CTNF 18/339,039 CTNF 80934 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 21, 2023 and June 9, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10 & 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Vidlund et al. (US 6,033,394) (“Vidlund” hereinafter) . In regards to claim 1 , Vidlund discloses a catheter 10 comprising: a tubular structure 70 having a distal end, a proximal end, and a body extending between the distal end and the proximal end, the tubular structure 70 having a longitudinal axis X-X; wherein the tubular structure 70 comprises a plurality of ring elements 78 arranged in series along the longitudinal axis X-X (see fig. 3), the ring elements 78 being respective closed-loops (see fig. 3), wherein the ring elements 78 comprise a first ring element (e.g., first ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3), and a second ring (e.g., second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) and a third ring element (e.g., third ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3), wherein the first ring element (e.g., first ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) lies within a first plane that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis X-X of the tubular structure 70 (see fig. 3), and wherein the second ring (e.g., second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) lies within a second plane that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis X-X of the tubular structure 70 (see fig. 3); PNG media_image1.png 336 628 media_image1.png Greyscale wherein the tubular structure 70 further comprises connecting members (72a, 72b), the connecting members (72a, 72b) comprising a first connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting first ring 78 from the left or right to second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3), connected between the first ring element (e.g., first ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) and the second ring element second ring (e.g., second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3), wherein the first connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting first ring 78 from the left or right to second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) comprises a first end (71a, 71b), a second end (73a, 73b), and a member body (e.g., body of strut 72a, 72b) between the first end (71a, 71b) and the second end (73a, 73b) of the first connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting first ring 78 from the left or right to second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3); and wherein the second connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting second ring 78 from the left or right to third ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) connected between the second ring (e.g., second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) and the third ring element (e.g., third ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) and comprises a first end (71a, 71b), a second end (73a, 73b), and a member body (e.g., body of strut 72a, 72b) between the first end (71a, 71b) and second end (73a, 73b) of the second connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting second ring 78 from the left or right to third ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3); and wherein the second end (73a, 73b) of the first connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting first ring 78 from the left or right to second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) and the first end (71a, 71b) of the second connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting second ring 78 from the left or right to third ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) are connected to the first ring element (e.g., first ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3), and disposed across from each other, and wherein the second end (73a, 73b) of the second connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting second ring 78 from the left or right to third ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) is connected to the second ring (e.g., second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3), and wherein the member body (e.g., body of strut 72a, 72b) of the second connective member is configured to rotate and/or bent relative to the first ring element (e.g., first ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) and the second ring (e.g., second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) in response to a bending and/or axial-loading of the tubular structure 70 (see at least fig. 3). In regards to claim 2 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 1, wherein the catheter 10 comprises a lumen 64 having a cross-sectional shape when the catheter 10 is in a relaxed state, and wherein the tubular structure 70 is configured to maintain the cross-sectional shape of the lumen 64 during bending of the catheter 10 (see at least fig. 2). In regards to claim 3 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 1, wherein the tubular structure 70 is configured to provide axial stiffness and/or torsional stiffness for the catheter 10 (see at least col. 5, lines 48-65). In regards to claim 4 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 1, wherein the first end (71a, 71b) and the second end (73a, 73b) of the first connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting first ring 78 from the left or right to second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) define a line that is non-parallel to the longitudinal axis X-X of the tubular structure 70 (see at least fig. 3). In regards to claim 5 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 1, wherein the first plane and the second plane remain substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis X-X when the tubular structure 70 is being bent and/or being axially-loaded (see at least fig. 3). In regards to claim 6 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 1, wherein the first ring element (e.g., first ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) has a uniform cross-section (see at least fig. 3). In regards to claim 8 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the second connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting second ring 78 from the left or right to third ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) has a curvilinear configuration (see at least fig. 3). In regards to claim 10 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the first connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting first ring 78 from the left or right to second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) has a curvilinear configuration (see at least fig. 3). In regards to claim 13 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 1, wherein the ring elements 78 and the connecting members (72a, 72b) are integrally formed together (see at least fig. 3). In regards to claim 14 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 1, wherein the ring elements 78 and the connecting members (72a, 72b) are parts of a cut tube (see at least fig. 3 and col. 5, lines 33-37). In regards to claim 15 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 1, wherein a portion of the first ring element (e.g., first ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) and a portion of the first connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting first ring 78 from the left or right to second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) are separated from each other to define a first space (e.g., spacing S), and wherein the catheter 10 further comprises a filler (62, 66, 90) located in the space (e.g., spacing S) (see at least fig. 2 and col. 4, lines 39-45). In regards to claim 16 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 15, wherein the portion of the first connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting first ring 78 from the left or right to second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) is separated from the second ring to define a second space (e.g., spacing S), wherein the first space (e.g., spacing S) and the second space (e.g., another spacing S) has a same width (see at least fig. 2 and col. 4, lines 39-45). In regards to claim 17 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 1, further comprising a layer (62, 90) disposed on an outer surface (e.g., layer 90 is disposed on an outer surface) or an inner surface (e.g., layer 62 is disposed on the inner surface) of the tubular structure 70 (see at least fig. 2 and col. 4, lines 39-45). In regards to claim 18 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 17, wherein the layer (62, 90) comprises a material (e.g., PTFE for layer 62, see col. 2, lines 55-64, or nylon or urethane for layer 90, see col. 3, lines 5-9) that extends into a spacing S to form a filler (see at least col. 4, lines 39-45) between a portion of the first ring element (e.g., first ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3) and a portion of the first connecting member (e.g., any strut 72a, 72b connecting first ring 78 from the left or right to second ring 78 from the left or right, see fig. 3). In regards to claim 19 , Vidlund discloses the catheter 10 of claim 17, wherein the tubular structure 70 and the layer (62, 90) are configured to cooperate with each other by sharing tensile load and/or bending load (see at least fig. 2 and col. 3, lines 10-18) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vidlund et al. (US 6,033,394) (“Vidlund” hereinafter) in view of Salahieh et al. (US 2008/0188928) (“Salahieh” hereinafter) . Vidlund discloses the catheter of claim 1, that fails to explicitly teach a catheter wherein the first ring element has different cross-sectional dimensions along a length of the first ring element. However, Salahieh teaches that it is known to provide a catheter wherein the first ring element 27 has different cross-sectional dimensions along a length of the first ring element 27 (see at least figs. 14-16 and par 0049). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the catheter of Vidlund wherein the first ring element has different cross-sectional dimensions along a length of the first ring element as taught by Salahieh since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Salahieh) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Vidlund) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as preserving the gap spaces between the rings in the bend portions (see at least par 0049 of Salahieh)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vidlund et al. (US 6,033,394) (“Vidlund” hereinafter) in view of Snyder et al. (US 2018/0071496) (“Snyder” hereinafter) . Vidlund discloses the catheter of claim 1, that fails to explicitly teach a catheter wherein a majority of the first connecting member lies in a third plane that is parallel to the first plane when the tubular structure is in a relaxed state. However, Snyder teaches that it is known to provide device wherein a majority of the first connecting member 114 lies in a third plane that is parallel to the first plane (of first ring 116 from left or right) when the tubular structure is in a relaxed state (see at least fig. 3 and par 0044). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the catheter of Vidlund wherein a majority of the first connecting member lies in a third plane that is parallel to the first plane when the tubular structure is in a relaxed state as taught by Snyder since such a modification would amount to a simple substitution of one known element (i.e., the helical beams as taught by Vidlund) for another (i.e., the non-helical beams as taught by Snyder) to obtain predictable results such as eliminates or minimizes preferred bending axes along the length of the tube structure (see at least par 0060-0062 of Snyder)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vidlund et al. (US 6,033,394) (“Vidlund” hereinafter) in view of Northrop et al. (US 2016/0015928) (“Northrop” hereinafter) . In regards to claim 11, Vidlund discloses the catheter of claim 1, that fails to explicitly teach a catheter wherein the connecting members also comprise a third connecting member, and wherein the first, second and third connecting members are located between the first ring element and the second ring element. However, Northrop teaches that it is known to provide a catheter wherein the connecting members also comprise a third connecting member 34 (see at least figs. 9-10 and par 0058), and wherein the first, second and third connecting members 34 are located between the first ring element 32 and the second ring element 32 (see at least figs. 7E & 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the catheter of Vidlund wherein the connecting members also comprise a third connecting member, and wherein the first, second and third connecting members are located between the first ring element and the second ring element as taught by Northrop since such a modification would amount to applying a known technique (i.e., as taught by Northrop) to a known device (i.e., as taught by Vidlund) ready for improvement to achieve a predictable result such as giving the structure that would that would be stiffer than one with only two connecting members so as to be more useful in relatively proximal regions of the catheter where greater stiffness is desired (see at least par 0058 of Northrop)--See KSR, 550 U.S. at___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396 (See MPEP § 214 3 for a discussion of the rationale(s) listed above. See also MPEP § 2144 - §2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations). In regards to claim 12 , although Northrop teaches that it is known to provide a catheter wherein the first and second connecting members (34, 34’) are connected to the first ring element 32 (see at least figs. 2-3 & 5-6 and par 0055), Vidlund discloses the catheter of claim 1, that fails to explicitly teach a catheter wherein the first and second connecting members are connected to a same location. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed to provide the catheter of Vidlund as modified by Northrop wherein the first and second connecting members are connected to a same location as claimed since such a modification would amount to a mere lengthwise shifting of the double helix beam structure of Northrop such that the meeting point of the beams 34, 34’ occurs at the first ring 32 in a manner that serves the same purpose of giving the structure that would that would be stiffer than one with only one connecting member so as to be more useful in relatively proximal regions of the catheter where greater stiffness is desired (see at least par 0058 of Northrop). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RENE T TOWA whose telephone number is (313)446-6655. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri, 9:00 AM-5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jason M. Sims can be reached at 571-272-7540. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RENE T TOWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/339,039 Page 2 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/339,039 Page 3 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/339,039 Page 4 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/339,039 Page 5 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/339,039 Page 6 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/339,039 Page 7 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/339,039 Page 8 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/339,039 Page 9 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/339,039 Page 10 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/339,039 Page 11 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/339,039 Page 12 Art Unit: 3791