DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panizza (US 20190300408 A1) and Wang (“Biochar addition reduces nitrogen loss and accelerates composting process by affecting the core microbial community during distilled grain waste composting,” 2021).
With respect to claim 1, the claim requires “a solid catalyst composition for organic waste treatment,” Panizzi teaches a material of reducing the content of unwanted substances in a liquid (Panizzi, abstract, claim 1). claim 1 further requires “a solid catalyst composition comprising: a catalyst liquid; an inorganic mineral carrier; a biochar carrier; and an organic carrier,” Panizzi teaches an inorganic base and activated charcoal as the biochar carrier (Panizzi, abstract). Panizzi does not explicitly teach an organic carrier. However, Wang teaches a compost matrix comprising 5-20% Biochar with the rest being distilled grain waste/organic biomass (Wang, abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Panizzi, an organic carrier as part of the catalyst composition as Wang teaches it accelerated the microbial succession during DGW composting (Wang, abstract).
claim 1 further requires “wherein a weight ratio of the catalyst liquid to a sum of the inorganic mineral carrier, the biochar carrier and the organic carrier is 1:10 to 55,” Panizzi teaches catalyst in a concentration comprised between 0.0001% and 30%, wherein the percentages refer to the total weight of said polymeric base (Panizzi, claim 6).
claim 1 further requires “weight ratio of the inorganic mineral carrier, the biochar carrier and the organic carrier is 10 to 20: 5 to 25: 60 to 75.” Panizzi does not explicitly teach the weight ratio of the organic carrier. However, Wang teaches compositions of 0-20% biochar with the rest being distilled grain organic waste (Wang, abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Panizzi, have the weight ratio claimed as Wang teaches it accelerated the microbial succession during DGW composting (Wang, abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Panizzi teaches catalyst in a concentration comprised between 0.0001% and 30%, wherein the percentages refer to the total weight of said polymeric base (Panizzi, claim 6).
Regarding claim 3, the claim requires wherein the weight ratio of the inorganic mineral carrier, the biochar carrier and the organic carrier is 15:15:70. Panizzi teaches catalyst in a concentration comprised between 0.0001% and 30%, wherein the percentages refer to the total weight of said polymeric base (Panizzi, claim 6). Panizzi does not explicitly teach the weight ratio of the organic carrier. However, Wang teaches compositions of 0-20% biochar with the rest being distilled grain organic waste (Wang, abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Panizzi, the weight ratio claimed as Wang teaches that based on the results, the potential mechanism for biochar addition to reduce nitrogen loss during the composting has been realized (Wang, Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Panizzi teaches enzyme preferably selected among the lyase group, the hydrolase group and the oxidoreductase group (Panizzi , abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Panizzi teaches an inorganic base that is an amorphous, high performance a thermoplastic resin (Panizzi, [0134]).
Regarding claim 6, Panizzi teaches the inorganic base retaining the catalyst can comprise of activated charcoal (Panizzi, [0072]).
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panizza (US 20190300408 A1) and Wang (“Biochar addition reduces nitrogen loss and accelerates composting process by affecting the core microbial community during distilled grain waste composting,” 2021) as applied to claims 1-6 above, further in view of Porubcan (US 20030167811 A1)
With respect to claim 7, The solid catalyst composition for organic waste treatment of claim 1 has been discussed above.
Claim 7 further requires “wherein the organic carrier comprises at least one of dregs, humic acid, fulvic acid, peat soil powder and starchiness.” Panizza does not explicitly teach an organic carrier comprising of at least one of dregs, humic acid, fulvic acid, peat soil powder and starchiness. However, Porubcan teaches a fertilizer composition of humic acid (Porubcan, abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Panizza, of at least one of dregs, humic acid, fulvic acid, peat soil powder and starchiness as Porubcan teaches this improves the effectiveness of Bacillus microorganisms (Porubcan, [0056]).
With respect to claim 11, the organic waste treatment of claim 1 has been discussed above. Claim 11 further requires “ mixing the organic waste raw material with the solid catalyst composition of claim 1 to obtain a mixture; and heating up the mixture to 75 to 85°C to perform a reaction to obtain the organic fertilizer.” Panizzi does not explicitly teach heating up the mixture to 75 to 85°C to perform a reaction to obtain the organic fertilizer. However, Porubcan teaches a fertilizer formulation obtained by a mixture heated at 80 °C (Porubcan, [0093]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Panizzi, Porubcan teaches this improves the effectiveness of Bacillus microorganisms (Porubcan, [0056]).
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panizza (US 20190300408 A1) and Wang (“Biochar addition reduces nitrogen loss and accelerates composting process by affecting the core microbial community during distilled grain waste composting,” 2021) as applied to claims 1-7, 11 and 12 above, further in view of Hunter (US 2582254 A).
With respect to claim 8, the solid catalyst composition for organic waste treatment of claim 1 has been discussed above. Claim 8 further requires “wherein a moisture content of the solid catalyst composition is 10 to 25% by weight.” Panizzi does not explicitly teach a moisture content of the solid catalyst composition is 10 to 25% by weight. However, Hunter teaches a catalyst dried to a moisture content of 10.2% adsorbed water (Hunter 5, line 44-46).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Panizzi, a catalyst composition with a moisture content of 10 to 25% by weight as Hunter teaches this treatment also markedly improves the
catalyst activity (Hunter 5, line 32-33).
With respect to claim 10, the manufacturing method of claim 9 has been discussed above. Claim 10 further requires “a water content control step after the organic carrier mixing step, which controls a weight percentage of water in the solid catalyst composition to 10 to 25%.” Panizzi does not explicitly teach a water content control step or a moisture content range of 10 to 25% by weight. However, Hunter teaches a catalyst that is then separated from most of the water and is dried to a moisture content of 10.2% adsorbed water (Hunter 5, line 44-46).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Panizzi, a catalyst composition with a moisture content of 10 to 25% by weight as Hunter teaches this treatment also markedly improves the
catalyst activity (Hunter 5, line 32-33).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panizza (US 20190300408 A1) and Wang (“Biochar addition reduces nitrogen loss and accelerates composting process by affecting the core microbial community during distilled grain waste composting,” 2021) as applied to claims 1-8, and 10-11, further in view of Santoro (US 20220267183 A1).
With respect to claim 9, the claim requires “A manufacturing method of a solid catalyst composition for organic waste treatment,” Panizzi teaches a material of reducing the content of unwanted substances in a liquid (Panizzi, abstract, claim 1).
claim 9 further requires “solid catalyst composition comprising: a catalyst liquid concentration step, which dewaters and concentrates the catalyst liquid to obtain a concentrated catalyst liquid;”
Panizzi does not explicitly teach a catalyst liquid concentration step, which dewaters and concentrates the catalyst liquid. However, Santoro teaches dewatering in a treatment process (Santoro, [0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Panizzi, a dewatering step as Santoro teaches this allows for a semi-continuous treatment system (Santoro, [0068]).
claim 9 further requires “an inorganic mineral carrier mixing step, which adds 10 to 20 parts by weight of an inorganic mineral, a biochar carrier mixing step, which adds 5 to 25 parts by weight of a biochar carrier; and an organic carrier mixing step, which adds 60 to 75 parts by weight of an organic carrier to obtain a solid catalyst composition.” Modified Panizzi teaches a compost matrix comprising 5-20% Biochar with the rest being distilled grain waste/organic biomass (Wang, abstract).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panizza (US 20190300408 A1) and Wang (“Biochar addition reduces nitrogen loss and accelerates composting process by affecting the core microbial community during distilled grain waste composting,” 2021) as applied to claims 1-11, further in view of Fischer (US 6695892 B1)
Regarding claim 12, the use of claim 11 has been discussed above. Panizzi teaches catalyst in a concentration comprised between 0.0001% and 30%, wherein the percentages refer to the total weight of said polymeric base (Panizzi, claim 6).
Claim 12 further requires “wherein the reaction is carried out for 1 to 3.5 hrs. “ Panizzi does not explicitly teach wherein the reaction is carried out for 1 to 3.5 hrs. However, Fischer teaches reaction time of about 0.25 to about 4 hours (Fischer, claim 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Panizza, a reaction time of about 1 to 3.5 hours as Fischer teaches addition to yield-increasing and soil-ameliorating substrates (Fischer, abstract).
Conclusion
/STARFARI TESHAWN MCCLAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/DANIEL C. MCCRACKEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736