DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Application amendment, filed on 12/05/2025, has been received and made of record. Claims 1-2, 9, 12-14, 21, 25 and 28 are amended. Claims 3-8, 10-11, 15-20, 22-24, 26-27 and 29-30 are original. Currently, claims 1-30 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/13/2015, with respect to claims 1, 13, 25 and 28 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
However, in order to expedite the examining process and to further clarify how the prior art of Liu (US 2020/0245288) in view of John et al (US 2021/0337626) and further in view of the new prior of Yan et al (US 2024/0340074) continues to read upon the claims as currently stated: Examiner has updated the rejection to clearly reflect how the teachings of Liu (US 2020/0245288) in view of John et al (US 2021/0337626) and further in view of the new prior of Yan et al (US 2024/0340074) reads upon the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2020/0245288) in view of John et al (US 2021/0337626) and further in view of Yan et al (US 2024/0340074)
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (communication component 816 is configured to facilitate communication, wired or wirelessly, between the apparatus 800 and other devices. The apparatus 800 can access a wireless network based on a communication standard, such as WiFi, 2G, or 3G, or a combination thereof, [0232], lines 1-3):
at least one memory (fig. 8 item 804, memory); and
at least one processor (fig. 8 item 820, processor) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor (fig. 8 item 820, processor), individually or in any combination, is configured to (a memory configured to store an instruction executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: [0093], line 1, [0094], line 1):
receive, from a network node, an indication of a paging alert channel (PAC), wherein the indication is associated with at least a subset of subgroup identifiers of a plurality of UEs associated with a same paging occasion, wherein each of the plurality of UEs is configured to receive the indication of the PAC associated with the same paging occasion (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, notifying the paged UE to receive the paging request, or notify the paged UE to update the system information, or notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4); and
Liu does not specifically disclose concept of communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC.
However, John et al specifically teaches concept of communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC (base station 101 may be communicatively coupled to Priority Access Component (“PAC”) 103, which may detect and/or receive (at 102) an indication of a triggering event (e.g., an emergency event). For example, PAC 103 may receive an indication of an emergency event from an external system, such as a governmental emergency alert system. Additionally, or alternatively, PAC 103 may receive information regarding a quantity of emergency calls placed by UEs via base station 101, [0018], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Liu with concept of communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC of John et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless telecommunication networks provide network connectivity to a variety of different users, (John et al, [0001], line 1).
Liu and John et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC.
However, Yan et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC (For IoT NTN, a UE may detect SIBx in SI window 1 or SI window 3 at any repetition in a BCCH (PAC) modification period. Different UEs (plurality of UEs) may receive SIBx at different times. For example, in FIG. 4, UE1 receives SIBx in SI window 1 in BCCH modification period (n), and UE2 receives SIBx in the SI window 3 in BCCH (PAC) modification period (n); thus is seen as UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN), [0075], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Liu with concept of communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC of John et al and concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC of Yan et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve methods and apparatuses for determining a synchronization validity timer in wireless communication, (Yan et al, [0001], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein, to receive the indication of the PAC comprises, the at least one processor (fig. 8 item 820, processor), individually or in any combination, is configured to (a memory configured to store an instruction executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, [0093], line 1, [0094], line 1[0103], lines 1-2):
receive, from the network node via the PAC, the indication of the PAC (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the PAC comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (paging indication information is third DCI carried on a plurality of PDCCHs comprised in a third CORSET, [0019], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the indication indicates at least one of the subgroup identifiers of the plurality of UEs associated with the same paging occasion (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, notifying the paged UE to receive the paging request, or notify the paged UE to update the system information, or notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the PAC is associated with the subset based on at least one of (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0093], line 1, [0094], line 1 [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4):
a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate index associated with the PAC, wherein the PDCCH candidate index is associated with a PDCCH monitoring occasion (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam. UE can acquire the SSB only by monitoring the first beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1, [0110], line 3); or
at least one radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the PAC (PDCCH carries DCI (Downlink Control Information). In an actual application, the UE needs to acquire the DCI carried in the PDCCH, so as to acquire the information of the UE from the I'DSCH in a time domain location and a frequency domain location indicated by the DCI, wherein the PDSCH can generally carry a paging message, the SSB, and the like, [0130], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the subset of the subgroup identifiers is associated with at least one of (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, notifying the paged UE to receive the paging request, or notify the paged UE to update the system information, or notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4):
the PDCCH candidate index (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1);
a first RNTI of the at least one RNTI (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1); or
the PDCCH monitoring occasion (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam. UE can acquire the SSB only by monitoring the first beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1, [0110], line 3).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the PAC comprises one or more codepoints that each indicate a respective subgroup identifier in the subset of subgroup identifiers of the plurality of UEs (base station transmits the paging indication information through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field. For example, the field “00” in the paging indication information can identify that the UE paged by the base station does not exist in the group of UEs corresponding to this field, [0158], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein each of the one or more codepoints is based on (base station transmits the paging indication information through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field. For example, the field “00” in the paging indication information can identify that the UE paged by the base station does not exist in the group of UEs corresponding to this field, [0158], lines 1-5):
a subgroup identifier in the subset of subgroup identifiers, wherein the subgroup identifier corresponds to at least one UE of the plurality of UEs (base station transmits the paging indication information through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0158], lines 1-4);
a first number of PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the same paging occasion (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam. UE can acquire the SSB only by monitoring the first beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1, [0110], line 3);
a second number of PDCCH candidate indexes in each PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PDCCH monitoring occasions (plurality of PDCCHs included in the first CORSET carry first DCI which is configured to instruct the UE paged by the base station to acquire a paging message according to the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to that of the second beam, [0145], lines 2-4);
a third number of the at least one RNTI (paging indication information is third DCI carried on a plurality of PDCCHs comprised in a third CORSET, [0019], lines 1-2); and
a fourth number of the one or more codepoints (base station transmits the paging indication information through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field. For example, the field “00” in the paging indication information can identify that the UE paged by the base station does not exist in the group of UEs corresponding to this field, [0158], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein, to receive, from the network node, the indication of the PAC, the at least one processor (fig. 8 item 820, processor), individually or in any combination, is configured to (a memory configured to store an instruction executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, [0093], line 1, [0094], line 1[0103], lines 1-2):
receive the indication of the PAC a plurality of times based on (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam , [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4):
a first number of beams configured by the network node (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, , [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4);
a second number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions associated with the same paging occasion occasion (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam. UE can acquire the SSB only by monitoring the first beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1, [0110], line 3); and
a third number corresponding to a configured number of times the PAC is to be repeated in a beam (paging indication information is third DCI carried on a plurality of PDCCHs comprised in a third CORSET, [0019], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the PAC comprises a plurality of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits (base station transmits the paging indication information through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field. For example, the field “00” (bits) in the paging indication information can identify that the UE paged by the base station does not exist in the group of UEs corresponding to this field, [0158], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the at least one message comprises at least one of (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, , [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4):
a paging early indication (PEI) physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (The PDCCH carries DCI (Downlink Control Information). In an actual application, the UE needs to acquire the DCI carried in the PDCCH, so as to acquire the information of the UE from the I'DSCH in a time domain location and a frequency domain location indicated by the DCI, wherein the PDSCH can generally carry a paging message, [0139], lines 1-3);
a paging PDCCH (PDSCH can generally carry a paging message, [0139], lines 1-3);
an uplink random access message (UP can use the DMRS in the SSB to decode the PBCH to acquire system information carried on the PBCH, wherein the system information is required for the UE to randomly access the base station, [0134], lines 3-5); or
an alert (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information, [0141], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to (a memory configured to store an instruction executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, [0093], line 1, [0094], line 1[0103], lines 1-2):
switch from an idle mode to a connected mode based on the communication of the at least one message (receive external audio signals when the apparatus 800 is in an operation mode, such as a call mode, a recording mode, and a voice recognition mode, [0229], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising (communication component 816 is configured to facilitate communication, wired or wirelessly, between the apparatus 800 and other devices. The apparatus 800 can access a wireless network based on a communication standard, such as WiFi, 2G, or 3G, or a combination thereof, [0232], lines 1-3):
at least one memory (fig. 8 item 804, memory); and
at least one processor (fig. 8 item 820, processor) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to (a memory configured to store an instruction executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: [0093], line 1, [0094], line 1):
provide, for at least one user equipment (UE), an indication of a paging alert channel (PAC), wherein the indication is associated with at least a subset of subgroup identifiers of at least one UE associated with a same paging occasion, wherein each of the at least one UE is configured to receive the indication of the PAC associated with the same paging occasion (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, notifying the paged UE to receive the paging request, or notify the paged UE to update the system information, or notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4); and
Liu does not specifically disclose concept of communicate at least one message with the at least one UE based on the indication of the PAC.
However, John et al specifically teaches concept of communicate at least one message with the at least one UE based on the indication of the PAC (base station 101 may be communicatively coupled to Priority Access Component (“PAC”) 103, which may detect and/or receive (at 102) an indication of a triggering event (e.g., an emergency event). For example, PAC 103 may receive an indication of an emergency event from an external system, such as a governmental emergency alert system. Additionally, or alternatively, PAC 103 may receive information regarding a quantity of emergency calls placed by UEs via base station 101, [0018], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Liu with concept of communicate at least one message with the at least one UE based on the indication of the PAC of John et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless telecommunication networks provide network connectivity to a variety of different users, (John et al, [0001], line 1)
Liu and John et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC.
However, Yan et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC (For IoT NTN, a UE may detect SIBx in SI window 1 or SI window 3 at any repetition in a BCCH (PAC) modification period. Different UEs (plurality of UEs) may receive SIBx at different times. For example, in FIG. 4, UE1 receives SIBx in SI window 1 in BCCH modification period (n), and UE2 receives SIBx in the SI window 3 in BCCH (PAC) modification period (n); thus is seen as UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN), [0075], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Liu with concept of communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC of John et al and concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC of Yan et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve methods and apparatuses for determining a synchronization validity timer in wireless communication, (Yan et al, [0001], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein, to provide the indication of the PAC, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to (a memory configured to store an instruction executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, [0093], line 1, [0094], line 1[0103], lines 1-2):
provide, for the at least one UE via the PAC, the indication of the PAC (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the PAC comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (paging indication information is third DCI carried on a plurality of PDCCHs comprised in a third CORSET, [0019], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the indication indicates at least one of the subgroup identifiers of the at least one UE associated with the same paging occasion (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, notifying the paged UE to receive the paging request, or notify the paged UE to update the system information, or notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the PAC is associated with the subset based on at least one of (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0093], line 1, [0094], line 1 [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4):
a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate index associated with the PAC, wherein the PDCCH candidate index is associated with a PDCCH monitoring occasion (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam. UE can acquire the SSB only by monitoring the first beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1, [0110], line 3); or
at least one radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the PAC (PDCCH carries DCI (Downlink Control Information). In an actual application, the UE needs to acquire the DCI carried in the PDCCH, so as to acquire the information of the UE from the I'DSCH in a time domain location and a frequency domain location indicated by the DCI, wherein the PDSCH can generally carry a paging message, the SSB, and the like, [0130], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the subset of the subgroup identifiers is associated with at least one of (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, notifying the paged UE to receive the paging request, or notify the paged UE to update the system information, or notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4):
the PDCCH candidate index (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1);
a first RNTI of the at least one RNTI (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1); or
the PDCCH monitoring occasion (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam. UE can acquire the SSB only by monitoring the first beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1, [0110], line 3).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the PAC comprises one or more codepoints that each indicate a respective subgroup identifier in the subset of subgroup identifiers of the at least one UE (base station transmits the paging indication information through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field. For example, the field “00” in the paging indication information can identify that the UE paged by the base station does not exist in the group of UEs corresponding to this field, [0158], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein each of the one or more codepoints is based on (base station transmits the paging indication information through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field. For example, the field “00” in the paging indication information can identify that the UE paged by the base station does not exist in the group of UEs corresponding to this field, [0158], lines 1-5):
a subgroup identifier in the subset of subgroup identifiers, wherein the subgroup identifier corresponds to one or more UEs of the at least one UE (base station transmits the paging indication information through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0158], lines 1-4);
a first number of PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the same paging occasion (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam. UE can acquire the SSB only by monitoring the first beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1, [0110], line 3);
a second number of PDCCH candidate indexes in each PDCCH monitoring occasion of the PDCCH monitoring occasions (plurality of PDCCHs included in the first CORSET carry first DCI which is configured to instruct the UE paged by the base station to acquire a paging message according to the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to that of the second beam, [0145], lines 2-4);
a third number of the at least one RNTI (paging indication information is third DCI carried on a plurality of PDCCHs comprised in a third CORSET, [0019], lines 1-2); and
a fourth number of the one or more codepoints (base station transmits the paging indication information through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field. For example, the field “00” in the paging indication information can identify that the UE paged by the base station does not exist in the group of UEs corresponding to this field, [0158], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 21, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein, to provide, for the at least one UE, the indication of the PAC, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, notifying the paged UE to receive the paging request, or notify the paged UE to update the system information, or notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4):
provide the indication of the PAC a plurality of times based on: a first number of beams configured by the network node (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam , [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4);
a second number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions associated with the same paging occasion (Plurality of PDCCHs comprised in the first CORSET carry the first DCI; and a timing index of the first beam corresponds to a timing index of the second beam. UE can acquire the SSB only by monitoring the first beam, [0104], line 1, [0106], line 1, [0110], line 3); and
a third number corresponding to a configured number of times the PAC is to be repeated in a beam (paging indication information is third DCI carried on a plurality of PDCCHs comprised in a third CORSET, [0019], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 22, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the PAC comprises a plurality of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits (base station transmits the paging indication information through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field. For example, the field “00” (bits) in the paging indication information can identify that the UE paged by the base station does not exist in the group of UEs corresponding to this field, [0158], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 23, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the at least one message comprises at least one of (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, notifying the paged UE to receive the paging request, or notify the paged UE to update the system information, or notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4):
a paging early indication (PEI) physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (The PDCCH carries DCI (Downlink Control Information). In an actual application, the UE needs to acquire the DCI carried in the PDCCH, so as to acquire the information of the UE from the I'DSCH in a time domain location and a frequency domain location indicated by the DCI, wherein the PDSCH can generally carry a paging message, [0139], lines 1-3);
a paging PDCCH (PDSCH can generally carry a paging message, [0139], lines 1-3);
an uplink random access message (UP can use the DMRS in the SSB to decode the PBCH to acquire system information carried on the PBCH, wherein the system information is required for the UE to randomly access the base station, [0134], lines 3-5); or
an alert (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information, [0141], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 24, Liu discloses apparatus, wherein the at least one message is configured to cause the at least one UE to switch from an idle mode to a connected mode (receive external audio signals when the apparatus 800 is in an operation mode, such as a call mode, a recording mode, and a voice recognition mode, [0229], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 25, Liu discloses method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (communication component 816 is configured to facilitate communication, wired or wirelessly, between the apparatus 800 and other devices. The apparatus 800 can access a wireless network based on a communication standard, such as WiFi, 2G, or 3G, or a combination thereof, [0232], lines 1-3):
receiving, from a network node, an indication of a paging alert channel (PAC), wherein the indication is associated with at least a subset of subgroup identifiers of a plurality of UEs associated with a same paging occasion, wherein each of the plurality of UEs is configured to receive the indication of the PAC associated with the same paging occasion (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, notifying the paged UE to receive the paging request, or notify the paged UE to update the system information, or notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4); and
Liu does not specifically disclose concept of communicating at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC.
However, John et al specifically teaches concept of communicating at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC(base station 101 may be communicatively coupled to Priority Access Component (“PAC”) 103, which may detect and/or receive (at 102) an indication of a triggering event (e.g., an emergency event). For example, PAC 103 may receive an indication of an emergency event from an external system, such as a governmental emergency alert system. Additionally, or alternatively, PAC 103 may receive information regarding a quantity of emergency calls placed by UEs via base station 101, [0018], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Liu with concept of communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC of John et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless telecommunication networks provide network connectivity to a variety of different users, (John et al, [0001], line 1).
Liu and John et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC.
However, Yan et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC (For IoT NTN, a UE may detect SIBx in SI window 1 or SI window 3 at any repetition in a BCCH (PAC) modification period. Different UEs (plurality of UEs) may receive SIBx at different times. For example, in FIG. 4, UE1 receives SIBx in SI window 1 in BCCH modification period (n), and UE2 receives SIBx in the SI window 3 in BCCH (PAC) modification period (n); thus is seen as UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN), [0075], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Liu with concept of communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC of John et al and concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC of Yan et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve methods and apparatuses for determining a synchronization validity timer in wireless communication, (Yan et al, [0001], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 26, Liu discloses method, wherein receiving the indication of the PAC comprises (a memory configured to store an instruction executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, [0093], line 1, [0094], line 1[0103], lines 1-2):
receiving, from the network node via the PAC, the indication of the PAC (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 27, Liu discloses method, wherein the PAC comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (paging indication information is third DCI carried on a plurality of PDCCHs comprised in a third CORSET, [0019], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 28, Liu discloses method of wireless communication at a network node, comprising (communication component 816 is configured to facilitate communication, wired or wirelessly, between the apparatus 800 and other devices. The apparatus 800 can access a wireless network based on a communication standard, such as WiFi, 2G, or 3G, or a combination thereof, [0232], lines 1-3):
providing, for at least one user equipment (UE), an indication of a paging alert channel (PAC), wherein the indication is associated with at least a subset of subgroup identifiers of at least one UE associated with a same paging occasion, wherein each of the at least one UE is configured to receive the indication of the PAC associated with the same paging occasion (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, notifying the paged UE to receive the paging request, or notify the paged UE to update the system information, or notify the paged UE to receive alarm information such as earthquake and tsunami warning information. If the base station transmits the paging indication information (PAC) through the non-scheduled physical channel, the paging indication information (PAC) may include a plurality of fields. Each field may correspond to a group of UEs in the cell served by the base station, and is configured to identify whether UE paged by the base station exists in the group of UEs corresponding to the field, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4); and
Liu does not specifically disclose concept of communicating at least one message with the at least one UE based on the indication of the PAC.
However, John et al specifically teaches concept of communicating at least one message with the at least one UE based on the indication of the PAC (base station 101 may be communicatively coupled to Priority Access Component (“PAC”) 103, which may detect and/or receive (at 102) an indication of a triggering event (e.g., an emergency event). For example, PAC 103 may receive an indication of an emergency event from an external system, such as a governmental emergency alert system. Additionally, or alternatively, PAC 103 may receive information regarding a quantity of emergency calls placed by UEs via base station 101, [0018], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Liu with concept of communicating at least one message with the at least one UE based on the indication of the PAC of John et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless telecommunication networks provide network connectivity to a variety of different users, (John et al, [0001], line 1).
Liu and John et al do not specifically disclose concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC.
However, Yan et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC (For IoT NTN, a UE may detect SIBx in SI window 1 or SI window 3 at any repetition in a BCCH (PAC) modification period. Different UEs (plurality of UEs) may receive SIBx at different times. For example, in FIG. 4, UE1 receives SIBx in SI window 1 in BCCH modification period (n), and UE2 receives SIBx in the SI window 3 in BCCH (PAC) modification period (n); thus is seen as UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN), [0075], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Liu with concept of communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC of John et al and concept of wherein the plurality of UEs and the PAC is associated with a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and communicate at least one message with the network node based on the indication of the PAC of Yan et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve methods and apparatuses for determining a synchronization validity timer in wireless communication, (Yan et al, [0001], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 29, Liu discloses method, wherein providing the indication of the PAC comprises (a memory configured to store an instruction executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, [0093], line 1, [0094], line 1[0103], lines 1-2):
providing, for the at least one UE via the PAC, the indication of the PAC (UE receives paging indication information (PAC) through the first beam, wherein the, paging indication information (PAC) is configured to identify UE paged by a base station in a cell served by the base station, [0103], lines 1-2, [0141], lines 1-3, [0158], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 30, Liu discloses method, wherein the PAC comprises a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (paging indication information is third DCI carried on a plurality of PDCCHs comprised in a third CORSET, [0019], lines 1-2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681