Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 06/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On pages 14-16 of the amendment, Applicant argued that ZARICHNYI fails to show or support a blurred image that is viewable under virtual content.
While Applicant’s arguments are understood, claim language does not specify that blurred portion under virtual content is viewable; therefore, it is broadly interpreted as explained in the rejection below.
On pages 17-18 of the amendment, Applicant argued that ZARICHNYI fails to show or suggest a blurred image that is laterally surrounded by an unblurred subset.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. ZARICHNYI clearly teaches, in FIG. 14 and paragraph 0150, a blurred image that is laterally surrounded by an unblurred subset.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FORSTER (US 2021/0088790) in view of Day et al. (US 2021/0166653) hereinafter “Day”.
As per claim 1, FORSTER discloses a method of operating a head-mounted device with a camera, a display (FIGs. 1-2; paragraphs 0046 and 0050-0051), and one or more processors (see FIG. 13b and paragraph 0033), the method comprising:
capturing an image of a physical environment using the camera (paragraph 0050-0051, This could be by providing some degree of transparency or partial transparency in the display arrangements, and/or by projecting a view of the outside (captured using a camera, for example a camera mounted on the HMD) via the HMD's displays…A front-facing camera 122 may capture images to the front of the HMD, in use);
emitting light from a transparent structure towards an eye box using the display, wherein the physical environment is viewable through the transparent structure from the eye box (FIG. 4; paragraphs 0064-0065, In the arrangement of FIG. 4, the display unit 150 and optical elements 200 cooperate to provide an image which is projected onto a mirror 210, which deflects the image towards the user's eye position 220…if the HMD is designed not to completely obscure the user's view of the external environment, the mirror 210 can be made partially reflective so that the user sees the external environment, through the mirror 210; see also paragraph 0110 and claim 1);
transforming (i.e., warping, as taught in paragraph 0147) the image of the physical environment from a perspective of the camera (e.g., images captured by the forward-facing camera 322; paragraph 0088) to a perspective of the eye box using the one or more processors (paragraph 0147, FIGS. 20a and 20b schematically illustrate an example of an image displayed by a display unit of an HMD that is generated by applying a warping to the image in accordance with a configuration of a first optical element. In embodiments of the disclosure, the control unit can be configured to control the processor to generate the image by applying a warping to the image, in which the control unit can be configured to control the warping applied to the image and the configuration of the first optical element in accordance with each other so that the viewpoint of the image observed by the user remains substantially the same irrespective of the user's gaze direction);
blurring first and second portions of the transformed image of the physical environment (paragraph 0142, the control unit 1310 can be configured to control the processor 1320 to generate the image by applying a blurring function to the image depending upon a predetermined distance from the point of attention in the image. The processor 1320 may apply a blurring function 660 to the image so that a portion of the image not proximate to the point of attention in the image is blurred whilst no blurring or a smaller degree of blurring is applied for a portion of the image within the predetermined distance from the point of attention. The blurring function 660 can be applied so that the magnitude of the degree of blurring varies according to a distance from the point of attention in the image. This means that portions of the image that are peripheral to the user's line of sight can be generated by the processor 1320 with a greater apparent blurriness than portions of the image that are closer to the point of attention in the image);
However, FORSTER does not explicitly disclose generating first and second virtual content; displaying, using the display, the first and second virtual content over the first and second respective blurred portions of the transformed image of the physical environment at first and second respective positions that overlap corresponding first and second respective portions of the physical environment; and displaying, using the display, an unblurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment between the first and second blurred portions.
In the same field of endeavor, Day discloses blurring first and second portions of the transformed image of the physical environment (multi-tap blur is used for more than one object as taught in FIGs. 16B-16C and paragraphs 0159-0162); generating first and second virtual content (see virtual objects shown in FIG. 16D); displaying, using the display, the first and second virtual content over the first and second respective blurred portions of the transformed image of the physical environment at first and second respective positions that overlap corresponding first and second respective portions of the physical environment (multi-tap blur is used for more than one object as taught in FIGs. 16B-16C and paragraphs 0159-0162; then, objects are rendered on top of the focus indicator as taught in FIG. 16D and paragraphs 0164 and 0167; see also paragraph 0174); and displaying, using the display, an unblurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment between the first and second blurred portions (see FIG. 16D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of FORSTER, by displaying virtual contents over blurred portions of the transformed image of the physical environment, as taught by Day; thus, providing on-screen visual aid to assist the user in navigating among and selecting or interacting with objects in the environment (see paragraph 0032 of Day). This rationale applies to all combination of FORSTER and Day used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 2, FORSTER discloses before transforming the image of the physical environment from the perspective of the camera to the perspective of the eye box, down-sampling the image of the physical environment from a first resolution to a second resolution that is lower than the first resolution (paragraphs 0137 and 0140-0141, an image displayed by the display unit 150 where a first portion of the image has a higher pixel density than a second portion of the image. The first portion 1820 of the image 1800 may be generated by the processor 1320 with a pixel density corresponding to the native pixel density of the display unit 150, such that the first portion 1820 can be rendered with a number of pixels per centimetre (or pixels per degree) that is equivalent to the greatest pixel density that is supported by the display unit 150. The second portion 1830 of the image 1800 may be generated with a lower pixel density by subsampling the pixels of the image 1800. It is clear that the processor 1320 generates the image with a portion having a lower resolution before it is displayed on the display unit 150).
As per claim 3, FORSTER and Day disclose the method defined in claim 1, wherein displaying the first blurred portion of the transformed image comprises displaying the first blurred portion of the transformed image at a first fixed position relative to the physical environment (FORSTER; FIGs. 20a and 20b; paragraph 0147, …the viewpoint of the image observed by the user remains substantially the same irrespective of the user's gaze direction. Day; see FIGs. 16B-16D).
As per claim 4, FORSTER and Day disclose the method defined in claim 1, wherein the head-mounted device has a depth sensor (see paragraph 0086 of Day), the method further comprising: obtaining depth information with the depth sensor (paragraphs 0086 and 0097 of Day), wherein transforming the image of the physical environment from the perspective of the camera to the perspective of the eye box using the one or more processors comprises transforming (i.e., warping, as taught in paragraph 0147 of FORSTER) the image of the physical environment from the perspective of the camera (e.g., images captured by the forward-facing camera 322; paragraph 0088 of FORSTER) to the perspective of the eye box (FORSTER; paragraph 0150, FIG. 20b schematically illustrates an example in which the gaze of the user's eye is directed away from the centre of the initial field of view 2050 observed by the user's eye via the first optical element 160, and thus away from the centre of the display unit 150. In this example, the user's gaze is directed so that the user's point of attention in the image corresponds to the image feature 2005… In the examples shown, the field of view observed via the first optical element 160 has moved to the left when comparing FIG. 20a with FIG. 20b, due to the change in the configuration of the first optical element 160. Therefore, a warping can be applied to the image 2000 displayed by the display unit 150, such that the image features in the initial field of view 2050 are warped to a position on the display unit 150 corresponding to the second field of view 2051 so that the image observed by the user's eye comprises the same image features even when the configuration of the first optical element 160 is adjusted. Therefore, the viewpoint of the observed second field of view 2051 can remain substantially the same as the viewpoint of the observed initial field of view 2050 when the first optical element 160 is adjusted from a first configuration (FIG. 20a) to a second configuration (FIG. 20b)) based on the depth information (FORSTER; paragraph 0111, detect a physical direction in which at least one of the user's eyes is pointing, or in other words, the direction of the user's gaze…by comparing information about the orientation of each eye 810/811, the so-called vergence of the eyes can be detected. The vergence can then be used to detect where on a display unit 820 (or with respect to a virtual image of a display, as in an HMD) the viewer is looking, and at which apparent depth the viewer's attention is directed in the case of a 3D image).
As per claim 6, Day discloses wherein displaying, using the display, the unblurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment between the first and second blurred portions comprises displaying, using the display, the unblurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment between the first and second virtual content (see FIGs. 16B-16D).
As per claim 7, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 3 are applicable for claim 7.
As per claim 8, FORSTER discloses before capturing the image of the physical environment using the camera, placing the camera in a low-resolution mode (the camera 322 captures images at 25 images per second, as taught in paragraph 0091, which is considered a lower resolution than the alternative option of 200Hz capture rate taught in paragraph 0093).
As per claim 9, FORSTER discloses wherein the head-mounted device has an additional camera (paragraphs 0088 and 0067), the method further comprising:
capturing an additional image of the physical environment using the additional camera (paragraph 0050, This could be by providing some degree of transparency or partial transparency in the display arrangements, and/or by projecting a view of the outside (captured using a camera, for example a camera mounted on the HMD) via the HMD's displays; see also paragraph 0067), wherein transforming (i.e., warping, as taught in paragraph 0147) the image of the physical environment from the perspective of the camera to the perspective of the eye box using the one or more processors comprises transforming the image of the physical environment from the perspective of the camera and the additional image of the physical environment from the perspective of the additional camera (paragraph 0147, FIGS. 20a and 20b schematically illustrate an example of an image displayed by a display unit of an HMD that is generated by applying a warping to the image in accordance with a configuration of a first optical element. In embodiments of the disclosure, the control unit can be configured to control the processor to generate the image by applying a warping to the image, in which the control unit can be configured to control the warping applied to the image and the configuration of the first optical element in accordance with each other so that the viewpoint of the image observed by the user remains substantially the same irrespective of the user's gaze direction) into a single image from the perspective of the eye box (paragraph 0109, The first optical element 160 can be positioned in an optical path between the user's eye and the display unit 150 so that the eye of the user observes the image displayed by the display unit 150 via the first optical element 160. In some examples, the first optical element 160 can direct light from a first portion of the display unit 150 for viewing by the user so that the first eye of the user can observe the image in the first portion via the first optical element 160, and the second optical element 160 can direct light from a second portion of the display unit 150 for viewing by the user so that the second eye of the user can observe the image in the second portion via the second optical element 160. In this case a left image may be displayed to the left eye and a right image may be displayed to the right eye such that the user's eyes observe a stereoscopic image pair), wherein blurring the first portion of the transformed image of the physical environment comprises blurring a first portion of the single image (paragraph 0142, the control unit 1310 can be configured to control the processor 1320 to generate the image by applying a blurring function to the image depending upon a predetermined distance from the point of attention in the image. The processor 1320 may apply a blurring function 660 to the image so that a portion of the image not proximate to the point of attention in the image is blurred whilst no blurring or a smaller degree of blurring is applied for a portion of the image within the predetermined distance from the point of attention. The blurring function 660 can be applied so that the magnitude of the degree of blurring varies according to a distance from the point of attention in the image. This means that portions of the image that are peripheral to the user's line of sight can be generated by the processor 1320 with a greater apparent blurriness than portions of the image that are closer to the point of attention in the image), and wherein displaying the first blurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment at the first position that overlaps the corresponding first portion of the physical environment comprises displaying the first blurred portion of the single image (paragraph 0142, the control unit 1310 can be configured to control the processor 1320 to generate the image by applying a blurring function to the image depending upon a predetermined distance from the point of attention in the image. The processor 1320 may apply a blurring function 660 to the image so that a portion of the image not proximate to the point of attention in the image is blurred whilst no blurring or a smaller degree of blurring is applied for a portion of the image within the predetermined distance from the point of attention. The blurring function 660 can be applied so that the magnitude of the degree of blurring varies according to a distance from the point of attention in the image. This means that portions of the image that are peripheral to the user's line of sight can be generated by the processor 1320 with a greater apparent blurriness than portions of the image that are closer to the point of attention in the image; see also paragraph 0143 and claims 1, 3, and 6) at the first position that overlaps the corresponding first portion of the physical environment (paragraph 0061, the displayed images could be arranged so as to be superposed (from the user's point of view) over the external environment).
As per claim 10, FORSTER discloses wherein displaying, using the display, the first blurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment at the first position that overlaps the corresponding first portion of the physical environment (paragraph 0142, the control unit 1310 can be configured to control the processor 1320 to generate the image by applying a blurring function to the image depending upon a predetermined distance from the point of attention in the image. The processor 1320 may apply a blurring function 660 to the image so that a portion of the image not proximate to the point of attention in the image is blurred whilst no blurring or a smaller degree of blurring is applied for a portion of the image within the predetermined distance from the point of attention. The blurring function 660 can be applied so that the magnitude of the degree of blurring varies according to a distance from the point of attention in the image. This means that portions of the image that are peripheral to the user's line of sight can be generated by the processor 1320 with a greater apparent blurriness than portions of the image that are closer to the point of attention in the image; see also paragraph 0143 and claims 1, 3, and 6) comprises displaying the first blurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment at a frame rate and wherein blurring the first portion of the transformed image of the physical environment comprises blurring the first portion of the image of the physical environment at a frequency that is within 10% of the frame rate (paragraph 0141, This means that the second portion 1830 of the image 1800 may be generated by the processor 1320 with a lower frame rate than the first portion 1820 of the image 1800. For example, the second portion 1830 of the image 1800 may be generated by reprojecting every frame at least once or reprojecting every other frame).
6. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FORSTER (US 2021/0088790) in view of Day et al. (US 2021/0166653) in further view of LEYTON et al. (US 2024/0005613) hereinafter “LEYTON”.
As per claim 5, FORSTER and Day disclose the method defined in claim 1, wherein the camera has a first field of view and wherein the physical environment is viewable through the transparent structure from the eye box with a second field of view smaller than the first field of view (FIGs. 4, 17a, 20a of FORSTER), the method further comprising: cropping the image of the physical environment (FORSTER; paragraph 0140, In some examples, every other row and every other column of pixels in the second portion 1830 of the image 1800 may be removed); However, FORSTER or Day do not explicitly disclose cropping the image of the physical environment to align with the second field of view.
In the same field of endeavor, LEYTON discloses cropping the image of the physical environment to align with the second field of view (paragraphs 0080 and 0091, only the region of the virtual environment that is within the field of view of the virtual camera is displayed on the display screen).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the teachings of FORSTER, with those of LEYTON, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed both references are related to the use of head mounted display for virtual or augmented reality, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result.
7. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FORSTER (US 2021/0088790) in view of Day et al. (US 2021/0166653) in further view of Smith et al. (US 2024/0000295) hereinafter “Smith”.
As per claim 11, arguments analogous to those applied for the last three limitations of claim 1 are applicable for claim 11; however, FORSTER or Day do not explicitly disclose wherein the image of the physical environment is part of a real time video feed.
In the same field of endeavor, Smith discloses wherein the image of the physical environment is part of a real time video feed (paragraphs 0010 and 0033, The display output provided to the display assembly 200 can include a real-time or near-real-time feed of video captured by the imaging assembly 100).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to use the augmented reality apparatus of FORSTER in a real-time environment, as taught by Smith, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed both references are related to the use of head mounted display for virtual or augmented reality, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result.
8. Claim(s) 12-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FORSTER (US 2021/0088790) in view of ZARICHNYI (US 2023/0298222), previously cited by Examiner.
As per claim 12, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 12; however, FORSTER does not explicitly disclose the control circuit configured to: generate virtual content; using the display, display the virtual content over the blurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment…, wherein the virtual content is viewable on the blurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment and wherein the blurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment is viewable.
In an analogous art, ZARICHNYI discloses wherein the control circuit is further configured to: generate virtual content; using the display, display the virtual content over the blurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment…, wherein the virtual content is viewable on the blurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment (FIG. 11; paragraphs 0135-0136, the processor 120 (see FIG. 2) of the augmented reality device 100 may perform rendering for synthesizing the virtual image 1120 with the peripheral area 1110 so that the virtual image 1120 is overlaid on the peripheral area 1110 from among entire area of the blur image 1100) and wherein the blurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment is viewable (blur image 1100 is viewable as shown in FIG. 11. Applicant did not specify that blurred portion under virtual content is viewable; therefore, it is broadly interpreted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of FORSTER in view of ZARICHNYI, by displaying virtual content over blurred portion of an image. Thus, improving user's work efficiency and concentration (ZARICHNYI, paragraphs 0127 and 0137). This rationale applies to all combination of FORSTER and ZARICHNYI used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 13, ZARICHNYI discloses wherein the virtual content comprises text and wherein the text is viewable on and overlaps the blurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment (see FIG. 11).
As per claim 14, ZARICHNYI discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to: using the display, display an unblurred portion of the transformed image of the physical environment at an additional position that overlaps a corresponding additional portion of the physical environment, wherein the unblurred portion laterally surrounds the blurred portion (see FIG. 14 and paragraph 0150).
As per claim 15, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 2 and 9 are applicable for claim 15.
As per claim 17, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 12 and 14 are applicable for claim 17. In addition, FORSTER teaches a head-mounted support structure; a camera coupled to the head-mounted support structure (see FIG. 1).
As per claims 18-19, arguments analogous to those applied for the third and fourth limitations of claim 1 are applicable for claims 18-19.
9. Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FORSTER (US 2021/0088790) in view of ZARICHNYI (US 2023/0298222) in further view of Day et al. (US 2021/0166653).
As per claim 16, arguments analogous to those applied for the last four limitations of claim 1, including same motivation, are applicable for claim 16.
As per claim 20, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 4 are applicable for claim 20.
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (US 20200225737, US 20230079929, US 20190011703, US 20120092328, US 20210027541, US 20150338652, US 20170092004, US 20210020141, US 20200027280, “Measuring & Qualifying Optical Performance of AR/VR/MR Device Displays and Addressing the Unique Visual Requirements of Transparent AR/MR Displays”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482