Response to Arguments
Applicant’s 12/10/25 arguments with respect to the 112b rejections are persuasive.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the double patenting rejections are not persuasive as they merely indicate that applicant is delaying action to overcome the double patenting rejections.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejections with respect to Krieger et al. (US 20190077143 A1) and Otani et al. (US 6106094 A) are persuasive.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejections with respect to Billow (US 2005/0083364 A1) and Van De (CN 101267948 A) are not persuasive. Regarding Billow, applicant’s argument that Billow only teaches multiple print passes for printing a test pattern is not persuasive. In para 74, Billow indicates that multiple print passes “may” be used, which would suggest to one of ordinary skill, that a single pass (simultaneous ejection from all nozzles) is inherently used. Regarding Van De, see at least fig. 5A: the print pattern inherently implies simultaneous ejection from all nozzles.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/338728 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 5, 7, 9, and 12-13 of the instant application is/are anticipated by claims 3 and 8 of 18/338728.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/338728 in view of Mita (US 2012/0249673 A1).
Regarding claim 16, claims 3 and 8 of 18/338728 disclose all the limitations of claim 16 except for the following italicized portion: The printing device according to claim 9, wherein the columns and rows are arranged in form of a parallelogram.
However, Mita teaches the italicized portion: The printing device according to claim 9, wherein the columns and rows are arranged in form of a parallelogram (see Mita’s fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 3 and 8 of 18/338728 with the teachings of Mita, for the purpose of utilizing a standard printhead format in order to increase print resolution.
Regarding claim 18, claims 3 and 8 of 18/338728 disclose all the limitations of claim 18 except for the following italicized portion: The printing device according to claim 9, wherein the at least two printing heads are attached to a bar extending transverse to an advance direction of the printing device.
However, Mita teaches the italicized portion: The printing device according to claim 9, wherein the at least two printing heads are attached to a bar extending transverse to an advance direction of the printing device (see Mita’s fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 3 and 8 of 18/338728 with the teachings of Mita, for the purpose of utilizing a standard pagewidth printhead format in order to increase throughput.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 9, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Billow (US 2005/0083364 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Billow discloses A method for aligning printing heads (31, fig. 12, para 75) of a printing device (see fig. 10), the printing heads being two-dimensional printing heads (see fig. 12) comprising a plurality of nozzles (see fig. 12), each printing head has nozzles arranged in columns and rows (see fig. 12), wherein each column and row has at least two nozzles (see fig. 12), the method comprising the following steps:
dispensing an ink drop at each of a plurality of nozzles arranged in the columns and rows of every printing head simultaneously to print a pattern of dots that reproduces a geometric pattern of the nozzles of the printing heads on a substrate (see fig. 2-5 and 8-9),
capturing a printed image of the pattern by a camera (inherent in step 204, fig. 6, para 89),
determining a position and/or orientation of each of the printing heads based on the image captured by the camera and determining a deviation of the position and/or orientation of each printing head from a target position and/or orientation (see fig. 6, para 82-116 or fig. 7, para 117-121), and
adjusting the position and/or the orientation of the printing heads based on the determined deviation (see fig. 6, para 116).
Regarding claim 5, Billow further discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining a delay parameter for at least one printing head of the printing heads in order to compensate a misalignment of the at least one printing head along an advance direction of the printing device (see para 116).
Regarding claim 7, Billow further discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising: modifying the dispensation of an ink drop from a nozzle in terms of timing with respect to the dispense of ink drops from other nozzles of a printing head of the printing heads for a subsequent printing process if a deviation has been detected between a pattern of dots printed by the printing head and the nozzle pattern (see para 116).
Regarding claim 9, please note the rejection as set forth above with respect to claim 1. Claim 9 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 1; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding claim 12, Billow further discloses The printing device according to claim 9, wherein the control unit is configured to individually control a timing of a dispensation of ink drops from every nozzle of a printing head of the at least two printing heads (inherent in Billow).
Regarding claim 13, Billow further discloses The printing device according to claim 9, wherein the control unit is configured to control a timing of a dispensation of ink drops from the different printing heads of the at least two printing heads (inherent in Billow).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 9, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van De (CN 101267948 A).
Explicit item-to-item matching has been omitted due to limited resources. Van De: see at least fig. 5 and pg. 5, line 26 through pg. 14, line 6 of translation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billow (US 2005/0083364 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Billow further discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein a pixel size of the camera is larger than a distance between two neighboring columns of an image printed with a highest print resolution (*This appears to be inherent in para 82, 90-91, 94, 96, and 110. However, even in the event that this is not inherent in these paragraphs, this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill because of the vast range of pixel resolutions that are readily commercially available. It would have been obvious to select a high enough resolution for capturing the printed image in order to make the captured image usable. Determining a high enough resolution would at most involve limited experimentation.);
the pixel size of the camera being defined as a width of a field of view of the camera measured on the substrate along a direction transverse to an advance direction of the printing device, divided by a number of pixels along the width of the captured image (see * above).
Regarding claim 3, please note the rejection as set forth above with respect to claim 2. Claim 3 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding claim 10, please note the rejection as set forth above with respect to claim 2. Claim 10 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Regarding claim 11, please note the rejection as set forth above with respect to claim 2. Claim 11 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2; detailed discussion is omitted for brevity.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van De (CN 101267948 A).
Explicit item-to-item matching has been omitted due to limited resources.
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billow (US 2005/0083364 A1) in view of Mita (US 2012/0249673 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Billow discloses all the limitations of claim 16 except for the following italicized portion: The printing device according to claim 9, wherein the columns and rows are arranged in form of a parallelogram.
However, Mita teaches the italicized portion: The printing device according to claim 9, wherein the columns and rows are arranged in form of a parallelogram (see Mita’s fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Billow with the teachings of Mita, for the purpose of utilizing a standard printhead format in order to increase print resolution.
Regarding claim 18, Billow discloses all the limitations of claim 18 except for the following italicized portion: The printing device according to claim 9, wherein the at least two printing heads are attached to a bar extending transverse to an advance direction of the printing device.
However, Mita teaches the italicized portion: The printing device according to claim 9, wherein the at least two printing heads are attached to a bar extending transverse to an advance direction of the printing device (see Mita’s fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Billow with the teachings of Mita, for the purpose of utilizing a standard pagewidth printhead format in order to increase throughput.
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van De (CN 101267948 A) in view of Mita (US 2012/0249673 A1).
Explicit item-to-item matching has been omitted due to limited resources.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN SEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853
February 12, 2026