on the analysis of reflected signal 280…UE 115-c may transmit, via communication 295, the radar reporting message associated with reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both, to UE 115-b. In some cases, UE 115-b may transmit, via communication 260, the radar reporting message associated with reflected signal 280 or reflected signal 290, or both, to base station 105-a), wherein the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment, a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof.
Although Zorgui teaches in (¶[0192] The communications manager 1610 may transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform and in ¶[0011] the one or more parameter values include Doppler information, incident angle information, angular velocity information, or range information, or a combination thereof, for at least one of the one or more objects), Zorgui, however, fails to explicitly teach the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment, a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof.
However, Lund, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: wherein the electromagnetic profile indicates a radio frequency (RF) profile of the environment ( see Lund ¶[0048], The RF characteristics may comprise signal strength, round trip time, time difference of arrival, doppler shift or any combination thereof; Note: This shows that signal strength, round trip time, time difference of arrival, doppler shift are a RF transmission characteristic/profile ), a physical layout of the environment, multipath characterization of the environment, or a combination thereof. (Note: The limitations of claim 23 are written in the alternative “or”. Therefore, it is sufficient to show that the applied reference teaches one of the alternative limitations )
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zorgui's teachings with Lund's above teaching in order to measure object’s distance, location, and speed with different levels of accuracy.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 17, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zorgui in view of Lund, and further in view of Ali et al. (WO 2022/107050 A1), IDS submitted on 10/31/2021, hereinafter referred to as Ali.
Regarding claim 2, Zorgui and Lund combination teaches the network of claim 1. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to the configuration indicates a format of the report, the format indicates reporting per resource and the resource corresponds to a scan signal.
However, Ali, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: the network of claim 1, wherein: the configuration indicates a format of the report, the format indicates reporting per resource, aggregated reporting across a plurality of resources, or a combination thereof, and the resource corresponds to a scan signal ( see Ali, claim 15, reporting the radar-sensing information comprises one of: reporting after each measurement or reporting a combined report after multiple measurements; ¶[0083], The gNB may configure the UEs to perform repetition of radar signal transmission/reception and report the time information after each period or report a combined/averaged measurement information after multiple repetitions).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Ali's above teaching, for identifying and localizing radio blockages via radar sensing ( see Ali, ¶[0004] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Ali prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Zorgui prior art) based on design incentives ( identifying and localizing radio blockages via radar sensing ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Zorgui and Lund combination teaches the method of claim 8. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to the configuration indicates a format of the report, the format indicates reporting per resource, aggregated reporting across a plurality of resources, or a combination thereof, and the resource corresponds to a scan signal.
However, Ali, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method of claim 8, wherein: the configuration indicates a format of the report, the format indicates reporting per resource, aggregated reporting across a plurality of resources, or a combination thereof, and the resource corresponds to a scan signal ( see Ali, claim 15, reporting the radar-sensing information comprises one of: reporting after each measurement or reporting a combined report after multiple measurements; ¶[0083], The gNB may configure the UEs to perform repetition of radar signal transmission/reception and report the time information after each period or report a combined/averaged measurement information after multiple repetitions).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Ali's above teaching, for identifying and localizing radio blockages via radar sensing ( see Ali, ¶[0004] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Ali prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Zorgui prior art) based on design incentives ( identifying and localizing radio blockages via radar sensing ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Zorgui and Lund combination teaches the network entity of claim 15. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to the configuration indicates a format of the report, the format indicates reporting per resource, aggregated reporting across a plurality of resources, or a combination thereof, and the resource corresponds to a scan signal.
However, Ali, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The network entity of claim 15, wherein: the configuration indicates a format of the report, the format indicates reporting per resource, aggregated reporting across a plurality of resources, or a combination thereof, and the resource corresponds to a scan signal ( see Ali, claim 15, reporting the radar-sensing information comprises one of: reporting after each measurement or reporting a combined report after multiple measurements; ¶[0083], The gNB may configure the UEs to perform repetition of radar signal transmission/reception and report the time information after each period or report a combined/averaged measurement information after multiple repetitions).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Ali's above teaching, for identifying and localizing radio blockages via radar sensing ( see Ali, ¶[0004] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Ali prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Zorgui prior art) based on design incentives ( identifying and localizing radio blockages via radar sensing ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 25, Zorgui and Lund combination teaches the method of claim 23. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to the configuration indicates a format of the report, the format indicates reporting per resource, aggregated reporting across a plurality of resources, or a combination thereof, and the resource corresponds to a scan signal.
However, Ali, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method of claim 23, wherein: the configuration indicates a format of the report, the format indicates reporting per resource, aggregated reporting across a plurality of resources, or a combination thereof, and the resource corresponds to a scan signal ( see Ali, claim 15, reporting the radar-sensing information comprises one of: reporting after each measurement or reporting a combined report after multiple measurements; ¶[0083], The gNB may configure the UEs to perform repetition of radar signal transmission/reception and report the time information after each period or report a combined/averaged measurement information after multiple repetitions).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Ali's above teaching, for identifying and localizing radio blockages via radar sensing ( see Ali, ¶[0004] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Ali prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Zorgui prior art) based on design incentives ( identifying and localizing radio blockages via radar sensing ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 16 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zorgui in view of Lund, and further in view of Li et al. ( US 2024/0353523 A1), hereinafter referred to as Li.
Regarding claim 16, Zorgui and Lund combination teaches: The network entity of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform a sensing operation (see Zorgui ¶[0192], transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform);
identify an object positioned within the environment based on the sensing operation (Zorgui ¶[0192], transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform); and
determine a path to the object, the path corresponds to a direction of the object relative to the network entity and a distance separating the object and the network entity.
The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to determine a path to the object, the path corresponds to a direction of the object relative to the network entity and a distance separating the object and the network entity.
However, Li, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: determine a path to the object, the path corresponds to a direction of the object relative to the network entity and a distance separating the object and the network entity ( see Li, Abstract, obtaining, by a computing node, a sensing measurement quantity result, where the sensing measurement quantity result is obtained by performing, by a sensing node, signal processing on a first signal that is sent by the sensing node itself and that is reflected by a to-be-sensed target; and determining, by the computing node, a positioning sensing result of the to-be-sensed target based on the sensing measurement quantity result; ¶[0070], A computing node obtains a sensing measurement quantity result, where the sensing measurement quantity result is obtained by performing, by a sensing node, signal processing on a first signal that is sent by the sensing node itself and that is reflected by a to-be-sensed target; ¶[0073] The computing node determines a positioning sensing result of the to-be-sensed target based on the sensing measurement quantity; and ¶[0074] The sensing measurement quantity result may include at least one of the following: a Doppler spectrum; a Doppler frequency of a dynamic reflection path; ¶[0203]-¶[0204]; ¶[0284]-¶[0303]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Li's above teachings in order to improve positioning accuracy (see Li ¶[0056]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Li prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Zorgui prior art) based on design incentives ( improve positioning accuracy ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 24, Zorgui and Lund combination teaches: The method of claim 23, further including: performing a sensing operation (¶[0192], transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform); identifying an object positioned within the environment based on the sensing operation (¶[0192], transmit, to a UE, a configuration for radar waveform reporting, receive, from the UE according to the transmitted configuration, an indication of one or more parameter values associated with a radar waveform received at the UE, and determine location information for one or more objects based on the received indication of the one or more parameter values associated with the received radar waveform); and
determining a path to the object, the path corresponds to a direction of the object relative to the network entity and a distance separating the object and the network entity.
The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to determining a path to the object, the path corresponds to a direction of the object relative to the network entity and a distance separating the object and the network entity.
However, Li, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: determining a path to the object, the path corresponds to a direction of the object relative to the network entity and a distance separating the object and the network entity ( see Li, Abstract, obtaining, by a computing node, a sensing measurement quantity result, where the sensing measurement quantity result is obtained by performing, by a sensing node, signal processing on a first signal that is sent by the sensing node itself and that is reflected by a to-be-sensed target; and determining, by the computing node, a positioning sensing result of the to-be-sensed target based on the sensing measurement quantity result; ¶[0070], A computing node obtains a sensing measurement quantity result, where the sensing measurement quantity result is obtained by performing, by a sensing node, signal processing on a first signal that is sent by the sensing node itself and that is reflected by a to-be-sensed target; ¶[0073] The computing node determines a positioning sensing result of the to-be-sensed target based on the sensing measurement quantity; and ¶[0074] The sensing measurement quantity result may include at least one of the following: a Doppler spectrum; a Doppler frequency of a dynamic reflection path; ¶[0203]-¶[0204]; ¶[0284]-¶[0303]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Li's above teachings to improve positioning accuracy (see Li, ¶[0056]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Li prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Zorgui prior art) based on design incentives ( improve positioning accuracy ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 18-22, and 26-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MANG BOI THAWNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476