DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-14, and 16-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7 and 8, filed 6/17/2026, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 12, 13, 19, and 20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 and 9, filed 6/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5-7, 10-14, and 17-23 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li (US PG Pub 2009/0274250). See in particular, Fig. 1, step s40 and paragraph [0030]. Further discussion of the reference is included in the rejection, below. Lastly, the examiner notes that the applicant did not incorporate all features of the claims previously indicated as containing allowable subject matter. Therefore, the claims have been finally rejected, as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-14, and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khanna (US PG Pub 2024/0107475, which was cited in a prior Office Action) in view of Wu et al. (US PG Pub 2015/0156048, which was cited in a prior Office Action) and Li (US PG Pub 2009/0274250).
As per claim 1, Khanna teaches a method comprising:
receiving a plurality of frames from an access point [Khanna, ¶ 0072, “In use, the access point 102 transmits packets of data to the client device station 104 using an IEEE 802.11ax packet structure. The wireless communication system 100 is arranged to use High Efficiency Extended Range Single User (HEERSU) format packets, along with other IEEE 802.11ax packets”, The Access Point (see fig 1, element 102) transmits IEEE 802.11ax packets (or frames, see ¶ 0003) to the client device (see element 104). The HEERSU packet contains HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2, elements 212-216) which are used for timing (see ¶ 0074). The client device includes a baseband processor (see element 118), which performs CFO operations (see ¶s 0080 and 0081). The baseband processor may make adjustments to the local oscillator (see element 112, or phase locked loop (PLL), see ¶ 0082). An RF front end (see element 120, ¶ 0070) functions as RF circuitry.];
determining a carrier frequency offset (CFO) estimate for each of the plurality of frames received from the access point [Khanna, ¶ 0135, “Finally, in step 514, the CFO estimates from steps 508 and 512 are combined, e.g. by averaging”, The HE SIG-A fields (which contain timing information) are used to compute a carrier frequency offset (see ¶ 0106). A first CFO estimate is made based on channel estimate, HE SIG-A1, and HE SIG-A2 (see fig. 5, element 508, ¶ 0124). A second CFO estimate is made based on HE SIG-A3 and HE SIG-A4 (see element 512, ¶ 0134). A final CFO estimate is produced based on the first CFO and second CFO (see element 514) using averaging or a combined correlation metric (see also ¶ 0136). Note this is the CFO for a single packet, as the packet contains multiple, HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2). The baseband processor performs the CFO operations (see ¶ 0121).];
computing a final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates [Khanna, ¶ 0150, “An improved CFO estimate 706 cfoimproved may then be calculated using a weighted sum of cfoprior and cfonew”, A previous CFO estimate (cfoprior) may be obtained from CFO estimate of prior packets (see fig. 7, element 702, ¶s 0148, 0149). In addition, a CFO may be calculated from a current packet (see element 704, ¶ 0149). An improved CFO estimate (cfoimproved) may be calculated using these two values (see element 706, see equation between ¶s 0150 and 0151, see also ¶ 0151). See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates.].
Khanna does not explicitly teach determining whether the final CFO estimate meets a criterion, wherein the criterion is based at least in part on a threshold number of CFO estimates used to compute the final CFO estimate; and changing a first phase of a radio frequency phase-locked loop (RF PLL) in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach determining whether the final CFO estimate meets a criterion [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed (see fig. 2, step 302 and ¶ 0019). In step 304, the CFO_ave is compared to a threshold (ϕCFO). If the CFO_ave is greater than the threshold, the process proceeds to steps 306-316. Steps 314/316 adjust crystal capacitance.]; and changing a first phase of a radio frequency phase-locked loop (RF PLL) in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0021, “In step S312, determining whether the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is greater than or equal to 0 is performed. If yes, then go to step S314 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap+.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318. Otherwise, if the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is not greater than or equal to 0, then go to step S316 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap-.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318”, Based on the CFO_ave meeting a threshold (greater than ϕCFO), the process proceeds to steps 314/314, where the cystal capacitance is either adjusted up/down (see also ¶ 0019) based on the CFO estimate. The crystal capacitance controls the output of the OFDM oscillator at the receiver (see also ¶ 0018).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
In a further analogous art, Li teaches wherein the criterion is based at least in part on a threshold number of CFO estimates used to compute the final CFO estimate [Li, ¶ 0030, “Next, one intermediate CFO is calculated from the selected four sync sequences at step S30; and in step S40 it is judged whether more intermediate CFOs need to be calculated, with the criterion for judgment being whether a predefined number of intermediate CFOs have been obtained, whether the differences between a plurality of successively-calculated intermediate CFOs is less than one predefined threshold value and the like. If more intermediate CFOs need to be calculated, the flow returns to step S10 to continue computing. The system acquires the channel quality of a channel transmitting the received sequence during step S42, by means of evaluation and the like. At step S50, the plurality of intermediate CFOs are weighted according to the channel quality of the corresponding channel to generate a final CFO”, Fig. 1 shows the process to determine a final CFO. One of the criteria to compute a final CFO is obtaining a threshold (or predefined number) of intermediate CFOs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the obtaining of a sufficient number of intermediate CFOs as taught by LI and implement the step into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the a sufficient number of intermediate CFOs as shown by Li to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve compute a final CFO based on an optimal sequence segment (see Li, ¶ 0013) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 5, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the method of claim 1. Khanna does not explicitly teach wherein the computing the final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates comprises calculating at least one of an average, weighted average, moving average, or mean.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach wherein the computing the final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates comprises calculating at least one of an average [Wu, ¶ 0019, “The CFO calibration method 3 calculates a CFO adjustment value CFO (i.e. a capacitance adjustment value .DELTA..sub.cap of an oscillator) according to a CFO estimation value CFO_est generated by a digital CFO calculating circuit in the OFDM receiver and a frequency offset value .DELTA..sub.F and a frequency offset direction corresponding to unit capacitance of a control capacitance Crystal_cap of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver. In step S302, extreme values in all CFO estimation values CFO_est during a specific time interval T can be omitted in order to reduce over adjusting conditions and extreme conditions, and calculate a mean value of the rest of CFO estimation values CFO_est to obtain a mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave_without_maxmin without extreme values. The mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave_without_maxmin is viewed as a mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave during the specific time interval T”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed.], weighted average, moving average, or mean.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 6, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the method of claim 1. Khanna also teaches further comprising:
receiving an additional frame from the access point [Khanna, ¶ 0072, “In use, the access point 102 transmits packets of data to the client device station 104 using an IEEE 802.11ax packet structure. The wireless communication system 100 is arranged to use High Efficiency Extended Range Single User (HEERSU) format packets, along with other IEEE 802.11ax packets”, The Access Point (see fig 1, element 102) transmits IEEE 802.11ax packets (or frames, see ¶ 0003) to the client device (see element 104). The HEERSU packet contains HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2, elements 212-216) which are used for timing (see ¶ 0074). The client device includes a baseband processor (see element 118), which performs CFO operations (see ¶s 0080 and 0081). The baseband processor may make adjustments to the local oscillator (see element 112, or phase locked loop (PLL), see ¶ 0082). An RF front end (see element 120, ¶ 0070) functions as RF circuitry.];
determining a CFO estimate for the additional frame received from the access point; computing an updated final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimate [Khanna, ¶ 0135, “Finally, in step 514, the CFO estimates from steps 508 and 512 are combined, e.g. by averaging”, The HE SIG-A fields (which contain timing information) are used to compute a carrier frequency offset (see ¶ 0106). A first CFO estimate is made based on channel estimate, HE SIG-A1, and HE SIG-A2 (see fig. 5, element 508, ¶ 0124). A second CFO estimate is made based on HE SIG-A3 and HE SIG-A4 (see element 512, ¶ 0134). A final CFO estimate is produced based on the first CFO and second CFO (see element 514) using averaging or a combined correlation metric (see also ¶ 0136). Note this is the CFO for a single packet, as the packet contains multiple, HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2). The baseband processor performs the CFO operations (see ¶ 0121). See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates.].
Khanna does not explicitly teach determining whether the updated final CFO estimate meets a criterion; and changing the first phase of the RF PLL to the second phase in response to the updated final CFO estimate meeting the criterion or continuing to receive additional frames from the access point in response to the updated final CFO estimate not meeting the criterion.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach determining whether the updated final CFO estimate meets the criterion determining whether the updated final CFO estimate meets a criterion [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed (see fig. 2, step 302 and ¶ 0019). In step 304, the CFO_ave is compared to a threshold (ϕCFO). If the CFO_ave is greater than the threshold, the process proceeds to steps 306-316. Steps 314/316 adjust crystal capacitance.]; and changing the first phase of the RF PLL to the second phase in response to the updated final CFO estimate meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0021, “In step S312, determining whether the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is greater than or equal to 0 is performed. If yes, then go to step S314 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap+.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318. Otherwise, if the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is not greater than or equal to 0, then go to step S316 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap-.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318”, Based on the CFO_ave meeting a threshold (greater than ϕCFO), the process proceeds to steps 314/314, where the cystal capacitance is either adjusted up/down (see also ¶ 0019) based on the CFO estimate. The crystal capacitance controls the output of the OFDM oscillator at the receiver (see also ¶ 0018).] or continuing to receive additional frames from the access point in response to the updated final CFO estimate not meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO and a flag blsFreeze is equal to True is performed. If yes, then go to step S320”, If the threshold is not met, then no change is made and frames continue to be received with the current crystal oscillator settings.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 7, Khanna teaches an apparatus comprising:
radio frequency (RF) circuitry comprising an RF phase-locked loop (PLL), wherein the RF circuitry is to receive a plurality of frames from an access point while the RF PLL operates at a first phase [Khanna, ¶ 0072, “In use, the access point 102 transmits packets of data to the client device station 104 using an IEEE 802.11ax packet structure. The wireless communication system 100 is arranged to use High Efficiency Extended Range Single User (HEERSU) format packets, along with other IEEE 802.11ax packets”, The Access Point (see fig 1, element 102) transmits IEEE 802.11ax packets (or frames, see ¶ 0003) to the client device (see element 104). The HEERSU packet contains HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2, elements 212-216) which are used for timing (see ¶ 0074). The client device includes a baseband processor (see element 118), which performs CFO operations (see ¶s 0080 and 0081). The baseband processor may make adjustments to the local oscillator (see element 112, or phase locked loop (PLL), see ¶ 0082). An RF front end (see element 120, ¶ 0070) functions as RF circuitry.]; and
a processing device coupled to the RF PLL, wherein the processing device is to: determine a carrier frequency offset (CFO) estimate for each of the plurality of frames received from the access point [Khanna, ¶ 0135, “Finally, in step 514, the CFO estimates from steps 508 and 512 are combined, e.g. by averaging”, The HE SIG-A fields (which contain timing information) are used to compute a carrier frequency offset (see ¶ 0106). A first CFO estimate is made based on channel estimate, HE SIG-A1, and HE SIG-A2 (see fig. 5, element 508, ¶ 0124). A second CFO estimate is made based on HE SIG-A3 and HE SIG-A4 (see element 512, ¶ 0134). A final CFO estimate is produced based on the first CFO and second CFO (see element 514) using averaging or a combined correlation metric (see also ¶ 0136). Note this is the CFO for a single packet, as the packet contains multiple, HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2). The baseband processor performs the CFO operations (see ¶ 0121).]; compute a final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates [Khanna, ¶ 0150, “An improved CFO estimate 706 cfoimproved may then be calculated using a weighted sum of cfoprior and cfonew”, A previous CFO estimate (cfoprior) may be obtained from CFO estimate of prior packets (see fig. 7, element 702, ¶s 0148, 0149). In addition, a CFO may be calculated from a current packet (see element 704, ¶ 0149). An improved CFO estimate (cfoimproved) may be calculated using these two values (see element 706, see equation between ¶s 0150 and 0151, see also ¶ 0151). See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates.].
Khanna does not explicitly teach determine whether the final CFO estimate meets a criterion, wherein the criterion is based at least in part on a threshold number of CFO estimates used to compute the final CFO estimate; and change the RF PLL from the first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach change the RF PLL from the first phase to a second phase determine whether the final CFO estimate meets a criterion [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed (see fig. 2, step 302 and ¶ 0019). In step 304, the CFO_ave is compared to a threshold (ϕCFO). If the CFO_ave is greater than the threshold, the process proceeds to steps 306-316. Steps 314/316 adjust crystal capacitance.]; and change the RF PLL from the first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0021, “In step S312, determining whether the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is greater than or equal to 0 is performed. If yes, then go to step S314 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap+.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318. Otherwise, if the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is not greater than or equal to 0, then go to step S316 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap-.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318”, Based on the CFO_ave meeting a threshold (greater than ϕCFO), the process proceeds to steps 314/314, where the cystal capacitance is either adjusted up/down (see also ¶ 0019) based on the CFO estimate. The crystal capacitance controls the output of the OFDM oscillator at the receiver (see also ¶ 0018).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
In a further analogous art, Li teaches wherein the criterion is based at least in part on a threshold number of CFO estimates used to compute the final CFO estimate [Li, ¶ 0030, “Next, one intermediate CFO is calculated from the selected four sync sequences at step S30; and in step S40 it is judged whether more intermediate CFOs need to be calculated, with the criterion for judgment being whether a predefined number of intermediate CFOs have been obtained, whether the differences between a plurality of successively-calculated intermediate CFOs is less than one predefined threshold value and the like. If more intermediate CFOs need to be calculated, the flow returns to step S10 to continue computing. The system acquires the channel quality of a channel transmitting the received sequence during step S42, by means of evaluation and the like. At step S50, the plurality of intermediate CFOs are weighted according to the channel quality of the corresponding channel to generate a final CFO”, Fig. 1 shows the process to determine a final CFO. One of the criteria to compute a final CFO is obtaining a threshold (or predefined number) of intermediate CFOs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the obtaining of a sufficient number of intermediate CFOs as taught by LI and implement the step into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the a sufficient number of intermediate CFOs as shown by Li to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve compute a final CFO based on an optimal sequence segment (see Li, ¶ 0013) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 10, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the apparatus of claim 7. Khanna does not explicitly teach wherein the computing the final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates comprises calculating at least one of an average, weighted average, moving average, or mean.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach wherein the computing the final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates comprises calculating at least one of an average [Wu, ¶ 0019, “The CFO calibration method 3 calculates a CFO adjustment value CFO (i.e. a capacitance adjustment value .DELTA..sub.cap of an oscillator) according to a CFO estimation value CFO_est generated by a digital CFO calculating circuit in the OFDM receiver and a frequency offset value .DELTA..sub.F and a frequency offset direction corresponding to unit capacitance of a control capacitance Crystal_cap of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver. In step S302, extreme values in all CFO estimation values CFO_est during a specific time interval T can be omitted in order to reduce over adjusting conditions and extreme conditions, and calculate a mean value of the rest of CFO estimation values CFO_est to obtain a mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave_without_maxmin without extreme values. The mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave_without_maxmin is viewed as a mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave during the specific time interval T”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed.], weighted average, moving average, or mean.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 11, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the processing device is further to:
receive an additional frame from the access point [Khanna, ¶ 0072, “In use, the access point 102 transmits packets of data to the client device station 104 using an IEEE 802.11ax packet structure. The wireless communication system 100 is arranged to use High Efficiency Extended Range Single User (HEERSU) format packets, along with other IEEE 802.11ax packets”, The Access Point (see fig 1, element 102) transmits IEEE 802.11ax packets (or frames, see ¶ 0003) to the client device (see element 104). The HEERSU packet contains HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2, elements 212-216) which are used for timing (see ¶ 0074). The client device includes a baseband processor (see element 118), which performs CFO operations (see ¶s 0080 and 0081). The baseband processor may make adjustments to the local oscillator (see element 112, or phase locked loop (PLL), see ¶ 0082). An RF front end (see element 120, ¶ 0070) functions as RF circuitry.]; determine a CFO estimate for the additional frame received from the access point; compute an updated final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimate [Khanna, ¶ 0135, “Finally, in step 514, the CFO estimates from steps 508 and 512 are combined, e.g. by averaging”, The HE SIG-A fields (which contain timing information) are used to compute a carrier frequency offset (see ¶ 0106). A first CFO estimate is made based on channel estimate, HE SIG-A1, and HE SIG-A2 (see fig. 5, element 508, ¶ 0124). A second CFO estimate is made based on HE SIG-A3 and HE SIG-A4 (see element 512, ¶ 0134). A final CFO estimate is produced based on the first CFO and second CFO (see element 514) using averaging or a combined correlation metric (see also ¶ 0136). Note this is the CFO for a single packet, as the packet contains multiple, HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2). The baseband processor performs the CFO operations (see ¶ 0121). See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates.].
Khanna does not explicitly teach determine whether the updated final CFO estimate meets a criterion; and change the first phase of the RF PLL to the second phase in response to the updated final CFO estimate meeting the criterion or continue to receive additional frames from the access point in response to the updated final CFO estimate not meeting the criterion.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach determine whether the updated final CFO estimate meets the criterion determining whether the updated final CFO estimate meets a criterion [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed (see fig. 2, step 302 and ¶ 0019). In step 304, the CFO_ave is compared to a threshold (ϕCFO). If the CFO_ave is greater than the threshold, the process proceeds to steps 306-316. Steps 314/316 adjust crystal capacitance.]; and change the first phase of the RF PLL to the second phase in response to the updated final CFO estimate meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0021, “In step S312, determining whether the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is greater than or equal to 0 is performed. If yes, then go to step S314 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap+.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318. Otherwise, if the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is not greater than or equal to 0, then go to step S316 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap-.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318”, Based on the CFO_ave meeting a threshold (greater than ϕCFO), the process proceeds to steps 314/314, where the cystal capacitance is either adjusted up/down (see also ¶ 0019) based on the CFO estimate. The crystal capacitance controls the output of the OFDM oscillator at the receiver (see also ¶ 0018).] or continue to receive additional frames from the access point in response to the updated final CFO estimate not meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO and a flag blsFreeze is equal to True is performed. If yes, then go to step S320”, If the threshold is not met, then no change is made and frames continue to be received with the current crystal oscillator settings.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 12, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the apparatus of claim 7. Khanna also teaches wherein the processing device comprises a state machine [Khanna, ¶ 0150, “An improved CFO estimate 706 cfoimproved may then be calculated using a weighted sum of cfoprior and cfonew”, A previous CFO estimate (cfoprior) may be obtained from CFO estimate of prior packets (see fig. 7, element 702, ¶s 0148, 0149). In addition, a CFO may be calculated from a current packet (see element 704, ¶ 0149). An improved CFO estimate (cfoimproved) may be calculated using these two values (see element 706, see equation between ¶s 0150 and 0151, see also ¶ 0151). See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates. Fig. 7 functions as a state machine.], wherein the state machine is to: determine a CFO estimate for each of the plurality of frames received from the access point [Khanna, ¶ 0072, “In use, the access point 102 transmits packets of data to the client device station 104 using an IEEE 802.11ax packet structure. The wireless communication system 100 is arranged to use High Efficiency Extended Range Single User (HEERSU) format packets, along with other IEEE 802.11ax packets”, The Access Point (see fig 1, element 102) transmits IEEE 802.11ax packets (or frames, see ¶ 0003) to the client device (see element 104). The HEERSU packet contains HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2, elements 212-216) which are used for timing (see ¶ 0074). The client device includes a baseband processor (see element 118), which performs CFO operations (see ¶s 0080 and 0081). The baseband processor may make adjustments to the local oscillator (see element 112, or phase locked loop (PLL), see ¶ 0082). An RF front end (see element 120, ¶ 0070) functions as RF circuitry.]; compute a final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates [Khanna, ¶ 0150, “An improved CFO estimate 706 cfoimproved may then be calculated using a weighted sum of cfoprior and cfonew”, A previous CFO estimate (cfoprior) may be obtained from CFO estimate of prior packets (see fig. 7, element 702, ¶s 0148, 0149). In addition, a CFO may be calculated from a current packet (see element 704, ¶ 0149). An improved CFO estimate (cfoimproved) may be calculated using these two values (see element 706, see equation between ¶s 0150 and 0151, see also ¶ 0151). See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates. See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates.].
Khanna does not explicitly teach change the RF PLL from a first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach change the RF PLL from a first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0021, “In step S312, determining whether the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is greater than or equal to 0 is performed. If yes, then go to step S314 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap+.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318. Otherwise, if the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is not greater than or equal to 0, then go to step S316 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap-.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318”, Based on the CFO_ave meeting a threshold (greater than ϕCFO), the process proceeds to steps 314/314, where the cystal capacitance is either adjusted up/down (see also ¶ 0019) based on the CFO estimate. The crystal capacitance controls the output of the OFDM oscillator at the receiver (see also ¶ 0018).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 13, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the processing device comprises firmware [Khanna, ¶ 0051, CFO estimate is performed with firmware.], wherein the firmware is to: determine a carrier frequency offset (CFO) estimate for each of the plurality of frames received from the access point [Khanna, ¶ 0072, “In use, the access point 102 transmits packets of data to the client device station 104 using an IEEE 802.11ax packet structure. The wireless communication system 100 is arranged to use High Efficiency Extended Range Single User (HEERSU) format packets, along with other IEEE 802.11ax packets”, The Access Point (see fig 1, element 102) transmits IEEE 802.11ax packets (or frames, see ¶ 0003) to the client device (see element 104). The HEERSU packet contains HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2, elements 212-216) which are used for timing (see ¶ 0074). The client device includes a baseband processor (see element 118), which performs CFO operations (see ¶s 0080 and 0081). The baseband processor may make adjustments to the local oscillator (see element 112, or phase locked loop (PLL), see ¶ 0082). An RF front end (see element 120, ¶ 0070) functions as RF circuitry.]; compute a final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates [Khanna, ¶ 0150, “An improved CFO estimate 706 cfoimproved may then be calculated using a weighted sum of cfoprior and cfonew”, A previous CFO estimate (cfoprior) may be obtained from CFO estimate of prior packets (see fig. 7, element 702, ¶s 0148, 0149). In addition, a CFO may be calculated from a current packet (see element 704, ¶ 0149). An improved CFO estimate (cfoimproved) may be calculated using these two values (see element 706, see equation between ¶s 0150 and 0151, see also ¶ 0151). See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates. See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates.].
Khanna does not explicitly teach change the RF PLL from a first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion, wherein the criterion is based at least in part on a threshold number of CFO estimates used to compute the final CFO estimate.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach change the RF PLL from a first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0021, “In step S312, determining whether the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is greater than or equal to 0 is performed. If yes, then go to step S314 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap+.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318. Otherwise, if the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is not greater than or equal to 0, then go to step S316 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap-.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318”, Based on the CFO_ave meeting a threshold (greater than ϕCFO), the process proceeds to steps 314/314, where the cystal capacitance is either adjusted up/down (see also ¶ 0019) based on the CFO estimate. The crystal capacitance controls the output of the OFDM oscillator at the receiver (see also ¶ 0018).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 14, Khanna teaches a system comprising:
a first circuit, wherein the first circuit comprises a radio frequency (RF) phase-locked loop (PLL), and the first circuit is to receive a plurality of frames from an access point [Khanna, ¶ 0072, “In use, the access point 102 transmits packets of data to the client device station 104 using an IEEE 802.11ax packet structure. The wireless communication system 100 is arranged to use High Efficiency Extended Range Single User (HEERSU) format packets, along with other IEEE 802.11ax packets”, The Access Point (see fig 1, element 102) transmits IEEE 802.11ax packets (or frames, see ¶ 0003) to the client device (see element 104). The HEERSU packet contains HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2, elements 212-216) which are used for timing (see ¶ 0074). The client device includes a baseband processor (see element 118), which performs CFO operations (see ¶s 0080 and 0081). The baseband processor may make adjustments to the local oscillator (see element 112, or phase locked loop (PLL), see ¶ 0082). An RF front end (see element 120, ¶ 0070) functions as RF circuitry.]; and
a second circuit, wherein the second circuit is to: determine a carrier frequency offset (CFO) estimate for each of the plurality of frames received from the access point [Khanna, ¶ 0135, “Finally, in step 514, the CFO estimates from steps 508 and 512 are combined, e.g. by averaging”, The HE SIG-A fields (which contain timing information) are used to compute a carrier frequency offset (see ¶ 0106). A first CFO estimate is made based on channel estimate, HE SIG-A1, and HE SIG-A2 (see fig. 5, element 508, ¶ 0124). A second CFO estimate is made based on HE SIG-A3 and HE SIG-A4 (see element 512, ¶ 0134). A final CFO estimate is produced based on the first CFO and second CFO (see element 514) using averaging or a combined correlation metric (see also ¶ 0136). Note this is the CFO for a single packet, as the packet contains multiple, HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2). The baseband processor performs the CFO operations (see ¶ 0121).]; compute a final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates [Khanna, ¶ 0150, “An improved CFO estimate 706 cfoimproved may then be calculated using a weighted sum of cfoprior and cfonew”, A previous CFO estimate (cfoprior) may be obtained from CFO estimate of prior packets (see fig. 7, element 702, ¶s 0148, 0149). In addition, a CFO may be calculated from a current packet (see element 704, ¶ 0149). An improved CFO estimate (cfoimproved) may be calculated using these two values (see element 706, see equation between ¶s 0150 and 0151, see also ¶ 0151).].
Khanna does not explicitly teach determine whether the final CFO estimate meets a criterion; and change the RF PLL from the first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach change the RF PLL from the first phase to a second phase determine whether the final CFO estimate meets a criterion [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed (see fig. 2, step 302 and ¶ 0019). In step 304, the CFO_ave is compared to a threshold (ϕCFO). If the CFO_ave is greater than the threshold, the process proceeds to steps 306-316. Steps 314/316 adjust crystal capacitance.]; and change the RF PLL from the first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0021, “In step S312, determining whether the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is greater than or equal to 0 is performed. If yes, then go to step S314 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap+.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318. Otherwise, if the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is not greater than or equal to 0, then go to step S316 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap-.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318”, Based on the CFO_ave meeting a threshold (greater than ϕCFO), the process proceeds to steps 314/314, where the cystal capacitance is either adjusted up/down (see also ¶ 0019) based on the CFO estimate. The crystal capacitance controls the output of the OFDM oscillator at the receiver (see also ¶ 0018).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
In a further analogous art, Li teaches wherein the criterion is based at least in part on a threshold number of CFO estimates used to compute the final CFO estimate [Li, ¶ 0030, “Next, one intermediate CFO is calculated from the selected four sync sequences at step S30; and in step S40 it is judged whether more intermediate CFOs need to be calculated, with the criterion for judgment being whether a predefined number of intermediate CFOs have been obtained, whether the differences between a plurality of successively-calculated intermediate CFOs is less than one predefined threshold value and the like. If more intermediate CFOs need to be calculated, the flow returns to step S10 to continue computing. The system acquires the channel quality of a channel transmitting the received sequence during step S42, by means of evaluation and the like. At step S50, the plurality of intermediate CFOs are weighted according to the channel quality of the corresponding channel to generate a final CFO”, Fig. 1 shows the process to determine a final CFO. One of the criteria to compute a final CFO is obtaining a threshold (or predefined number) of intermediate CFOs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the obtaining of a sufficient number of intermediate CFOs as taught by LI and implement the step into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the a sufficient number of intermediate CFOs as shown by Li to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve compute a final CFO based on an optimal sequence segment (see Li, ¶ 0013) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 17, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the system of claim 14. Khanna does not explicitly teach wherein the computing the final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates comprises calculating at least one of an average, weighted average, moving average, or mean.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach wherein the computing the final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates comprises calculating at least one of an average [Wu, ¶ 0019, “The CFO calibration method 3 calculates a CFO adjustment value CFO (i.e. a capacitance adjustment value .DELTA..sub.cap of an oscillator) according to a CFO estimation value CFO_est generated by a digital CFO calculating circuit in the OFDM receiver and a frequency offset value .DELTA..sub.F and a frequency offset direction corresponding to unit capacitance of a control capacitance Crystal_cap of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver. In step S302, extreme values in all CFO estimation values CFO_est during a specific time interval T can be omitted in order to reduce over adjusting conditions and extreme conditions, and calculate a mean value of the rest of CFO estimation values CFO_est to obtain a mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave_without_maxmin without extreme values. The mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave_without_maxmin is viewed as a mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave during the specific time interval T”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed.], weighted average, moving average, or mean.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 18, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the system of claim 14. Khanna also teaches the second circuit further to:
receive an additional frame from the access point [Khanna, ¶ 0072, “In use, the access point 102 transmits packets of data to the client device station 104 using an IEEE 802.11ax packet structure. The wireless communication system 100 is arranged to use High Efficiency Extended Range Single User (HEERSU) format packets, along with other IEEE 802.11ax packets”, The Access Point (see fig 1, element 102) transmits IEEE 802.11ax packets (or frames, see ¶ 0003) to the client device (see element 104). The HEERSU packet contains HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2, elements 212-216) which are used for timing (see ¶ 0074). The client device includes a baseband processor (see element 118), which performs CFO operations (see ¶s 0080 and 0081). The baseband processor may make adjustments to the local oscillator (see element 112, or phase locked loop (PLL), see ¶ 0082). An RF front end (see element 120, ¶ 0070) functions as RF circuitry.]; determine a CFO estimate for the additional frame received from the access point; compute an updated final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimate [Khanna, ¶ 0135, “Finally, in step 514, the CFO estimates from steps 508 and 512 are combined, e.g. by averaging”, The HE SIG-A fields (which contain timing information) are used to compute a carrier frequency offset (see ¶ 0106). A first CFO estimate is made based on channel estimate, HE SIG-A1, and HE SIG-A2 (see fig. 5, element 508, ¶ 0124). A second CFO estimate is made based on HE SIG-A3 and HE SIG-A4 (see element 512, ¶ 0134). A final CFO estimate is produced based on the first CFO and second CFO (see element 514) using averaging or a combined correlation metric (see also ¶ 0136). Note this is the CFO for a single packet, as the packet contains multiple, HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2). The baseband processor performs the CFO operations (see ¶ 0121).].
Khanna does not explicitly teach determine whether the updated final CFO estimate meets a criterion; and change the first phase of the RF PLL to the second phase in response to the updated final CFO estimate meeting the criterion or continue to receive additional frames from the access point in response to the updated final CFO estimate not meeting the criterion.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach determine whether the updated final CFO estimate meets the criterion determining whether the updated final CFO estimate meets a criterion [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed (see fig. 2, step 302 and ¶ 0019). In step 304, the CFO_ave is compared to a threshold (ϕCFO). If the CFO_ave is greater than the threshold, the process proceeds to steps 306-316. Steps 314/316 adjust crystal capacitance.]; and change the first phase of the RF PLL to the second phase in response to the updated final CFO estimate meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0021, “In step S312, determining whether the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is greater than or equal to 0 is performed. If yes, then go to step S314 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap+.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318. Otherwise, if the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is not greater than or equal to 0, then go to step S316 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap-.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318”, Based on the CFO_ave meeting a threshold (greater than ϕCFO), the process proceeds to steps 314/314, where the cystal capacitance is either adjusted up/down (see also ¶ 0019) based on the CFO estimate. The crystal capacitance controls the output of the OFDM oscillator at the receiver (see also ¶ 0018).] or continue to receive additional frames from the access point in response to the updated final CFO estimate not meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO and a flag blsFreeze is equal to True is performed. If yes, then go to step S320”, If the threshold is not met, then no change is made and frames continue to be received with the current crystal oscillator settings.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 19, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the system of claim 14. Khanna also teaches wherein the second circuit comprises a state machine [Khanna, ¶ 0150, “An improved CFO estimate 706 cfoimproved may then be calculated using a weighted sum of cfoprior and cfonew”, A previous CFO estimate (cfoprior) may be obtained from CFO estimate of prior packets (see fig. 7, element 702, ¶s 0148, 0149). In addition, a CFO may be calculated from a current packet (see element 704, ¶ 0149). An improved CFO estimate (cfoimproved) may be calculated using these two values (see element 706, see equation between ¶s 0150 and 0151, see also ¶ 0151). See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates. Fig. 7 functions as a state machine.], wherein the state machine is to: determine a CFO estimate for each of the plurality of frames received from the access point [Khanna, ¶ 0072, “In use, the access point 102 transmits packets of data to the client device station 104 using an IEEE 802.11ax packet structure. The wireless communication system 100 is arranged to use High Efficiency Extended Range Single User (HEERSU) format packets, along with other IEEE 802.11ax packets”, The Access Point (see fig 1, element 102) transmits IEEE 802.11ax packets (or frames, see ¶ 0003) to the client device (see element 104). The HEERSU packet contains HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2, elements 212-216) which are used for timing (see ¶ 0074). The client device includes a baseband processor (see element 118), which performs CFO operations (see ¶s 0080 and 0081). The baseband processor may make adjustments to the local oscillator (see element 112, or phase locked loop (PLL), see ¶ 0082). An RF front end (see element 120, ¶ 0070) functions as RF circuitry.] ; compute a final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates [Khanna, ¶ 0150, “An improved CFO estimate 706 cfoimproved may then be calculated using a weighted sum of cfoprior and cfonew”, A previous CFO estimate (cfoprior) may be obtained from CFO estimate of prior packets (see fig. 7, element 702, ¶s 0148, 0149). In addition, a CFO may be calculated from a current packet (see element 704, ¶ 0149). An improved CFO estimate (cfoimproved) may be calculated using these two values (see element 706, see equation between ¶s 0150 and 0151, see also ¶ 0151). See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates. See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates.].
Khanna does not explicitly teach change the RF PLL from a first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach change the RF PLL from a first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0021, “In step S312, determining whether the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is greater than or equal to 0 is performed. If yes, then go to step S314 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap+.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318. Otherwise, if the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is not greater than or equal to 0, then go to step S316 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap-.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318”, Based on the CFO_ave meeting a threshold (greater than ϕCFO), the process proceeds to steps 314/314, where the cystal capacitance is either adjusted up/down (see also ¶ 0019) based on the CFO estimate. The crystal capacitance controls the output of the OFDM oscillator at the receiver (see also ¶ 0018).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 20, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the system of claim 14. Khanna also teaches wherein the second circuit comprises firmware [Khanna, ¶ 0051, CFO estimate is performed with firmware.], wherein the firmware is to: determine a carrier frequency offset (CFO) estimate for each of the plurality of frames received from the access point [Khanna, ¶ 0072, “In use, the access point 102 transmits packets of data to the client device station 104 using an IEEE 802.11ax packet structure. The wireless communication system 100 is arranged to use High Efficiency Extended Range Single User (HEERSU) format packets, along with other IEEE 802.11ax packets”, The Access Point (see fig 1, element 102) transmits IEEE 802.11ax packets (or frames, see ¶ 0003) to the client device (see element 104). The HEERSU packet contains HE SIG-A fields (see fig. 2, elements 212-216) which are used for timing (see ¶ 0074). The client device includes a baseband processor (see element 118), which performs CFO operations (see ¶s 0080 and 0081). The baseband processor may make adjustments to the local oscillator (see element 112, or phase locked loop (PLL), see ¶ 0082). An RF front end (see element 120, ¶ 0070) functions as RF circuitry.] ; compute a final CFO estimate based on the CFO estimates [Khanna, ¶ 0150, “An improved CFO estimate 706 cfoimproved may then be calculated using a weighted sum of cfoprior and cfonew”, A previous CFO estimate (cfoprior) may be obtained from CFO estimate of prior packets (see fig. 7, element 702, ¶s 0148, 0149). In addition, a CFO may be calculated from a current packet (see element 704, ¶ 0149). An improved CFO estimate (cfoimproved) may be calculated using these two values (see element 706, see equation between ¶s 0150 and 0151, see also ¶ 0151). See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates. See also ¶ 0048 for deriving a final CFO estimate from intermediate CFO estimates.].
Khanna does not explicitly teach change the RF PLL from a first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach change the RF PLL from a first phase to a second phase in response to the final CFO estimate meeting the criterion [Wu, ¶ 0021, “In step S312, determining whether the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is greater than or equal to 0 is performed. If yes, then go to step S314 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap+.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318. Otherwise, if the mean CFO estimation value CFO_ave is not greater than or equal to 0, then go to step S316 and set the control capacitance of the oscillator in the OFDM receiver to be Crystal_cap=Crystal_cap-.DELTA..sub.cap, and then go to step S318”, Based on the CFO_ave meeting a threshold (greater than ϕCFO), the process proceeds to steps 314/314, where the cystal capacitance is either adjusted up/down (see also ¶ 0019) based on the CFO estimate. The crystal capacitance controls the output of the OFDM oscillator at the receiver (see also ¶ 0018).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 21, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the method of claim 1. Khanna does not explicitly teach wherein determining whether the final CFO estimate meets the criterion comprises a magnitude of the final CFO estimate meeting or exceeding a threshold magnitude.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach wherein determining whether the final CFO estimate meets the criterion comprises a magnitude of the final CFO estimate meeting or exceeding a threshold magnitude [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed (see fig. 2, step 302 and ¶ 0019). In step 304, the CFO_ave is compared to a threshold (ϕCFO). If the CFO_ave is greater than the threshold, the process proceeds to steps 306-316. Steps 314/316 adjust crystal capacitance.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 22, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the apparatus of claim 7. Khanna does not explicitly teach wherein determining whether the final CFO estimate meets the criterion comprises a magnitude of the final CFO estimate meeting or exceeding a threshold magnitude.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach wherein determining whether the final CFO estimate meets the criterion comprises a magnitude of the final CFO estimate meeting or exceeding a threshold magnitude [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed (see fig. 2, step 302 and ¶ 0019). In step 304, the CFO_ave is compared to a threshold (ϕCFO). If the CFO_ave is greater than the threshold, the process proceeds to steps 306-316. Steps 314/316 adjust crystal capacitance.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 23, Khanna in view of Wu et al. and Li teach the system of claim 14. Khanna does not explicitly teach wherein determining whether the final CFO estimate meets the criterion comprises a magnitude of the final CFO estimate meeting or exceeding a threshold magnitude.
However, in an analogous art, Wu et al. teach wherein determining whether the final CFO estimate meets the criterion comprises a magnitude of the final CFO estimate meeting or exceeding a threshold magnitude [Wu, ¶ 0020, “Next, in step S304, determining whether an absolute value of the mean CFO estimation value |CFO_ave| is smaller than a threshold value ϕCFO”, The average CFO value (CFO_ave) is a final CFO value determined from a number of CFO values over a time period, with extreme values removed (see fig. 2, step 302 and ¶ 0019). In step 304, the CFO_ave is compared to a threshold (ϕCFO). If the CFO_ave is greater than the threshold, the process proceeds to steps 306-316. Steps 314/316 adjust crystal capacitance.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the CFO adjustment and averaging of Wu et al. into Khanna et al. One would have been motivated to do this because using the PLL adjustment based on the CFO averager operations of Wu et al. to influence the interactions between the baseband processor and local oscillator of Khanna would improve performance at a OFDM receiver (see Wu, ¶ 0018) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 9, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Gong et al. (US PG Pub 20110002425), teaches a CFO synchronizer method (see fig. 3), where a current CFO offset is compared to a threshold value for determining PLL adjustment (see ¶s 0030-0033).
The reference, Pascual Iserte (WO 2008/052573), teaches residual CFO detection through carrier selection and performed DFTs (see pg. 46).
The reference, Sourous et al. (NPL, see PTO-892), teaches carrier frequency offset and correction (see Section IV).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417