Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/18/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: blowdown units in claims 1, 8, 11, 12, 22, and blowdown valve assembly in claim 22, each interpreted to include at least one valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the sensor of the separator comprises an density, acoustic, or electromagnetic tomography measurement sensor and wherein acoustic measurement sensor provide a signal representing whether or not a sand level in the accumulator has reached the acoustic measurement sensor, this is unclear, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language (density, acoustic, or electromagnetic tomography measurement sensor) is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pitcher (US 11,351,481, applicant provided prior art), in view of as Coombe (US 2021/0205735, Examiner notes that the priority date for this continuation-in-part application is the filing date of the application, the parent application published qualifies as prior art.)
With respect to claim 1, Pitcher teaches controlling sand discharge from a plurality of sand separators with a controller (abstract, a method for operating a sand separation system, and separating sand from a fluid using a plurality of separators), as is known in the art sand separators must be periodically purged to remove slurry (C1/L10-40, the separators each temporarily store the sand therein), the control system selectively purges multiple separators on an individually selected basis (C1/L45-C3/L6, Fig. 2, selecting, using a control unit, one of the plurality of separators to blowdown), dump lines 20/20A connected to separate vessels 10/10A with valves 26/26A, connect to common discharge line 28, and the controller can actuate valve 26/26A to allow flow into discharge line 28 (C2/L8-55, a plurality of manifold valves are each coupled to a respective one of the separators), the controller can determine the status of each separator and decide which separator to dupe and prevent other separators from dumping (C3/L1-15), signaling, from the control unit, to one of the manifold valves, the one of the manifold valves being coupled to the selected one of the plurality of separators, for the one of the manifold valves to open, opening one of the manifold valves, wherein the other manifold valves remain closed) the controller is connected to all of the valves, valves 22, 24 a blowdown unit, and executing a blowdown (C3/C4); discharge line 28 dumps into sand pit 38 (C2, Fig. 2, receiving the sand from the selected one of the separators into a sand disposal unit, wherein the sand passes through the manifold valve that is opened and through the blowdown unit), and transducers 18/18A which measure pressure in the separator (C2, a sensor of the separators).
While Pitcher does not explicitly teach opening one or more valves of the blowdown unit in response to the signaling, so as to blowdown the selected one of the separators; or measuring the sand that was separated in the one of the separators using a sensor of the one of the separators, a load cell of the sand disposal unit, or both.
Coombe teaches a sand separation method using a separator, and signaling for a blowdown unit to blowdown the separator and opening one or more blowdown valves of the blowdown unit coupled to the separator in response to the signaling, and includes measuring a weight of at least some of the sand that was separated in the separator using a load cell of the separator, a load cell of the sand disposal unit, or both (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to open the valves in order to dump the solids, and to measure the sand as described by Coombe as according to Coombe is may be desirable to determine the amount of solids separated from the fluid, and may indicate the tank is near capacity or needs to be blown down (0004, 0026).
With respect to claims 2, 4, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Pitcher teaches selective purging (blowdown) of separators as discussed above. Coombe teaches determining a blowdown interval for blowdown operations based in part on the weight of the sand (abstract) determining that it is time to execute blowdown operations based on measuring the sand that was separated in the one or more separators using the sensor of the one or more separators.
With respect to claim 12, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Pitcher teaches an actuated choke valve 34 (C2/L30-32, comprising adjusting a choke that is positioned downstream of the blowdown unit and upstream of the sand disposal unit, to tune the blowdown and reduce a pressure drop across the blowdown unit.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pitcher (US 11,351,481), in view of as Coombe (US 2021/0205735), in view of Jiang (US PG Pub 2020/0378815).
With respect to claim 3, the method of claim 2, is taught above. Pitcher teaches the controller responds to various parameters to initiate a dump cycle (C2/L35-55), Coombe teaches the controller used to determine when the tank is nearly full to prevent overfill (0042, determine overfill), determining the rate at which solids accumulate in the tank and plots of the historical sand accumulation data (0004, 0049), and determining that it is time to execute the blowdown operation based on the sensor measuring a certain amount of sand in the separator as discussed above.
The taught combination does not explicitly teach determining a maximum quantity of sand before an overfill of the separator based on past sand production rate; setting a safety interval between blowdowns that is less than the maximum quantity of sand before an overfill divided by the past sand production rate; and determining that it is time to execute the blowdown operation based on the sensor measuring a certain amount of sand in the separator, or upon expiration of the safety interval, whichever comes first.
Jiang teaches a solid separator control system comprising a controller that determines the presence and extent of solids in the sand separator to estimate the rate at which sand or other solid particles are produced, configured to determine amount of solids accumulated in the sand separator over a set or variable period of time, and using the known sample period and the measured solids accumulating over that period, the solid separator control system can calculate solids accumulation rates and the controller configured to adjust to optimize the flow rates through the sand separator and can determine that a threshold level has been reached, and open the dump valve to discharge solids into the solids tank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize dumping interval of the combination of Pitcher and Coombe to optimize the interval, taking into account the rate of accumulation of solids as deserved by Jiang, and determine a maximum quantity of sand before an overfill of the separator based on past sand production rate; setting a safety interval between blowdowns that is less than the maximum quantity of sand before an overfill divided by the past sand production rate; and determining that it is time to execute the blowdown operation based on the sensor measuring a certain amount of sand in the separator, or upon expiration of the safety interval, whichever comes first, in order to optimize separation and maintain safe and efficient operation of the separator (0005).
Claim(s) 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pitcher (US 11,351,481), in view of as Coombe (US 2021/0205735), in view Lyon (US PG Pub 20180333657).
With respect to claim 5, the method of claim 1, is taught above. Pitcher teaches the controller responds to various parameters to initiate a dump cycle (C2/L35-55), and the use of transducers as discussed above; Coombe teaches the separators can use different types of sensors (0023). The taught combination does not explicitly teach the sensor of the separator comprises a nuclear emitter and receiver that are positioned outside of an accumulator of the separator.
Lyon teaches methods and apparatus for determining the level of contents within a sand separator and controlling dumping of sand using radiation (abstract, 0002), comprising a nuclear radiation source and a radiation monitor mounted outside the body of the separator (0018-0042, 0114-0124 the sensor of the separator comprises a nuclear emitter and receiver that are positioned outside of an accumulator of the separator). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use detect the amount of sand in the separators of the taught combination with radiation as shown by Lyon as according to Lyon, the detector is advantageous because all of the components necessary to determine the level of material within the separator may be mounted on the exterior of the separator(s) facilitating easy exchange, and weigh scales depend of flow parameters and other variables and the detectors are robust, can operate in conjunction with high-pressure vessels and are easily moveable from one separator unit to another (0080-0089).
With respect to claim 6, the method of claim 5, is taught above. Lyon teaches a radiation source and detector as discussed above the nuclear emitter emits a field of radiation, and wherein the method comprises detecting a level of the sand in the accumulator), absent evidence of differences over the art based on the sand obstructing at least a portion of the field of radiation is inherent, examiner notes "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. A “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003); MPEP §2111.04). Where a reference discloses the terms of the recited method steps, and such steps necessarily result in the desired and recited effect, the fact that the reference does not describe the recited effect in haec verba is of no significance because the reference meets the claim under the doctrine of inherency."
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pitcher (US 11,351,481), in view of as Coombe (US 2021/0205735), in view of Malone (US PG Pub 2021/0299595).
With respect to claim 7, the method of claim 1, is taught above. See 112(b) rejection above. Pitcher teaches the controller responds to various parameters to initiate a dump cycle (C2/L35-55), and the use of transducers as discussed above; Coombe teaches the separators can use different types of sensors (0023) measuring the sand that was separated in the separator comprises using the sensor of the separator. The taught combination does not explicitly teach a density, acoustic, or electromagnetic tomography measurement sensor positioned at least partially in an accumulator of the separator, and wherein acoustic measurement sensor provide a signal representing whether or not a sand level in the accumulator has reached the acoustic measurement sensor. Malone teaches automated sand dump control systems utilizing level sensors (0009), a solids level sensor positioned inside of the separator vessel detects the level of the accumulated sand particles and sends a signal to the control panel (0058) and an acoustic sensor (0072) and density sensor (0074-0075). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an acoustic or density sensor inside the separator as taught by Malone as Pitcher and Coombe each teach the use of different types of sensors, and as shown by Malone, these types of sensors are known for use in sand separation and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 are allowed. While Pitcher teaches discharge line 28 dumps into sand pit 38, the controller responds to various parameters, and the use of transducers and Coombe teaches blowdown line 307 connected to 309, and sand disposal unit 126 and pressure sensor 326 downstream of the blowdown unit (0028-0032). The prior art does not provide teaching or suggestion for the a debris catcher and measuring a pressure downstream of a debris catcher, the debris catcher positioned between the separator and the blowdown unit; determining that the pressure measured downstream of the debris catcher is out of a predetermined range; and in response to determining that the pressure measured downstream of the debris catcher is out of the predetermined range, executing one or more mitigation actions in response to the debris catcher being plugged, in combination with the other limitations of claim 1. Claims 9-11 depend from claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sayers (US PG Pub 2023/0025302)
/JEANNIE MCDERMOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/BRADLEY R SPIES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776