Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts that the rejections of claims 1, 14 and 15 are invalid because the prior art reference Togami does not meet the claim limitation “the elastic component is configured to press the clamping component towards the optical fiber patch cable plug” (Applicant remarks of 12/31/2025, pg. 9 top). The examiner respectfully disagrees. The key to understanding how the Togami locking/latching mechanism works, is to appreciate that Togami’s clamping component 110 is a “pivot block” which pivots around pivot point 112. When one portion of the pivot block moves toward the top surface of the housing, the other portion moves toward the optical fiber patch cable plug. Because of the pivoting nature of the clamping component 110, the two ends of the component move in opposite directions when acted upon by the elastic component. Therefore, although the elastic component presses a portion of the clamping component away from the optical fiber patch cable plug, it also presses a portion of the clamping component toward the optical fiber patch cable plug, thereby meeting the claim limitation. For this reason, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Togami et al., US 2004/0161958.
With regard to claim 1 Togami, in figs. 1-3, discloses an optical fiber interface, comprising: a main body 106, wherein a plug-in port 113 is disposed on the main body, and the plug-in port is configured to accommodate an optical fiber patch cable plug 150 to be inserted in the plug-in port 113; a cover plate 116, wherein the cover plate is disposed above the main body and is affixed to the main body; and a clamping unlocking mechanism, wherein the clamping unlocking mechanism is disposed between the plug-in port and the cover plate and comprises a clamping component 108/110 and an elastic component 118, the clamping component is disposed in a radial direction of the plug-in port and is configured to clamp the optical fiber patch cable plug when the optical fiber patch cable plug is inserted into the plug-in port, and the elastic component 118 is configured to press the clamping component towards the optical fiber patch cable plug [0032-0045].
With regard to claim 2 Togami, in figs. 1-3, discloses that the elastic component 118 is disposed on a side that is of the clamping component 108/110 and that is away from the plug- in port 113, and the elastic component 118 is in a compressed state, to press the clamping component towards the optical fiber patch cable plug [0032-0045].
With regard to claim 3 Togami, in figs. 1-3, discloses that the clamping component 108/110 is rotatably connected to the main body 106, and the clamping component is further configured to rotate in a direction away from the plug-in port 113 when the optical fiber patch cable plug is inserted into the plug-in port [0032-0045].
With regard to claim 14 Togami, in figs. 1-3, discloses an optical module, comprising an optoelectronic device, a functional circuit, and an optical fiber interface, wherein the optical fiber interface comprises: a main body 106, wherein a plug-in port 113 is disposed on the main body, and the plug-in port is configured to accommodate an optical fiber patch cable plug 150 to be inserted in the plug-in port 113; a cover plate 116, wherein the cover plate is disposed above the main body and is affixed to the main body; and a clamping unlocking mechanism, wherein the clamping unlocking mechanism is disposed between the plug-in port and the cover plate and comprises a clamping component 108/110 and an elastic component 118, the clamping component is disposed in a radial direction of the plug-in port and is configured to clamp the optical fiber patch cable plug when the optical fiber patch cable plug is inserted into the plug-in port, and the elastic component 118 is configured to press the clamping component towards the optical fiber patch cable plug, wherein the optical fiber interface is configured to receive an optical fiber patch cable plug [0032-0045].
With regard to claim 15 Togami, in figs. 1-3, discloses a communication device provided with an optical module that comprises an optoelectronic device, a functional circuit, and an optical fiber interface, wherein the optical fiber interface comprises: a main body 106, wherein a plug-in port 113 for insertion is disposed on the main body, and the plug-in port is configured to accommodate an inserted optical fiber patch cable plug 150 to be inserted in the plug-in port 113; a cover plate 116, wherein the cover plate is disposed above the main body and is affixed to the main body; and a clamping unlocking mechanism, wherein the clamping unlocking mechanism is disposed between the plug-in port and the cover plate and comprises a clamping component 108/110 and an elastic component 118, the clamping component is disposed in a radial direction of the plug-in port and is configured to clamp the optical fiber patch cable plug when the optical fiber patch cable plug is inserted into the plug-in port, and the elastic component 118 is configured to press the clamping component towards the optical fiber patch cable plug, wherein the optical fiber interface is configured to receive an optical fiber patch cable plug [0032-0045].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togami in view of Gniadek et al. US 2018/0156.
With regard to claim 4 Togami, in figs. 1-3, discloses that the clamping component comprises a first rotating member 110 and a second rotating member 108 that are rotatably connected to the main body 106, the first rotating member 110 overlaps a side that is of the second rotating member 108 and that is away from the plug-in port 113, the first rotating member comprises a first limiting portion, and the first limiting portion is configured to prevent the optical fiber patch cable plug from being pulled out [0032-0045].
Togami does not expressly disclose the second rotating member provided with a first tripping portion configured to cooperate with an unlocking pull strap of the optical fiber patch cable.
Gniadek, in figs. 23A-39B, teaches an optical fiber interface having a main body having a plug-in port where a pull strap 2310 of the optical fiber patch cable is pulled to release the locking mechanism of the plug-in port of the optical fiber interface. [0129-0146].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Togami locking/unlocking mechanism such that the activation is caused by the second rotating member is provided with a first tripping protrusion, and the first tripping protrusion is configured to cooperate with an unlocking pull strap of the optical fiber patch cable plug when the unlocking pull strap of the optical fiber patch cable plug is pulled, so that the second rotating member rotates towards the side away from the plug-in port, as taught by Gniadek, so as to facilitate easier unlocking.
With regard to claim 5 Togami, in figs. 1-3, discloses that a rotation axis of the first rotating member and a rotation axis of the second rotating member are parallel, the first rotating member and the second rotating member each are rotatably connected to the main body through an end portion, another end of the first rotating member and another end of the second rotating member are both free ends, and the free end of the first rotating member overlaps a side that is of the free end of the second rotating member and that is away from the plug-in port [0032-0045].
With regard to claim 6 Togami, in figs. 1-3, discloses that the clamping unlocking mechanism comprises a first bearing frame (holding 108 and 110) disposed in the radial direction of the plug-in port, the first rotating member and the second rotating member are mounted on the first bearing frame, the first bearing frame comprises a hollow portion, and the first limiting portion and the first tripping protrusion are located at the hollow portion.
With regard to claim 7 Togami, in figs. 1-3, discloses a first bearing groove and a second bearing groove are provided on the first bearing frame, a side wall of the first rotating member comprises a first bearing protrusion, and a side wall of the second rotating member comprises a second bearing protrusion; and the first bearing protrusion correspondingly extends into the first bearing groove, to limit movement of the first rotating member towards the plug-in port; and the second bearing protrusion correspondingly extends into the second bearing groove, to limit movement of the second rotating member towards the plug-in port.
With regard to claim 8 Togami, in fig. 4, discloses that are two first rotating members and two second rotating members, the two first rotating members are disposed abreast, and the two second rotating members are disposed abreast.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874