DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 07/09/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ledvina et al. (US 2020/0106877), herein after Ledvina.
Applicant further argues that Park does not suggest where the location of wireless power reception device can be shown as a first icon and display the first charging range as a line or face.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Park discloses the electronic device displays the information about the plurality of wireless charging pads in operation 702. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, the electronic device executes a specific application like a map application and displays a plurality of wireless charging pads and the number of electronic devices which are connected with the plurality of wireless charging pads and are wirelessly charged on its map (park [0064]).
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 12, “The claim does not recite mental processes, mathematical concepts, organizing human activity, or generic data manipulation. Instead, it recites physical device interactions and signal-based measurement. UWB ranging requires specialized hardware, precise timing, and RF signal processing. Wireless charging range determination likewise requires hardware-level sensing and communication. Claims directed to improving a technology or using specific hardware to perform a technical function are not abstract.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner wants to point out that the claim is not directed towards improving the hardware technology of UWB communication. The claim is about using the existing technology UWB, manipulating data (receiving and transmitting signals) through this device and displaying it over the screen. The programmed computer or "special purpose computer" test of In re Alappat, 33 F.3d 1526, 31 USPQ2d 1545 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (i.e., the rationale that an otherwise ineligible algorithm or software could be made patent-eligible by merely adding a generic computer to the claim for the "special purpose" of executing the algorithm or software) was also superseded by the Supreme Court’s Bilski and Alice Corp. decisions. Eon Corp. IP Holdings LLC v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 785 F.3d 616, 623, 114 USPQ2d 1711, 1715 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("[W]e note that Alappat has been superseded by Bilski, 561 U.S. at 605–06, and Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014)"); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), N.A., 792 F.3d 1363, 1366, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception without significantly more. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a method to follow different steps.
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category. MPEP 2106.03. The claim recites a method and its steps and therefore is a process which is a statutory category of invention.
Step 2A Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04(II) and the October 2019 Update, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
The claim recites a process to identify information about the location of wireless power reception device, identify information about the charging range of the wireless power transmission device and displaying all this information on a display of the wireless reception device. It is all manipulation of the data. Such observations or evaluations fall within the “manipulation of data” grouping of abstract ideas set forth in the 2019 PEG. 2019 PEG Section I, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52.
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. MPEP 2106.05. The claim does not recite any additional element, other than a communication module considered as the conventional or routine element used to gather information, which does not amount to significantly more than the recited exception(For UWB communication see the response to argument section). Thus, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Regarding claims 2-9, the claims are dependent on claim 1 and do not include any additional element to amount significantly more. Thus, the claims are also not eligible.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites a wireless reception device.
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category. MPEP 2106.03. The claim recites a wireless reception device therefore is a machine, which is a statutory category of invention.
Step 2A Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04(II) and the October 2019 Update, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
The claim recites a reception device comprises a display, a communication module and a processor to identify location of wireless power reception device, identify the range of wireless power transmission device and displaying that information on the display is all manipulation of the data. For example, identify location of wireless power reception device, identify the range of wireless power transmission device and displaying that information on the display is all manipulation of the data. Such observations or evaluations fall within the “manipulation of data” grouping of abstract idea set forth in the 2019 PEG. 2019 PEG Section I, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52. The recitation of a communication module in this claim is considered as a conventional element used to gather information and a processor as a tool to perform the processes. Thus, the limitations recite concepts that fall into the “manipulation of data” grouping of abstract ideas. Thus, the claim is directed to a judicial exception.
The communication module and a processor are recited so generically (no details whatsoever are provided other than that it is the communication module and processor they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computing devices). These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of computing devices. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computing device components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I).
Even when viewed in combination, the additional element in this claim do no more than automate the manipulation of data using the computing device components as a tool. There is no change to the computing device and other technology that are recited in the claim as automating the abstract ideas, and thus this claim cannot improve computing device functionality or other technology. Accordingly, the claim as a whole does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. MPEP 2106.05.
As explained with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the communication module and the processor at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “identifying and displaying” to the judicial exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. At Step 2B, the evaluation of the insignificant extra-solution activity consideration takes into account whether or not the extra-solution activity is well-known. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Here, the recitation of the communication module and a processor are just used to receive information, using the information to calculate a result, and displaying it on display is mere data gathering that is recited at a high level of generality, and as disclosed in the specification, is also well-known (For UWB communication see the response to argument section). These limitations therefore remain insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration, and do not amount to significantly more. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-Solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claim is not eligible.
Claims 12-15, the claims are dependent on claim 11 and do not include any additional element to amount significantly more. Thus, the claims are also not eligible.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2014/0194099), herein after Park Ledvina (US 2020/0106877).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a method of operating a wireless power reception device, the method comprising:
identifying information about a location of the wireless power reception device with respect to a wireless power transmission device (the electronic device 310 receives position information of the wireless charging pads 300 which exist centered on the current positions of the electronic devices 310, paragraph [0048]), based on a first signal received from the wireless power transmission device using at least one communication module of the wireless power reception device, ((electronic device 310) has the RF processor which receives the signals form the charging pad, fig. 11; paragraph [0106]);
identifying information about a first charging range of the wireless power transmission device, based on a second signal received from the wireless power transmission device using the at least one communication module (the electronic device 310 may further receive information about a title of each of the wireless charging pads 300, charging efficiency of each of the wireless charging pads 300, and a wireless charging range of each of the wireless charging pads 300, paragraph [0049] Note: all the communication is happening through the 1140 and 1103 communication module of the electronic device 310 (reception device), fig. 11);
Park further discloses a method step of displaying the location of the wireless power reception device as a first icon and displaying the first charging range as a line or a face on a display of the wireless power reception device, based on the information about the location of the wireless power reception device and the information about the first charging range of the wireless power transmission device (paragraph [0048]-[0049] shows that the above claimed information is displayed on the screen). Park further discloses displaying thereby facilitating placement of the wireless power reception device for charging efficiency (paragraph [0013], fig. 15A).
Although Park discloses the communication module to provide the medium to communicate between the power receiver device and power transmission device, however, Park does not explicitly disclose that the communication method is UWB communication.
Ledvina discloses a communication method using UWB between the two wireless devices (paragraph [0003]). Ledvina further discloses the method comprising (fig. 1): based on receiving a signal from a communication module of a wireless device supporting an ultra-wideband (UWB) method (fig. 1), transmitting a signal through a communication module of a wireless reception device supporting the UWB method (fig. 1); receiving a first signal from the wireless transmission device (102 signal is send by the wireless reception device, fig. 1, paragraph [0038]), wherein the first signal included information regarding a location of the wireless power reception device with respect to the wireless power transmission device (Ranging response 102 can include times T2 and T3 so that mobile device 110 can compute distance information, paragraph [0038]) and the location is measured based on a communication signal between the communication module of the wireless power transmission device supporting the UWB method and the communication module of the wireless power reception device supporting the UWB method (the distance (location) is calculated based on the communication between 110 and 120, fig. 1, paragraph [0036]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s wireless power transmission system to include UWB communication system as taught by Ledvina, in order to have centimeter-level location accuracy, high-speed data transmission, and strong resistance to signal interference. UWB communication helps to attain the precise determination of location.
Regarding claim 2, Park further discloses the method further comprising identifying information about an orientation of the wireless power reception device using at least one sensor of the wireless power reception device (1150, fig. 11; the sensor can be position measurement system, paragraph [0104]; displays on the screen of the electronic device a graphic of an orientation of the electronic device in correspondence to an orientation of the wireless charging pad, claim 35), wherein the displaying of the first charging range comprises:
identifying a relative location between the charging range of the wireless power transmission device and the wireless power reception device (paragraph [0049]-[0050]), based on the information about the location of the wireless power reception device, the information about the first charging range of the wireless power transmission device, and the information about the orientation of the wireless power reception device; determining a location and a form in which the first charging range is displayed on the display, based on the identified relative location; and displaying the first charging range on the display of the wireless power reception device, based on the determining (paragraph [0053]-[0055], figs. 5A-5D).
Regarding claim 3, Park further discloses wherein the displaying of the first charging range on the display comprises displaying the first charging range in at least a portion of the display, based on at least the portion corresponding to the first charging range (figs. 5A-5D shows that the portion of the display shows the information about the charging range, paragraph [0116]).
Regarding claim 4, Park further discloses the method further comprising displaying at least one object and/or a graphic effect corresponding to a direction of the first charging range on the display, based on the location of the wireless power reception device being outside a specified range corresponding to the first charging range (figs. 5A-5D; paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Park further discloses wherein the displaying of the first charging range on the display comprises displaying a first object corresponding to the first charging range and corresponding to the wireless power reception device on the display (fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 6, Park further discloses the method further comprising: receiving a third signal from the wireless power transmission device or an external device using the at least one communication module; and displaying a second charging range on the display, based on the third signal (figs. 5A-5D shows the plurality of the signals received by the charging pad to align the electronic device efficiently, paragraph [0050]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Park further discloses wherein the displaying of the second charging range comprises displaying a second object corresponding to the second charging range and corresponding to the external device on the display (fig. 3; figs. 5A-5D).
Regarding claim 8, Park further discloses the method further comprising: identifying a relative location between the first charging range of the wireless power transmission device and the wireless power reception device, based on a result of comparing the location of the wireless power reception device with respect to the wireless power transmission device and the first charging range; and determining a location in which the first icon indicating the location of the wireless power reception device is displayed on the display, based on the identified relative location (fig. 3; paragraph [0047]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 9, Park further discloses the method further comprising: receiving a third signal from the wireless power transmission device or an external device using the at least one communication module; identifying a charging state of the external device, based on the third signal; and displaying a second icon corresponding to a location of the external device on the display (figs. 5A-5D shows the plurality of the signals received by the charging pad to align the electronic device efficiently, paragraph [0050]-[0054]), based on the charging state of the external device (paragraph [0014] also shows that the wireless charging also depend on the efficiency of the charging pad (external device)).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses a wireless power reception device comprising: a display ( the touch screen 1160 is a medium for displaying output from the electronic device to the user, paragraph [0109]); at least one communication module (1140, fig. 11, paragraph [0106]) comprising communication circuitry; memory storing instruction (paragraph [0015]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (1100, fig. 11, paragraph [0092]), wherein the processor individually or collectively, cause the wireless power reception device to: identify information about a location of the wireless power reception device with respect to a wireless power transmission device (the electronic device 310 receives position information of the wireless charging pads 300 which exist centered on the current positions of the electronic devices 310, paragraph [0048]), based on a first signal received from the wireless power transmission device using the at least one communication module (the reception device (electronic device 310) has the RF processor which receives the signals form the charging pad, fig. 11; paragraph [0106]);
identify information about a first charging range of the wireless power transmission device, based on a second signal received from the wireless power transmission device using the at least one communication module (the electronic device 310 may further receive information about a title of each of the wireless charging pads 300, charging efficiency of each of the wireless charging pads 300, and a wireless charging range of each of the wireless charging pads 300, paragraph [0049] Note: all the communication is happening through the 1140 and 1103 communication module of the electronic device 310 (reception device), fig. 11); and control the display to display the location of the wireless power reception device as a first icon and to display the first charging range as a line or a face, based on the information about the location of the wireless power reception device and the information about the first charging range of the wireless power transmission device (paragraph [0048]-[0049] shows that the above claimed information is displayed on the screen). Park further discloses displaying thereby facilitating placement of the wireless power reception device for charging efficiency (paragraph [0013], fig. 15A).
Although Park discloses the communication module to provide the medium to communicate between the power receiver device and power transmission device, however, Park does not explicitly disclose that the communication method is UWB communication.
Ledvina discloses a communication method using UWB between the two wireless devices (paragraph [0003]). Ledvina further discloses the method comprising (fig. 1): based on receiving a signal from a communication module of a wireless device supporting an ultra-wideband (UWB) method (fig. 1), transmitting a signal through a communication module of a wireless reception device supporting the UWB method (fig. 1); receiving a first signal from the wireless transmission device (102 signal is send by the wireless reception device, fig. 1, paragraph [0038]), wherein the first signal included information regarding a location of the wireless power reception device with respect to the wireless power transmission device (Ranging response 102 can include times T2 and T3 so that mobile device 110 can compute distance information, paragraph [0038]) and the location is measured based on a communication signal between the communication module of the wireless power transmission device supporting the UWB method and the communication module of the wireless power reception device supporting the UWB method (the distance (location) is calculated based on the communication between 110 and 120, fig. 1, paragraph [0036]-[0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s wireless power transmission system to include UWB communication system as taught by Ledvina, in order to have centimeter-level location accuracy, high-speed data transmission, and strong resistance to signal interference. UWB communication helps to attain the precise determination of location.
Regarding claim 12, Park further discloses the system further comprising at least one sensor (1150, fig. 11; the sensor can be position measurement system, paragraph [0104]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (1100, fig. 11, paragraph [0092]), wherein the processor individually or collectively, cause the wireless power reception device to:
identify information about an orientation of the wireless power reception device using the at least one sensor (displays on the screen of the electronic device a graphic of an orientation of the electronic device in correspondence to an orientation of the wireless charging pad, claim 35); and identify a relative location between the charging range of the wireless power transmission device and the wireless power reception device (paragraph [0049]-[0050]), based on the information about the location of the wireless power reception device, the information about the first charging range of the wireless power transmission device, and the information about the orientation of the wireless power reception device, determine a location and a form in which the first charging range is displayed on the display, based on the identified relative location, and control the display to display the first charging range, based on a determination (paragraph [0053]-[0055], figs. 5A-5D).
Regarding claim 13, Park further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (1100, fig. 11, paragraph [0092]), wherein the processor individually or collectively, cause the wireless power reception device to control the display to display the first charging range in at least a portion of the display, based on at least the portion corresponding to the first charging range (figs. 5A-5D shows that the portion of the display shows the information about the charging range, paragraph [0116]).
Regarding claim 14, Park further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (1100, fig. 11, paragraph [0092]), wherein the processor individually or collectively, cause the wireless power reception device to control the display to display at least one object and/or a graphic effect corresponding to a direction of the first charging range on the display, based on the location of the wireless power reception device being outside a specified range corresponding to the first charging range (figs. 5A-5D; paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 15, Park further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (1100, fig. 11, paragraph [0092]), wherein the processor individually or collectively, cause the wireless power reception device to: identify information about a location of the wireless power transmission device with respect to the wireless power reception device, based on a third signal transmitted through the at least one communication module and a fourth signal received through the at least one communication module in response to the third signal; and control the display to display the first charging range, based on the information about the location of the wireless power transmission device and the information about the first charging range of the wireless power transmission device (figs. 5A-5D shows the plurality of the signals received by the charging pad to align the electronic device efficiently, paragraph [0050]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 16, Park further discloses wherein a configuration of the line on the display is dependent upon a relative orientation and of the power reception device and the power transmission device (paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 17, Park further discloses wherein a configuration of the line on the display is dependent upon a relative orientation and of the power reception device and the power transmission device (paragraph [0071]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859