DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura Shinichi et al. (JP 11351991 A; hereinafter “Shinichi.” The Office action of July 2, 2025 provided a machine translation of Shinichi) in view of Romo et al. (US 8,915,140 B2; hereinafter “Romo”).
1. Shinichi teaches a
a pressure sensor body (42/31) supporting a first isolation diaphragm (43/32) and a second isolation diaphragms (43/32) of a pressure sensor 11 (which is a capacitance type pressure sensor; Par. 0004) having an electrical characteristic that changes in response to applied pressure;
a first isolation diaphragm 43/32 (of a first diaphragm seal unit 3A shown in fig. 6 below) configured to be exposed to process fluid (Flo);
a first fill fluid (21) fluidically coupling the first isolation diaphragm (43/32) to the pressure sensor (11);
a first weld ring 41 (of the first diaphragm seal unit 3A) welded to the first isolation diaphragm (43/32) at a first weld 44 (as shown in at least in figs. 1, 2, 6; Abstract; Pars. 0017, 0025)
a barrier metal (46) disposed on at least one surface of the first isolation diaphragm (43/32), the barrier metal (46) extending over the first weld 44 (as shown at least figs. 1, 2, 6; Abstract; Pars. 0017, 0025);
a second isolation diaphragm 43/32 (of a second diaphragm seal unit 3B shown in fig. 6 below) configured to be exposed to process fluid (Flo);
a second fill fluid (21) fluidically coupling the second isolation diaphragm (43/32) to the pressure sensor (11);
a second weld ring 41 (of the second diaphragm seal unit 3B) welded to the second isolation diaphragm (43/32) at a third weld 44 (as is evident from at least in figs. 1, 2, 6; Abstract; Pars. 0017, 0025)
wherein the barrier metal (46) is disposed on at least one surface of the second isolation diaphragm (43/32) and extends over the third weld 44 (as is evident from at least figs. 1, 2, 6; Abstract; Pars. 0017, 0025)
wherein the first weld ring (41) is welded to the pressure sensor body (42/31) at a second weld (45) that is spaced from the barrier metal 46 (as shown in figs. 1, 2; Abstract; Pars. 0017, 0025)
wherein the first and second isolation diaphragms (43/32) are coplanar (as seen at least in fig. 8).
Note: Similar to the present invention, Shinichi teaches that the barrier metal (46) prevents permeation of hydrogen in process fluid (FLo) through the diaphragms (43/32). The barrier metal (46) respectively extends over the first/third weld (44) but not over the second/fourth weld (45). Therefore, the second/fourth weld (45), which may be done with an electron beam between the weld rings (41) and the pressure sensor bodies (42/31), is strong by excluding a mixed metal weld (Abstract; Pars. 0020-0025).
Shinichi is silent about the process pressure transmitter being coplanar, and comprising:
a pressure sensor body containing the pressure sensor (11);
the first weld ring (41) having an O-ring recess disposed on an opposite side of the first weld ring than the first weld (44);
the second weld ring (41) having an O-ring recess disposed on an opposite side of the second weld ring than the third weld (41);
wherein
the second weld (45) passes through the O-ring recess of the first weld ring; and
the fourth weld (45) passes through the O-ring recess of the second weld ring.
Romo teaches a process pressure transmitter 10 being coplanar (as is evident from at least fig. 1), and comprising (See figs. 1, 7, reproduced and annotated below):
a pressure sensor body (14/250) containing a pressure sensor (16);
a first weld ring (200) having an O-ring recess disposed on an opposite side of the first weld ring than a first weld 256 (as shown at least fig. 7);
a second weld ring (200) having an O-ring recess disposed on an opposite side of the second weld ring than a third weld 256 (as is evident from at least fig. 7);
wherein
a second weld (258) passes through the O-ring recess of the first weld ring 200 (as shown at least in fig. 7); and
the fourth weld (258) passes through the O-ring recess of the second weld ring 200 (as is evident from at least fig. 7).
The process pressure transmitter (10) being coplanar may be used to measure a difference in pressure between a first pressure P1 in a first passageway 24 and a second pressure P2 in a second passageway 26 (Col. 3, lines 3-14). The pressure sensor body (14/250) containing the pressure sensor (16) supports a first isolation diaphragm (46) and a second isolation diaphragms (50), as well as protects the pressure sensor 16 (as is evident from at least fig. 1). The first and second weld rings (200) help capture or otherwise contain respective first and second seals such as O-rings or polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) gaskets 48, 52 (Fig. 1; Col. 4, lines 55-58), so as to prevent leak of process fluid between the transmitter (10) and the passageways 24 and 26 (Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 23-32).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Romo teaching to Shinichi process pressure transmitter by configuring the transmitter to be coplanar; the pressure sensor body (42/31) to contain the pressure sensor (11); the first weld ring (41) to have an O-ring recess disposed on an opposite side of the first weld ring than the first weld (44); the second weld ring (41) to have an O-ring recess disposed on an opposite side of the second weld ring than the third weld (41); wherein the second weld (45) passes through the O-ring recess of the first weld ring; and the fourth weld (45) passes through the O-ring recess of the second weld ring.
The process pressure transmitter being coplanar may be used to measure a difference in pressure between a first pressure in a first passageway and a second pressure in a second passageway. The pressure sensor body containing the pressure sensor (11) would support the first isolation diaphragm (43/32) and the second isolation diaphragms (43/32), as well as protect the pressure sensor (11). The first and second weld rings would help capture or otherwise contain a respective first and second seals such as O-rings or polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) gaskets, so as to prevent leak of process fluid between the transmitter and the passageways.
2. Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 1, wherein the barrier metal (46) is gold (Shinichi abstract; Pars. 0017, 0025).
3. Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 1, wherein the barrier metal (46) is plated on the first and second isolation diaphragms (Shinichi abstract; Pars. 0017, 0025).
4. Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 1, but is silent about: wherein the barrier metal (46) is disposed on both sides of each of the first isolation diaphragm and second diaphragm.
Shinichi teaches wherein the barrier metal (46) is disposed on one side of the isolation diaphragm 43 (the one side being the inner surface of the isolation diaphragm 43 facing the fill fluid). The barrier metal (46) would be scraped off by slurry in the process fluid (FLo) if the barrier metal (46) were to be disposed on the outer surface of the isolation diaphragm (43) facing the process fluid FLo (Par. 0012). However, it appears that the process pressure transmitter would work as anticipated regardless of whether the barrier metal (46) is disposed on only one inner side or both sides of the isolation diaphragm (43). That is because the barrier metal (46) would always remain disposed on at least one surface (the inner surface) of the isolation diaphragm (43) to prevent permeation of hydrogen through the diaphragm (43).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to have the barrier metal (46) disposed on only one side or both sides of the isolation diaphragm (43) because the barrier metal (46) would always remain disposed on at least one surface (the inner surface) of the isolation diaphragm (43) in order to prevent permeation of hydrogen through the diaphragm (43).
As seen, applicant’s claimed invention (having the barrier metal disposed on both sides of the isolation diaphragm) would look and work just like Shinichi’s invention as modified (having the barrier metal disposed on only one inner side of the isolation diaphragm) after both inventions are put in use (as the barrier metal on the outer side may be scraped off by slurry in the process fluid in use). Applicant’s disclosure doesn’t appear to provide any improvement to Shinichi’s invention as modified when it is used.
5 (essentially equivalent to claim 2).
Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 4, wherein the barrier metal (46) is gold (as discussed above in claim 2; Shinichi abstract; Pars. 0017, 0025).
6. Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 1, wherein the second weld 45 (which may be done by an electron beam welding the weld ring to the pressure sensor body 42/31, both of which may be stainless steel; Shinichi Pars. 0008, 0011, 0020, 0023-0024 ) is formed of a homogenous metal (i.e., stainless steel).
Note: Shinichi teaches “stainless steel is used for each component other than the gold-plated film body” (Pars. 0008, 0021). Understandably, the weld ring (41), the bodies (42/31), the isolation diaphragm (43/32), and some other components, may be made of stainless steel.
7. Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 6, wherein the homogenous metal (stainless steel) is different than the barrier metal (gold).
8. Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 6, wherein the homogenous metal (stainless steel) is the same as metal (stainless steel) used for the pressure sensor body (42/31), isolation diaphragm (43/32), and weld ring 41 (See discussion above in claim 6).
9. Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 1, wherein the pressure sensor is an absolute pressure sensor (when one of the isolation diaphragms is exposed to a vacuum. Furthermore, Romo fig. 1 appears to be equivalent and/or comparable to applicant’s drawings, and vice versa, illustrating structures/features of applicant’s claimed invention. The same structures/features, as illustrated, are expected to have the same function, including wherein the pressure sensor is an absolute pressure sensor. Otherwise, under 37 CFR 1.83(a), the drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims, or the feature canceled from the claim. If it is important to claim a feature as being new and novel, it is also important to show the feature).
10. Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 1, wherein the pressure sensor is a gage pressure sensor (when one of the isolation diaphragms is exposed to atmospheric pressure. Furthermore, Romo fig. 1 appears to be equivalent and/or comparable to applicant’s drawings, and vice versa, illustrating structures/features of applicant’s claimed invention. The same structures/features, as illustrated, are expected to have the same function, including wherein the pressure sensor is a gage pressure sensor).
12. Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 11, wherein the pressure sensor is a differential pressure sensor (Shinichi par. 0003; Romo col. 3, lines 3-14).
14. Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 1, wherein the process fluid pressure transmitter is NACE compliant (See applicant’s disclosure specification paragraph 0013: “NACE compliance generally excludes mixed metal welds.” As understood from the above discussion in claim 1, there is no mixed metal weld in the second and fourth welds 45).
15. Shinichi as modified teaches the process pressure transmitter of claim 1, wherein the barrier metal (46) is selected based on the process fluid (e.g., hydrogen) to which the isolation diaphragm (43) is configured to be exposed (Shinichi abstract; Pars. 001, 0016).
16 (essentially equivalent to claim 1).
Shinichi as modified teaches a process pressure transmitter that necessitates a method of manufacturing a process pressure transmitter for service with a process fluid containing hydrogen, the method comprising:
providing a weld ring (41/200) having an O-ring recess (See discussion above in claim 1);
providing an isolator diaphragm (43/32) configured to be exposed to the process fluid;
welding the isolator diaphragm (43/32) to the weld ring (41/200) at a first location (44);
coating a barrier metal (46) on the isolator diaphragm (43/32), such that the barrier metal (46) extends over the first location (44); and
welding the weld ring (41/200) to a pressure sensor body of the process transmitter at a second location (45) that is spaced from the barrier metal (46), wherein the second location (45) is positioned within the O-ring recess (See discussion above in claim 1).
17 (essentially equivalent to claims 2 and 3).
Shinichi as modified teaches the method of claim 16, wherein coating the barrier metal (46) on the isolator diaphragm (43/32) includes plating gold onto the isolator diaphragm (See discussions above in claims 2 and 3).
18 (essentially equivalent to claim 4).
Shinichi as modified teaches the method of claim 17, the method may comprise plating gold onto both sides of the isolator diaphragm 43/32 (See discussion above in claim 4).
19. Shinichi as modified teaches the method of claim 18, wherein both sides may be plated, but is silent about: wherein both sides are plated is simultaneously.
However, it appears that the process pressure transmitter would look and work as anticipated regardless of whether both sides (of the isolator diaphragm 43) are plated (with gold) in plural steps or simultaneously in one single step. The process pressure transmitter would look and work just as Shinichi anticipates regardless of a plating process to plate gold onto the isolator diaphragm (43/32). Shinichi is silent about any intermediate step during the plating process; therefore it appears that the gold plating may, and should, be done simultaneously in one step, in order to save time for example.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to have both sides (of the isolator diaphragm 43/32) plated (with gold) in plural steps, or simultaneously in one step, since the process pressure transmitter would look and work just as anticipated regardless of whether both sides are plated in plural steps, or simultaneously in one single step, so as to practice Shinichi’s invention. Furthermore, Shinichi is silent about any intermediate step during the plating process; therefore it appears that the gold plating may, and should, be done simultaneously in one step, in order to save time for example.
20. Shinichi as modified teaches the method of claim 16, and further comprising:
providing an additional weld ring (41/200);
providing an additional isolator diaphragm (43/32) configured to be exposed to the process fluid;
welding the additional isolator diaphragm (43/32) to the additional weld ring (41/200) at a third location (44);
coating a barrier metal (46) on the additional isolator diaphragm (43/32), such that the barrier metal (46) extends over the third location (44); and
welding the additional weld ring (41/200) to the pressure sensor body of the process fluid transmitter at a fourth location (45) that is spaced from the barrier metal 46 (See discussion above in claim 1).
21 (essentially equivalent to claim 1).
Shinichi as modified teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the process transmitter is a coplanar process fluid transmitter (See discussion above in claim 1).
22 (essentially equivalent to claim 1).
Shinichi as modified teaches a pressure transducer comprising:
a pressure sensor 11 (Shinichi fig. 6) having an electrical characteristic that changes in response to applied pressure;
an isolation diaphragm 43/32 (Shinichi) configured to be exposed to process fluid;
a weld ring (41/200) welded to the isolation diaphragm at a first weld, the weld ring having an O-ring recess (See discussion above in claim 1);
a barrier metal (46) disposed on at least one surface of the isolation diaphragm (43/32), the barrier metal (46) extending over the first weld (44);
wherein the weld ring (41) is welded to a pressure sensor body at a second weld (45) that is spaced from the barrier metal (46) and passes through the O-ring recess (See discussion above in claim 1); and
wherein the isolation diaphragm (43/32) is operably coupled to the pressure sensor 11 (via a fill fluid. See discussion above in claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 16 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection now relies on the reference Shinichi in view of Romo.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nguyen Q. Ha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 January 21, 2026