DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Language from the reference(s) is shown in quotations. Limitations from the claims are shown in quotations within parentheses. Examiner explanations are shown in italics.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (CN 112266771 A), as machine translated, in view of Noikas et al. (US 20180155565 A1), Versini et al. (US 20220389257 A1), and Li et al. (CN 103641510 A), as machine translated.
Regarding claims 1, 3-7, and 11, Tang teaches “a capillary copper powder paste” (which reads upon “a copper paste for printing a capillary structure, consisting of”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0002]). Tang teaches “a capillary copper powder paste for ultrathin heat spreaders, comprising, by mass fraction, the following components based on the total amount of capillary copper powder paste: 73.4%–82.32% copper powder, 3.06%–3.42% pore-forming agent, and 14.26%–23.54% paste system” (which reads upon “copper powder”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0008]). Tang teaches that “the pore-forming agent is any one or more of urea, cyanuric acid, PMMA microspheres, and PS microspheres” (which reads upon “a high molecular polymer, microspheres of the high molecular polymer”, as recited in the instant claim; which reads upon claim 3; paragraph [0011]; PMMA is polymethyl methacrylate). Tang teaches that “the solvent is any one or a combination of two or more of ethanol, deionized water, ethylene glycol, lauryl alcohol, pinoresinol, fatty amines, fatty esters, fatty ethers, fatty hydrocarbons, and fatty ketones” (which reads upon “a solvent”, as recited in the instant claim; which reads upon claim 4; paragraph [0009]). Tang teaches that “the thickener is any one or a combination of two or more of polybutene, polyamide wax, polyurethane, ethyl cellulose, and bentonite” (which reads upon “a binder”, as recited in the instant claim; which reads upon claim 5; paragraph [0009]). Tang teaches that “the thickener is any one or a combination of two or more of polybutene, polyamide wax, polyurethane, ethyl cellulose, and bentonite” (which reads upon “a dispersant”, as recited in the instant claim; which reads upon claim 6; paragraph [0009]; ethyl cellulose is a cellulose derivative; Tang teaches two or more, including a combination of polyurethane which reads on the binder and ethyl cellulose which reads on the dispersant). Tang teaches that “the rheology modifier is any one or a combination of two or more of hydrogenated castor oil, paraffin oil, polyethylene glycol, and activated clay” (which reads upon “a leveling agent”, as recited in the instant claim; which reads upon claim 7; paragraph [0009]). Tang teaches that “the copper powder includes irregular copper powder and spherical or near-spherical copper powder, the particle size of the powder is 1 μm to 23 μm” (which reads upon “wherein the particle size of the copper powder ranges from 0.5 µm to 10 µm”, as recited in the instant claim; which reads upon claim 11; paragraph [0010]). It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Here, the claimed range of from 0.5 µm to 10 µm overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art of 1 μm to 23 μm. The claimed value of 3 µm lies inside the range disclosed by the prior art of 1 μm to 23 μm. Accordingly, the prior art renders the claim obvious.
Tang is silent regarding a tackifier.
Noikas is similarly concerned with combining a first resin and carrier liquid to form a paste (paragraph [0134]). Noikas teaches that “in some examples, the method comprises adding a tackifier” (which reads upon “a tackifier”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0141]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paste of Tang to include a tackifier, as taught by Noikas to improve adhesion. It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Modified Tang is silent regarding an antioxidant.
Versini is similarly concerned with conductive pastes (paragraph [0002]). Versini teaches that “the inks according to the present invention therefore optionally comprise metal microparticles of silver, copper and/or nickel” (which reads upon “copper powder”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0089]). Versini teaches “examples of antioxidant agents: ascorbic acid or vitamin C (E300), sodium ascorbate (E301), calcium ascorbate (E302), 5-6-1-diacetyl ascorbic acid (E303), 6-1-palmityl ascorbic acid (E304); citric acid (E330), sodium citrate (E331), potassium citrate (E332) and calcium citrate (E333); tartric acid (E334), sodium tartrate (E335), potassium tartrate (E336) and sodium and potassium tartrate (E337); butylhydroxyanisol (E320) and butylhydroxytoluol (E321); octyl gallate (E311) or dodecyl gallate (E312); sodium lactate (E325), potassium lactate (E326) or calcium lactate (E327); lecithins (E322); natural tocopherols (E306), synthetic α-tocopherol (E307), synthetic γ-tocopherol (E308) and synthetic δ-tocopherol (E309), all the tocopherols forming vitamin E; eugenol, thymol and/or cinnamaldehyde, as well as a mixture of two or more of said antioxidant agents ” (which reads upon “an antioxidant”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0106]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paste of Tang to include an antioxidant, as taught by Versini to prevent or lessen oxidation of the copper and maintain structural integrity of the final product. It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Modified Tang is silent regarding the particle size of microspheres of the high molecular polymer, specifically, that the particle size of microspheres of the high molecular polymer ranges from 1 µm to 50 µm. Regarding the subject limitation, in order to carry out the invention of Tang, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary particle sizes of microspheres of PMMA used as a pore forming agent. Li provides this teaching. Li is similarly concerned with preparing porous materials by adding PMMA microspheres as pore-forming agents (paragraph [0011]). Li teaches that “the PMMA microspheres, used as pore-forming agents, have an average particle size D<sub> 50 </sub> of 2μm-10μm” (paragraph [0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the paste of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the particle sizes of microspheres of PMMA, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Li, motivated to form a conventional paste using known and tested particle sizes of microspheres of PMMA predictably suitable for pore forming agent applications. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Here, the claimed range of from 1 μm to 50 μm overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art of 2 μm to 10 μm. Accordingly, the prior art renders the claim obvious.
Regarding claim 2, modified Tang teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Li teaches that “the PMMA microspheres, used as pore-forming agents, have an average particle size D<sub> 50 </sub> of 2μm-10μm” (paragraph [0023]). It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Here, the claimed range of from 300-3000 mesh (4 – 50 μm) or from 5000-12000 mesh (1 – 4 μm) overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art of 2 μm to 10 μm. Accordingly, the prior art renders the claim obvious. Regarding the porosity of the PMMA, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Here, the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, PMMA microspheres.
Regarding claim 8, modified Tang teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Noikas teaches that “the tackifier is selected from rosin resins, hydrocarbon resins, terpene resins, copolymers of vinyl acrylate and combinations thereof” (paragraph [0103]; hydrocarbon resins reads on C5 and C9 petroleum resins).
Regarding claim 9, modified Tang teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Versini teaches “examples of antioxidant agents: ascorbic acid or vitamin C (E300), sodium ascorbate (E301), calcium ascorbate (E302), 5-6-1-diacetyl ascorbic acid (E303), 6-1-palmityl ascorbic acid (E304); citric acid (E330), sodium citrate (E331), potassium citrate (E332) and calcium citrate (E333); tartric acid (E334), sodium tartrate (E335), potassium tartrate (E336) and sodium and potassium tartrate (E337); butylhydroxyanisol (E320) and butylhydroxytoluol (E321); octyl gallate (E311) or dodecyl gallate (E312); sodium lactate (E325), potassium lactate (E326) or calcium lactate (E327); lecithins (E322); natural tocopherols (E306), synthetic α-tocopherol (E307), synthetic γ-tocopherol (E308) and synthetic δ-tocopherol (E309), all the tocopherols forming vitamin E; eugenol, thymol and/or cinnamaldehyde, as well as a mixture of two or more of said antioxidant agents” (paragraph [0106]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Tang teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Tang teaches “14.11%–20.8% solvent” (which reads upon “the mass fraction of the solvent is 1%-70% of a mixture of the copper powder and the high molecular polymer”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0008]). Tang teaches that “0.14%–2.45% thickener” (which reads upon “the mass fraction of the binder is 0.1%-30% of the mixture of the copper powder and the high molecular polymer”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0008]). Tang teaches that “0.14%–2.45% thickener” (which reads upon “the mass fraction of the dispersant is 0.01%-5% of the mixture of the copper powder and the high molecular polymer”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0008]). Tang teaches that “0.01%–0.29% rheology modifier” (which reads upon “the mass fraction of the leveling agent is 0.01%-10% of the mixture of the copper powder and the high molecular polymer”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0008]). Noikas teaches that “about 1 wt. % or less of tackifier by total weight of the composition” (which reads upon “the mass fraction of the tackifier is 0.01%-5% of the mixture of the copper powder and the high molecular polymer”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0109]). Versini teaches that “their content will be limited to less than 10% by weight, for example less than 5% by weight, even less than 1% by weight” (which reads upon “the mass fraction of the antioxidant is 0.01%-10% of the mixture of the copper powder and the high molecular polymer”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0096]). Modified Tang discloses the claimed invention except for that the mass ratio of the copper powder to the high molecular polymer is 8-9: 1. It should be noted that the mass ratio of the copper powder to the high molecular polymer is a result effective variable. Li teaches that “the characteristic of this process is that a volatile pore-forming agent is added to the ceramic raw materials” (paragraph [0006]). Li teaches that “the pore-forming agent occupies a certain space in the green body” (paragraph [0006]). Li teaches that “after sintering, the pore-forming agent leaves the matrix to form pores” (paragraph [0006]). Tang teaches that “under a nitrogen-protected reducing atmosphere, sinter at 750℃~950℃ for no less than 5 minutes to obtain capillary structure” (paragraph [0016]). Accordingly, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the more pore-forming agent is used, the greater the porosity of the sintered product. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to create the paste with the claimed mass ratio of the copper powder to the high molecular polymer since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the mass ratio of the copper powder to the high molecular polymer to ensure the desired porosity of the final sintered product.
Regarding claim 12, modified Tang teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Tang teaches to “Mix the rheology modifier, thickener, pore-forming agent and copper powder in the solvent until homogeneous to obtain a capillary copper powder paste” (paragraph [0033]). Changes in sequence of adding Ingredients has been held to be obvious. Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). See MPEP § 2144.04 IV C.
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The Examiner requests that interviews not be scheduled during the last week of each fiscal quarter or the last half of September, which is the end of the fiscal year. Q2: 3/30-4/3/26; Q3: 6/22-6/26/26; Q4: 9/21-9/30/26.
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733