DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marak et al. in US Publication 2021/0128955.
Regarding Claim 1, Marak teaches a fall protection system comprising: an absorber assembly comprising an absorber body (115), the absorber body defining a nose portion (210) and a buffer portion (A, see below), wherein the absorber body is configured to transition from a non-deformed state (Fig. 1) to a deformed state (Fig. 8A) when the absorber body is subject to one or more loading forces, wherein the nose portion protrudes from the absorber body, the nose portion configured to engage with a notch (the inner side of 160) of a rail (160) when the absorber transitions from the non-deformed state to the deformed state, wherein the buffer portion is disposed adjacent to the nose portion and comprises a protrusion that juts out from the nose portion such that the buffer portion is configured to deflect against the rail (see Fig. 2B) when the absorber body transitions from the non-deformed state to the deformed state, and a shuttle body (140) configured to secure the fall protection system to the rail.
Regarding Claim 2, Marak teaches that the absorber body further defines one or more holes (B) configured to distribute the one or more loading forces throughout the absorber assembly during deformation.
Regarding Claim 4, Marak teaches (see Fig. 2A) that the absorber body comprises a single integrated piece.
Regarding Claim 5, Marak teaches a brake (240) disposed on an underside of the fall protection system, and wherein the buffer portion is disposed adjacent to the brake when the absorber body is in the non-deformed state.
Regarding Claim 6, Marak teaches that the absorber assembly comprises a shock absorber (225).
Regarding Claim 7, Marak teaches an attachment mechanism (135) configured to secure the fall protection system to a user, wherein the attachment mechanism is operably engaged with the absorber assembly by a fastening device (C).
Regarding Claim 8, Marak teaches that the attachment mechanism comprises a carabiner.
Regarding Claim 9, Marak teaches that the attachment mechanism comprises a base (D) configured to swivel such that the attachment mechanism is rotatable relative to the absorber assembly.
Regarding Claim 11, Marak teaches that the absorber body defines a line of deformation (E) along which the absorber body is configured to transition from the non-deformed state to the deformed state.
Regarding Claim 12, Marak teaches (see Fig. 2B) that the nose portion is configured to lock with a notch of the rail when the absorber body is in the deformed state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marak as applied to Claim 1 above. Marak is silent on the exact force loaded on the device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the device such that the loading force is a force ranging up to 16kilo-Newtons in order to provide for the safe use by a person who, when falling, produces such a force to the device, since such a change would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized a being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marak as applied to Claim 12 above in view of Roth et al. in US Publication 2016/0059055. Marak is silent on the nature of the rail. Roth teaches a fall protection system including a rail (120) integrated into a ladder (see Claim 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Marak by using it on a rail that is part of a ladder as taught by Roth in order to protect the user when on a ladder.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and its dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah C. Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636