Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 02/11/2026 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 17, 13, 15 and 18 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/11/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has been applied to amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzales et al. (Pub No. US 2015/0191088 A1; hereinafter Gonzales) in view of ADLHOCH et al. (Pub NO. US 2017/0368951 A1; hereinafter Adlhoch).
Regarding Claim 1, Gonzales teaches a system (system in Fig. 2 and Fig. below), comprising: a relay system (relay system 60, 62 and 64 in fig. 2 and Fig. below) comprising
a relay, wherein the relay comprises a double break contact relay (62/64 is double break contact relay in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]) having:
a first contact on an input side of the relay, the input side coupled to a power source (See first contact is coupled to power source 24 in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]), and
a second contact on a load side of the relay coupled to a load (See other side is coupled to load 10 in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]); and a controller (controller 58 in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0039]), comprising:
one or more processors (See [0065]); and
a memory having stored thereon instructions that (See [0065]), upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a weld detection check (See [0044]) comprising:
monitor a current flow from the power source through the relay (See [0042]-[0044]);
transmit a close signal to the relay (See [0040]-[0042]);
transmit an open signal to the relay (See [0044]); and
Gonzales is silent about based on the current flow through the relay following the open signal, determine whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists.
Adlhoch teaches based on the current flow through the relay following the open signal (See [0050]-[0060]), determine whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists (See [0050]-[0060]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Gonzales by using based on the current flow through the relay following the open signal, determine whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists, as taught by Adlhoch in order to detect weld (Adlhoch; [0060]).
Regarding Claim 2, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the system of claim 1. Gonzales further teaches wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting current flowing through the relay following the open signal (See [0044]).
Regarding Claim 3, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the system of claim 1. Gonzales further teaches wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: monitor a voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay (Fig. 4A measures voltage across relay; See [0026]); and based on the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay following the open signal (See [0044]), determine whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists (See [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 4, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the system of claim 3. Gonzales is silent about wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal.
Adlhoch teaches wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage (See the threshold voltage in Fig. 5 for detecting weld following open signal; See [0055]-[0060]), while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal (See [0055]-[0060]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Gonzales by determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal, as taught by Adlhoch in order to detect weld (Adlhoch; [0060]).
Regarding Claim 5, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the system of claim 3. Gonzales is silent about wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal.
Adlhoch teaches wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage (See the threshold voltage in Fig. 5 for detecting weld following open signal; See [0055]-[0060]), while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal (See [0055]-[0060]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Gonzales by determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal, as taught by Adlhoch in order to detect weld (Adlhoch; [0060]).
Regarding Claim 6, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the system of claim 3. Gonzales is silent about wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal.
Adlhoch teaches wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage (See the threshold voltage in Fig. 5 for detecting weld following open signal; See [0055]-[0060]), while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal (See [0055]-[0060]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Gonzales by determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal, as taught by Adlhoch in order to detect weld (Adlhoch; [0060]).
Regarding Claim 7, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the system of claim 1. Gonzales further teaches wherein the relay system comprises a plurality of relays each having a first contact on an input side of the relay, the input side coupled to the power source, and a second contact on a load side of the relay coupled to the load; and wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the weld detection check on each relay of the plurality of relays sequentially (checking weld of all relays 60, 62, 64 in fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the system of claim 1. Gonzales further teaches wherein the weld detection check is performed on startup (startup; See [0045]) or shutdown of the system.
Regarding Claim 9, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the system of claim 1. Gonzales further teaches wherein the weld detection check is performed a plurality of times (See [0040]-[0050]).
Regarding Claim 10, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the system of claim 1. Gonzales further teaches wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: in response to detecting the electrical weld, disconnecting the power source to shut down the system (service center is disconnecting; See [0048]).
Regarding Claim 11, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the system of claim 1. Gonzales further teaches wherein the system is an industrial automation motor starter (See [0030]).
Regarding Claim 12, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the system of claim 1. Gonzales further teaches wherein the load is an electrical motor (See [0030]).
Regarding Claim 13, Gonzales teaches a method for detecting a welded relay contact (method in Fig. 2 and Fig. below), the method comprising:
performing a weld detection check (See [0040]-[0050]), comprising:
closing a relay (See [0040]-[0050]), wherein the relay is a double break contact relay (62/64 is double break contact relay in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]) comprising:
a first contact on an input side of the relay (See first contact is coupled to power source 24 in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]), and
a second contact on a load side of the relay (See other side is coupled to load 10 in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]), and
wherein the input side of the relay is coupled to a power source (See other side is coupled to load 10 in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]), and
the load side of the relay is coupled to a load (See other side is coupled to load 10 in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]);
opening the relay (See [0044]);
measuring a current flow through the relay in response to opening the relay (See [0044]); and
Gonzales is silent about based on the current flow through the relay following the open signal, determine whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists.
Adlhoch teaches based on the current flow through the relay following the open signal (See [0050]-[0060]), determine whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists (See [0050]-[0060]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Gonzales by using based on the current flow through the relay following the open signal, determine whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists, as taught by Adlhoch in order to detect weld (Adlhoch; [0060]).
Regarding Claim 14, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the method of claim 13. Gonzales further teaches wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting current flowing through the relay following opening the relay (See [0044]).
Regarding Claim 15, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the method of claim 13. Gonzales further teaches further comprising: measuring a voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay (Fig. 4A measures voltage across relay; See [0026]); and based on the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay following the opening the relay (See [0044]), determine whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists (See [0041]-[0044]) .
Regarding Claim 16, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the method of claim 15. Gonzales is silent about wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal.
Adlhoch teaches wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage (See the threshold voltage in Fig. 5 for detecting weld following open signal; See [0055]-[0060]), while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal (See [0055]-[0060]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Gonzales by determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal, as taught by Adlhoch in order to detect weld (Adlhoch; [0060]).
Regarding Claim 17, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the method of claim 15. Gonzales is silent about wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal.
Adlhoch teaches wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage (See the threshold voltage in Fig. 5 for detecting weld following open signal; See [0055]-[0060]), while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal (See [0055]-[0060]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Gonzales by determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal, as taught by Adlhoch in order to detect weld (Adlhoch; [0060]).
Regarding Claim 18, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the method of claim 15. Gonzales is silent about wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal.
Adlhoch teaches wherein determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage (See the threshold voltage in Fig. 5 for detecting weld following open signal; See [0055]-[0060]), while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal (See [0055]-[0060]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Gonzales by determining whether an electrical weld of one of the first contact and the second contact of the relay exists comprises detecting the voltage between the first contact and the second contact of the relay decreasing below a threshold voltage, while the current flow through the relay, is non-zero following the open signal, as taught by Adlhoch in order to detect weld (Adlhoch; [0060]).
Regarding Claim 19, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the method of claim 13. Gonzales further teaches further comprising: performing the weld detection check in response to startup of a system comprising a plurality of relays (startup; See [0045]).
Regarding Claim 20, Gonzales in view of Adlhoch teaches the method of claim 13. Gonzales further teaches further comprising: in response to detecting the electrical weld, automatically disconnecting the power source to shut down a system (service center is disconnecting; See [0048]) comprising a plurality of relays (plurality of relays 60, 62 and 64 in Fig. 2; See [0040]-[0050]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858