DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Novotny et al. in US Publication 2021/0220680.
Regarding Claim 1, Novotny teaches a fall protection system comprising: an absorber assembly comprising an absorber body (115), the absorber body defining a nose portion (210) and a buffer portion (A, see below), wherein the buffer portion is disposed adjacent to the nose portion on the absorber body, wherein the absorber body is configured to transition from a non-deformed state (Fig. 1) to a deformed state (“permanently deform” – see paragraph 0025) when the absorber body is subject to one or more loading forces, wherein the nose portion is configured to engage with a notch (125) of a rail when the absorber body transitions from the no-deformed state to the deformed state and wherein the buffer portion is configured to deflect against the rail (300) when the absorber body transitions from the non-deformed state to the deformed state; and a shuttle body (140) configured to secure the fall protection system to the rail.
Regarding Claim 2, Novotny teaches that the absorber body further defines one or more holes (B) configured to distribute the one or more loading forces throughout the absorber assembly during deformation.
Regarding Claim 4, Novotny teaches (see Fig. 2) that the absorber body comprises a single integrated piece.
Regarding Claim 5, Novotny teaches a brake (205) disposed on an underside of the fall protection system, and wherein the buffer portion is disposed adjacent to the brake when the absorber body is in the non-deformed state.
Regarding Claim 6, Novotny teaches that the absorber assembly comprises a shock absorber (185).
Regarding Claim 7, Novotny teaches an attachment mechanism (135) configured to secure the fall protection system to a user, wherein the attachment mechanism is operably engaged with the absorber assembly by a fastening device (C).
Regarding Claim 8, Novotny teaches that the attachment mechanism comprises a carabiner.
Regarding Claim 9, Novotny teaches that the attachment mechanism comprises a base (D) configured to swivel such that the attachment mechanism is rotatable relative to the absorber assembly.
Regarding Claim 11, Novotny teaches that the absorber body defines a line of deformation (E) along which the absorber body is configured to transition from the non-deformed state to the deformed state.
Regarding Claim 12 Novotny teaches (see Fig. 3B) that the nose portion is configured to lock with a notch of the rail when the absorber body is in the deformed state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novotny as applied to Claim 1 above. Novotny is silent on the exact force loaded on the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the device such that the loading force is a force ranging up to 16kilo-Newtons in order to provide for the safe use by a person who, when falling, produces such a force to the device, since such a change would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized a being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novotny as applied to Claim 12 above in view of Roth et al. in US Publication 2016/0059055. Novotny is silent on the nature of the rail. Roth teaches a fall protection system including a rail (120) integrated into a ladder (see Claim 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Novotny by using it on a rail that is part of a ladder as taught by Roth in order to protect the user when on a ladder.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the applicant’s arguments that Novotny fails to teach the nose engaging with a notch in the rail: please see rejections set forth above amended to reflect claim amendments. The nose portion 210 of Novotny is engaged with the rail notch 125 when the device is transitioned from the non-deformed to the deformed state. Likewise with respect to the Claim 12: when in the deformed state, the nose portion engages with the notch when in the deformed state.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636