DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because [00126] of instant specification describes a Raman spectrogram of the composite particle for Figure 4, however, an X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy is presented. Further, Figure 4 is a duplicate of Figure 3.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11, 14-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, the recitation “a surface of the each composite particle comprises the first region” in lines 4-5 of said claim should be “a surface of each composite particle comprises the first region”.
In Claims 3 & 11, the recitations “an average particle size of the graphite” (line 5), “an average flake size of the graphene” (line 6), “an average diameter of the carbon nanotubes” (line 7), “an average particle size of the lithium oxide” (line 8) and “an average particle size of the transition metal oxide” (line 9) should read “the average particle size of the graphite”, “the average flake size of the graphene”, “the average diameter of the carbon nanotubes”, “the average particle size of the lithium oxide” and “the average particle size of the transition metal oxide” respectively. There can only be one average quantity of each of these parameters and they describe properties of the materials.
In Claims 6 & 14, the recitation “wherein the each composite particle is a primary particle” (lines 1-2) should be “wherein each composite particle is a primary particle”. Further the recitation “with a particle size of the primary particle satisfies 3 μm≤Dv50≤12 μm” (lines 2-3) should read “wherein the particle size of the primary particle satisfies 3 μm≤Dv50≤12 μm”.
In Claims 7 & 15, the recitations “a range of 283 eV to 288 eV” (line 4), “a wavenumber of 1300 cm-1 to 1400 cm-1 (line 6), “a wavenumber of 1550 cm-1 to 1650 cm-1” (line 7) and “a specific surface area of the negative active material is 1 m2/g to 50 m2/g” (line 9) should read “the range of 283 eV to 288 eV”, “the wavenumber of 1300 cm-1 to 1400 cm-1, “the wavenumber of 1550 cm-1 to 1650 cm-1” and “the specific surface area of the negative active material is 1 m2/g to 50 m2/g” respectively. The ranges and parameters are inherently defined.
In Claims 8 & 16, the recitations “a range of 18° to 30°” (line 4), “a half width” (line 4) and “a range of 26° to 27°” (line 7) should read “the range of 18° to 30°”, “the half width” and “the range of 26° to 27°” respectively. The ranges and parameter are inherently defined.
In Claim 9, the recitation “a surface of the each composite particle comprises the first region” in lines 6-7 of said claim should be “a surface of each composite particle comprises the first region”.
In Claim 17, the recitation “a surface of the each composite particle comprises the first region” in lines 6-7 of said claim should be “a surface of each composite particle comprises the first region”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9 & 17 are indefinite because of the recitation “and a surface of the each composite particle comprises the first region.” It is unclear if the entire surface of the composite particle comprises the first region or only a portion of the surface of each composite particle. Further, the above recitation makes the claim unclear as the surface between the first and second regions can be considered a surface. For the purpose of this office action, “and a surface of the each composite particle comprises the first region” has been interpreted to read “and the outer surface of each composite particle comprises the first region.”
Additionally, dependent claims 2-8 are rejected as a result of their dependence on indefinite claim 1, as they include all the limitations of claim 1 and they do not resolve the issues identified in rejections set forth above.
Further, dependent claims 10-16 are rejected as a result of their dependence on indefinite claim 9, as they include all the limitations of claim 9 and they do not resolve the issues identified in rejections set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-10, 13, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1)/a(2) as being anticipated by Cho (US 2013/0089784 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 9 and 17, Cho teaches a negative active material (negative active material, see [0013]) comprising composite particles (primary particle 100, see [0013], [0048] & Figure 1]); wherein each composite particle (primary particle 100) comprises a first region (130, see annotated Figure 1) and a second region (110, see annotated Figure 1), the first region (110, see annotated Figure 1) comprises a disordered carbon structure (amorphous carbonaceous coating layer 130, see [0048] & Figure 1), the second region (110, see annotated Figure 1) comprises an ordered carbon structure and/or a metal oxide structure (crystalline carbon-based core 110, see [0013], [0048] & Figure 1), and the outer surface (see annotated Figure 1) of the each composite particle (primary particle 100) comprises the first region (130, see annotated Figure 1, wherein the first region comprising of amorphous carbonaceous coating layer 130 is coated over the second region comprising of crystalline carbon-based core 110 thus forming the surface of the primary particle 100).
Further, regarding Claim 9, Cho teaches a secondary battery (a lithium battery 30, [0093], [0096] & Figure 2), comprising a negative electrode (negative electrode 22, [0096] & Figure 2), the negative electrode (negative electrode 22, [0096] & Figure 2) comprising a negative active material layer (negative active material composition, [0075], [0013] and [0048] and Fig. 1) and a current collector (current collector, [0075]).
Further, regarding Claim 17, Cho teaches an electronic apparatus (electronic devices for information communication such as PDAs, mobile phones or notebook computers, see [0005]) comprising the secondary battery (a lithium battery 30, [0093], [0096] & Figure 2),
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, Cho teaches all the limitation as set forth above and further teaches the negative active material (negative active material, see [0013]) wherein the first region (130, see annotated Figure 1) comprises a first active material (amorphous carbonaceous coating layer 130, see [0048] & Figure 1), the first active material (amorphous carbonaceous coating layer 130) comprises hard carbon (the amorphous carbon-based coating layer 130 is selected from soft carbon (low temperature carbon), hard carbon, pitch carbide, meso phase pitch carbide, calcined coke, and a combination thereof, [0017]); and/or the second region (110, see annotated Figure 1) comprises a second active material (crystalline carbon-based core 110, see [0048] & Figure 1) the second active material (crystalline carbon-based core 110, see [0048] & Figure 1) comprises at least one of graphite, graphene, carbon nanotubes, lithium oxide, or a transition metal oxide (the crystalline carbon-based core 110 may be natural graphite, artificial graphite, expandable graphite, graphene, carbon black, fullerene soot or combinations thereof, see lines 1-3 of [0051]).
Regarding Claims 5 & 13, Cho teaches all the limitation as set forth above and further teaches wherein the second region (110, see annotated Figure 1) is in disordered distribution or layered distribution inside the composite particle (see [0056] which describes that spherical crystalline carbonaceous core 110 may have a microstructure, in which layered graphite may be gently or sharply curved, or may have a microstructure that is composed of a plurality of gently or sharply curved graphite scales or a plurality of graphite thin films which reads on a layered distribution).
Regarding Claim 8 & 16, Cho teaches all the limitation as set forth above. Further Cho discloses that the negative active material of Cho includes the first region comprising a disordered carbon structure (amorphous carbonaceous coating layer 130, see [0048] & Figure 1), and the second region (110, see annotated Figure 1) comprising an ordered carbon structure and/or a metal oxide structure (crystalline carbon-based core 110, see [0013], [0048] & Figure 1). Cho further discloses wherein the second active material (crystalline carbon-based core 110, see [0048] & Figure 1) comprises graphite (the crystalline carbon-based core 110 may be natural graphite, artificial graphite, expandable graphite, graphene, carbon black, fullerene soot or combinations thereof, see lines 1-3 of [0051]).
While Cho does not explicitly disclose wherein the negative active material satisfies at least one of the following conditions (d) to (g): (d) an X-ray diffraction pattern of the negative active material shows a characteristic peak within a range of 18° to 30°, wherein a half width of the characteristic peak is 4° to 12°; (e) an X-ray diffraction pattern of the negative active material shows a characteristic peak within a range of 26° to 27°; (f) an X-ray diffraction pattern of the negative active material shows a characteristic peak within at least one of the following ranges: 18° to 19°, 35° to 36°, or 43° to 44°; or (g) an X-ray diffraction pattern of the negative active material shows a characteristic peak within at least one of the following ranges: 30° to 31°, 35° to 36°, 42.5° to 43.5°, 56.5° to 57.5°, or 62° to 63°, it is submitted, however, that an X-ray diffraction pattern is simply a measurement of, and thus descriptions of, inherent properties of the claimed negative active material.
In the Instant Specification, Applicant discloses ([0014]-[0017]) the specific material required for the negative active material to produce the characteristic X-ray diffraction pattern with a distinct characteristic peak. Applicant specifically discloses in [0015] that an X-ray diffraction pattern of the negative active material shows a characteristic peak when 2θ is within a range of 26° to 27°, where the characteristic peak corresponds to the graphite or carbon nanotubes (CNT) in the second region.
Accordingly, it is reasonably interpreted that the identity of the negative active material is critical to the instant characteristic peak of the X-ray diffraction pattern such that it would fulfil the recited measurements and necessarily possess the inherent properties
MPEP § 2112.01.II states that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.
Therefore, as the second region of the negative active material of Cho is substantially identical to the instant second region of the negative active material, as set forth above, it appears reasonable that the negative active material of Cho would inherently possess properties such that its X-ray diffraction pattern would necessarily fulfill the recited limitations, i.e. (e) an X-ray diffraction pattern of the negative active material shows a characteristic peak within a range of 26° to 27°.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2013/089784A1) as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 8-10, 13, 16-17 above, in view of Kim (US 2014/0087255 A1).
Regarding Claims 3, 4, 11, 12, Cho teaches all the limitation as set forth above.
Further, Cho teaches that the second active material (crystalline carbon-based core 110) may be in a range of about 1 – 30 μm (see [0023], wherein crystalline carbon-based core could may be any one of natural graphite, artificial graphite, expandable graphite, graphene, carbon black, fullerene soot or combinations thereof, see lines 1-3 of [0051]) but does not explicitly teach the second active material satisfies at least one of the following conditions: (1) an average particle size of the graphite is 10 nm to 1000 nm; (2) an average flake size of the graphene is 10 nm to 2000 nm; (3) an average diameter of the carbon nanotubes is 10 nm to 2000 nm; (4) an average particle size of the lithium oxide is 10 nm to 1000 nm; or (5) an average particle size of the transition metal oxide is 10 nm to 1000 nm (as required by Claims 3 & 11) and wherein the second active material satisfies at least one of the following conditions: (6) the average particle size of the graphite is 20 nm to 300 nm; (7) the average flake size of the graphene is 20 nm to 500 nm; (8) the average diameter of the carbon nanotubes is 20 nm to 500 nm; (9) the average particle size of the lithium oxide is 20 nm to 300 nm; or (10) the average particle size of the transition metal oxide is 20 nm to 300 nm (as required by Claims 4 & 12),
Kim teaches a secondary battery (lithium battery 1, [0071] & Figure 8), negative electrode (anode 2, [0071] & Figure 8), negative active material (composite anode active material 10, [0031] & Figure 1), composite particles (shell 11 & core 15, [0031] & Figure 1), first region (shell 11, [0031] & Figure 1]), second region (core 15, [0031] & Figure 1). Kim teaches wherein the second region (core 15, [0031] & Figure 1) comprises the second active material (first metal nanostructure 12 & conducting agent 13, [0031] & Figure 1). Kim further teaches that the second active material (conducting agent 13) comprises at least one of graphite, graphene, carbon nanotubes, lithium oxide, or the transition metal oxide (conductive agent may be selected from the group consisting of a carbon nanostructure wherein the carbon nanostructure may be selected from the group consisting of carbon nanotube, graphene, carbon nanofiber, fullerene, active carbon particle, carbon nanoplate, carbon onion and carbon (see [0042]-[0043]). Additionally, Kim teaches that the nanostructure in the composite anode active material may be a nanoparticle wherein the nanoparticle may have an average particle diameter of about 25 nm to about 75 nm (see [0041]) which reads on (3) an average diameter of the carbon nanotubes is 10 nm to 2000 nm (as required by claim 3) and (8) the average diameter of the carbon nanotubes is 20 nm to 500 nm (as required by claim 4). Kim further teaches that the average particle diameter of the nanoparticle may be appropriately controlled within a range so as to further improve the discharge capacity, high-rate characteristics, and lifetime characteristics of a lithium battery (see [0041]).
Cho and Kim are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of anode materials for lithium batteries. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the carbon nanotube with an average particle diameter of about 25 nm to about 75 nm as the second active material in place of the crystalline carbon-based core of Cho in order to further improve the discharge capacity high-rate characteristics, and lifetime characteristics of a lithium battery.
Claims 6 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2013/089784 A1) as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 8-10, 13, 16-17 above, in view of Kurita (US 2019/0363348 A1)
Regarding Claims 6 & 14, modified Cho teaches all the limitation as set forth above. Further, Cho only discloses the average particle diameter of the carbonaceous core 110 may be in a range of 1 – 30 μm [0023] but does not explicitly disclose wherein the each composite particle is a primary particle, with a particle size of the primary particle satisfies 3 μm≤Dv50≤12 μm.
Kurita teaches a secondary battery (lithium-ion secondary battery, [0014]), negative active material (negative electrode material, [0014]), composite particle (composite (A), [0024] wherein composite (A) comprises particles (A1), particles (A2) and carbonaceous material (A3); graphite-containing substance (B); and graphite-containing substance (C)). Kurita further teaches that composite particle (composite (A), [0024]) has a Dv50 of 3.0 μm or more and 20.0 μm or less (see [0022]) which overlaps the claimed range a particle size of the primary particle satisfies 3 μm≤Dv50≤12 μm and further discloses that this Dv50 range results in improved coulombic efficiency and good handling when producing an electrode (see [0022]).
A result-effective variable is a variable which achieves a recognized result. The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable is routine experimentation and therefore obvious (MPEP § 2144.05.II). In the instant case, the Dv50 is a variable that achieves the recognized result of affecting the coulombic efficiency and processability of an electrode, as taught by Kurita, thus making the Dv50 a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the average particle diameter of the carbonaceous core of Cho such that 3 μm≤Dv50≤12 μm via routine experimentation, for the purpose of achieving a suitable coulombic efficiency and processability during production of the electrode.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2013/089784A1) as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 8-10, 13, 16-17 above.
Regarding Claims 7 & 15, Cho teaches all the limitation as set forth above but does not explicitly teaches wherein the negative active material satisfies at least one of the following conditions (a) to (c): (a) an X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy pattern of the negative active material shows a characteristic peak within a range of 283 eV to 288 eV; (b) the negative active material has an ID/IG of 0.6 to 1.3, wherein ID represents a peak intensity within a wavenumber of 1300 cm-1 to 1400 cm-1 during a Raman spectrum test, and IG represents a peak intensity within a wavenumber of 1550 cm-1 to 1650 cm-1 during a Raman spectrum test; or (c) a specific surface area of the negative active material is 1 m2/g to 50 m2/g.
A result-effective variable is a variable which achieves a recognized result. The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable is routine experimentation and therefore obvious (MPEP § 2144.05.II). In the instant case, the specific surface area is a variable that achieves the recognized result of affecting reactivity with an electrolytic solution, as disclosed by Cho (see [0055] which teaches that when the specific surface area of the carbonaceous core 110 is reduced, reactivity with an electrolytic solution is decreased), thus making the specific surface area of the negative active material a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific surface area of Cho such that a specific surface area of the negative active material is 1 m2/g to 50 m2/g via routine experimentation, for the purpose of achieving a suitable reactivity with an electrolytic solution.
Conclusion
/F.V.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725