DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The examiner has taken notice that claims 1-16, 18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Page 7 of applicant’s Remarks, filed 11/20/2025 indicates that no new matter has been added by the amendments to claims 1-16, 18, and 20. However, the examiner believes that amending the term “apparatus” to “second satellite device” further limits the scope of the claims, necessitating new grounds of rejection. For example, a user equipment (UE) can be interpreted as an apparatus (as previously recited), but a UE cannot be interpreted as a satellite device (as currently recited). Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of newly found reference Zhang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the apparatus" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the apparatus" in lines 3 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the apparatus" in lines 3 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the apparatus" in lines 2, 4, and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the apparatus" in lines 2, 4, and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the apparatus" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the apparatus" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the apparatus" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the apparatus" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8-10 and 13-14 are rejected for depending on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 2020/0313755 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chuang, in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0051730 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Chuang teaches an apparatus (Chuang – Paragraph [0009], note an apparatus may include a communication device and a processor coupled to the communication device, configured to wirelessly communicate with a network node of an NTN such as a satellite), comprising:
one or more processors and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors (Chuang – Fig. 5; Paragraph [0038], note apparatus 510/520 (which may be a UE or network node, see Paragraphs [0035]-[0036]) may further include a memory 514/524 coupled to processor 512/522), cause the apparatus to:
receive first indication information from a first satellite device (Chuang – Fig. 1; Paragraph [0040], note apparatus 510 as UE 110 may receive, via transceiver 516, assistance information via an access link from apparatus 520 as a network node of NTN 100);
obtain, based on the first indication information, at least one of a first timing pre-compensation value or a first frequency pre-compensation value corresponding to at least one first terminal (Chuang – Paragraph [0025], note assistance information may be utilized to compensate for Doppler shift; Paragraph [0026], note the assistance information may further include a difference of the frequency pre-compensation value between the serving beam and the beam candidates, and may be transmitted to UE 110 in a system information block (SIB); Paragraph [0028], note assistance information may be included in a neighbor cell list provided to UE 110; Paragraph [0029], note frequency pre-compensation values may be included); and
communicate with the at least one first terminal based on at least one of the first timing pre-compensation value or the first frequency pre-compensation value (Chuang – Paragraph [0040], note processor 512 may perform, via transceiver 516, an operation with respect to communications with apparatus 520 based on the assistance information).
Chuang does not teach wherein the apparatus is a second satellite device.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein the apparatus is a second satellite device (Zhang – Fig. 1; Paragraph [0005], note the satellite may then transmit an indication of the RTD and Doppler shift to the UE, and the UE may, in some examples, pre-compensate future transmissions based on the RTD and Doppler shift indication; Paragraph [0054], note base stations or other satellites may relay transmissions between a serving satellite and a UE; Paragraph [0102], note a bent-pipe satellite (e.g., satellite 120) may receive a signal from a base station 105 and may relay the signal to a user terminal 115 or base station 105, or vice-versa).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into Chuang in order to relay the indication of the RTD and Doppler shift to another satellite before transmitting to a UE for pre-compensation, allowing for on-board signal processing (Zhang – Paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chuang and Zhang teaches wherein, when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the apparatus is further caused to:
obtain, based on the first indication information, at least one of a second timing pre-compensation value or a second frequency pre-compensation value corresponding to at least one second terminal (Chuang – Paragraph [0026], note the assistance information may further include a difference of the frequency pre-compensation value between the serving beam and the beam candidates, and may be transmitted to UE 110 in a system information block (SIB); Paragraph [0028], note assistance information may be included in a neighbor cell list provided to UE 110; Paragraph [0029], note frequency pre-compensation values may be included); and
communicate with the at least one second terminal based on at least one of the second timing pre-compensation value or the second frequency pre-compensation value (Chuang – Paragraph [0040], note processor 512 may perform, via transceiver 516, an operation with respect to communications with apparatus 520 based on the assistance information).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chuang and Zhang teaches wherein the first indication information comprises second location information (Chuang – Paragraph [0031], note assistance information corresponding to the serving beam may further indicate certain information, the information indicated may include, for example and without limitation, satellite ephemeris (e.g., trajectory and beam layout), beam center location of the serving beam, beam center location of the next beam(s));
wherein the apparatus is caused to obtain, based on the first indication information, at least one of the second timing pre-compensation value or the second frequency pre-compensation value corresponding to the at least one second terminal, comprises:
the apparatus is caused to obtain, based on the second location information, at least one of the second timing pre-compensation value or the second frequency pre-compensation value corresponding to the at least one second terminal (Chuang – Paragraph [0025], note assistance information may be utilized to compensate for Doppler shift; Paragraph [0026], note the assistance information may further include a difference of the frequency pre-compensation value between the serving beam and the beam candidates, and may be transmitted to UE 110 in a system information block (SIB); Paragraph [0028], note assistance information may be included in a neighbor cell list provided to UE 110; Paragraph [0029], note frequency pre-compensation values may be included).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chuang and Zhang teaches wherein the first indication information comprises first location information (Chuang – Paragraph [0031], note assistance information corresponding to the serving beam may further indicate certain information, the information indicated may include, for example and without limitation, satellite ephemeris (e.g., trajectory and beam layout), beam center location of the serving beam, beam center location of the next beam(s));
wherein the apparatus is caused to obtain, based on the first indication information, at least one of the first timing pre-compensation value or the first frequency pre-compensation value corresponding to the at least one first terminal, comprises:
the apparatus is caused to obtain, based on the first location information, at least one of the first timing pre-compensation value or the first frequency pre-compensation value corresponding to the at least one first terminal (Chuang – Paragraph [0025], note assistance information may be utilized to compensate for Doppler shift; Paragraph [0026], note the assistance information may further include a difference of the frequency pre-compensation value between the serving beam and the beam candidates, and may be transmitted to UE 110 in a system information block (SIB); Paragraph [0028], note assistance information may be included in a neighbor cell list provided to UE 110; Paragraph [0029], note frequency pre-compensation values may be included).
Regarding claim 7, Chuang teaches an apparatus (Chuang – Paragraph [0009], note an apparatus may include a communication device and a processor coupled to the communication device, configured to wirelessly communicate with a network node of an NTN such as a satellite), comprising:
one or more processors and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors (Chuang – Fig. 5; Paragraph [0038], note apparatus 510/520 (which may be a UE or network node, see Paragraphs [0035]-[0036]) may further include a memory 514/524 coupled to processor 512/522), cause the apparatus to:
establish a connection to a second satellite device (Chuang – Fig. 1; Paragraph [0040], note apparatus 510 as UE 110 may receive, via transceiver 516, assistance information via an access link from apparatus 520 as a network node of NTN 100); and
send first indication information to the second satellite device, wherein the first indication information is configured to be used to determine at least one of a first timing pre-compensation value or a first frequency pre-compensation value, and at least one of the first timing pre-compensation value or the first frequency pre-compensation value corresponds to at least one first terminal (Chuang – Paragraph [0025], note assistance information may be utilized to compensate for Doppler shift; Paragraph [0026], note the assistance information may further include a difference of the frequency pre-compensation value between the serving beam and the beam candidates, and may be transmitted to UE 110 in a system information block (SIB); Paragraph [0028], note assistance information may be included in a neighbor cell list provided to UE 110; Paragraph [0029], note frequency pre-compensation values may be included).
Chuang does not teach wherein the apparatus is a second satellite device.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein the apparatus is a second satellite device (Zhang – Fig. 1; Paragraph [0005], note the satellite may then transmit an indication of the RTD and Doppler shift to the UE, and the UE may, in some examples, pre-compensate future transmissions based on the RTD and Doppler shift indication; Paragraph [0054], note base stations or other satellites may relay transmissions between a serving satellite and a UE; Paragraph [0102], note a bent-pipe satellite (e.g., satellite 120) may receive a signal from a base station 105 and may relay the signal to a user terminal 115 or base station 105, or vice-versa).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into Chuang in order to relay the indication of the RTD and Doppler shift to another satellite before transmitting to a UE for pre-compensation, allowing for on-board signal processing (Zhang – Paragraph [0102]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chuang and Zhang teaches wherein the first indication information is further configured to be used to determine at least one of a second timing pre-compensation value or a second frequency pre-compensation value, and at least one of the second timing pre-compensation value or the second frequency pre-compensation value corresponds to at least one second terminal (Chuang – Paragraph [0026], note the assistance information may further include a difference of the frequency pre-compensation value between the serving beam and the beam candidates, and may be transmitted to UE 110 in a system information block (SIB); Paragraph [0028], note assistance information may be included in a neighbor cell list provided to UE 110; Paragraph [0029], note frequency pre-compensation values may be included).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chuang and Zhang teaches wherein the first indication information comprises second location information (Chuang – Paragraph [0031], note assistance information corresponding to the serving beam may further indicate certain information, the information indicated may include, for example and without limitation, satellite ephemeris (e.g., trajectory and beam layout), beam center location of the serving beam, beam center location of the next beam(s)); and
the second location information is configured to be used to determine at least one of the second timing pre-compensation value or the second frequency pre-compensation value (Chuang – Paragraph [0025], note assistance information may be utilized to compensate for Doppler shift; Paragraph [0026], note the assistance information may further include a difference of the frequency pre-compensation value between the serving beam and the beam candidates, and may be transmitted to UE 110 in a system information block (SIB); Paragraph [0028], note assistance information may be included in a neighbor cell list provided to UE 110; Paragraph [0029], note frequency pre-compensation values may be included).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chuang and Zhang teaches wherein the first indication information comprises first location information (Chuang – Paragraph [0031], note assistance information corresponding to the serving beam may further indicate certain information, the information indicated may include, for example and without limitation, satellite ephemeris (e.g., trajectory and beam layout), beam center location of the serving beam, beam center location of the next beam(s)); and
the first location information is configured to be used to determine at least one of the first timing pre-compensation value or the first frequency pre-compensation value (Chuang – Paragraph [0025], note assistance information may be utilized to compensate for Doppler shift; Paragraph [0026], note the assistance information may further include a difference of the frequency pre-compensation value between the serving beam and the beam candidates, and may be transmitted to UE 110 in a system information block (SIB); Paragraph [0028], note assistance information may be included in a neighbor cell list provided to UE 110; Paragraph [0029], note frequency pre-compensation values may be included).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 7 above, except the claim is written in a method claim format.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 10 above.
Claims 5-6, 11-12, 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang in view of Zhang as applied to claims 1, 7, and 16 above, and further in view of Speidel et al. (US 2018/0254825 A1), hereinafter referred to as Speidel.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chuang and Zhang teaches wherein the apparatus is caused to communicate with the at least one second terminal based on at least one of the second timing pre-compensation value or the second frequency pre-compensation value, comprises:
the apparatus is caused to communicate with the at least one second terminal based on at least one of the second timing pre-compensation value or the second frequency pre-compensation value (Chuang – Paragraph [0040], note processor 512 may perform, via transceiver 516, an operation with respect to communications with apparatus 520 based on the assistance information).
The combination of Chuang and Zhang does not teach wherein, when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the apparatus is further caused to obtain frame structure information from the first satellite device; wherein the apparatus is caused to communicate with the at least one second terminal based on at least one of the second timing pre-compensation value or the second frequency pre-compensation value, comprises: the apparatus is caused to communicate with the at least one second terminal based on the frame structure information.
In an analogous art, Speidel teaches wherein, when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the apparatus is further caused to obtain frame structure information from the first satellite device (Speidel – Paragraph [0028], note in GSM, the BTS is responsible for assigning a timeslot to the mobile station (MS) when it requests access, in a GSM frame structure, there are eight timeslots within each TDMA frame);
wherein the apparatus is caused to communicate with the at least one second terminal based on at least one of the second timing pre-compensation value or the second frequency pre-compensation value, comprises:
the apparatus is caused to communicate with the at least one second terminal based on the frame structure information (Speidel – Paragraph [0113], note if a MS or a BTS has an assigned timeslot for MS-BTS communication, each of the devices are programmed to use their local copy of a system clock to determine when to start transmitting, when to stop transmitting, when to start listening and when it can stop listening, which would correspond to their assigned timeslot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Speidel into the combination of Chuang and Zhang in order to assign more than one timeslot/carrier frequency to a mobile station, allowing for greater bandwidth (Speidel – Paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chuang and Zhang teaches wherein the apparatus is caused to communicate with the at least one first terminal based on at least one of the first timing pre-compensation value or the first frequency pre-compensation value, comprises:
the apparatus is caused to communicate with the at least one first terminal based on the frame structure information and at least one of the first timing pre-compensation value or the first frequency pre-compensation value (Chuang – Paragraph [0040], note processor 512 may perform, via transceiver 516, an operation with respect to communications with apparatus 520 based on the assistance information).
The combination of Chuang and Zhang does not teach wherein the apparatus is further caused to obtain frame structure information from the first satellite device.
In an analogous art, Speidel teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to obtain frame structure information from the first satellite device (Speidel – Paragraph [0028], note in GSM, the BTS is responsible for assigning a timeslot to the mobile station (MS) when it requests access, in a GSM frame structure, there are eight timeslots within each TDMA frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Speidel into the combination of Chuang and Zhang for the same reason as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Chuang and Zhang teaches wherein, when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the apparatus is further caused to:
send first configuration information to the at least one first terminal (Chuang – Paragraph [0040], note apparatus 510 as UE 110 may receive, via transceiver 516, assistance information via an access link from apparatus 520 as a network node of NTN 100; Paragraph [0041], note the assistance information may indicate a configuration of physical signals; Paragraph [0045], note the assistance information may indicate a PCI and a SSB configuration; Paragraph [0046], note the assistance information may indicate a TRS configuration).
The combination of Chuang and Zhang does not teach wherein the first configuration information is configured to be used to configure a frame structure; and communicate with the at least one first terminal based on the frame structure.
In an analogous art, Speidel teaches wherein the first configuration information is configured to be used to configure a frame structure (Speidel – Paragraph [0028], note in GSM, the BTS is responsible for assigning a timeslot to the mobile station (MS) when it requests access, in a GSM frame structure, there are eight timeslots within each TDMA frame); and
communicate with the at least one first terminal based on the frame structure (Speidel – Paragraph [0113], note if a MS or a BTS has an assigned timeslot for MS-BTS communication, each of the devices are programmed to use their local copy of a system clock to determine when to start transmitting, when to stop transmitting, when to start listening and when it can stop listening, which would correspond to their assigned timeslot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Speidel into the combination of Chuang and Zhang in order to assign more than one timeslot/carrier frequency to a mobile station, allowing for greater bandwidth (Speidel – Paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chuang and Zhang teaches wherein, when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the apparatus is further caused to:
send second configuration information to the at least one second terminal (Chuang – Paragraph [0040], note apparatus 510 as UE 110 may receive, via transceiver 516, assistance information via an access link from apparatus 520 as a network node of NTN 100; Paragraph [0041], note the assistance information may indicate a configuration of physical signals; Paragraph [0045], note the assistance information may indicate a PCI and a SSB configuration; Paragraph [0046], note the assistance information may indicate a TRS configuration).
The combination of Chuang and Zhang does not teach wherein the second configuration information is configured to be used to configure a frame structure; and communicate with the at least one second terminal based on the frame structure.
In an analogous art, Speidel teaches wherein the second configuration information is configured to be used to configure a frame structure (Speidel – Paragraph [0028], note in GSM, the BTS is responsible for assigning a timeslot to the mobile station (MS) when it requests access, in a GSM frame structure, there are eight timeslots within each TDMA frame); and
communicate with the at least one second terminal based on the frame structure (Speidel – Paragraph [0113], note if a MS or a BTS has an assigned timeslot for MS-BTS communication, each of the devices are programmed to use their local copy of a system clock to determine when to start transmitting, when to stop transmitting, when to start listening and when it can stop listening, which would correspond to their assigned timeslot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Speidel into the combination of Chuang and Zhang for the same reason as claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Chuang and Zhang teaches wherein, when the instructions are executed by the one or more processors, the apparatus is further caused to:
send third configuration information to the second satellite device (Chuang – Paragraph [0040], note apparatus 510 as UE 110 may receive, via transceiver 516, assistance information via an access link from apparatus 520 as a network node of NTN 100; Paragraph [0041], note the assistance information may indicate a configuration of physical signals; Paragraph [0045], note the assistance information may indicate a PCI and a SSB configuration; Paragraph [0046], note the assistance information may indicate a TRS configuration).
The combination of Chuang and Zhang does not teach wherein the third configuration information is configured to be used to configure a frame structure; and communicate with the at least one first terminal based on the frame structure.
In an analogous art, Speidel teaches wherein the third configuration information is configured to be used to configure a frame structure (Speidel – Paragraph [0028], note in GSM, the BTS is responsible for assigning a timeslot to the mobile station (MS) when it requests access, in a GSM frame structure, there are eight timeslots within each TDMA frame); and
communicate with the at least one first terminal based on the frame structure (Speidel – Paragraph [0113], note if a MS or a BTS has an assigned timeslot for MS-BTS communication, each of the devices are programmed to use their local copy of a system clock to determine when to start transmitting, when to stop transmitting, when to start listening and when it can stop listening, which would correspond to their assigned timeslot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Speidel into the combination of Chuang and Zhang for the same reason as claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 15 above.
Claims 13-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang in view of Zhang and Speidel as applied to claims 12 and 18 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2019/0364449 A1), hereafter referred to as Yang.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Chuang, Zhang, and Speidel does not teach wherein the second configuration information is configured to be used to configure a blank resource in the frame structure, and the blank resource is not used to carry data.
In an analogous art, Yang teaches wherein the second configuration information is configured to be used to configure a blank resource in the frame structure, and the blank resource is not used to carry data (Yang – Paragraph [0045], note no transmission is performed (i.e., the resource is blanked); Paragraph [0205], note control signaling may indicate a resource allocation time domain structure of a blank resource, and may also indicate resource allocation time domain structures of multiple sets of blank resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the combination of Chuang, Zhang, and Speidel in order to use control signaling for resource blanking to avoid interference caused by overlapping resources (Yang – Paragraph [0148]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Chuang, Zhang, and Speidel does not teach wherein the first configuration information is configured to be used to configure a blank resource in the frame structure, and the blank resource is not used to carry data.
In an analogous art, Yang teaches wherein the first configuration information is configured to be used to configure a blank resource in the frame structure, and the blank resource is not used to carry data (Yang – Paragraph [0045], note no transmission is performed (i.e., the resource is blanked); Paragraph [0205], note control signaling may indicate a resource allocation time domain structure of a blank resource, and may also indicate resource allocation time domain structures of multiple sets of blank resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the combination of Chuang, Zhang, and Speidel for the same reason as claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 14 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Luo et al. (US 11,424,819 B2) discloses a satellite base station broadcasting pre-compensation values.
Wang et al. (US 2021/0359752 A1) discloses signaling pre-compensation values in a system information block per beam/satellite in a non-terrestrial network.
Tian et al. (US 2022/0039037 A1) discloses applying multi-value Doppler pre-compensation to different sets of SSBs.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAILOR C HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461