DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10-30-23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 84-103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being fully anticipated by Mullins et al. (US20160344148).
The applied reference has a common appplicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Re claim 84, Mullins et al. teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, an insulated glass unit (IGU) comprising: two panes (505 and para. 0054) comprising at least one optically switchable device (para. 0054); a spacer between (520), and sealed to, the two panes (para. 0054; fig. 3); and a plurality of connectors (525), at least one on each side of the IGU (fig. 5d), wherein the connectors are in electrical communication with the at least one optically switchable device (para. 0066), and configured to establish an electrical connection with a male connector (para. 0057).
Re claim 85, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, at least one of the plurality of connectors comprises two or more pads (527).
Re claim 86, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, a sealing area between the two panes (para. 0054).
Re claim 87, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, the plurality of connectors are in the sealing area between the two panes (para. 0054).
Re claim 88, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, the sealing area is a secondary seal outside the spacer (para. 0054).
Re claim 89, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, a controller, configured to control the at least one optically switchable device, is disposed in the sealing area (para. 0056).
Re claim 90, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, at least one wire in electrical communication with the plurality of connectors (522, 523), wherein at least one wire is in the sealing area and is configured to supply electricity to the at least one optically switchable device (para. 0054).
Re claim 91, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, the at least one wire is in electrical communication with the at least one optically switchable device via one or more bus bars (515).
Re claim 92, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, the at least one wire includes a ribbon cable (para. 0009).
Re claim 93, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, the IGU is rectangular (fig. 5d) and the plurality of connectors comprises four female connectors (fig. 5d), at least one on each side of the IGU (fig. 5d) and in a sealing area between the two panes (para. 0054).
Re claim 94, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, a controller external to the sealing area (para. 0065) and configured to mate with each of the plurality of connectors via a pigtail connector (para. 0052).
Re claim 95, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, the controller is adjacent to the sealing area (para. 0160).
Re claim 96, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, a pocket for housing a controller configured to control the at least one optically switchable device, wherein the controller is configured to electrically communicate with at least one of the plurality of connectors (para. 0131).
Re claim 97, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, the at least one optically switchable device comprises an electrochromic device (para. 0006).
Re claim 98, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, each of the plurality of connectors are configured to connect to a pigtail connector (para. 0052).
Re claim 99, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, each of the plurality of connectors is configured to detachably connect to an end of a wire assembly, wherein the end of the wire assembly includes one or both of a memory device and an integrated circuit device (para. 0058).
Re claim 100, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, the memory device and/or the integrated circuit device stores information for identifying and/or controlling the at least one optically switchable device (para. 0058).
Re claim 101, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, the memory device and/or the integrated circuit device stores current and voltage operating instructions for transitioning the at least one optically switchable device between optical states (para. 0058).
Re claim 102, Mullins et al. teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, an insulated glass unit (IGU) comprising: two panes (505 and para. 0054) comprising an electrochromic device (para. 0054); a spacer between (520), and sealed to, the two panes (para. 0054); and a plurality of first connectors (525; fig. 5d), at least one on each side of the IGU (fig. 5d), wherein each one of the first connectors is in electrical communication with the electrochromic device and configured to establish an electrical connection with a second connector of a wire assembly attachable to, or detachable from, the IGU (para. 0008).
Re claim 103, Mullins et al. teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, a window assembly (fig. 3), comprising: a window controller (para. 0065); a wire assembly (545) in electrical communication with the window controller (para. 0065); and an insulated glass unit (IGU) (abstract) comprising: two panes (505 and para. 0054); an electrochromic device disposed between the two panes (para. 0054); a spacer (520) disposed between (para. 0054), and sealed to, the two panes (para. 0054); and a plurality of first connectors (525), wherein each one of the first connectors is in electrical communication with the electrochromic device and electrically connectable with a second connector of the wire assembly, and wherein the wire assembly is attachable to, or detachable from, the IGU (para. 0008).
Re claim 104, Mullins et al. further teaches for example in fig. 3, 5a, and 5d, the first connectors include at least two first connectors (fig. 5d), and wherein the at least two first connectors are positioned on opposite sides of the IGU from one another (fig. 5d).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Joseph P Martinez/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 9-5-26