DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Please note that US Patent #12,464,642 is not currently being applied in a Non-Statutory Obviousness type Double Patenting rejection against the instant claims (1, 3 and 9); however, the scope of the patented claims is very close to that of the instant claims. In order to avoid the potential for a future Double Patenting rejection, the Applicant is strongly encouraged to amend the instant claims to better differentiate them from the already patented subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibata (JP 2022-078438; translation provided concurrently by Examiner, citations below are based upon said provided translation).
Regarding claim 1, Shibata discloses a wiring circuit board (fig. 1: X1) comprising: a metal supporting board (10); a first metal thin film (21) disposed on one surface (fig. 2: top, as viewed) of the metal supporting board in a thickness direction; an insulating layer (22) disposed on one surface (top) of the first metal thin film in the thickness direction and having a through hole (22a) penetrating in the thickness direction; a second metal thin film (23) disposed on one surface (top) of the insulating layer; and a conductive layer (24) disposed on one surface (top) of the second metal thin film, wherein, in the through hole, the first metal thin film and the second metal thin film are disposed between the metal supporting board and the conductive layer, the other surface of the first metal thin film is in contact with the one surface of the metal supporting board, the other surface of the second metal thin film is in contact with the one surface of the first metal thin film, and the other surface of the conductive layer is in contact with the one surface of the second metal thin film (all of the above: fig. 2; Abstract; pg. 2, “Description of Embodiments” section, lines 1-8; pg. 3, lines 29-35), and wherein, at least, a material of the first metal thin film is an alloy containing chromium (pg. 3, lines 17-19).
Regarding claim 3, Shibata discloses the wiring circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the alloy further contains at least one metal selected from the group consisting of nickel, titanium, tungsten, and molybdenum (pg. 3, lines 17-19: nickel and titanium).
Regarding claim 4, Shibata discloses the wiring circuit board according to claim 1, wherein a material of the second metal thin film is a second alloy containing chromium (pg. 4, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 6, Shibata discloses the wiring circuit board according to claim 4, wherein the second alloy further contains at least one metal selected from the group consisting of nickel, titanium, tungsten, and molybdenum (pg. 4, lines 4-6: nickel and titanium).
Regarding claim 7, Shibata discloses the wiring circuit board according to claim 4, wherein the alloy and the second alloy are composed of the same composition (e.g. alloys of chromium and nickel or titanium) (pg. 3, lines 17-19; pg. 4, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 8, Shibata discloses the wiring circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the first metal thin film includes: a first metal layer; and a first oxidized layer disposed on one surface of the first metal layer in the thickness direction (pg. 8, lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 9, Shibata discloses the wiring circuit board according to claim 1, wherein the metal supporting board includes: a metal supporting layer (11); and a surface metal layer (12) disposed on one surface of the metal supporting layer in the thickness direction and having higher electrical conductivity than electrical conductivity of the metal supporting layer (figs. 1-2; pg. 6, lines 27-35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata, in view of Kawaguchi et al. (US 2011/0147053 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shibata discloses all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Shibata, however, does not explicitly disclose that the content ratio of the chromium in the alloy is 50% by mass or less.
Kawaguchi teaches that it is well known to provide a similar wiring circuit board (Title; Abstract; fig. 1), wherein chromium alloy is applied and the content ratio of the chromium in the alloy is 50% by mass or less (par. 0082).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the current invention of Shibata to incorporate the preferred weight percentage of chromium of Kawaguchi since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. POSITA would have realized that lower than 50% chromium alloys can be easily and readily formed and applied by any number well understood techniques and that selecting the weight ratio to achieve the desired conductivity, resistance to corrosion, adhesion, and/or resistance to cracking or other deleterious environmental effects. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special alloy composition was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old wiring circuit board of Shibata with the well-known weight percentage of chromium in the alloy of Kawaguchi. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 5, Shibata discloses all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4. Shibata, however, does not explicitly disclose that the content ratio of the chromium in the second alloy is 50% by mass or less.
Kawaguchi teaches that it is well known to provide a similar wiring circuit board (Title; Abstract; fig. 1), wherein chromium alloy is applied and the content ratio of the chromium in the second alloy is 50% by mass or less (par. 0082).
Regarding the rationale for combination of references, please refer to claim 2, above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the concurrently mailed PTO-892, as all of those cited references are considered to be pertinent to the claimed invention. For example, Matsuzaki (JP-2003069185-A) is held to disclose most, if not all, of the limitations of at least claim 1. The Matsuzaki reference is not currently applied as an anticipation rejection due to the completeness of the above applied art, and in order to avoid an overly long Office Action or duplicative rejections.
/JEFFREY T CARLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729